DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s reply dated 8/7/25. Claims 40-59 have been examined, where claims 46-59 have been newly added; and claims 40-45 have been previously rejected. Claims 1-39 have been cancelled.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Double Patenting
As per Applicant’s cancellation of claims 26-39, the rejection of claims 26-39 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 107302781) in view of Picard (WO 2008/033514).
Regarding Claim 40 (Previously Presented),
Computerized apparatus configured to obtain data relating to use of one or more air interfaces within a premises, the computerized apparatus comprising: processor apparatus; and storage apparatus in data communication with the processor apparatus and comprising at least one computer program, the at least one computer program comprising a plurality of instructions which are configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the computerized apparatus to:
receive … a first communication originating from a source secondary IoT user device [Chen: p. 7-8; specifically, as shown in FIG. 2, the plurality of IOT-UE and dual mode relay device are located on the mobile device; multiple IOT-UE can access device and double-mode relay which has the same movement state, and reporting the own corresponding identifier of the terminal; said dual-module relay device stores terminal identification reported by the plurality of IOT-UE and generating terminal resident list, at the same time, the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station, and periodically to a plurality of IOT-UE residing in the dual-mode relay device; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode];
modify the first communication to form a concatenated message comprising … (ii) a device identifier of the computerized apparatus, and (iii) a secondary device identifier of the source secondary IoT user device [Chen: p. 9; step 302: the double-mode relay device based on IOT simplified base station function, using the global user identification card itself (USIM Universal Subscriber Identity Module) random generating cell identification; step 306: IOT-UE the selection or reselection to the dual-mode relay device, establishing a first communication connection, and reporting terminal identifier corresponding to itself through the first communication connection; step 307: the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list; step 308: the double-mode relay equipment according to the preset time interval, modifying the cell identifier of itself, and clearing the terminal resident list; every time when the dual-mode relay device based on LTE mobile station function reports a TAU (trigger mechanism uses the existing LTE reporting of TAU ),namely the double-mode relay device triggering a TAU, the attendant will be resident list generated by the terminal, to the terminal resident list sent to the LTE eNB; p. 10; the first processing unit, device identification is further used for based on the dual-mode relay device, generating a cell identifier; correspondingly, the first obtaining unit is further used for based on the cell identifier, receiving at least one access request of the first type terminal; in this embodiment, the first processing unit is further used for, according to the preset time interval, updating the cell identifier]; and
transmit the concatenated message toward a base station [Chen: p. 7; the LTE mobile station with dual-mode relay device and an IOT simplified base station two modes, namely the LTE/IOT double-mode relay device; p. 8; the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode].
However, Chen does not teach the limitations that recite … intermediate user devices of a plurality of user devices … a concatenated message comprising (i) one or more identifiers of the one or more intermediate user devices, respectively ….
POSITA would have considered Picard’s identifying levels via flag notifications associated with nodes (e.g., father node) being transmitted to cell masters and would have incorporated these identifying levels for father nodes in Chen’s terminal resident list.
Picard teaches:
receive, via one or more intermediate user devices of a plurality of user devices, a first communication … modify the first communication to form a concatenated message comprising (i) one or more identifiers of the one or more intermediate user devices, respectively, … [Picard: intermediate device == father node; target secondary device == son node; 0040; at least some of which node devices comprise cell masters which provide communications between the central facility and others of the node devices associated therewith in respective cells formed by each respective cell master, and at least some of which node devices comprise father node devices which provide a synchronized communications link between a respective cell master and others of the node devices defining son node devices of a given respective father node device; configuring the network for bi-directional communications between the central facility and each of the plurality of node devices via associations with respective of the father node devices and of the cell masters; at each node device, establishing and updating information about each such node device and its respective neighbor relationships and communications links, including a flag notification confirming that such node device has available to it potential fathers above a predetermined number thereof, each such node device 30 including such flag notification as applicable in its transmissions; 0047; assigning levels to each node based on the number of hops the node is away from the master node such that nodes further away from the master node will be assigned higher numbers; identifying at each node neighbor nodes thereof, wherein neighbors with a lower level are identified as fathers of the node, neighbors having an equal level are identified as brothers, and neighbors having a higher level are identified as sons; 0414; A relay has a level "l ";anon-synchronized endpoint has a level "0"; and an endpoint that is at N hops from the cell relay has a level "N+ 1 ". The respective levels relative to present synchronization protocol are represented in present Figure 18].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Picard in order to optimize use of low-bandwidth RF LAN [Picard: 0210].
