DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 09/10/2026 in which claims 1-2, 4, 6-10 and 13-19 are pending. Claims 3, 5, 11-12 and 20 were cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 09/10/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The arguments are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-10 and 13-19 are pending.
Claims 3, 5, 11-12 and 20 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that the combination of Hu-Lin combination do not disclose, teach, or suggest at least "the primary cell and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device" because Hu discloses only the secondary node sending the RRC message to the terminal device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hu recites in [0186], “the master node may further send the configuration information to the terminal device…the configuration information is carried in an RRC dedicated message”. This shows a RRC connection between the master node (primary cell) and the terminal device. Hu recites in [0182], “first secondary node encapsulates the response for the first information received from the master node into an RRC message (for example, a multi-connectivity downlink transmission information message) corresponding to one SRB3. The first secondary node sends the RRC message corresponding to the SRB3 to the terminal device”. This shows a RRC connection between the first secondary node (special secondary cell) and the terminal device. Therefore, Hu discloses “the primary cell and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device”.
Therefore, the independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 9 and 17 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1 discussed above, thus are rendered unpatentable for the reasons discussed above. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-10 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,042,315) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Lin” in view of Hu et al. (US 2024/0236719 A9), hereinafter “Hu”.
As to claim 1, Lin teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
establishing a first radio link between a first cell and a user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value”. The radio link is used by the PCELL and the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”);
configuring the first cell as a primary cell (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL) and the first radio link as a primary radio link (Lin, Fig. 2, col 2 ln 55-56, “The UE performs radio link monitoring over a primary serving cell (PCELL)”, Fig. 5, col 6 ln 38-40, “UE 501 monitors the DL quality based on cell-specific reference signal (CRS) to detect the downlink radio link quality for PCELL”. The radio link used by the primary serving cell (PCELL));
establishing a secondary radio link with each of two or more secondary cells selected from a plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value…as a result PCELL, SCELL1, and SCELL2 are configured as CC group#1”. The radio links used by the SCELLs and the UE, where the radio links are grouped from a plurality of radio links for communication with the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 1, selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell;
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell;
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell; and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell that is not the special secondary cell, wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device,
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover, and
the primary cell and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device.
However, Hu teaches selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0133], “A master node indicates a first rule to a terminal device. The first rule is used to select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The Master node indicates to the terminal device the first secondary node to use when there is a link problem with the master node. [0102], the secondary node has a primary secondary cell (PSCell) which is referred as a special cell (SpCell));
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0173], the master node receives the first information, which is received by the first secondary node. [0135], [0169], the first information indicates a link problem of the master node (MCG failure));
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], [0180], the master node sends a response for the first information to the terminal device through the first secondary node. [0184], the response for the first information indicates the terminal device to perform a handover. [0125], “The response for the first information may be carried in the RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC connection release message that is sent by the master node to the terminal device through a first secondary node”); and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], “Step 505: The master node sends a response for the first information to the first secondary node”, [0184], “the response for the first information may notify the terminal device to hand over a primary cell”) that is not the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The terminal device may be handed over, based on the response for the first information, from an original primary cell to a primary cell determined based on the response for the first information. The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”. The terminal device is handed over to a new primary cell, which is not a special secondary cell. [0102], “When there are a plurality of cells in the MCG or the SCG, a cell other than the SpCell may be referred to as a secondary cell (SCell)”. A different cell in the same base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the same base station. Also, a different cell in a different base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the different base station), wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”),
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover (Hu, [0128], “If no SCG RLF is detected, the terminal device may further send the MCG failure information to the master node through the secondary node… the SCG configuration may be further reserved”, Fig. 5, [0133], “select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The first secondary node is selected and used to transmit/receive information between the terminal device and the Master node), and
the primary cell (Hu, [0186], “the master node may further send the configuration information to the terminal device…the configuration information is carried in an RRC dedicated message”) and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device (Hu, [0182], “first secondary node encapsulates the response for the first information received from the master node into an RRC message (for example, a multi-connectivity downlink transmission information message) corresponding to one SRB3. The first secondary node sends the RRC message corresponding to the SRB3 to the terminal device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 2, wherein the new primary cell is selected from the two or more secondary cells.
As to claim 2, Hu teaches wherein the new primary cell is selected from the two or more secondary cells (Hu, Fig. 5, [0133], “A master node indicates a first rule to a terminal device. The first rule is used to select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device”, [0184], “The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 8, wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device.
