DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed 04/30/2026.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1 – 21 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 3, 12, 15, 16, 17, and 20 are amended.
Claim 21 is new.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 04/30/2026. These drawings are accepted and the previous objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 3, 4, 7, and 16 in the previous action dated 01/30/2026 have been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments filed 04/30/2026. Specifically, the objection to claim 3, regarding the phrases “the branch vessel”, “a patient”, “a magnetic field”, “a guidewire”, the objection to claim 16 regarding the phrase “a patient’s body” has been withdrawn as the appropriate corrections have been made and/or Applicant’s arguments directed to the objections were persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 20 under U.S.C 35 112(b) regarding indefiniteness, recited in the previous action dated 01/30/2026 have been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments filed 04/30/2026. Specifically, the rejection of claim 1, regarding the lack of clarity in the phrase "a battery coupled to the electromagnetic coil", has been withdrawn as the claim has been amended to further clarify which coil is coupled to the battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited), and in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited) and Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Quadri discloses an apparatus (endoaortic graft 100) (abstract, paragraphs [0035 – 0037], [0067], and Figs. 1A/B, 2A, 8A/B, 10A-10DD) comprising:
a tubular main body (graft 100) configured to be implanted within a patient (paragraph [0035]), the tubular main body being radially collapsible and expandable between a collapsed state (shown in Fig. 2A) and an expanded state (shown in Fig. 10P) (paragraphs [0069] and Figs. 2A and Fig. 10P) ;
a fenestration (branch openings 114) (paragraph [0067] and Fig. 1B) in a wall (pliable tube 110) (paragraph [0067]) of the tubular body (graft 100);
[claim 2] the tubular main body (graft 100) comprises a stent graft (graft 100) configured to be implanted within a blood vessel to treat an aneurysm or injury of the blood vessel (paragraphs [0031], [0033], [0035 – 0036], and [0075]);
wherein the apparatus is configured such that in the collapsed state after introduction into a patient’s body and prior to expansion in the patient’s body the fenestration (branch opening 114) is uncannulated and guide wire free (Examiner’s note: it should be understood the preceding limitation is an intended use limitation which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning as claimed; with that said, because Quadri states in paragraph [0069] when the endoaortic graft is loaded within the delivery system 200, the compresses state, the branch guide wires are positioned within and traverse[d] [through] the branch openings 114 / the fenestrations, therefore, the branch guidewires are not fixed relative to the branch openings and the branch openings / fenestrations are capable of being uncannulated and guidewire free prior to the expansion of the apparatus in the patient’s body);
Quadri further teaches a magnet (magnetic ring 120) positioned around the fenestration (branch openings 114) (paragraph [0067] and Fig. 1A/B), such that the magnet is operable to magnetically guide another device (branch graft delivery system 400) to or through the fenestration (branch openings 114) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0080] and shown in Figs. 10O – 10U the delivery system 400 and the magnet 440 are guided through the graft 100 to the magnet 120 on the graft 100 to deliver the branch graft 300).
However, Quadri is silent regarding (i) a tubular gate portion extending outwardly from the tubular main body, the tubular gate portion being in fluid communication with the tubular main body through the fenestration and shaped and sized to receive a separately delivered stented branch through the tubular gate portion, (ii) wherein the magnet is an electromagnetic coil wound on the tubular gate portion and positioned around the fenestration, (iii) the electromagnetic coil being switchable between an activated state and a deactivated state, operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the electromagnetic coil in the activated state such that the electromagnetic coil is operable to magnetically guide another device to or through the fenestration, and activatable after expansion of the tubular main body within the patient to cannulate the fenestration with a guide wire.
As to (i), Mayberry teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus comprising a tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) configured to be implanted within a patient (abstract, column 54 lines 19 – 35, and Figs. 62 – 63), a fenestration (fenestrations 1202) in a wall of the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) (Fig. 62), and a tubular gate portion (tubular member 1210) extending outwardly from the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) (Figs. 62 – 63), the tubular gate portion (tubular member 1210) being in fluid communication with the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) through the fenestrations (Fig. 63), and shaped and sized to receive a separately delivered stented branch through the tubular gate portion (Examiner’s note: as recited in column 54 lines 19 – 35, the tubular gate portions are shaped and sized to receive separately delivered branch grafts and stents deployed within the fenestrations). Furthermore, Mayberry teaches, in col. 54 lines 19 – 35, the tubular member(s) 1210 (i.e., the tubular gate portions) improve the tear resistance and sealability of the fenestrations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tubular main body of Quadri, to incorporate the tubular gate portions, based on the teachings of Mayberry, for the purpose of improving the tear resistance of the fenestration and improving the sealability between the fenestration and the branch grafts and stents (col. 54 lines 19 – 35 – Mayberry).