Regarding Claim 42 (Currently Amended),
Chen teaches:
wherein: the computerized apparatus communicates with the base station via a mobile network protocol [Chen: mobile network protocol == LTE protocol; p. 7; the LTE mobile station with dual-mode relay device and an IOT simplified base station two modes, namely the LTE/IOT double-mode relay device; p. 8; the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode]; and
However, Chen does not teach that the secondary IoT user device comprises an Internet of Things (IoT) device configured to communicate with the computerized apparatus via a local wireless protocol (LWP).
Picard teaches:
the source secondary IoT user device comprises an Internet of Things (IoT) device configured to communicate with the computerized apparatus via a local wireless protocol (LWP) [Picard: 0196; major components of AMS 100 include exemplary respective meters 142, 144, 146, 148, 152, 154, 156, and 158; one or more respective radio-based networks including RF 15 neighborhood area network (RF NAN) 162 and its accompanying Radio Relay 172].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Picard in order to optimize use of low-bandwidth RF LAN [Picard: 0210].
Claim(s) 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 107302781) in view of Picard (WO 2008/033514) and further in view of Saberi (CA 2725065).
Regarding Claim 41 (Previously Presented),
In Chen-Picard combination, Chen teaches:
wherein the plurality of instructions which are configured to, when executed by the processor apparatus, cause the computerized apparatus to:
receive, via at least one intermediate user device, a second communication originating from the base station intended for delivery to a target secondary IoT user device [Chen: p. 3; triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal; p. 9; sending a location update through the LTE-MME or position registration acknowledgement message back to the LTE eNB -, then by the LTE eNB-back to said dual-module relay device, finishes the position updating or location registration process],
the second communication comprising a second concatenated message comprising … (ii) a device identifier of the computerized apparatus, and (iii) a target secondary device identifier of the target secondary IoT user device [Chen: p. 9; step 308: the double-mode relay equipment according to the preset time interval, modifying the cell identifier of itself, and clearing the terminal resident list; every time when the dual-mode relay device based on LTE mobile station function reports a TAU (trigger mechanism uses the existing LTE reporting of TAU ),namely the double-mode relay device triggering a TAU, the attendant will be resident list generated by the terminal, to the terminal resident list sent to the LTE eNB; p. 10; the first processing unit, device identification is further used for based on the dual-mode relay device, generating a cell identifier; correspondingly, the first obtaining unit is further used for based on the cell identifier, receiving at least one access request of the first type terminal; in this embodiment, the first processing unit is further used for, according to the preset time interval, updating the cell identifier];
Note:
Double mode relays transmit terminal resident list to the base station; and the base station also transmits back this terminal resident list during location update.
However, Chen-Picard does not teach the limitations, which recite … a concatenated message comprising (i) at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively … remove (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, and (ii) the device identifier of the computerized device ….
Saberi teaches:
the second communication comprising a second concatenated message comprising (i) at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively … modify the received second communication to remove (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, and (ii) the device identifier of the computerized apparatus, such that the modified second communication includes only the target secondary device identifier, and transmit the modified second communication toward the target secondary IoT user device [Saberi: 0177; in messages sent from the remote coordinator 1004 to the leaf node 1020 in this series arrangement, the remote coordinator 1004 may include the Meter ID of node 1016 node 1018 and node 1020; the message containing all three Meter ID may be received by node 1016 which may remove its Meter ID, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to the remote coordinator 1004, and may pass the message now containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020 to node 1018. Node 1018 may receive the message containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to node 1016, remove its Meter ID, and may pass the message now only containing the Meter ID for node 1020 to node 1020].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen-Picard and Saberi in order to optimize use of low-bandwidth RF LAN [Picard: 0210] and in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Claim(s) 43-46 and 49-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 107302781) in view of Saberi (CA 2725065).