As to claim 8, Hu teaches wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, [0124], “the first information may include at least one of the following… measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the master node, measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the secondary node, and the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
As to claim 9, Lin teaches a base station (Lin, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, col 5 ln 61-67, col 6 ln 1-17, a base station (eNB)), comprising:
one or more processors (Lin, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, the eNB includes a processor); and
one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media coupled to the one or more processors that stores instructions operable when executed by the one or more processors to cause the base station to perform operations comprising (Lin, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, col 5 ln 61-67, col 6 ln 1-17, the eNB includes a memory that stores program codes executed by the processor to perform the functions of the eNB):
establishing a first radio link between a first cell of a plurality of cells and a user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value”. The radio link used by the PCELL and the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”);
configuring the first cell as a primary cell (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL) and the first radio link as a primary radio link (Lin, Fig. 2, col 2 ln 55-56, “The UE performs radio link monitoring over a primary serving cell (PCELL)”, Fig. 5, col 6 ln 38-40, “UE 501 monitors the DL quality based on cell-specific reference signal (CRS) to detect the downlink radio link quality for PCELL”. The radio link used by the primary serving cell (PCELL));
establishing a secondary radio link with each of two or more secondary cells selected from a plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value…as a result PCELL, SCELL1, and SCELL2 are configured as CC group#1”. The radio links used by the SCELLs and the UE, where the radio links are grouped from a plurality of radio links for communication with the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 9, selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell;
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell;
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell; and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell that is not the special secondary cell, wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device,
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover, and
the primary cell and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device.
However, Hu teaches selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0133], “A master node indicates a first rule to a terminal device. The first rule is used to select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The Master node indicates to the terminal device the first secondary node to use when there is a link problem with the master node. [0102], the secondary node has a primary secondary cell (PSCell) which is referred as a special cell (SpCell));
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0173], the master node receives the first information, which is received by the first secondary node. [0135], [0169], the first information indicates a link problem of the master node (MCG failure));
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], [0180], the master node sends a response for the first information to the terminal device through the first secondary node. [0184], the response for the first information indicates the terminal device to perform a handover. [0125], “The response for the first information may be carried in the RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC connection release message that is sent by the master node to the terminal device through a first secondary node”); and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], “Step 505: The master node sends a response for the first information to the first secondary node”, [0184], “the response for the first information may notify the terminal device to hand over a primary cell”) that is not the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The terminal device may be handed over, based on the response for the first information, from an original primary cell to a primary cell determined based on the response for the first information. The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”. The terminal device is handed over to a new primary cell, which is not a special secondary cell. [0102], “When there are a plurality of cells in the MCG or the SCG, a cell other than the SpCell may be referred to as a secondary cell (SCell)”. A different cell in the same base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the same base station. Also, a different cell in a different base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the different base station), wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”),
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover (Hu, [0128], “If no SCG RLF is detected, the terminal device may further send the MCG failure information to the master node through the secondary node… the SCG configuration may be further reserved”, Fig. 5, [0133], “select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The first secondary node is selected and used to transmit/receive information between the terminal device and the Master node), and
the primary cell (Hu, [0186], “the master node may further send the configuration information to the terminal device…the configuration information is carried in an RRC dedicated message”) and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device (Hu, [0182], “first secondary node encapsulates the response for the first information received from the master node into an RRC message (for example, a multi-connectivity downlink transmission information message) corresponding to one SRB3. The first secondary node sends the RRC message corresponding to the SRB3 to the terminal device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 10, wherein the new primary cell is selected from the two or more secondary cells.
As to claim 10, Hu teaches wherein the new primary cell is selected from the two or more secondary cells (Hu, Fig. 5, [0133], “A master node indicates a first rule to a terminal device. The first rule is used to select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device”, [0184], “The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 16, wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device.
As to claim 16, Hu teaches wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, [0124], “the first information may include at least one of the following… measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the master node, measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the secondary node, and the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
As to claim 17, Lin teaches one or more computer-readable non-transitory storage media embodying instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (Lin, Fig. 2, Fig. 4, col 5 ln 61-67, col 6 ln 1-17, the eNB includes a memory that stores program codes executed by a processor to perform the functions of the eNB):
establishing a first radio link between a first cell and a user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value”. The radio link used by the PCELL and the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”);
configuring the first cell as a primary cell (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL) and the first radio link as a primary radio link (Lin, Fig. 2, col 2 ln 55-56, “The UE performs radio link monitoring over a primary serving cell (PCELL)”, Fig. 5, col 6 ln 38-40, “UE 501 monitors the DL quality based on cell-specific reference signal (CRS) to detect the downlink radio link quality for PCELL”. The radio link used by the primary serving cell (PCELL));
establishing a secondary radio link with each of two or more secondary cells selected from a plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Lin, Fig. 2, col 5 ln 25-27, “one CC is configured as PCELL and other CCs are configured as SCELLs. In the example of FIG. 2, CCs from the same eNB have the same TA value…as a result PCELL, SCELL1, and SCELL2 are configured as CC group#1”. The radio links used by the SCELLs and the UE, where the radio links are grouped from a plurality of radio links for communication with the UE. Fig. 5, col 6 ln 20-22, “In step 511, UE 501 establishes an RRC connection with eNB 502. The RRC connection is established over multiple CCs including one PCELL and a plurality of SCELLs”).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 17, selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell;
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell;
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell; and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell that is not the special secondary cell, wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device,
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover, and
the primary cell and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device.
