DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
“a plurality of second housing recesses extending from the outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to the radial-direction inner side further than the plurality of first housing recesses” and “each of the plurality of permanent magnets being in a corresponding second housing recess” of claim 9
No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because figures 3 and 7 are not of quality, for example, the reference lines are blending in with the lines of the invention. The Examiner is unable to determine which components are being shown. Claim 9 recites a plurality of first and second housings with magnets in the second housing recesses but the figures does not show any magnets inside any housing recesses.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/655,342 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim a motor comprising: a stator having a cylindrical shape; and a rotor having a cylindrical shape provided in the stator and is rotatable about a central axis of the stator, a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor, wherein the rotor has a cage and a permanent magnet provided on an inner side of the cage.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, “The vehicle driving system according to Claim 1” should be changed to “The motor according to Claim 1”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 4,506,181), in view of Sakai (US 2010/0327689).
Regarding claim 1, Jones discloses a motor (abstract) comprising:
a stator (30 of Figure 1) having a cylindrical shape; and
a rotor (see Figure 1, 3; Col. 12:57-59, 63-65) having a cylindrical shape provided in the stator and is rotatable about a central axis of the stator, wherein
the rotor has a cage (7, 9 of Figure 1) and a permanent magnet (5 of Figure 1) provided on an inner side of the cage, and
the permanent magnet is formed by a ferrite magnet (Col. 3:20-22).
Jones does not explicitly disclose a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor.
Sakai discloses a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor (Para. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use the motor of Jones to drive the wheels of a vehicle, as taught by Sakai, since it is well-known in the art that electric motors are used for driving wheels of a vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, Jones discloses wherein the rotor (see Figure 1, 3; Col. 12:57-59, 63-65) is divided into an outer rotor part and an inner rotor part,
the inner rotor part has a polygonal shape when viewed in an axial direction (see Figure 1, 3),
the permanent magnet (5 of Figure 1) includes a plurality of plate-like shaped permanent magnets see (Figure 1, 3),
the plurality of plate-like shaped permanent magnets are disposed side by side in a circumferential direction between the outer rotor part and the inner rotor part in a radial direction (Figure 1, 3),
a surface on a first side in a thickness direction of each plate-like shaped permanent magnet is in contact with an inner circumferential surface of the outer rotor part (Figure 1, 3), and
a surface on a second side in the thickness direction of each plate-like shaped permanent magnet, opposite the first side, is in contact with an outer circumferential surface of the inner rotor part (Figure 1, 3).
Regarding claim 9, Jones discloses wherein the rotor includes a rotor core (see Figure 1, 3; Col. 12:57-59, 63-65);
a plurality of first housing recesses (15 of Figure 1-4, 6) extending from an outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to a radial-direction inner side; and
a plurality of second housing recesses (15 of Figure 1-4, 6) extending from the outer circumferential surface of the rotor core to the radial-direction inner side further than the plurality of first housing recesses, and
the permanent magnet (5 of Figure 1) includes a plurality of permanent magnets, each of the plurality of permanent magnets being in a corresponding second housing recess (Col. 3:34-40).
known in the art that electric motors are used for driving wheels of a vehicle.
Claims 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 4,506,181), in view of Sakai (US 2010/0327689) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gieras (US 2018/0115204).
Regarding claims 3, 6, Jones discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose a vehicle driving system comprising the motor according to Claim 2, wherein the vehicle driving system further comprises:
a control circuit configured to switch between a synchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet (5 of Figure 1) and an asynchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage (7, 9 of Figure 1).
Gieras discloses a vehicle driving system comprising the motor (102 of Figure 1-2) according to Claim 2, wherein the vehicle driving system further comprises:
a control circuit (112 of Figure 1-2) configured to switch between a synchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor (106 of Figure 2) is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet (120 of Figure 2) and an asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage (126 of Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a vehicle driving system comprising a control circuit with the motor of Jones, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Regarding claims 5, 8, Jones discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to select the synchronous operation mode when a motor torque is lower than a predetermined value and implements the asynchronous operation mode when the motor torque is equal to or higher than the predetermined value.