Regarding Claim 43 (Currently Amended),
Chen teaches:
Computer readable apparatus comprising a non-transitory storage medium, the non-transitory storage medium comprising at least one computer program having a plurality of instructions configured to, when executed on a processing apparatus of a computerized device, cause the computerized device to:
receive, via at least one intermediate user device, a communication originating from base station intended for delivery to a target secondary Internet of Things (IoT) device [Chen: p. 3; triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal; p. 9; sending a location update through the LTE-MME or position registration acknowledgement message back to the LTE eNB -, then by the LTE eNB-back to said dual-module relay device, finishes the position updating or location registration process],
the communication comprising a concatenated message comprising … (ii) a device identifier of the computerized device, and (iii) a target secondary IoT device identifier of the target secondary IoT device [Chen: p. 9; step 308: the double-mode relay equipment according to the preset time interval, modifying the cell identifier of itself, and clearing the terminal resident list; every time when the dual-mode relay device based on LTE mobile station function reports a TAU (trigger mechanism uses the existing LTE reporting of TAU ),namely the double-mode relay device triggering a TAU, the attendant will be resident list generated by the terminal, to the terminal resident list sent to the LTE eNB; p. 10; the first processing unit, device identification is further used for based on the dual-mode relay device, generating a cell identifier; correspondingly, the first obtaining unit is further used for based on the cell identifier, receiving at least one access request of the first type terminal; in this embodiment, the first processing unit is further used for, according to the preset time interval, updating the cell identifier];
Note:
Double mode relays transmit terminal resident list to the base station; and the base station also transmits back this terminal resident list during location update.
However, Chen does not teach the limitations, which recite … a concatenated message comprising (i) at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively … remove (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, and (ii) the device identifier of the computerized device ….
Saberi teaches:
the communication comprising a concatenated message comprising (i) at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively … modify the received communication to remove (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, and (ii) the device identifier of the computerized device, and transmit the modified communication toward the target secondary IoT device [Saberi: 0177; in messages sent from the remote coordinator 1004 to the leaf node 1020 in this series arrangement, the remote coordinator 1004 may include the Meter ID of node 1016 node 1018 and node 1020; the message containing all three Meter ID may be received by node 1016 which may remove its Meter ID, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to the remote coordinator 1004, and may pass the message now containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020 to node 1018. Node 1018 may receive the message containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to node 1016, remove its Meter ID, and may pass the message now only containing the Meter ID for node 1020 to node 1020].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 44 (Currently Amended),
Chen teaches triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal [Chen: p. 3].
However, Chen does not teach the limitation that the concatenated message further comprises at least one identifier of at least one other user device downstream from the computerized device, and the modified second communication includes both (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one other user device downstream from the computerized device, and (ii) the target secondary device identifier of the target secondary IoT device.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the concatenated message further comprises at least one other identifier of at least one other respective user device downstream from the computerized device, and the modified communication includes both (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one other user device downstream from the computerized device, and (ii) the target secondary IoT device identifier of the target secondary IoT device [Saberi: 0177; in messages sent from the remote coordinator 1004 to the leaf node 1020 in this series arrangement, the remote coordinator 1004 may include the Meter ID of node 1016 node 1018 and node 1020; the message containing all three Meter ID may be received by node 1016 which may remove its Meter ID, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to the remote coordinator 1004, and may pass the message now containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020 to node 1018. Node 1018 may receive the message containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to node 1016, remove its Meter ID, and may pass the message now only containing the Meter ID for node 1020 to node 1020].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 45 (Currently Amended),
Chen teaches triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal [Chen: p. 3].
However, Chen does not teach that the transmission of the modified second communication toward the target secondary device comprises transmission of the modified second communication to one or more intermediate user devices; and modification of the received communication further comprises addition of one or more respective device identifiers of the one or more intermediate user devices thereto.
