DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus, claim 13 is directed to a method and claim 20 is directed to a device therefore each claim is directed towards one of the four statutory categories.
As to claim 1,
Step 2A Prong 1, The phrases determine an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between the transmitting electrode and the receiving electrode in an untouched state; identify a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; determine a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; and determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value is directed towards an abstract idea. The entirety of the above phase, under a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, is directed towards a mathematical concept (mathematical calculation). Each of the above claim features is directed towards the processor performing a mathematical calculation in order to determine or identify the above noted claim features. As explained in MPEP 2106.05(a)(2), mathematical concepts, such as mathematical calculations, have been identified as abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two; Nothing in the claim implements the abstract idea in a practical application of the abstract idea that is significantly more than the abstract idea. In fact, this claim ends with the abstract idea of a determining an adapted touch strength.
Step 2B, The remaining features of the claim are additional elements, which are a mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors. However, these features do not reasonably integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and these additional elements are conventional, and thus do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As evidence
Drake et al. (US 20180059866 ) teach a mutual capacitance sensing grid,(125) comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125. a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: (Note par. 0069, The processing device 110 may also include a memory controller unit (“MCU”) 103 coupled to memory and the processing core 109. The processing core 109 is a processing element configured to execute instructions or perform operations.)
Moon et al. (US 20180081466) teach a mutual capacitance sensing grid,(Fig. 6) comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode;
a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: ([0059] The touch receive electrode Rx may be connected to the touch sensor controller through the sensor lines SL1 to SLp. The touch sensor controller may determine the touch sensor Ts corresponding to a touch based on a touch detection signal applied to the touch transmit electrode Tx and may analyze a sensor signal detected from the touch receive electrode Rx.)
The above additional elements have been demonstrated to be conventional by way of the above identified prior art. These additional elements therefore do not reasonably amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, this claim stands rejected for being directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea).
As to claim 20,
Step 2A Prong 1, The phrases determine an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between the transmitting electrode and the receiving electrode in an untouched state; identify a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; determine a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; and determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value is directed towards an abstract idea. The entirety of the above phase, under a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, is directed towards a mathematical concept (mathematical calculation). Each of the above claim features is directed towards the processor performing a mathematical calculation in order to determine or identify the above noted claim features. As explained in MPEP 2106.05(a)(2), mathematical concepts, such as mathematical calculations, have been identified as abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two; Nothing in the claim implements the abstract idea in a practical application of the abstract idea that is significantly more than the abstract idea. In fact, this claim ends with the abstract idea of a determining an adapted touch strength.
Step 2B, The remaining features of the claim are additional elements, which are a touch sensitive surface; a mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors. However, these features do not reasonably integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and these additional elements are conventional, and thus do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As evidence,
Drake et al. (US 20180059866 ) teach a touch sensitive surface, (surface of sense array 125) mutual capacitance sensing grid,(125 capacitive sense array) comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125. a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: (Note par. 0069, The processing device 110 may also include a memory controller unit (“MCU”) 103 coupled to memory and the processing core 109. The processing core 109 is a processing element configured to execute instructions or perform operations.)
Moon et al. (US 20180081466) teach a touch sensitive surface, (Note surface of Fig. 6) a mutual capacitance sensing grid,(Fig. 6) comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; (Note Fig. 6)
a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: ([0059] The touch receive electrode Rx may be connected to the touch sensor controller through the sensor lines SL1 to SLp. The touch sensor controller may determine the touch sensor Ts corresponding to a touch based on a touch detection signal applied to the touch transmit electrode Tx and may analyze a sensor signal detected from the touch receive electrode Rx.)
The above additional elements have been demonstrated to be conventional by way of the above identified prior art. These additional elements therefore do not reasonably amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, this claim stands rejected for being directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea).
As to claim 13,
Step 2A, Prong One, the phrase determining, at a sensing grid controller, an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in a plurality of electrode pairs comprising a mutual capacitance sensing grid, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to a first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between a transmitting electrode of the electrode pair and a receiving electrode of the electrode pair in an untouched state; identifying a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; determining a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; and determining an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value. The entirety of the above phase, under a broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the disclosure, is directed towards a mathematical concept (mathematical calculation). Each of the above claim features is directed towards the processor performing a mathematical calculation in order to determine or identify the above noted claim features. As explained in MPEP 2106.05(a)(2), mathematical concepts, such as mathematical calculations, have been identified as abstract ideas.
Step 2A, Prong Two; Nothing in the claim implements the abstract idea in a practical application of the abstract idea that is significantly more than the abstract idea. In fact, this claim ends with the abstract idea of a determining an adapted touch strength.
