DETAILED ACTION
Notice as to Grounds of Rejection and Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0248420 A1 hereinafter Zhong) in view of PONCE et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0215196 A1 hereinafter Ponce).
With regard to claims 1, 19, Zhong teaches a method, an apparatus comprising:
executing a statistical model to generate an annotated document image from a document image, the annotated document image indicating a paragraph type for a paragraph from a plurality of paragraphs of the annotated document image Machine learning model can be used to analyze a document to identify layout, paragraphs, paragraph type such as abstract para 0022, 0030, Examiner notes that per specification of the instant application as published para 0022, statistical model is also referred to as “machine learning model >,
the statistical model generated based on training data that includes document images and augmented document images that are augmented versions of the document images <machine learning model is used to annotate images and thus creating different versions para 0038, fig 7>,
a first portion of the training data used to train the statistical model, a second portion of the training data used to test the statistical model, and a third portion of the training data used to test validate the statistical model <machine learning is used to train the model, test the model with training data para 0023, 0025>;
associating the paragraph type to text from a document associated with the annotated document image after executing the statistical model, the text corresponding to text represented by the paragraph of the annotated document image <text can be associated with annotated paragraph of the document para 0025, 0046-0047>;
a memory (claim 19) <fig 1 item 104>
a processor operatively coupled to the memory (claim 19) <fig 1 item 102>
Zhong does not appear to explicitly disclose matching the text to a job posting.
In the same field of endeavor, Ponce teaches
matching the text to a job posting <Ponce teaches <job description and resume can be matched para 0016>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong to include the teachings of Ponce, in order to obtain limitations taught by Ponce. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of matching documents.
With regard to claim 3, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Zhong teaches.
wherein the annotated document image is generated from the document image without performing optical character recognition (OCR) on text extracted from the document image <annotated imaged can be extracted para 0022>.
With regard to claim 4, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Zhong in combination with Ponce teaches wherein the statistical model is trained, before the executing, based on (1) a plurality of resume document images not including the document image and (2) a plurality of annotated resume document images not including the annotated document image <machine learning can be applied to document images and annotated documents para 0021-0025, Ponce teaches applying machine learning to resume documents <abstract, para 0049>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong to include the teachings of Ponce, in order to obtain applying machine learning to resume documents. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides extension of teachings to analyze structured documents such as resume.
With regard to claim 6, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Zhong teaches wherein the document image has a standardized format that includes at least one of a common background color, a common font color, a common font ligature, a common font size, a common page margin, or a common page border <image margin/border can be included para 0038, fig 7>.
With regard to claim 12, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. In addition, Zhong teaches wherein the training data further includes annotated document images, the annotated document images including (1) representations of paragraph types for paragraphs included in the annotated document images <paragraph types title, headers/footers can be annotated para 0022> and (2) representations of coordinates for the paragraphs included in the annotated document images <boundary (coordinates of a paragraphs can be identified para 0034, fig 6>.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of PONCE in view of Chen et al (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0181915 A1 hereinafter Chen).
With regard to claim 2, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above, Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches the method further comprising: updating the job posting based on at least one of the text or the paragraph type <job posting can be modified based upon words fig 2 para 0076>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Chen before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Chen, in order to obtain limitations taught by Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of matching documents and accordingly updating documents to filly align with each other.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Singh (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0330154 A1 hereinafter Singh).
With regard to claim 5, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Singh teaches wherein the text includes identification of a candidate, the method further comprising:
storing a list matching the job posting to the candidate <job criteria can be matched with the candidate and stored para 0035>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Singh before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Singh, in order to obtain limitations taught by Singh. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an effective way to obtain candidates for a job.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Skinner et al (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0042837 A1 hereinafter Skinner).
With regard to claim 7, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Skinner teaches wherein the document image has a standardized format that includes a common encoding format <encoding format such as JPEG can be used para 0049>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Skinner before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Skinner, in order to obtain limitations taught by Skinner. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enables analyzing images using industry standard tools.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Wheaton et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0200937 A1 hereinafter Wheaton).
With regard to claim 8, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Wheaton teaches, wherein the document image has a standardized format that includes a common image size <standard image size can be used para 0009>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Wheaton before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Wheaton, in order to obtain limitations taught by Wheaton. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances analyzing images.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Pillai et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0153299 A1 hereinafter Pillai).