As to (ii) and (iii), Houser, which is also cited by Quadri in paragraph [0021 – 0022] of Quadri teaches an apparatus (bypass graft and securing system) using magnets to further assist positioning of the delivery system within the body, the magnets are formed by winding conductive coils around a dilator to form electromagnets when current is supplied, and wherein the electromagnets on the dilator are used in conjunction with magnetically attracted guidewires such that when the current is applied the electromagnet on the dilator draws the guidewire to the dilator (paragraphs [0074 – 0075] of Houser).
It should be understood that Quadri and Houser are known references in the art that teach a deployment system for graft fixation comprising magnets to assist in the positioning of the system within the body (abstract, paragraphs [0067 – 0068], [0080], and Figs. 1A/B, 8A/B – Quadri ; paragraphs [0074 – 0075] – Houser); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one magnet / magnetic element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified system of Quadri being able to function as intended to properly to attract the endograft branch. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, with respect to (iii), the limitations are intended use which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, the modified device of Quadri comprises the electromagnetic coils as claimed, and the electromagnetic coils are capable of being switchable from an active state to an unactive state, being activatable after the implant has been expanded within the patient to cannulate the fenestration with a guidewire, and operable to generate a magnetic field to pull a guidewire therethrough as Houser states, in paragraph [0075], wherein the electromagnetic coils are activated when a current is suppled and the coil electromagnets are strong enough to pull a metal guidewire; and therefore, the electromagnetic coils are capable of functioning in the manner claimed.
Additionally, it should be understood that the prior art combination makes obvious wherein the modification made would result in the electromagnetic coil being wrapped around the outside of the tubular member 1210 (i.e., the tubular gate portions), as this would be where the side branch graft would attach and where the side branch graft would need to be magnetically drawn to. Thus, the combination above encompasses the device as claimed.
Regarding claim 3, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry. Additionally, Quadri discloses the fenestration (branch openings 114) is configured to align with a branch vessel of the aorta so that fluid can flow between the tubular main body and the branch vessel through the fenestration when the apparatus is implanted in a patient (Examiner’s note: the preceding limitation is intended use which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, the endograft 100 of Quadri is structurally capable of aligning with a branch vessel of the aorta, and thus is configured as claimed). Furthermore, the combination teaches wherein the electromagnetic coil is operable to generate a magnetic field that is sufficient to draw a guidewire or other transvascular device to the fenestration from within the tubular main body (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraphs [0074 – 0075] of Houser the electromagnetic coils, when current is applied, attract a metal guidewire. Therefore, the electromagnetic coils generates a magnetic field and is configured to sufficiently operate as claimed as claimed).
Regarding claim 5, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry. Additionally, Quadri discloses further comprising a magnetically tipped guidewire sheath (delivery system 400) (Examiner’s note: the delivery system 400 has magnet 440 at the tip – paragraph [0071]) positionable inside the tubular main body and magnetically couplable to the electromagnetic coil when the electromagnetic coil is in the activated state (paragraphs [0071] and [0080]).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry. Additionally, the combination further teaches comprising a stented branch (branch graft 300 – Quadri) deployable through the tubular gate portion (tubular member 1210 – Mayberry) and the electromagnetic coil (magnets 120 – Quadri in view of Houser) of the fenestration (branched openings 114 – Quadri) (Examiner’s note: as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the combination makes obvious the electromagnetic coil being positioned around the gate portion, and as stated in paragraph [0070] of Quadri, the stented branch (branch graft 300) is delivered through the fenestrations, therefore, the modified device would encompass the stented branch (branch graft 300) being delivered through the tubular gate portions and the electromagnetic coil).