Saberi teaches:
wherein: the transmission of the modified communication toward the target secondary IoT device comprises transmission of the modified communication to one or more intermediate user devices; and modification of the received communication further comprises addition of one or more respective device identifiers of the one or more intermediate user devices thereto [Saberi: 0177; in messages sent from the remote coordinator 1004 to the leaf node 1020 in this series arrangement, the remote coordinator 1004 may include the Meter ID of node 1016 node 1018 and node 1020; the message containing all three Meter ID may be received by node 1016 which may remove its Meter ID, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to the remote coordinator 1004, and may pass the message now containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020 to node 1018. Node 1018 may receive the message containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to node 1016, remove its Meter ID, and may pass the message now only containing the Meter ID for node 1020 to node 1020].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 46 (New),
A method for managing communications of a plurality of Internet of Things (IoT) devices in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
at a primary device associated with a plurality of IoT devices, establishing a communication link with a base station via a mobile network protocol [Chen: p. 7-8; specifically, as shown in FIG. 2, the plurality of IOT-UE and dual mode relay device are located on the mobile device; multiple IOT-UE can access device and double-mode relay which has the same movement state, and reporting the own corresponding identifier of the terminal; said dual-module relay device stores terminal identification reported by the plurality of IOT-UE and generating terminal resident list, at the same time, the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station, and periodically to a plurality of IOT-UE residing in the dual-mode relay device; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode];
receiving, from one or more secondary IoT devices in the plurality via a local wireless protocol, respective device identifiers and data; forming a bundled identifier set comprising a primary device identifier and the respective device identifiers of the one or more secondary IoT devices [Chen: p. 9; step 302: the double-mode relay device based on IOT simplified base station function, using the global user identification card itself (USIM Universal Subscriber Identity Module) random generating cell identification; step 306: IOT-UE the selection or reselection to the dual-mode relay device, establishing a first communication connection, and reporting terminal identifier corresponding to itself through the first communication connection; step 307: the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list; step 308: the double-mode relay equipment according to the preset time interval, modifying the cell identifier of itself, and clearing the terminal resident list; every time when the dual-mode relay device based on LTE mobile station function reports a TAU (trigger mechanism uses the existing LTE reporting of TAU ),namely the double-mode relay device triggering a TAU, the attendant will be resident list generated by the terminal, to the terminal resident list sent to the LTE eNB; p. 10; the first processing unit, device identification is further used for based on the dual-mode relay device, generating a cell identifier; correspondingly, the first obtaining unit is further used for based on the cell identifier, receiving at least one access request of the first type terminal; in this embodiment, the first processing unit is further used for, according to the preset time interval, updating the cell identifier];
transmitting the bundled identifier set and associated data to the base station via the mobile network protocol [Chen: p. 7; the LTE mobile station with dual-mode relay device and an IOT simplified base station two modes, namely the LTE/IOT double-mode relay device; p. 8; the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode];
receiving, from the base station, downlink data intended for at least one of the one or more secondary IoT devices, the downlink data including the bundled identifier set [Chen: p. 3; triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal; p. 9; sending a location update through the LTE-MME or position registration acknowledgement message back to the LTE eNB -, then by the LTE eNB-back to said dual-module relay device, finishes the position updating or location registration process]; and
However, Chen does not teach modifying the downlink data to retain an identifier of the at least one secondary IoT device.
Saberi teaches:
modifying the downlink data to retain an identifier of the at least one secondary IoT device, and transmitting the modified downlink data to the at least one secondary IoT device via the local wireless protocol [Saberi: 0177; in messages sent from the remote coordinator 1004 to the leaf node 1020 in this series arrangement, the remote coordinator 1004 may include the Meter ID of node 1016 node 1018 and node 1020; the message containing all three Meter ID may be received by node 1016 which may remove its Meter ID, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to the remote coordinator 1004, and may pass the message now containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020 to node 1018. Node 1018 may receive the message containing the Meter ID for node 1018 and node 1020, send an ACKNOWLEDGE message to node 1016, remove its Meter ID, and may pass the message now only containing the Meter ID for node 1020 to node 1020].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 49 (New),
Chen teaches that the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9].
However, Chen does not teach … aggregate data from a plurality of secondary devices comprising sensors, controllers, or monitoring devices.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the primary device is configured to aggregate data from a plurality of secondary devices comprising sensors, controllers, or monitoring devices [Saberi: 0170; as a non-limiting example, nodes 101, such as node shown in Figure 2, may be coupled to a water meter, gas meter, electricity meter, or an equipment as shown in Figures 3, 4, 5, and 6 such that information that may be collected may be communicated by the nodes 916 918 920 to the remote coordinator 906 for communication to the control unit 902; likewise, the nodes 916 918 920 may be coupled to controlled devices, such as a water valve 302, gas valve 402, or switch 502, which may turn on and off the commodity supply (e.g., power supply line) upon an instruction communicated by the remote coordinator 906].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 50 (New),
Chen teaches that the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9].
However, Chen does not teach that the local wireless protocol comprises at least one of an 802.1lxx protocol or an 802.15xx protocol.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the local wireless protocol comprises at least one of an 802.1lxx protocol or an 802.15xx protocol [Saberi: 0007; a monitoring and control system encompassing sensitive power budgeting and embedded wireless technology including but not limited to GSM, GPRS, MESH, SMS, WiFi, and Zigbee for remote monitoring and control of utility grids, commodity distribution networks, industrial equipment, and infrastructure using synchronized wireless communications technology, remote connection and disconnection, and an energy-harvesting device].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 51 (New),
Chen teaches that the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9].