With regard to claim 9, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Pillai teaches wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes manipulating a brightness of at least one document image from the document images <brightness can be adjusted para 0045>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Pillai before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Pillai, in order to obtain limitations taught by Pillai. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
With regard to claim 10, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Pillai teaches wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes adding random noise to at least one document image from the document images <noise can be added para 0045>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Pillai before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Pillai, in order to obtain limitations taught by Pillai. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Jacobs et al (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0259866 A1 hereinafter Jacobs).
With regard to claim 11, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Jacobs teaches wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes white-balancing at least one document image from the document images <white balancing can be used para 0062>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Jacobs before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Jacobs, in order to obtain limitations taught by Jacobs. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
Claims 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Ponce in view of Burris et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0230182 A1 hereinafter Burris).
With regard to claims 13, 20, these claims depend upon claims 1 and 19 respectively, which are rejected above. In addition, Zhong teaches at least one layer for image segmentation <image can be segmented para 0034> and
Zhong, Ponce do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the statistical model includes a convolutional filter
In the same field of endeavor, Burris teaches wherein the statistical model includes a convolutional filter <convolutional filters can be used to detect image features para 0028>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Ponce, Burris before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Ponce to include the teachings of Burris, in order to obtain limitations taught by Burris. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Chen et al (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0181915 A1 hereinafter Chen).
With regard to claim 14, Zhong teaches a non-transitory processor-readable medium storing code representing instructions to be executed by a processor of a first compute device, the code comprising code to cause the processor to:
execute a statistical model to generate an annotated document image from a document image, the annotated document image indicating a paragraph type for a paragraph from a plurality of paragraphs of the annotated document image <machine learning model can be used to analyze a document to identify layout, paragraphs, paragraph type such as abstract para 0022, 0030, Examiner notes that per specification of the instant application as published para 0022, statistical model is also referred to as “machine learning model>,
the statistical model generated based on training data that includes document images and augmented document images that are augmented versions of the document images <machine learning model is used to annotate images and thus creating different versions para 0038, fig 7>,
a first portion of the training data used to train the statistical model, a second portion of the training data used to test the statistical model, and a third portion of the training data used to test validate the statistical model <machine learning is used to train the model, test the model with training data para 0023, 0025>;
associate the paragraph type to text from a document associated with the annotated document image after executing the statistical model, the text corresponding to text represented by the paragraph of the annotated document image <text can be associated with annotated paragraph of the document para 0025, 0046-0047>; and
Zhong does not appear to explicitly disclose
update a job posting associated with the document based on at least one of the text or the paragraph type
In the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches update a job posting associated with the document based on at least one of the text or the paragraph type <job posting can be modified based upon words fig 2 para 0076>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Chen before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong to include the teachings of Chen, in order to obtain limitations taught by Chen. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of matching documents and accordingly updating documents to filly align with each other.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Chen in view of Ponce
With regard to claim 15, this claim depends upon claim 14, which is rejected above. Zhong, Chen do not appear to explicitly disclose the code further comprising code to cause the processor to: match the text to the job posting
In the same field of endeavor, Ponce teaches
match the text to a job posting <job description and resume can be matched para 0016>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Chen, Ponce before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Chen to include the teachings of Ponce, in order to obtain limitations taught by Ponce. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it provides an efficient use of matching documents.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Chen in view of Pillai et al (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0153299 A1 hereinafter Pillai).
With regard to claim 16, this claim depends upon claim 14, which is rejected above. Zhong, Chen do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Pillai teaches wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes manipulating a brightness of at least one document image from the document images.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Chen, Pillai before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Chen to include the teachings of Pillai, in order to obtain limitations taught by Pillai. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
With regard to claim 17, this claim depends upon claim 14, which is rejected above. Zhong, Chen do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Pillai teaches wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes adding random noise to at least one document image from the document images.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Chen, Pillai before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Chen to include the teachings of Pillai, in order to obtain limitations taught by Pillai. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong in view of Chen in view of Jacobs et al (US Patent Application Publication 2005/0259866 A1 hereinafter Jacobs).
With regard to claim 18, this claim depends upon claim 1, which is rejected above. Zhong, Chen do not appear to explicitly disclose limitations of this claim.
In the same field of endeavor, Jacobs wherein augmenting the document images to generate the augmented document images includes white-balancing at least one document image from the document images <white balancing can be used para 0062>.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Zhong, Chen, Jacobs before him/her before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Zhong, Chen to include the teachings of Jacobs, in order to obtain limitations taught by Jacobs. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because it enhances identifying features of the image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
/ANIL K BHARGAVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172