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry. Additionally, the combination makes obvious wherein the electromagnetic coil is collapsible with the tubular main body for transvascular delivery (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0084] of Quadri the magnetic rings 120 are flexible, as shown in Fig. 2A of Quadri the rings 120 (along with the graft 100) are compressed within the delivery device, and as shown in the sequential Figs. 10L to 10P of Quadri the rings 120 expand radially outward when deployed; and because the magnetic rings 120 of Quadri were substituted for electromagnetic coils, based on the teachings of Houser, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the electromagnetic coils be collapsible, in the same manner in which the magnetic rings are, for the purpose of being able to fully collapse the entire endograft within the delivery device). Therefore, the prior art makes obvious the limitations above.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 20030014063 A1) (previously cited) and Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry. Additionally, the combination further teaches a portion of [claim 4] wherein the electromagnetic coil is operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the electromagnetic coil (paragraphs [0074 – 0075] of Houser); a portion of [claim 8] wherein the fenestration (branched window 114 – Quadri) comprises a first fenestration (left sided window 114 when looking at Fig. 1B of Quadri), the electromagnetic coil (magnetic ring 120 on the left side modified to be an electromagnetic coil based on the teachings of Houser) comprises a first electromagnetic coil, a first tubular gate portion (left most fenestration of Quadri modified to include a tubular member 1210 based on the teachings of Mayberry) and the apparatus further comprises a second fenestration (right sided branched window 114 when looking at Fig. 1B of Quadri) in the tubular body (endoaortic graft 100 – Quadri), a second electromagnetic coil (magnetic ring 120 on the right side modified to be an electromagnetic coil based on the teachings of Houser), and a second tubular gate portion (right most fenestration of Quadri modified to include a tubular member 1210 based on the teachings of Mayberry) the second electromagnetic coil being operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the second electromagnetic coil (Examiner’s note: it should be understood that the modification made by the Examiner in claim 1 above, was such that each of the ring magnets 120 of Quadri was modified to be an electromagnetic coil based on the teachings of Houser, thus the modified device comprises two electromagnetic coils in the location of the two ring magnets 120 as seen in Fig. 1B of Quadri; furthermore, as stated above each of the coils is operable to generate a sufficient magnetic field when induced with a current – paragraphs [0074 – 0075] of Houser). Thus, the claimed limitations above are considered encompassed over the teachings of the prior art.
However, the combination of Quadri, Mayberry, and Houser is silent regarding [claims 4 and 8] (i) wherein the electromagnetic coil(s) include(s) first and second leads that are couplable to an electrical power source to supply electrical current in the coil.
As to the above, Garibaldi teaches, in a similar field of endeavor, an apparatus (magnetic medical device 20) (column 3 lines 51 – 60) comprising a first coil and a second coil (coils 26 and 30) (column 4, lines 20 – 30, and Fig. 5), being operable to generate a magnetic field when an electrical field is applied (column 4, lines 35 – 67), wherein the coils (coils 26 and 30) each have their own leads (Examiner’s note: as stated in column 4, lines 22 – 30, the coil 26 is coupled to / powered by leads 36 and 38, and the coil 30 is coupled to / powered by leads 44 and 46) that are coupled to the an electrical power source to generate electrical current in the coil (column 4 lines 25 – 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coil magnets of Quadri in view of Houser and Mayberry to incorporate the leads and power supply, based on the teachings of Garibaldi, because the modified device of Quadri in view of Houser and the device of Garibaldi teach the use of sending an electrical current to electromagnetic coils used within the body, and Garibaldi simply further teaches the means of sending the electrical current to said coils. Thus, it would have been obvious to apply the known technique of using lead wires to stimulate said electromagnetic coil(s) as taught by Garibaldi for the predictable results of enabling the electromagnetic coil(s) to generate the intended magnetic field.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited) and Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schaer (US 2019/0167407 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser and the tubular gate portions of Mayberry.
However, the combination of Quadri, Houser, and Mayberry is silent regarding (i) a transcutaneous induction charger to generate the electrical current in the electromagnetic coil.
As to the above, Schaer teaches an apparatus (delivery catheter system 11130 for delivery of an implant within the body - paragraph [0179]) comprising an electromagnet on said implant (implants 11140 and 11160 are coupled with magnetic elements – paragraph [0182]) wherein the electrical current is induced by a transcutaneous induction means to enable coupling of the two implants via a remote control (paragraphs [0182 – 0183]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the coil magnets of Quadri in view of Houser and Mayberry to incorporate a transcutaneous induction charger as taught by Schaer, because the modified device of Quadri in view of Houser and the device of Schaer teach the use of sending an electrical current to electromagnetic coils used within the body, and Schaer simply further teaches the means of sending the electrical current to said coils. Thus, it would have been obvious to apply the known technique of using the transcutaneous induction means to stimulate said coils as taught by Schaer for the predictable results of enabling the magnetic coils to generate the intended magnetic field. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to use the transcutaneous induction charger as taught by Schaer to generate the electrical current to the electromagnetic coil of Quadri in view of Houser for the purpose of providing a means of controlling the device remotely (paragraph [0183] – Schaer).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), and Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ogle (US 2017/0143938 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser, the tubular gate portions of Mayberry, and the electrical leads of Garibaldi. Additionally, Garibaldi makes obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify the device of Quadri in view of Houser, Mayberry, and Garibaldi, to further incorporate wherein the electromagnetic coils (magnetic coils - Houser) are selectively energized such that the location of the magnetic field is controlled for the purpose of only having to energize one coil at a time so that the electromagnetic coil not being utilized does not have to have a current running therethrough thereby preventing overheating of the coil and damage to the tissue (col 9 line 55 – col. 10 line 3 – Garibaldi).