However, Chen does not teach that the primary device is configured as a fixed installation that communicates with a plurality of geographically distributed secondary devices via the local wireless protocol.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the primary device is configured as a fixed installation that communicates with a plurality of geographically distributed secondary devices via the local wireless protocol [Saberi: 0024; in another embodiment, the control unit is a fixed location; 0026; Figure 1 depicts a generalized scheme for a landscape using GSM, SMS, GPRS, ZIGBEE, or MESH network to integrate a control unit with a remote coordinator, and nodes 101 organized into clusters, according to various embodiments of the invention; 0153; a remote coordinator 104 may be a fixed staffed position including but not limited to control room; in another embodiment, a remote coordinator 104 may be a fixed automated position including but not limited to a control box or control panel; 0167; Figure 9 depicts an overall system architecture for providing remote monitoring and control of nodes 101 comprising a control unit 902 networked 108 to three remote coordinators 906 908 910 each networked 108 to a cluster 912 922 930 may comprise three nodes 916 918 920, 108 109 110, and 932 934 936 according to various embodiments of the invention].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 52 (New),
Chen teaches:
wherein the bundled identifier set includes identifiers for multiple secondary devices that are each located at respective remote sites served by the primary device [Chen: p. 9; the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list].
However, Chen does not teach that “… multiple secondary devices that are each located at respective remote sites served by the primary device.”
Saberi teaches:
wherein … multiple secondary devices that are each located at respective remote sites served by the primary device [Saberi: 0359; a node 101 may be integrated into any industrial or commercial site to may measure the efflux of emissions. The node 101 may be coupled to a meter to may measure the outflow and communicate with a remote coordinator 104 which in turns may transmit the information to the control unit 106].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 53 (New),
wherein the primary device is configured for use in a mobile platform comprising multiple secondary devices that communicate with the primary device via the local wireless protocol during movement of the mobile platform [Chen: p. 7-8; specifically, as shown in FIG. 2, the plurality of IOT-UE and dual mode relay device are located on the mobile device; multiple IOT-UE can access device and double-mode relay which has the same movement state, and reporting the own corresponding identifier of the terminal; said dual-module relay device stores terminal identification reported by the plurality of IOT-UE and generating terminal resident list, at the same time].
Regarding Claim 54 (New),
Chen teaches that the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9].
However, Chen does not teach that the local wireless protocol comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) or wireless personal area network (WPAN) protocol configured for communications between the primary device and secondary devices within a premises.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the local wireless protocol comprises a wireless local area network (WLAN) or wireless personal area network (WPAN) protocol configured for communications between the primary device and secondary devices within a premises [Saberi: 0024; in another embodiment, the control unit is a fixed location; 0026; Figure 1 depicts a generalized scheme for a landscape using GSM, SMS, GPRS, ZIGBEE, or MESH network to integrate a control unit with a remote coordinator, and nodes 101 organized into clusters, according to various embodiments of the invention].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 55 (New),
further comprising processing, at the primary device, at least a portion of data received from the one or more secondary devices to generate aggregated information prior to transmission to the base station [Chen: p. 7-8; specifically, as shown in FIG. 2, the plurality of IOT-UE and dual mode relay device are located on the mobile device; multiple IOT-UE can access device and double-mode relay which has the same movement state, and reporting the own corresponding identifier of the terminal; said dual-module relay device stores terminal identification reported by the plurality of IOT-UE and generating terminal resident list, at the same time, the double-mode relay device using the LTE protocol to communicate with the LTE base station, and periodically to a plurality of IOT-UE residing in the dual-mode relay device; the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode].
Regarding Claim 56 (New),
Chen teaches that the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9].
However, Chen does not teach that the primary device is configured to determine, based on a capability indication received from a secondary device, whether the secondary device is authorized for inclusion in a device group.
Saberi teaches:
wherein the primary device is configured to determine, based on a capability indication received from a secondary device, whether the secondary device is authorized for inclusion in a device group [Saberi: 0171; the remote coordinator 906 may send the message from the control unit 902 to the nodes 916 918 920 may be organized into a cluster 912 via a direct bidirectional wireless link; the nodes 916 918 920 may send an acknowledge message to the remote coordinator 906 via a direct bidirectional wireless link].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Saberi in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174].