However, Hu teaches selecting and configuring a second cell of the two or more secondary cells to be a special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0133], “A master node indicates a first rule to a terminal device. The first rule is used to select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The Master node indicates to the terminal device the first secondary node to use when there is a link problem with the master node. [0102], the secondary node has a primary secondary cell (PSCell) which is referred as a special cell (SpCell));
receiving an indication that the primary radio link has failed, wherein the indication is received by the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0173], the master node receives the first information, which is received by the first secondary node. [0135], [0169], the first information indicates a link problem of the master node (MCG failure));
sending a reconfiguration message to the user device through the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], [0180], the master node sends a response for the first information to the terminal device through the first secondary node. [0184], the response for the first information indicates the terminal device to perform a handover. [0125], “The response for the first information may be carried in the RRC reconfiguration message or an RRC connection release message that is sent by the master node to the terminal device through a first secondary node”); and
performing a handover of the primary radio link from the first cell to a new primary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0177], “Step 505: The master node sends a response for the first information to the first secondary node”, [0184], “the response for the first information may notify the terminal device to hand over a primary cell”) that is not the special secondary cell (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The terminal device may be handed over, based on the response for the first information, from an original primary cell to a primary cell determined based on the response for the first information. The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”. The terminal device is handed over to a new primary cell, which is not a special secondary cell. [0102], “When there are a plurality of cells in the MCG or the SCG, a cell other than the SpCell may be referred to as a secondary cell (SCell)”. A different cell in the same base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the same base station. Also, a different cell in a different base station is not a SpCell, where the terminal device hands over to a different cell (primary cell) in the different base station), wherein:
the new primary cell is selected from one of the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, Fig. 5, [0184], “The primary cell after the handover and the original primary cell may be different cells of a same base station, or different cells of different base stations”),
the special secondary cell remains configured as the special secondary cell after the handover (Hu, [0128], “If no SCG RLF is detected, the terminal device may further send the MCG failure information to the master node through the secondary node… the SCG configuration may be further reserved”, Fig. 5, [0133], “select, when the terminal device detects a link problem of the master node, a first secondary node from N secondary nodes configured for the terminal device. The first secondary node is configured to forward first information received from the terminal device to the master node”. The first secondary node is selected and used to transmit/receive information between the terminal device and the Master node), and
the primary cell (Hu, [0186], “the master node may further send the configuration information to the terminal device…the configuration information is carried in an RRC dedicated message”) and the special secondary cell provide a radio resource control (RRC) connection with the user device (Hu, [0182], “first secondary node encapsulates the response for the first information received from the master node into an RRC message (for example, a multi-connectivity downlink transmission information message) corresponding to one SRB3. The first secondary node sends the RRC message corresponding to the SRB3 to the terminal device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Lin teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin does not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 18, wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device.
As to claim 18, Hu teaches wherein the indication includes measurement information for the plurality of additional cells that are able to communicate with the user device (Hu, [0124], “the first information may include at least one of the following… measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the master node, measurement results of cells corresponding to some measurement frequencies in some measurement configurations delivered by the secondary node, and the like”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin to have the features, as taught by Hu, in order to reserve the SCG configuration and shortening data transmission interruption time on the secondary node side and master node side, thereby recovering data transmission (Hu, [0128]).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,042,315) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Lin” in view of Hu et al. (US 2024/0236719 A9), hereinafter “Hu” and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0156505), hereinafter “Wu”.
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 4, further comprising after receiving the indication, a timer is started to determine an amount of time that passes before performing the handover, wherein when the timer reaches a predetermined time without a handover being performed, a reestablishment procedure is initiated.