However, the combination of Quadri, Houser, Mayberry, and Garibaldi is silent regarding (i) a switch.
As to the above, Ogle teaches an apparatus (catheter 370) comprising a coil (metal coil 372) coupled to leads (wires 374 and 376) and a switch (switch 380) for the purpose of optionally generating a magnetic field (paragraph [0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Quadri in view of Houser, Mayberry, and Garibaldi to incorporate a switch because a switching device would be required for selectively energizing the coils which allows for controlling the location of the magnetic field, which could be useful when orienting the secondary branch to the correct fenestration, and used for switching off any of the electromagnetic coils in order to prevent overheating and damage to the tissue.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), and Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Greenan et al (US 2008/0171934 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri to incorporate the electromagnetic coils of Houser, the tubular gate portions of Mayberry, and the electrical leads of Garibaldi. Additionally, Garibaldi makes obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Quadri in view of Houser, Mayberry, and Garibaldi, to further incorporate wherein the electromagnetic coils (magnetic coils - Houser) are selectively energized such that the location of the magnetic field is controlled for the purpose of only having to energize one coil at a time so that the electromagnetic coil that is not being utilized does not have to have a current running therethrough thereby preventing overheating of the coil and damage to the tissue (col 9 line 55 – col. 10 line 3 – Garibaldi).
However, the combination of is silent regarding (i) a controller electrically coupled to the first electromagnetic coil and to the second electromagnetic coil and operable to selectively activate each of the first and second electromagnetic coils one at a time to magnetically guide another device to or through the activated electromagnetic coil.
As to the above, Greenan teaches a vascular graft positioning system (abstract) comprising a controller 506 for directing electrical current to drive magnetic field generating coils one at a time, for the purpose of controlling the electromagnetic coils (abstract and paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Quadri in view of Houser, Mayberry, and Garibaldi to incorporate a controller, based on the teachings Greenan, for the purpose of allowing the user to control the current flowing to the electromagnetic coils individually.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited) and Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marmur et al (US 2017/0273809 A1) (PG PUB of previously recited U.S. Patent 10,485,684 B2).
Regarding claim 12, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to use the medical device of Quadri in view of Houser and Mayberry.
However, the combination of Quadri, Houser, and Mayberry is silent regarding (i) wherein the tubular gate portion comprises a tubular stent frame extending completely around a circumference of the tubular gate portion, and (ii) the electromagnetic coil is wound around the tubular stent frame of tubular gate portion.
As to the above, Marmur teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus comprising a main tubular body (main tube 40), a fenestration (opening within the lateral wall 56 from which the lateral tube 50 extends), and a tubular gate portion (lateral tube 50) wherein the tubular gate portion has a tubular stent frame (structural strut members 30, comprised of linking members, arcuate members 70, and structural strut members 84) (paragraph [0079] and Fig. 4A) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in paragraph [0079] the structural strut members 30 form a frame in a tube like shape (i.e., clyindical) wherein the base of the lateral tube 50 (i.e., the tubular gate portion) is fully surrounded at the base thereof by the structural strut members 84 which are encompassed in the “structural strut members 30”; therefore, Marmur teaches a tubular stent frame completely surrounding the circumference of the tubular gate portion). Furthermore, Marmur teaches, in column 2 lines 5 – 25, the structural stent members of the lateral tube increases the fatigue resistance of the lateral tube during long-term implantation of the stent graft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tubular members of Quadri in view of Houser and Mayberry to incorporate the stent frame into the tubular gate portions, as taught by Marmur, for the purpose of increasing the fatigue resistance of the tubular member (column 2 lines 5 – 25 of Marmur). With respect to (ii), and as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the combination makes obvious wherein the electromagnetic coils would be positioned on the outside of the structural tubular frame as the tubular frame is a part of the tubular gate portion and the outside of the tubular gate portion would be where the side branch graft would attach and where the side branch graft would need to be magnetically drawn to.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), and Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited), as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Roeder et al (US 9,855,130 B2) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, as discussed above, the combination of Quadri, Houser, and Mayberry teach the device of claim 13.
However, the combination above is silent regarding (i) the shape of the electromagnetic coil.