Regarding Claim 57 (New),
wherein the bundled identifier set transmitted to the base station includes, for each secondary device, a corresponding capability indication [Chen: indication of identifier bundling capability == representation of resident list; p. 9; step 301: the double-mode relay device enter the working state, i.e., after starting, firstly as the LTE mobile station, connected to the LTE base station, and resident LTE network corresponding to the LTE base station; step 302: the double-mode relay device based on IOT simplified base station function, using the global user identification card itself (USIM Universal Subscriber Identity Module) random generating cell identification; step 307: the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list; location update or location registration flow, the LTE mobile station function here, the dual mode relay device being able to realize over-zone switching, cell reselection, TAU; when the dual-mode relay equipment initiates TAU, it will report 'terminal resident list' to the MME in the LTE network by the LTE base station; p. 12; step 902: using the second communication connection the terminal identifier of the receiving terminal double-mode relay device to transmit a representation of at least one first system resident list corresponding to the terminal].
Regarding Claim 58 (New),
wherein:at power-on, each IoT device acquires its location and transmits a power-on (PON) message including the location, a device identifier (DID), and an indication of identifier bundling capability to any proximate provider equipment (PE) node; and an IoT device determined to have address bundling capability is configured for operation as either a primary IoT device servicing a plurality of secondary IoT devices or as a secondary IoT device within the plurality of IoT devices, and an IoT device without the address bundling capability is configured for operation only as a secondary IoT device [Chen: location == TAU or location update or registration; device identifier == terminal resident list; indication of identifier bundling capability == representation of resident list; p. 9; step 301: the double-mode relay device enter the working state, i.e., after starting, firstly as the LTE mobile station, connected to the LTE base station, and resident LTE network corresponding to the LTE base station; step 302: the double-mode relay device based on IOT simplified base station function, using the global user identification card itself (USIM Universal Subscriber Identity Module) random generating cell identification; step 307: the double-mode relay device based on the IOT-UE of the received terminal identification, generating terminal resident list; location update or location registration flow, the LTE mobile station function here, the dual mode relay device being able to realize over-zone switching, cell reselection, TAU; when the dual-mode relay equipment initiates TAU, it will report 'terminal resident list' to the MME in the LTE network by the LTE base station; p. 12; step 902: using the second communication connection the terminal identifier of the receiving terminal double-mode relay device to transmit a representation of at least one first system resident list corresponding to the terminal].
Regarding Claim 59 (New),
wherein at least one intermediate device in a communication path between the primary device and a secondary device is configured to forward a communication without modifying a bundled identifier included in the communication [Chen: p. 3; triggering the first system base station transmits the terminal resident list so as to finish the location update or the location registration process of the at least one first type terminal; p. 9; sending a location update through the LTE-MME or position registration acknowledgement message back to the LTE eNB -, then by the LTE eNB-back to said dual-module relay device, finishes the position updating or location registration process].
Claims 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Saberi in view of Hossam et al. (CA 3100385; also as WO 2019/226838); hereafter Hossam).
Regarding Claim 47 (New),
In Chen-Saberi combination, Chen teaches that the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode [Chen: p. 8].
However, Chen-Saberi does not teach that the base station comprises a Citizens Broadband Radio Service Device (CBSD).
wherein the base station comprises a Citizens Broadband Radio Service Device (CBSD) operating in coordination with a Spectrum Access System (SAS) [Hossam: p. 19; advantageously, exemplary embodiments of the methods and apparatus described herein utilize existing 3GPP signaling mechanisms between, inter alia, the UE and CBSD (including EUTRAN eNodeB functionality), thereby obviating any changes to extant UEs in use; this is accomplished by maintaining two technology "stacks" in the CBSDs (i.e., a CBRS-compliant CBSD stack, and a 3GPP-compliant eNB or gNB stack for communication with 4G o 5G UEs respectively; CBRS-plane communications (e.g., between the CBSD and its parent or cognizant SAS/DP) include new information elements (IEs) or objects which, inter alia, direct the CBSD to implement the handover functionality within its served population of UEs using the CBSD's eNB/gNB stack].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen-Saberi and Hossam in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174] and in order to obviate any changes to extant UEs [Hossam: p. 19].
