DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 12, 13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it recites the limitation "the quality of performance". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, it recites the limitation “the patient’s eye movements”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 12, it recites the limitation “wherein generating a lens”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, it recites the limitation “the field areas”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malchano (US 20180133507 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Malchano teaches a therapeutic method of improving neurological performance of a patient (“methods for treating cognitive dysfunction in a subject in need”, abstract) comprising the steps of:
Performing a vision zone assessment test to identify a field area of a patient’s field of view having a selected characteristic (“subject assessment monitor can, via one or more of the measurement device, measure a task response of the subject to the administered assessment”, paragraph [0033]);
Based on the identified field area, providing an appliance (frame 400, Fig. 4A) having a non-transparent optical characteristic associated with the field area (“lens or solid material 425 can provide visibility through the frame 400…can provide full visibility, or limited visibility…can be tinted, opaque, or switchable”, paragraph [0268]);
The patient wearing the appliance (“frame 400…can be placed on a subject or user”, paragraph [0267]); and
While the patient is wearing the appliance, the patient performing a selected activity associated with the neurological performance (“cognitive function test may be administered to the subject, and the subject’s test results can be stored as the subject cognitive function data 2715”, paragraph [0675]).
Regarding claim 2, Malchano teaches the neurological performance being associated with the quality of performance of the selected activity (“subject cognitive function data 2715 indicates that the subject’s cognitive function is deteriorating over time”, paragraph [0678]).
Regarding claim 3, Malchano teaches the selected activity being a physical activity (“feedback on the subject can include…activity (e.g., sitting, laying down, walking, biking or driving)”, paragraph [0632]).
Regarding claim 4, Malchano teaches performing a vision zone assessment test including moving a visual target about the patient’s field of view (“visual signaling component 150 can stimulate discrete portions of the cortex by modulating the presentation of the stimuli to target specific or general regions of interest…field of view”, paragraph [0286]).
Regarding claim 5, Malchano teaches performing a vision zone assessment test including observing the patient’s eye movements in response to a moving visual stimulus (“feedback monitor 135 can track a person’s eye movement to identify a level of attention”, paragraph [0303]).
Regarding claim 6, Malchano teaches the selected characteristic being abnormal eye movement when directed to a selected direction (“feedback component 1660 can compare the eye direction…can compare the current eye movement with the historical eye movement to identify a deviation”, paragraph [0583]).
Regarding claim 7, Malchano teaches the non-transparent optical characteristic having opacity (“the lens, solid material, or cover 425 can be…opaque”, paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 8, Malchano teaches the non-transparent optical characteristic having translucency (“the lens, solid material, or cover 425 can be…semi-transparent”, paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 9, Malchano teaches the non-transparent optical characteristic having reduced transmissivity (“the lens, solid material, or cover 425 can…completely block out external light”, paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 10, Malchano teaches the appliance being eyewear having a frame and a lens (“frame 400 can be configured to be worn by the person…can include or hold a lens 425”, paragraph [0266]; Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 11, Malchano teaches providing the appliance including generating a lens having the non-transparent optical characteristic in an area registered with the patient’s field area (“the lens or solid material 425 can provide visibility through the frame 400…NSS 105 can switch or change the lens or solid material 425 to improve adherence, such as by increasing visibility so the subject is more aware of the surrounding environment”, paragraph [0268]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Malchano taches generating a lens including applying an optical material to the lens, and the optical material is selected from a group including inks, films, tapes, diffusants, and masks (“a diffuser element can be added between the light source 305 and the eyes or fovea of the subject”, paragraph [0269]).
Regarding claim 14, Malchano teaches the vision zone assessment test being an optometric test (“assessment administration module 3110 can select the assessment policy specifying that visual assessments are to be first administered”, paragraph [0769]).
Regarding claim 15, Malchano teaches the selected activity being an athletic activity (“feedback on the subject can include…activity (e.g., sitting, laying down, walking, biking or driving)”, paragraph [0632]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Malchano teaches the field areas being different for the patient’s right eyes and left eyes, as well as the field areas being different between a right side and left side of the patient’s field of view (“NSS 105 can direct light pulses to a single eye or both eyes”, paragraph [0270]).
Conclusion
/L.L.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791