Step 2B, The remaining features of the claim are additional elements; a mutual capacitance sensing grid, plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors. However, these features do not reasonably integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, and these additional elements are conventional, and thus do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
As evidence
Drake et al. (US 20180059866 ) teach comprising a plurality of electrode pairs ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125. comprising a mutual capacitance sensing grid,(125 capacitive sense array)
a sensing grid controller : (Note par. 0069, The processing device 110 may also include a memory controller unit (“MCU”) 103 coupled to memory and the processing core 109. The processing core 109 is a processing element configured to execute instructions or perform operations.)
Moon et al. (US 20180081466) teach comprising a plurality of electrode pairs comprising a mutual capacitance sensing grid,(Fig. 6) each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode;
a sensing grid controller: ([0059] The touch receive electrode Rx may be connected to the touch sensor controller through the sensor lines SL1 to SLp. The touch sensor controller may determine the touch sensor Ts corresponding to a touch based on a touch detection signal applied to the touch transmit electrode Tx and may analyze a sensor signal detected from the touch receive electrode Rx.)
The above additional elements have been demonstrated to be conventional by way of the above identified prior art. These additional elements therefore do not reasonably amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. As such, this claim stands rejected for being directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea).
Regarding claims 2-12, merely extend the abstract idea identified in claim 1 and does not add any further additional elements . Therefore the claims are considered to be directed to the abstract idea analogously to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 14-19, merely extend the abstract idea identified in claim 1 and does not add any further additional elements . Therefore the claims are considered to be directed to the abstract idea analogously to claim 13 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-13, 15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake et al. (US 20180059866) in view of Hsu et al. (US 20160062501).
Regarding claim 1, Drake et al. teach An apparatus comprising:
a mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125.
a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: (Note par. 0069, The processing device 110 may also include a memory controller unit (“MCU”) 103 coupled to memory and the processing core 109. The processing core 109 is a processing element configured to execute instructions or perform operations.)
determine an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between the transmitting electrode and the receiving electrode in an untouched state; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
identify a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
determine a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; ([0067] In accordance with some implementations, the electronic system 100 further includes one or more force electrodes 128 that are disposed below the capacitive sense array 125 and separated from the capacitive sense array 125. The one or more force electrodes 128 are electrically coupled to the processing device 110 via a bus 124, and are configured to provide force signals to the processing device 110 via the bus 124 for determining force associated with candidate touches detected from the capacitive sense array 125. ) Examiner’s position is that the touches detected indicated the change in the sensing value.
Drake et al. does not teach
determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value.
Hsu et al. teach determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, ([0006] The capacitive touch panel is being operated through using a conductive object, such as a finger or a stylus, to approach or contact the touch panel, so as to change a capacitance on the touch panel. When a change in the capacitance is being detected, coordinates of a touch point at where the conductive object approaches or contacts the touch panel can be located, and thereby executes functions corresponded to the coordinates of the touch point.) wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value. ([0031] Next, the touch strength of the touch point in comparison to a preset value is being determined. When the touch strength of the touch point is smaller than the preset value, such as in step S110, the switch module 300 electrically connects the control unit 400 with the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240. It is to be noted that, the touch strength is related to a contact area between the touch point and the touch apparatus 10, and is determined by the capacitance changes in the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240 when the touch point is being sensed,)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value to decide a connection mode of the switch module. (Note Hsu et al par. 0010)
Regarding claim 20, Drake et al. teach an electronic device (Fig. 1A), comprising : a touch- sensitive surface (125, Fig. 1A) comprising;
a mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising a plurality of electrode pairs, each electrode pair comprising a transmitting electrode and a receiving electrode, including at least a first electrode pair comprising a first transmitting electrode and a first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125.
a sensing grid controller electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid, comprising one or more processors and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable when executed by the one or more processors to: (Note par. 0069, The processing device 110 may also include a memory controller unit (“MCU”) 103 coupled to memory and the processing core 109. The processing core 109 is a processing element configured to execute instructions or perform operations.)
determine an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between the transmitting electrode and the receiving electrode in an untouched state; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
identify a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
determine a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; ([0067] In accordance with some implementations, the electronic system 100 further includes one or more force electrodes 128 that are disposed below the capacitive sense array 125 and separated from the capacitive sense array 125. The one or more force electrodes 128 are electrically coupled to the processing device 110 via a bus 124, and are configured to provide force signals to the processing device 110 via the bus 124 for determining force associated with candidate touches detected from the capacitive sense array 125. ) Examiner’s position is that the touches detected indicated the change in the sensing value. and
Drake et al. does not teach
determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value.
