Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/06/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. US 20150139055 A1 (Foreign Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Gan et al. US 20180184429 A1 (Foreign Priority June 16, 2015).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Imamura discloses a method, comprising: generating a radio frequency signal by at least modulating to-be-transmitted information (see, a modulator that modulates a data signal to generate a transmission signal, section 0037; noted, the outputting of a signal that is modulated from information, section 0044) by using at least a first frequency and a second frequency (see, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140), wherein the two or more consecutive bits of to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency (see, a modulation signal generator that generates a first modulation signal according to the first frequency and a second modulation signal according to the second frequency, section 0143; noted, data mapping unit maps a data signal to the subcarrier in the same frequency position as that of the frequency used in the frequency modulation, section 0118); and sending the radio frequency signal (see, antenna receives a wireless signal transmitted to the air, and outputs the reception signal to the LNA where the reception signal includes the data signal, section 0057; noted, transmission signal generator that generates the transmission signal according to the first modulation signal and the second modulation signal which are generated by the modulation signal generator, section 0144).
Imamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; and sending the radio frequency signal.
However Gan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan), and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; and sending the radio frequency signal.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Gan with the consecutive bits as taught by Gan. The motivation would have been to improve allocation from to-be-assigned frequency domain resources.
Regarding claim 2 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target frequency, the first frequency, and the second frequency satisfy a formula of: AF=xF1+yF2 or AF=xF1-yF2, wherein: AF represents the target frequency, F1 represents the first frequency, F2 represents the second frequency, and x and y are positive integers (see, formulas regarding the difference between two frequencies and the difference itself, section 0052; noted, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140).
Regarding claim 3 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the target frequency comprises a frequency difference between the first frequency and the second frequency (see, data signal is assigned to a frequency difference of two frequencies, section 0072).
Regarding claim 4 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: the first frequency comprises a default value (see, first frequency is a predetermined frequency, section 0145); or the first frequency is related to a frequency domain resource or a time domain resource of a first link, and the radio frequency signal is transmitted using the first link (see, transmission of a first modulation signal, section 0085); or the first frequency is configured by a network device.
Regarding claim 5 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 4, further comprising: determining the second frequency based on the target frequency and the first frequency (see, the difference between frequencies formula can be changed around to calculate the second frequency, section 0043; noted, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140).
Regarding claim 6 (Currently Amended), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: the two or more consecutive bits of to-be-transmitted information are mapped to the target frequency based on a mapping relationship (see, data mapping unit receives a data signal, distributes the signal to two subcarriers according to the data signal, and outputs subcarrier information, section 0117; noted, data mapping unit maps a data signal to the subcarrier in the same frequency position as that of the frequency used in frequency modulation, section 0118), and the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information.
Imamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: the two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to the target frequency based on a mapping relationship, and the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and [[a]] the two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information.
However Gan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to the target frequency (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan) based on a mapping relationship, and the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and the two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Gan with the consecutive bits as taught by Gan. The motivation would have been to improve allocation from to-be-assigned frequency domain resources.
Regarding claim 7 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein modulating the to-be-transmitted information by using at least the first frequency and the second frequency comprises: modulating the to-be-transmitted information by using at least the first frequency (see, a modulation signal generator that generates a first modulation signal according to the first frequency, section 0141) and the second frequency in a modulation scheme of multi-frequency-shift keying or in a modulation scheme of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (see, Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation scheme applied to data mapping unit, sections 0115-0118).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Imamura discloses a method, comprising: receiving a radio frequency signal, wherein the radio frequency signal is generated through modulation of information (see, a modulator that modulates a data signal to generate a transmission signal, section 0037; noted, the outputting of a signal that is modulated from information, section 0044) by using at least a first frequency and a second frequency (see, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140), two or more consecutive bits of the information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency (see, a modulation signal generator that generates a first modulation signal according to the first frequency and a second modulation signal according to the second frequency, section 0143; noted, data mapping unit maps a data signal to the subcarrier in the same frequency position as that of the frequency used in the frequency modulation, section 0118); determining the target frequency by processing the radio frequency signal (see, formulas regarding the difference between two frequencies and the difference itself, section 0052; noted, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140); and obtaining the information by demodulating a signal on the target frequency (see, demodulator demodulates the data signal by performing a demodulation operation of the band-limited signal with the center frequency f.sub.CB-f.sub.CA and the frequency deviation 2*df, section 0097).
Imamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: two or more consecutive bits of the information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; determining the target frequency by processing the radio frequency signal; and obtaining the information by demodulating a signal on the target frequency.
However Gan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: two or more consecutive bits of the information are mapped to a target frequency (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan), and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; determining the target frequency by processing the radio frequency signal; and obtaining the information by demodulating a signal on the target frequency.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Gan with the consecutive bits as taught by Gan. The motivation would have been to improve allocation from to-be-assigned frequency domain resources.