As to claim 4, Wu teaches further comprising after receiving the indication (Wu, Fig. 4, [0074], “access node 420C may, in operation 433 (denoted by dotted arrow as an option), receive a signaling message…The signaling message may indicate a failure in a backhaul link (e.g., between parent node 420A and BS 410). Access node 420C may consider a radio link failure to be detected upon receiving the signaling message, and RLF in the MCG link may thus be declared”), a timer is started to determine an amount of time that passes before performing the handover (Wu, Fig. 4, [0086], “a value of a MCG link recovery timer (e.g., T316). Access node 420C may start the MCG link recovery timer and may initiate the fast MCG link recovery procedure in response to a RLF (e.g., after a RLF is declared)”), wherein when the timer reaches a predetermined time without a handover being performed, a reestablishment procedure is initiated (Wu, [0086], “If the MCG link is not recovered before the expiry of the MCG link recovery timer, access node 420C may initiate a reestablishment procedure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to handle a failure in the backhaul link when multi-connectivity is supported in a wireless communication system (Wu, [0004]).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise: starting a timer after receiving the indication to determine an amount of time that passes before the handover is performed, wherein when the timer reaches a predetermined time without a handover being performed, a reestablishment procedure is initiated.
As to claim 19, Wu teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
starting a timer after receiving the indication (Wu, Fig. 4, [0074], “access node 420C may, in operation 433 (denoted by dotted arrow as an option), receive a signaling message…The signaling message may indicate a failure in a backhaul link (e.g., between parent node 420A and BS 410). Access node 420C may consider a radio link failure to be detected upon receiving the signaling message, and RLF in the MCG link may thus be declared”) to determine an amount of time that passes before the handover is performed (Wu, Fig. 4, [0086], “a value of a MCG link recovery timer (e.g., T316). Access node 420C may start the MCG link recovery timer and may initiate the fast MCG link recovery procedure in response to a RLF (e.g., after a RLF is declared)”), wherein when the timer reaches a predetermined time without a handover being performed, a reestablishment procedure is initiated (Wu, [0086], “If the MCG link is not recovered before the expiry of the MCG link recovery timer, access node 420C may initiate a reestablishment procedure”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Wu, in order to handle a failure in the backhaul link when multi-connectivity is supported in a wireless communication system (Wu, [0004]).
Claims 6-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,042,315) (provided in the IDS), hereinafter “Lin” in view of Hu et al. (US 2024/0236719 A9), hereinafter “Hu” and further in view of Orsino et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,959,279) (provided in the IDS).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 6, wherein at least the first cell and the new primary cell are fifth-generation (5G) cells.
As to claim 6, Orsino teaches wherein at least the first cell and the new primary cell are fifth-generation (5G) cells (Orsino, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the PCell and the SCell use 5G technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Orsino, because 5g is a known communication technology (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-52). Additionally, in order to avoid the RRC connection re-establishment procedure with a consequent connectivity interruption (Orsino, col 7 ln 40-42).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 7, wherein at least the first cell is a fifth-generation (5G) cell, and the new primary cell is one of an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA) cell or a universal terrestrial radio access (UTRA) cell.
As to claim 7, Orsino teaches wherein at least the first cell is a fifth-generation (5G) cell (Orsino, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the PCell uses 5G technology), and the new primary cell is one of an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA) cell or a universal terrestrial radio access (UTRA) cell (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-51, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the SCell uses LTE which is E-UTRAN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Orsino, because 5g and LTE are a known communication technologies (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-52). Additionally, in order to avoid the RRC connection re-establishment procedure with a consequent connectivity interruption (Orsino, col 7 ln 40-42).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 13, wherein at least the first cell and the special secondary cell is a fifth generation (5G) cell.
As to claim 13, Orsino teaches wherein at least the first cell and the special secondary cell is a fifth generation (5G) cell (Orsino, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the PCell and the SCell use 5G technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Orsino, because 5g is a known communication technology (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-52). Additionally, in order to avoid the RRC connection re-establishment procedure with a consequent connectivity interruption (Orsino, col 7 ln 40-42).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 14, wherein the new primary cell is an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA) cell or a universal terrestrial radio access UTRA cell.
As to claim 14, Orsino teaches wherein the new primary cell is an evolved universal terrestrial radio access (EUTRA) cell or a universal terrestrial radio access UTRA cell (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-51, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the SCell uses LTE which is E-UTRAN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Orsino, because 5g and LTE are a known communication technologies (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-52). Additionally, in order to avoid the RRC connection re-establishment procedure with a consequent connectivity interruption (Orsino, col 7 ln 40-42).
Lin and Hu teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Lin and Hu do not explicitly teach the following feature: regarding claim 15, wherein the new primary cell is a 5G cell.
As to claim 15, Orsino teaches wherein the new primary cell is a 5G cell (Orsino, Fig. 4, col 6 ln 25-35, the PCell and the SCell use 5G technology).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lin and Hu to have the features, as taught by Orsino, because 5g is a known communication technology (Orsino, col 1 ln 42-52). Additionally, in order to avoid the RRC connection re-establishment procedure with a consequent connectivity interruption (Orsino, col 7 ln 40-42).
Conclusion
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473