Hsu et al. teach determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, ([0006] The capacitive touch panel is being operated through using a conductive object, such as a finger or a stylus, to approach or contact the touch panel, so as to change a capacitance on the touch panel. When a change in the capacitance is being detected, coordinates of a touch point at where the conductive object approaches or contacts the touch panel can be located, and thereby executes functions corresponded to the coordinates of the touch point.) wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value. ([0031] Next, the touch strength of the touch point in comparison to a preset value is being determined. When the touch strength of the touch point is smaller than the preset value, such as in step S110, the switch module 300 electrically connects the control unit 400 with the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240. It is to be noted that, the touch strength is related to a contact area between the touch point and the touch apparatus 10, and is determined by the capacitance changes in the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240 when the touch point is being sensed,)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value to decide a connection mode of the switch module. (Note Hsu et al par. 0010)
Regarding claim 13, Drake et al. teach determining, at a sensing grid controller, an ambient sensing value for each electrode pair in a plurality of electrode pairs comprising a mutual capacitance sensing grid, including at least a first ambient sensing value corresponding to a first electrode pair, wherein the ambient sensing value corresponds to a measured electrical characteristic between a transmitting electrode of the electrode pair and a receiving electrode of the electrode pair in an untouched state; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
identifying a touch event at the first electrode pair based on a change in a sensing value between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Examiner’s position is that measuring is performed before an actual touch is detected , also note utilizing mutual change in capacitance which also suggest measurement before a touch is detected and that a touch is detected when there is a difference in the capacitance before touching and after touching.
determining a touch strength corresponding to the touch event based on the change in the sensing value; ([0067] In accordance with some implementations, the electronic system 100 further includes one or more force electrodes 128 that are disposed below the capacitive sense array 125 and separated from the capacitive sense array 125. The one or more force electrodes 128 are electrically coupled to the processing device 110 via a bus 124, and are configured to provide force signals to the processing device 110 via the bus 124 for determining force associated with candidate touches detected from the capacitive sense array 125. ) Examiner’s position is that the touches detected indicated the change in the sensing value. and
Drake et al. does not teach
determining an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value.
A computer-implemented method for determining an adapted touch strength of a touch event at a mutual capacitance touch-sensitive surface,
Hsu et al. teach determine an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, ([0006] The capacitive touch panel is being operated through using a conductive object, such as a finger or a stylus, to approach or contact the touch panel, so as to change a capacitance on the touch panel. When a change in the capacitance is being detected, coordinates of a touch point at where the conductive object approaches or contacts the touch panel can be located, and thereby executes functions corresponded to the coordinates of the touch point.) wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value. ([0031] Next, the touch strength of the touch point in comparison to a preset value is being determined. When the touch strength of the touch point is smaller than the preset value, such as in step S110, the switch module 300 electrically connects the control unit 400 with the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240. It is to be noted that, the touch strength is related to a contact area between the touch point and the touch apparatus 10, and is determined by the capacitance changes in the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240 when the touch point is being sensed,) and A computer-implemented method for determining an adapted touch strength of a touch event at a mutual capacitance touch-sensitive surface, (Note control unit par. 0009)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of and A computer-implemented method for determining an adapted touch strength of a touch event at a mutual capacitance touch-sensitive surface , determining an adapted touch strength corresponding to the first electrode pair, wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value to decide a connection mode of the switch module. (Note Hsu et al par. 0010)
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Drake et al. teach wherein the measured electrical characteristic corresponds to a capacitance between the transmitting electrode and the receiving electrode. ; ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.)
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Drake et al. does not teach wherein the adapted touch strength is proportional to a ratio of the touch strength and the ambient sensing value.