Regarding claim 11 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the target frequency, the first frequency, and the second frequency satisfy a formula of: AF=xF1+yF2 or AF=xF1-yF2, wherein AF represents the target frequency, F1 represents the first frequency, F2 represents the second frequency, and x and y are positive integers (see, formulas regarding the difference between two frequencies and the difference itself, section 0052; noted, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140).
Regarding claim 12 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the target frequency comprises a frequency difference between the first frequency and the second frequency (see, data signal is assigned to a frequency difference of two frequencies, section 0072).
Regarding claim 13 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein: the first frequency comprises a default value (see, first frequency is a predetermined frequency, section 0145); or the first frequency is related to a frequency domain resource or a time domain resource of a first link, and the radio frequency signal is transmitted using the first link (see, transmission of a first modulation signal, section 0085); or the first frequency is configured by a network device.
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein obtaining the information by demodulating the signal on the target frequency comprises: demodulating the signal on the target frequency (see, demodulator demodulates the data signal by performing a demodulation operation of the band-limited signal with the center frequency f.sub.CB-f.sub.CA and the frequency deviation 2*df, section 0097); and obtaining the information based on a mapping relationship (see, demodulator demodulates the data signal by performing a demodulation operation of the band-limited signal with the center frequency f.sub.CB-f.sub.CA and the frequency deviation 2*df, section 0097; noted, data mapping unit maps a data signal to the subcarrier in the same frequency position as that of the frequency used in the frequency modulation, section 0118), wherein the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and two or more consecutive bits of the information.
Imamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and the two or more consecutive bits of the information.
However Gan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein the mapping relationship indicates a relationship between the target frequency and the two or more consecutive bits of the information (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Gan with the consecutive bits as taught by Gan. The motivation would have been to improve allocation from to-be-assigned frequency domain resources.
Regarding claim 15 (Original), Imamura discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein a modulation scheme of the radio frequency signal comprises multi-frequency-shift keying or a modulation scheme of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (see, Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) modulation scheme applied to data mapping unit, sections 0115-0118).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Imamura discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the apparatus is caused to: generate a radio frequency signal by at least modulating to-be-transmitted information (see, a modulator that modulates a data signal to generate a transmission signal, section 0037; noted, the outputting of a signal that is modulated from information, section 0044) by using at least a first frequency and a second frequency (see, the modulator modulates the data signal by assigning the data signal to a frequency difference between a first frequency and a second frequency in a carrier, section 0140), wherein two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency (see, a modulation signal generator that generates a first modulation signal according to the first frequency and a second modulation signal according to the second frequency, section 0143; noted, data mapping unit maps a data signal to the subcarrier in the same frequency position as that of the frequency used in the frequency modulation, section 0118); and send the radio frequency signal (see, antenna receives a wireless signal transmitted to the air, and outputs the reception signal to the LNA where the reception signal includes the data signal, section 0057; noted, transmission signal generator that generates the transmission signal according to the first modulation signal and the second modulation signal which are generated by the modulation signal generator, section 0144).
Imamura discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: wherein two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency, and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; and send the radio frequency signal.
However Gan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: wherein two or more consecutive bits of the to-be-transmitted information are mapped to a target frequency (see, the resource scheduling information includes a bit sequence to indicate an actual allocation of a resource unit(s) from the to-be-assigned frequency domain resource, section 0042 Gan; noted, two consecutive bits as part of a bit sequence, sections 0162-0168 Gan; noted, resource scheduling information further includes first indication information to indicate the bandwidth of the target frequency domain, section 0458 Gan), and the target frequency has an association relationship with at least the first frequency and the second frequency; and send the radio frequency signal.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Gan with the consecutive bits as taught by Gan. The motivation would have been to improve allocation from to-be-assigned frequency domain resources.
Claims 8-9, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. US 20150139055 A1 (Foreign Priority March 11, 2013) in view of Gan et al. US 20180184429 A1 (Foreign Priority June 16, 2015), and in further view of Liu et al. US 20200229018 A1 (Foreign Priority August 13, 2018).