As to the above, Roeder teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus (endoluminal prosthesis 20) comprising a tubular main body (prothesis 20) and first and second fenestrations (fenestrations 27A/B) disposed in a wall of the tubular main body (prosthesis 20) (abstract, col. 6 lines 1 – 40, and Fig. 1) wherein the fenestrations (fenestrations 27A/B) are oval shaped (col. 5 lines 63 – 67) for the purpose of matching the geometry of opening of the branching vasculature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fenestrations of Quadri to be oval shaped, based on the teachings of Roeder, as an oval shape is a known shape for fenestrations in endoprosthesis in order to match the geometry of the opening of the branching vasculature, and such a modification would have been predictable and resulted in the device being operable for its intended use. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to match the shape of the electromagnetic coils to the oval shape of the fenestrations for the purpose of creating a tight / friction fit attachment between the electromagnetic coils and the fenestrations. Therefore, the prior art combination makes obvious having an oval shaped electromagnetic coils.
Claims 15, 16, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) and in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), Polverelli et al (US 10,188,779 B1) (provisional date of Nov. 29th 2017), Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited), and Greenan et al (US 2008/0171934 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claims 15, Quadri discloses an apparatus (endoaortic graft 100) (abstract, paragraphs [0035 – 0037], [0067], and Figs. 1A/B, 2A, 8A/B, 10A-10DD) comprising:
a tubular main body (graft 100) configured to be implanted within a patient (paragraph [0035]), the tubular main body being radially collapsible and expandable between a collapsed state (shown in Fig. 2A) and an expanded state (shown in Fig. 10P) (paragraphs [0069] and Figs. 2A and Fig. 10P) ;
a first and second fenestration (left and right branch openings 114) (paragraph [0067] and Fig. 1B) in a wall (pliable tube 110) (paragraph [0067]) of the tubular body (graft 100);
Quadri further teaches a first and second magnet (left and right magnetic rings 120) positioned around the fenestrations (branch openings 114) (paragraph [0067] and Fig. 1A/B), such that the magnets are operable to magnetically guide another device (branch graft delivery system 400) to or through the fenestration (branch openings 114) (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0080] and shown in Figs. 10O – 10U the delivery system 400 and the magnet 440 are guided through the graft 100 to the magnet 120 on the graft 100 to deliver the branch graft 300).
However, Quadri is silent regarding [claim 15] (i) wherein the first and second magnets are first and second electromagnetic coils wound positioned around each of the first and second fenestrations, (ii) wherein the first and second electromagnetic coils being switchable between an activated state and a deactivated state and operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the electromagnetic coils in the activated state to magnetically guide another device to or through the fenestration, (iii) a controller electrically coupled to the first electromagnetic coil and to the second electromagnetic coil and operable by a user to selectively activate one of the first or second electromagnetic coils to magnetically guide another device to or through the activated electromagnetic coil and operable by the user to deactivate the activated electromagnetic coil before selectively activating the other of the first or second electromagnetic coils.
As to (i) – (ii), Houser, which is also cited by Quadri in paragraph [0021 – 0022] of Quadri teaches an apparatus (bypass graft and securing system) using magnets to further assist positioning of the delivery system within the body, the magnets are formed by winding conductive coils around a dilator to form electromagnets when current is supplied, and wherein the electromagnets on the dilator are used in conjunction with magnetically attracted guidewires such that when the current is applied the electromagnet on the dilator draws the guidewire to the dilator (paragraphs [0074 – 0075] of Houser).
It should be understood that Quadri and Houser are known references in the art that teach a deployment system for graft fixation comprising magnets to assist in the positioning of the system within the body (abstract, paragraphs [0067 – 0068], [0080], and Figs. 1A/B, 8A/B – Quadri ; paragraphs [0074 – 0075] – Houser); and the Examiner contends that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have substituted one magnet / magnetic element for another (each of the magnets for a respective electromagnetic coil), and the results of the substitution would have been predictable and resulted in the modified system of Quadri being able to function as intended to properly to attract the endograft branch. The examiner notes the rejection above is based on KSR int’l Co. V. Teleflex inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007), rational B, outlined in MPEP 2143. Additionally, with respect to (ii), the limitations are intended use which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning in the manner claimed. With that said, the modified device comprises the electromagnetic coils as claimed, and the electromagnetic coils are capable of being switchable from an active state to an unactive state, being activatable after the implant has been expanded within the patient to cannulate the fenestration with a guidewire, and operable to generate a magnetic field to pull a guidewire therethrough as Houser states, in paragraph [0075], wherein the electromagnetic coils are activated when a current is suppled and the coil electromagnets are strong enough to pull a metal guidewire; therefore, the electromagnetic coils are capable of functioning in the manner claimed.