Hsu et al. teach wherein the adapted touch strength is proportional to a ratio of the touch strength and the ambient sensing value. ([0006] The capacitive touch panel is being operated through using a conductive object, such as a finger or a stylus, to approach or contact the touch panel, so as to change a capacitance on the touch panel. When a change in the capacitance is being detected, coordinates of a touch point at where the conductive object approaches or contacts the touch panel can be located, and thereby executes functions corresponded to the coordinates of the touch point.) wherein the adapted touch strength is based at least in part on the first ambient sensing value. ([0031] Next, the touch strength of the touch point in comparison to a preset value is being determined. When the touch strength of the touch point is smaller than the preset value, such as in step S110, the switch module 300 electrically connects the control unit 400 with the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240. It is to be noted that, the touch strength is related to a contact area between the touch point and the touch apparatus 10, and is determined by the capacitance changes in the first sensing electrodes 210, the second sensing electrodes 220, the third sensing electrodes 230 and the fourth sensing electrodes 240 when the touch point is being sensed,)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of wherein the adapted touch strength is proportional to a ratio of the touch strength and the ambient sensing value to decide a connection mode of the switch module. (Note Hsu et al par. 0010)
Regarding claim 8, Drake et al. teach wherein the plurality of electrode pairs of the mutual capacitance sensing grid are configured in one or more electrode pair rows and one or more electrode pair columns. (The resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is represented as the product of the number of columns and the number of rows. For example, when a capacitive sense array 125 has N row electrodes and M column electrodes, the number of intersections is N×M, and the resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is N×M as well.) (par. 0106)
Regarding claim 9, Drake et al. teach wherein the mutual capacitance sensing grid comprises at least: a first electrode pair row comprising one or more first row electrode pairs of the plurality of electrode pairs; and a second electrode pair row comprising one or more second row electrode pairs of the plurality of electrode pairs. (The resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is represented as the product of the number of columns and the number of rows. For example, when a capacitive sense array 125 has N row electrodes and M column electrodes, the number of intersections is N×M, and the resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is N×M as well.) (par. 0106)
Regarding claim 10, Drake et al. teach a mutual sensing transmit data line electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid and the sensing grid controller;
wherein the sensing grid controller (Note par. 245) is further configured to: cause the mutual sensing transmit data line to transmit a first electrical pulse to each of the first row electrode pairs during a first time period,( [0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125. ) and
cause the mutual sensing transmit data line to transmit a second electrical pulse to each of the second row electrode pairs during a second time period. ([0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125. In some implementations, the signal generator 714 includes a set of switches that operate according to the clock signal from clock generator 712. The switches may generate a TX signal 722 by periodically connecting the output of the signal generator 714 to a first voltage and then to a second voltage, where the first and second voltages are different. [0136] The output of signal generator 714 is connected with a demultiplexer 706, which allows the TX signal 722 to be applied to any of the M transmit electrodes of the capacitive sense array 125.)
Regarding claim 11, Drake et al. teach a mutual sensing receive data line (Note 704 line, Fig. 7a) electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid (125, Fig. 7A) and the sensing grid controller (Note par. 245); wherein the sensing grid controller is further configured to: receive, from the mutual sensing receive data line, (Note 704 line, Fig. 7A) the first electrical pulse from each of the first row electrode pairs during the first time period, and receive, from the mutual sensing receive data line, the second electrical pulse from each of the second row electrode pairs during the second time period.( ([0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125.) Examiner’s position is the signals are transmitted from the transmit electrode to the receiver electrode which is processed by the controller (Note par. 245).
Regarding claim 12, Drake et al. teach wherein a location of the touch event is determined based on the sensing value of each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs. ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.)
Regarding claim 18, Drake et al. teach wherein the plurality of electrode pairs of the mutual capacitance sensing grid are configured in one or more electrode pair rows and one or more electrode pair columns, (The resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is represented as the product of the number of columns and the number of rows. For example, when a capacitive sense array 125 has N row electrodes and M column electrodes, the number of intersections is N×M, and the resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is N×M as well.) (par. 0106)
comprising at least:
a first electrode pair row comprising one or more first row electrode pairs of the plurality of electrode pairs; (The resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is represented as the product of the number of columns and the number of rows. For example, when a capacitive sense array 125 has N row electrodes and M column electrodes, the number of intersections is N×M, and the resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is N×M as well.) (par. 0106)
and
a second electrode pair row comprising one or more second row electrode pairs of the plurality of electrode pairs; (The resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is represented as the product of the number of columns and the number of rows. For example, when a capacitive sense array 125 has N row electrodes and M column electrodes, the number of intersections is N×M, and the resolution of the capacitive sense array 125 is N×M as well.) (par. 0106)
and
wherein the computer-implemented method further comprises:
causing a mutual sensing transmit data line to transmit a first electrical pulse to each of the first row electrode pairs during a first time period, ,( [0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125. )
wherein the mutual sensing transmit data line is electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid and the sensing grid controller;
causing the mutual sensing transmit data line to transmit a second electrical pulse to each of the second row electrode pairs during a second time period; ([0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125. In some implementations, the signal generator 714 includes a set of switches that operate according to the clock signal from clock generator 712. The switches may generate a TX signal 722 by periodically connecting the output of the signal generator 714 to a first voltage and then to a second voltage, where the first and second voltages are different. [0136] The output of signal generator 714 is connected with a demultiplexer 706, which allows the TX signal 722 to be applied to any of the M transmit electrodes of the capacitive sense array 125.)
