DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 16-23 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claims 6-10 and 15 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 12, 14, 18-21 are currently amended.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of claims 6-10 and 15, as well as Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 6-10 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 6-10 and 15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,126 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 6-10 and 15 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,538 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) (IDS Reference).
Van den Bosch teaches an animal feed for monogastric animals, and specifically names sows (see entire document, for instance, [0008]). Van den Bosch teaches a standard diet comprising the composition of Table 1A (see entire document, for instance, [00045] and pages 15 and 16). The composition comprises 0.1% calcium nitrate, and specifically, Bolifor (see entire document, for instance, Table 1A), note that the instant specification indicates that Bolifor contains about 63% nitrate (see instant [00024] as well as Van den Bosch [00045]), which means the composition of Van den Bosch comprises 0.063% nitrate. Van den Bosch teaches that the method of Van den Bosch results in vasodilation benefits, but also has further additional benefits, such as color and meat quality (see entire document, for instance, [00034]). The pigs are taught as being at various stages, including piglets, barrows, gilts, boars, and sows (see entire document, for instance, [00037]). It is noted that the pigs can be fed the diet of Van den Bosch at least through farrowing (see entire document, for instance, claim 15).
Regarding claims 21-23, Applicant is reminded that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as improving the redness of meat is merely identifying that the composition can be used in such a way as to have said effect, and not imparting a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 05/26/2026 that Van den Bosch does not describe grower-finisher feed diet comprising the claimed elements. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Specifically, claims 21-23 are directed to a product, wherein the intended use of the product does not materially change the structure of said product. Applicant has not established that there would be a structural difference between the composition of the instant claims and the composition of the prior art.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-14, 16-23 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) (IDS Reference).
Van den Bosch teaches an animal feed for monogastric animals, and specifically names sows (see entire document, for instance, [0008]). Van den Bosch teaches a standard diet comprising the composition of Table 1A (see entire document, for instance, [00045] and pages 15 and 16). The composition comprises 0.1% calcium nitrate, and specifically, Bolifor (see entire document, for instance, Table 1A), note that the instant specification indicates that Bolifor contains about 63% nitrate (see instant [00024] as well as Van den Bosch [00045]), which means the composition of Van den Bosch comprises 0.063% nitrate. Van den Bosch teaches that the method of Van den Bosch results in vasodilation benefits, but also has further additional benefits, such as color and meat quality (see entire document, for instance, [00034]). The pigs are taught as being at various stages, including piglets, barrows, gilts, boars, and sows (see entire document, for instance, [00037]). It is noted that the pigs can be fed the diet of Van den Bosch at least through farrowing (see entire document, for instance, claim 15).
Van den Bosch, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components and the instantly claimed method, does not expressly articulate all of the claimed properties and comparisons of the composition to animals that have not undergone the instantly claimed method. Van den Bosch further, while teaching that the pigs are fed the diet at least through farrowing, does not exemplify feeding of the diet during the growing or finishing phases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to follow the method as taught by Van den Bosch, and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so since Van den Bosch teaches the instantly claimed method steps utilizing the instantly claimed composition. It is noted that anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.
It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to continue feeding the pigs the diet after farrowing, through the growing and/or finishing phases. One would have been motivated to do so since Van den Bosch teaches that the diet results in other benefits, including feed intake, coping with heat stress, immunity, efficiency, meat quality, color, among others (see entire document, for instance, [0034]). These benefits would be desirable at any stage of the pig’s development, wherein Van den Bosch teaches that the animals are fed the diet at least through farrowing, this teaching of Van den Bosch indicates that the animals can be fed the diet after farrowing as well. One of ordinary skill in the art, desiring the benefits listen in Van den Bosch, would be motivated to feed the pigs the diet all the way through their development, growth, and finishing.
Applicant is reminded that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as improving the redness of meat is merely identifying that the composition can be used in such a way as to have said effect, and not imparting a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 05/26/2026 that the benefits listed in Van den Bosch are merely a general list of possible additional benefits. Applicant asserts that these benefits do not provide an articulated reason to modify Van den Bosch’s exemplified protocol. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Specifically, the benefits are directly tied to the vasodilation from the nitrate in the supplement, therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, desiring the benefits of the nitrate in the supplement throughout the grower or finisher phases of the pig would be motivated to utilize the supplement.
Regarding claims 21-23, Applicant is reminded that the intended use of a composition does not change the structure of a product claim, absent evidence to the contrary. Claims 21-23 are directed to a product, wherein the intended use of the product does not materially change the structure of said product. Applicant has not established that there would be a structural difference between the composition of the instant claims and the composition of the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 16-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a method of improving meat quality in swine comprising feeding the pigs a diet comprising 0.01-1% nitrate, wherein the feeding is during one of the weaning phase, the growth phase, the finishing phase, or combinations of the phases, and wherein the nitrate is at least 0/06% of the daily diet, and wherein the nitrate is calcium nitrate (see claims 1-11).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 05/26/2026 that the result of the instant method, namely, the carcass yield, is not present in the patented claims. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive since the effects of the method are necessarily tied to the composition and the active method steps which are taught in the patented claims. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 16-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a swine feed composition that is effective to increase the red color of the meat obtained when fed during the weaning phase, the growth phase, the finishing phase, or combinations of the phases. The diet comprising 0.02-0.07 nitrate, wherein the nitrate is selected from the group including calcium nitrate (see claims 1-8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 05/26/2026 that the result of the instant method, namely, the carcass yield, is not present in the patented claims. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive since the effects of the method are necessarily tied to the composition and the active method steps which are taught in the patented claims. Therefore, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611