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8 (Original), the method according to claim 1, wherein a first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and the method further comprises: before sending the radio frequency signal, sending one or more pieces of the following information: a frequency domain resource of the first link, a time domain resource of the first link, a frequency domain position of the target frequency, a resolution of the target frequency, a modulation order, a frequency domain position of the first frequency, or a candidate frequency domain position of the second frequency.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein a first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and the method further comprises: before sending the radio frequency signal, sending one or more pieces of the following information: a frequency domain resource of the first link (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), a time domain resource of the first link (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), a frequency domain position of the target frequency, a resolution of the target frequency (see, a subcarrier spacing of subcarriers occupied by the first radio signal is a target subcarrier spacing, section 0266 Liu), a modulation order (see, a candidate MCS set of the P candidate MCS sets that corresponds to the target interval, section 0266 Liu), a frequency domain position of the first frequency (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), or a candidate frequency domain position of the second frequency (see, candidate subcarrier spacings are related to a frequency domain position of frequency domain resources occupied by the first radio signal, sections 0522-0523 Liu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the subcarriers as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9 (Original), the method according to claim 1, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are located at a position other than frequency domain positions of Ni subcarriers with smallest numbers or N2 subcarriers with largest numbers in a bandwidth used by a first link, wherein the first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and Ni and N2 are integers greater than 1 or equal to 1.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 1, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are located at a position other than frequency domain positions of Ni subcarriers with smallest numbers (see, the subcarrier spacing of subcarriers occupied by the first radio signal belongs to is the number of time-frequency resources occupied by one of the X time-frequency unit(s), the M is a positive integer greater than 1, sections 197 Liu) or N2 subcarriers with largest numbers in a bandwidth used by a first link (see, each of X1 first-type measurement value(s) out of the X first-type measurement value(s) is greater than a target threshold, sections 0243 Liu), wherein the first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and Ni and N2 are integers greater than 1 or equal to 1 (see, positive integer associated with subcarriers, sections 126-128 Liu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the subcarriers as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16 (Original), the method according to claim 10, wherein a first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and the method further comprises: before the receiving the radio frequency signal receiving one or more pieces of the following information: a frequency domain resource of the first link, a time domain resource of the first link, a frequency domain position of the target frequency, a resolution of the target frequency, a modulation order, a frequency domain position of the first frequency, or a candidate frequency domain position of the second frequency.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 10, wherein a first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and the method further comprises: before the receiving the radio frequency signal receiving one or more pieces of the following information: a frequency domain resource of the first link (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), a time domain resource of the first link (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), a frequency domain position of the target frequency, a resolution of the target frequency (see, a subcarrier spacing of subcarriers occupied by the first radio signal is a target subcarrier spacing, section 0266 Liu), a modulation order (see, a candidate MCS set of the P candidate MCS sets that corresponds to the target interval, section 0266 Liu), a frequency domain position of the first frequency (see, a time domain position of the third time window is related to the time-frequency resources occupied by the first radio signal, section 0266 Liu), or a candidate frequency domain position of the second frequency (see, candidate subcarrier spacings are related to a frequency domain position of frequency domain resources occupied by the first radio signal, sections 0522-0523 Liu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the subcarriers as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17 (Original), the method according to claim 10, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are located at a position other than frequency domain positions of Ni subcarriers with smallest numbers or N2 subcarriers with largest numbers in a bandwidth used by a first link, wherein the first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal, and Ni and N2 are integers greater than 1 or equal to 1.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the method according to claim 10, wherein the first frequency and the second frequency are located at a position other than frequency domain positions of Ni subcarriers with smallest numbers (see, the subcarrier spacing of subcarriers occupied by the first radio signal belongs to is the number of time-frequency resources occupied by one of the X time-frequency unit(s), the M is a positive integer greater than 1, sections 197 Liu) or N2 subcarriers with largest numbers in a bandwidth used by a first link, wherein the first link is used for transmitting the radio frequency signal (see, each of X1 first-type measurement value(s) out of the X first-type measurement value(s) is greater than a target threshold, sections 0243 Liu), and Ni and N2 are integers greater than 1 or equal to 1 (see, positive integer associated with subcarriers, sections 126-128 Liu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the subcarriers as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19, an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors and one or more memories, wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors, the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code, the computer program code comprises computer instructions, and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions, the apparatus is enabled to perform the method according to claim 10.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors and one or more memories (fig. 4, first-type communication node (450) comprises a controller/processor 490, a memory 480, a receiving processor 452, a transmitter/receiver 456, a transmitting processor 455 and a data source 467, wherein the transmitter/receiver 456 comprises an antenna 460, section 0237 Liu), wherein the one or more memories are coupled to the one or more processors (fig. 4, the controller/processor 490 may be connected to the memory 480 that stores program codes and data, section 0239 Liu), the one or more memories are configured to store computer program code (see, the at least one memory comprises computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to be used in collaboration with the at least one processor, section 0240 Liu), the computer program code comprises computer instructions (see, a memory that stores computer readable instruction program, the computer readable instruction program generates an action when executed by at least one processor, section 0241 Liu), and when the one or more processors execute the computer instructions (see, computer readable instruction program generates an action when executed by at least one processor, section 0241 Liu), the apparatus is enabled to perform the method according to claim 10.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the processor as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
The combination of Imamura and Gan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Original), a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non- transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions, and when the computer program or the instructions are run on a computer, the computer is enabled to perform the method according to claim 1.
However Liu from a similar field of endeavor discloses: a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program or instructions (see, the at least one memory comprises computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to be used in collaboration with the at least one processor, section 0240 Liu), and when the computer program or the instructions are run on a computer (see, a memory that stores computer readable instruction program, the computer readable instruction program generates an action when executed by at least one processor, section 0241 Liu), the computer is enabled to perform the method according to claim 1.
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Imamura and Gan with the memory as taught by Liu. The motivation would have been to improve measurement of wireless communication.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473