As to (iii), Polverelli teaches a medical device comprising a controller (controller 30) operable by the user to activate and deactivate a first and second electromagnetic coils (first and second electromagnetic coils 77 and 78) individually (i.e., operable to activate and deactivate) (abstract and col. 14 line 7 – col. 15 line 23) (Examiner’s note: the controller is programmable via the operator / user to output the desired frequency and current – col. 11 lines 9 – 50 and claims 18 and 19). Additionally, Garibaldi teaches, in a similar field of endeavor, an apparatus (magnetic medical device 20) (column 3 lines 51 – 60) comprising a first coil and a second coil (coils 26 and 30) (column 4, lines 20 – 30, and Fig. 5), being operable to generate a magnetic field when an electrical field is applied (column 4, lines 35 – 67), and a vascular graft positioning system (abstract) comprising a controller 506 for directing electrical current to drive magnetic field generating coils one at a time for the purpose of controlling the electromagnetic coils (abstract and paragraph [0081]). Therefore, Garibaldi, makes it known to use a controller for controlling individual coils on a intravascular graft..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Quadri in view of Houser, to incorporate a user operable controller to control the current flow to said coils, based on the teachings of Polverelli and Garibaldi, for the purpose of allowing the user to control the current flowing to the electromagnetic coils individually so that the electromagnetic coil that is not need to be energized is not energized and does not a current running therethrough thereby preventing overheating of the coil and damage to the tissue (abstract and col. 14 line 7 – col. 15 line 23 – Polverelli; col 9 line 55 – col. 10 line 3 – Garibaldi; and paragraph [0081] – Greenan)
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri with the electromagnetic coils of Houser and with a controller of Polverelli for individually controlling the electromagnetic coils via the operator. Additionally, the combination teaches wherein in the collapsed state after introduction into a patient’s body and prior to expansion in the patient’s body the first and second fenestrations (branch openings 114) are uncannulated and guide wire free, and wherein the first and second electromagnetic coils are activatable by the controller after expansion of the tubular main body within the patient’s body to cannulate the first and second fenestrations with guide wires (Examiner’s note: it should be understood the preceding limitations are intended use limitations which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning as claimed. With that said, Quadri states in paragraph [0069] when the endoaortic graft is loaded within the delivery system 200, the compresses state, the branch guide wires are positioned within and traverse[d] [through] the branch openings 114 / the fenestrations, therefore, the branch guidewires are not fixed relative to the branch openings and the branch openings / fenestrations are capable of being uncannulated and guidewire free prior to the expansion of the apparatus in the patient’s body; additionally, the controller is capable of activating the first and second electromagnetic coils at any point, therefore the first and second electromagnetic coils are operable as claimed via the controller). Therefore, the combination of the prior art teaches the limitations above.
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri with the electromagnetic coils of Houser and with a controller of Polverelli for individually controlling the electromagnetic coils via the operator. Additionally, the combination makes obvious wherein the electromagnetic coils are collapsible with the tubular main body for transvascular delivery (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0084] of Quadri the magnetic rings 120 are flexible, as shown in Fig. 2A of Quadri the rings 120 (along with the graft 100) are compressed within the delivery device, and as shown in the sequential Figs. 10L to 10P of Quadri the rings 120 expand radially outward when deployed; and because the magnetic rings 120 are compressible, it would be obvious for the electromagnetic coils to also be compressible within the system of Quadri for the purpose of being able to fully collapse the entire endograft within the delivery device). Therefore, the prior art makes obvious the limitations above.
Regarding claim 21, as discussed above, it would have been obvious to modify the endograft system of Quadri with the electromagnetic coils of Houser and with a controller of Polverelli for individually controlling the electromagnetic coils via the operator. Additionally, Polverelli teaches wherein the controller is further configured to supply electrical current to the first electromagnetic coil in a first direction to create a magnetic field to draw a metallic device radially outwardly through the first electromagnetic coil out from within the tubular main body, and further configured to supply a current to the first electromagnetic coil in a second, reversed direction to cause opposite motion of the metallic device (col. 11 lines 9 – 50, col. 14 line 7 – col. 15 line 23, and claims 18 and 19 – Polverelli) (Examiner’s note: it should be understood the preceding limitations are intended use limitations which requires only that the structure of the prior art be capable of functioning as claimed; and as discussed in the recited passages of Polverelli, the controller is programmable to individually actuate each electromagnetic coil and configured to flip the magnetic field of each of the electromagnetic coils, therefore, the controller is capable of operating in the manner claimed).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) (previously cited) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), Polverelli et al (US 10,188,779 B1) (provisional date of Nov. 29th 2017), Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited), and Greenan et al (US 2008/0171934 A1) (previously cited), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Mayberry et al (US 8,945,202 B2) (previously cited) and Marmur et al (US 2017/0273809 A1) (PG PUB of previously recited U.S. Patent 10,485,684 B2).
