DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-23 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-23 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) (IDS Reference).
Van den Bosch teaches an animal feed for monogastric animals, and specifically names sows (see entire document, for instance, [0008]). Van den Bosch teaches a standard diet comprising the composition of Table 1A (see entire document, for instance, [00045] and pages 15 and 16). The composition comprises 0.1% calcium nitrate, and specifically, Bolifor (see entire document, for instance, Table 1A), note that the instant specification indicates that Bolifor contains about 63% nitrate (see instant [00024] as well as Van den Bosch [00045]), which means the composition of Van den Bosch comprises 0.063% nitrate. Van den Bosch teaches that the method of Van den Bosch results in vasodilation benefits, but also has further additional benefits, such as color and meat quality (see entire document, for instance, [00034]). The pigs are taught as being at various stages, including piglets, barrows, gilts, boars, and sows (see entire document, for instance, [00037]). It is noted that the pigs can be fed the diet of Van den Bosch at least through farrowing (see entire document, for instance, claim 15).
Applicant is reminded that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as improving the redness of meat is merely identifying that the composition can be used in such a way as to have said effect, and not imparting a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-23 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van den Bosch et al (WO 2016/090366) (IDS Reference).
Van den Bosch teaches an animal feed for monogastric animals, and specifically names sows (see entire document, for instance, [0008]). Van den Bosch teaches a standard diet comprising the composition of Table 1A (see entire document, for instance, [00045] and pages 15 and 16). The composition comprises 0.1% calcium nitrate, and specifically, Bolifor (see entire document, for instance, Table 1A), note that the instant specification indicates that Bolifor contains about 63% nitrate (see instant [00024] as well as Van den Bosch [00045]), which means the composition of Van den Bosch comprises 0.063% nitrate. Van den Bosch teaches that the method of Van den Bosch results in vasodilation benefits, but also has further additional benefits, such as color and meat quality (see entire document, for instance, [00034]). The pigs are taught as being at various stages, including piglets, barrows, gilts, boars, and sows (see entire document, for instance, [00037]). It is noted that the pigs can be fed the diet of Van den Bosch at least through farrowing (see entire document, for instance, claim 15).
Van der Bosch, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components and the instantly claimed method, does not expressly articulate all of the claimed properties and comparisons of the composition to animals that have not undergone the instantly claimed method.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to follow the method as taught by Van der Bosch, and arrive at the instantly claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so since Van der Bosch teaches the instantly claimed method steps utilizing the instantly claimed composition. It is noted that anticipation is the epitome of obviousness.
Applicant is reminded that the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as improving the redness of meat is merely identifying that the composition can be used in such a way as to have said effect, and not imparting a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,547,126. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a method of improving meat quality in swine comprising feeding the pigs a diet comprising 0.01-1% nitrate, wherein the feeding is during one of the weaning phase, the growth phase, the finishing phase, or combinations of the phases, and wherein the nitrate is at least 0/06% of the daily diet, and wherein the nitrate is calcium nitrate (see claims 1-11).
Claims 1-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,004,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to a swine feed composition that is effective to increase the red color of the meat obtained when fed during the weaning phase, the growth phase, the finishing phase, or combinations of the phases. The diet comprising 0.02-0.07 nitrate, wherein the nitrate is selected from the group including calcium nitrate (see claims 1-8).
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611