receiving, from a mutual sensing receive data line, (Note 704 line, Fig. 7A) the first electrical pulse from each of the first row electrode pairs during the first time period, wherein the mutual sensing receive data line is electrically coupled to the mutual capacitance sensing grid and the sensing grid controller (Note par. 245); and receiving, from the mutual sensing receive data line (Note 704 line, Fig. 7A), the second electrical pulse from each of the second row electrode pairs during the second time period. .( ([0135] The clock generator 712 supplies a clock signal to the signal generator 714, which produces a TX signal 722 to be supplied to the transmit electrodes of capacitive sense array 125.) Examiner’s position is the signals are transmitted from the transmit electrode to the receiver electrode which is processed by the controller (Note par. 245).
Regarding claim 19, Drake et al. teach wherein a location of the touch event is determined based on the sensing value of each electrode pair in the plurality of electrode pairs. ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.)
Claims 3-5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake et al. (US 20180059866) in view of Hsu et al. (US 20160062501) further in view of Konradi et al. (US 20130169584).
Drake et al. teach the instant invention except the following limitations.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Drake et al. does not teach wherein the sensing grid controller is further configured to: determine a baseline sensing value for the first electrode pair based at least in part on a plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair, wherein the plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair are measured in an untouched state.
Konradi et al. teach wherein the sensing grid controller is further configured to: determine a baseline sensing value for the first electrode pair based at least in part on a plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair, wherein the plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair are measured in an untouched state.( [0036] At startup, MCU 500 first determines a baseline capacitance by measuring the capacitance at each position on the touch screen grid in an untouched condition, and then averaging the capacitance measurements to obtain an overall baseline capacitance.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of sensing grid controller is further configured to: determine a baseline sensing value for the first electrode pair based at least in part on a plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair, wherein the plurality of historical sensing values for the first electrode pair are measured in an untouched state to reduce interference and thereby improve the integrity of the touch measurement. (Note Konradi et al. par. 0038)
Regarding claim 4, Drake et al. does not teach wherein the baseline sensing value comprises an average of the plurality of historical sensing values for the electrode pair.
Konradi et al. teach wherein the baseline sensing value comprises an average of the plurality of historical sensing values for the electrode pair. ( [0036] At startup, MCU 500 first determines a baseline capacitance by measuring the capacitance at each position on the touch screen grid in an untouched condition, and then averaging the capacitance measurements to obtain an overall baseline capacitance.) also (Note rows 210 and columns 220, Fig. 2 par. 0021 which suggest electrode pairs)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of wherein the baseline sensing value comprises an average of the plurality of historical sensing values for the electrode pair to reduce interference and thereby improve the integrity of the touch measurement. (Note Konradi et al. par. 0038)
Regarding claim 5, Drake et al. teach wherein the sensing value corresponds to a capacitance between the first transmitting electrode and the first receiving electrode. ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drake et al. (US 20180059866) in view of Hsu et al. (US 20160062501) further in view of Konradi et al. (US 20130169584) further in view of Hwang et al. (US 20160282999).
Drake et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Drake et al. teach wherein the sensing grid controller is configured to: determine a raw sensing value corresponding to the sensing value of the first electrode pair. ([0075] Specifically, in the first mode, a mutual capacitance is measured at an intersection of a RX electrode and a TX electrode when a transmit signal provided at the RX electrode is coupled to the TX electrode. Utilizing the change in mutual capacitance, the location of the finger on the capacitive sense array 125 is determined by identifying an RX electrode having a decreased coupling capacitance with a TX electrode whose signal was applied at the time the decreased capacitance is measured on the RX electrode.) Also Note 125.
Drake et al. does not teach wherein the touch strength of the touch event of the first electrode pair is a difference between the raw sensing value and the baseline sensing value.
Hwang et al. teach wherein the touch strength of the touch event of the first electrode pair is a difference between the raw sensing value and the baseline sensing value. (a touch control part that detects a touch force event by monitoring and comparing the stored first sensing data with a threshold value, and that changes a first logic state of an event detection signal for measuring the two-dimensional touch information to a second logic state of the event detection signal for measuring the three-dimensional information) Claim 1.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Drake et al. to include the teaching of wherein the touch strength of the touch event of the first electrode pair is a difference between the raw sensing value and the baseline sensing value to determine a two-dimensional or three-dimensional touch information. (Note Hwang et al. abstract)
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858