Regarding Claim 48 (New),
In Chen-Saberi combination, Chen teaches that the dual-mode relay device has the first mode and the second mode specifically refers to support LTE mode, and IOT mode [Chen: p. 8].
However, Chen-Saberi does not teach that the mobile network protocol comprises 5G New Radio (NR).
wherein the mobile network protocol comprises 5G New Radio (NR) [Hossam: p. 19; advantageously, exemplary embodiments of the methods and apparatus described herein utilize existing 3GPP signaling mechanisms between, inter alia, the UE and CBSD (including EUTRAN eNodeB functionality), thereby obviating any changes to extant UEs in use; this is accomplished by maintaining two technology "stacks" in the CBSDs (i.e., a CBRS-compliant CBSD stack, and a 3GPP-compliant eNB or gNB stack for communication with 4G o 5G UEs respectively; CBRS-plane communications (e.g., between the CBSD and its parent or cognizant SAS/DP) include new information elements (IEs) or objects which, inter alia, direct the CBSD to implement the handover functionality within its served population of UEs using the CBSD's eNB/gNB stack].
It would have been obvious for POSITA before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen-Saberi and Hossam in order to minimize RF traffic and reduce collisions between the various nodes 100 of the network [Saberi: 0174] and in order to obviate any changes to extant UEs [Hossam: p. 19].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues regarding independent claim 40 on pages 7-9 of the Remarks section that neither Chen or Picard teach a structured concatenation. In Chen, the message content itself is not taught to include a concatenated string of intermediate identifiers along with the device ID and the source device ID in a single transmission payload. Chen-Picard combination uses impermissible hindsight because POSITA would not modify Chen’s relay device message construction to incorporate Picard’s node-level identifiers. Chen focuses on LTE registration, and Picard concerns mesh routing topologies; and Picard’s hierarchical addressing is in the context of a metering network, not an LTE/IoT relay system.
Examiner’s Response:
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Chen has been cited to only teach “… a concatenated message comprising … (ii) a device identifier of the computerized apparatus, and (iii) a secondary device identifier of the source secondary IoT user device ….”. In particular, Chen reports terminal identifier corresponding to itself and generates terminal resident list based on received terminal identification reported by a plurality of IOT-UEs [Chen: p. 7; see step 306-308 on p. 9]. For example, a position update or a position registration of the double-mode relay device involving TAU sends both a terminal identifier (also an updated cell identifier in another embodiment) corresponding to itself (i.e. inherent to update messaging) and terminal resident list [Chen: p. 9; p. 10]. Picard in Chen-Picard combination only teaches incorporating in Chen’s message by a dual-mode relay device to a base station identifiers of intermediate user devices. See Picard [40; 47; 414]. POSITA would have considered incorporating in a terminal list of Chen’s dual-mode relay device Picard’s teachings to account for an additional hierarchy involving intermediate nodes in radio-based networks including RF neighborhood area network (RF NAN) and its accompanying radio relay 172 [see Picard: 0196 Figs. 2A, 3A, 3B]. Thus, Chen-Picard combination teaches the limitation at issue in claim 40.
Applicant argues regarding independent claim 43 on pages 9-10 of the Remarks section that Chen is silent with respect to a downlink message from a base station to a computerized device where a concatenated message is received and stripped of identifiers. Chen’s “terminal resident list” is a management construct, not an address chain embedded in a message payload, and no identifier stripping logic is present. Saber’s in Chen-Saberi does not teach the claimed apparatus-controlled removal of both intermediate and apparatus IDs in the downlink.
Examiner’s Response:
The claim limitation merely recites “… a concatenated message comprising (i) at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, (ii) a device identifier of the computerized device, and (iii) a target secondary IoT device identifier of the target secondary IoT device …” and does not describe “an address chain embedded in a message payload.” Absent such specificity, Chen’s terminal resident list reads on “a concatenated message comprising … (ii) a device identifier of the computerized device, and (iii) a target secondary IoT device identifier of the target secondary IoT device ….” See also, [Chen: p. 9]. Saberi in Chen-Saberi teaches how to “… remove (i) the at least one identifier of the at least one intermediate user device, respectively, and (ii) the device identifier of the computerized device, and transmit the modified communication toward the target secondary IoT device …” See also, [Saberi: 0177]. Thus, Picard-Saberi teaches the limitations at issue in claim 43.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SAAD A. WAQAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/Saad A. Waqas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468