Regarding claim 17, as discussed above, the combination of Quadri, Houser, and Polverelli teach the device of claim 15.
However, the combination is silent regarding (i) the tubular main body comprises a tubular gate portion extending outwardly from the tubular main body, the tubular gate portion being in fluid communication with the tubular main body through the first fenestration and shaped and sized to receive a separately delivered stented branch through the tubular gate portion and (ii) the tubular gate portion comprises a tubular stent frame extending completely around a circumference of the tubular gate portion, and the first electromagnet coil is wound around the tubular stent frame of the tubular gate portion.
As to (i), Mayberry teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus comprising a tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) configured to be implanted within a patient (abstract, column 54 lines 19 – 35, and Figs. 62 – 63), a fenestration (fenestrations 1202) in a wall of the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) (Fig. 62), and a tubular gate portion (tubular member 1210) extending outwardly from the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) (Figs. 62 – 63), the tubular gate portion (tubular member 1210) being in fluid communication with the tubular main body (prosthesis 1200) through the fenestrations (Fig. 63), and shaped and sized to receive a separately delivered stented branch through the tubular gate portion (Examiner’s note: as recited in column 54 lines 19 – 35, the tubular gate portions are shaped and sized to receive separately delivered branch grafts and stents deployed within the fenestrations). Furthermore, Mayberry teaches, in col. 54 lines 19 – 35, the tubular member(s) 1210 (i.e., the tubular gate portions) improve the tear resistance and sealability of the fenestrations.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tubular main body of Quadri in view of Houser, and Polverelli, to incorporate the tubular gate portions, based on the teachings of Mayberry, for the purpose of improving the tear resistance of the fenestration and improving the sealability between the fenestration and the branch grafts and stents (col. 54 lines 19 – 35 – Mayberry). Additionally, it should be understood that the prior art combination makes obvious wherein the modification made would result in the electromagnetic coil being wrapped around the outside of the tubular member 1210 (i.e., the tubular gate portions), as this would be where the side branch graft would attach and thus where the side branch graft would need to be magnetically drawn to.
As to (ii), Marmur teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus comprising a main tubular body (main tube 40), a fenestration (opening within the lateral wall 56 from which the lateral tube 50 extends), and a tubular gate portion (lateral tube 50) wherein the tubular gate portion has a tubular stent frame (structural strut members 30, comprised of linking members, arcuate members 70, and structural strut members 84) (paragraph [0079] and Fig. 4A) (Examiner’s note: as shown in Fig. 4 and discussed in paragraph [0079] the structural strut members 30 form a frame in a tube like shape (i.e., cylindrical) wherein the base of the lateral tube 50 (i.e., the tubular gate portion) is fully surrounded at the base thereof by the structural strut members 84 which are encompassed in the “structural strut members 30”; therefore, Marmur teaches a tubular stent frame completely surrounding the circumference of the tubular gate portion). Furthermore, Marmur teaches, in column 2 lines 5 – 25, the structural stent members of the lateral tube increases the fatigue resistance of the lateral tube during long-term implantation of the stent graft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the tubular members of Quadri in view of Houser, Polverelli, and Mayberry to incorporate the stent frame into the tubular gate portions, as taught by Marmur, for the purpose of increasing the fatigue resistance of the tubular member (column 2 lines 5 – 25 of Marmur). Additionally, the combination makes obvious wherein the electromagnetic coils would be positioned on the outside of the structural tubular frame as the tubular frame is a part of the tubular gate portion and the outside of the tubular gate portion would be where the side branch graft would attach and where the side branch graft would need to be magnetically drawn to.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quadri (US 2005/0154444 A1) in view of Houser (US 2003/0014063 A1) (previously cited), Polverelli et al (US 10,188,779 B1) (provisional date of Nov. 29th 2017), Garibaldi (US 6,401,723) (previously cited), and Greenan et al (US 2008/0171934 A1) (previously cited), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Roeder et al (US 9,855,130 B2).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above, the combination of Quadri, Houser, and Polverelli teach the device of claim 15.
However, the combination is silent regarding (i) the shape of the electromagnetic coil.
As to the above, Roeder teaches, in the same field of endeavor, an apparatus (endoluminal prosthesis 20) comprising a tubular main body (prothesis 20) and first and second fenestrations (fenestrations 27A/B) disposed in a wall of the tubular main body (prosthesis 20) (abstract, col. 6 lines 1 – 40, and Fig. 1) wherein the fenestrations (fenestrations 27A/B) are oval shaped (col. 5 lines 63 – 67) for the purpose of matching the geometry of opening of the branching vasculature.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fenestrations of Quadri to be oval shaped, based on the teachings of Roeder, as an oval shape is a known shape for fenestrations in endoprosthesis in order to match the geometry of the opening of the branching vasculature, and such a modification would have been predictable and resulted in the device being operable for its intended use. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to match the shape of the electromagnetic coils to the oval shape of the fenestrations for the purpose of creating a tight / friction fit attachment between the electromagnetic coils and the fenestrations. Therefore, the prior art combination makes obvious having an oval shaped electromagnetic coils.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. More specifically:
In response to applicant's argument on page 3, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 16 above, the structure of the prior art is capable of performing as intended by the claims.
In response to Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly added limitations and the newly added claim 21, a detailed response to each argument with a detailed explanation as to how the prior art teaches each limitation / claim is within the rejection of each limitation / claim above.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following claims 1 and 15 drafted by the examiner and considered to distinguish patentably over the art of record in this application, are presented to applicant for consideration:
(Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising:
a tubular main body configured to be implanted within a patient, the tubular main body being radially collapsible and expandable between a collapsed state and an expanded state;
a fenestration in a wall of the tubular main body;
the tubular main body comprising a tubular gate portion extending outwardly from the tubular main body, the tubular gate portion being in fluid communication with the tubular main body through the fenestration and shaped and sized to receive a separately delivered stented branch through the tubular gate portion; and
an electromagnetic coil wound on the tubular gate portion and positioned around the fenestration, the electromagnetic coil being switchable between an activated state and a deactivated state, the electromagnetic coil being operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the electromagnetic coil in the activated state such that the electromagnetic coil is operable to magnetically guide another device to or through the fenestration;
wherein the apparatus is configured such that in the collapsed state after introduction into a patient's body and prior to expansion in the patient's body the fenestration is uncannulated and guide wire free, and wherein the electromagnetic coil is activatable after expansion of the tubular main body within the patient to cannulate the fenestration with a guide wire; and
wherein the tubular main body is comprised of non-conductive material and at least one electrically conductive pathway extending from one end of the tubular main body to the electromagnetic coil.
15. (Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising:
a tubular main body configured to be implanted within a patient, the tubular main body being radially collapsible and expandable between a collapsed state and an expanded state;
a first fenestration in a wall of the tubular main body;
a first electromagnetic coil wound around the first fenestration, the first electromagnetic coil being switchable between an activated state and a deactivated state, the first electromagnetic coil being operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the first electromagnetic coil in the activated state;
a second fenestration in the wall of the tubular main body;
a second electromagnetic coil wound around the second fenestration, the second electromagnetic coil being switchable between an activated state and a deactivated state and operable to generate a magnetic field when electrical current flows through the second electromagnetic coil in the activated state; and
a controller electrically coupled to the first electromagnetic coil and to the second electromagnetic coil and operable by a user to selectively activate one of the first or second electromagnetic coils to magnetically guide another device to or through the activated electromagnetic coil, and operable by the user to deactivate the activated electromagnetic coil before selectively activating the other of the first or second electromagnetic coils; and
wherein the tubular main body is comprised of non-conductive material and at least two electrically conductive pathways, wherein each of the at least two electrically conductive pathways extends from one end of the tubular main body to the first electromagnetic coil and the second electromagnetic coil, respectively.
Claims 6 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art alone or in combination with fails to disclose or make obvious the device of claims 6 or claim 20, wherein the devices of claims 6 and 20 comprise the structure of claims 1 and 15, respectively, and further comprise a detachable nosecone on the tubular graft main body, wherein the nosecone houses a battery electrically coupled to the electromagnetic coil(s).
The closest prior art, the combination of Quadri in view of Houser and Mayberry (cited above), and the combination of Quadri in view of Houser and Polverelli (cited above) teach the devices of claims 1 and 15, respectively, as detailed in the rejections above. However, the combinations fail to disclose or make obvious a detachable nosecone with a battery electrically coupled to the electromagnetic coils. Furthermore, although it would have been obvious to couple the electromagnetic coils to a battery for the purpose of suppling the electromagnetic coils with the electrical current needed to produce the intended magnetic field, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the battery in a nosecone of the delivery system as there is no motivation, absent hindsight, to do so. Additionally, no other references, or reasonable combination thereof, could be found which discloses or suggests these features in combination with other limitations in the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771