Gieras discloses wherein the control circuit is configured to select the synchronous operation mode when a motor torque is lower than a predetermined value and implements the asynchronous operation mode when the motor torque is equal to or higher than the predetermined value (Para. 0033, discloses the switching of operation modes depending on torque characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a vehicle driving system comprising a control circuit with the motor of Jones to select between synchronous and asynchronous mode determined by torque, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Regarding claim 10, Jones discloses a method of operating a motor of a vehicle driving system including
a stator (30 of Figure 1) having a cylindrical shape; and
a rotor (see Figure 1, 3; Col. 12:57-59, 63-65) having a cylindrical shape in the stator and rotatable about a central axis of the stator, wherein
the rotor has a cage (7, 9 of Figure 1) and a ferrite magnet (5 of Figure 1; Col. 3:20-22) on an inner side of the cage.
Jones does not explicitly disclose a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor, and;
the method comprising
operating the motor in a synchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet;
monitoring a characteristic of the motor; and
in response to a condition regarding characteristic being met, switching to an asynchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage.
Sakai discloses a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor (Para. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use the motor of Jones to drive the wheels of a vehicle, as taught by Sakai, since it is well-known in the art that electric motors are used for driving wheels of a vehicle.
Gieras discloses the method comprising
operating the motor (102 of Figure 1-2) in a synchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor (106 of Figure 2) is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet (120 of Figure 2);
monitoring (via 112 of Figure 1-2) a characteristic of the motor; and
in response to a condition regarding characteristic being met, switching to an asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage (126 of Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a method of operating the of Jones, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Regarding claim 12, Jones discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
detecting a motor torque, and
in response to the motor torque being equal to or higher than a predetermined value, switching to the asynchronous operation mode.
Gieras discloses further comprising:
detecting a motor torque, and
in response to the motor torque being equal to or higher than a predetermined value, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0033, discloses the switching of operation modes depending on torque characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a vehicle driving system comprising a control circuit with the motor of Jones to select between synchronous and asynchronous mode determined by torque, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Regarding claim 13, Jones discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage device having computer readable instructions that when executed by circuitry, causes the circuitry to perform a method of operating a motor of a vehicle driving system including a stator (30 of Figure 1) having a cylindrical shape and a rotor (see Figure 1, 3; Col. 12:57-59, 63-65) having a cylindrical shape in the stator and rotatable about a central axis of the stator, wherein the rotor has a cage (7, 9 of Figure 1) and a ferrite magnet (5 of Figure 1; Col. 3:20-22) on an inner side of the cage.
Jones does not explicitly disclose a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor, and;
the method comprising
operating the motor in a synchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet;
monitoring a characteristic of the motor; and
in response to a condition regarding characteristic being met, switching to an asynchronous operation mode in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage.
Sakai discloses a driving wheel of a vehicle being driven by rotation of the rotor (Para. 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to use the motor of Jones to drive the wheels of a vehicle, as taught by Sakai, since it is well-known in the art that electric motors are used for driving wheels of a vehicle.
Gieras discloses the method comprising
operating the motor (102 of Figure 1-2) in a synchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor (106 of Figure 2) is rotated using a magnetic force of the permanent magnet (120 of Figure 2);
monitoring (via 112 of Figure 1-2) a characteristic of the motor; and
in response to a condition regarding characteristic being met, switching to an asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0006, 0010) in which the rotor is rotated using an induced current produced in the cage (126 of Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a method of operating the of Jones, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Regarding claim 15, Jones discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose further causing the circuitry to perform:
comparing a motor torque to a predetermined value, and
in response to the motor torque being equal to or higher than the predetermined value, switching to the asynchronous operation mode.
Gieras discloses further causing the circuitry to perform:
comparing a motor torque to a predetermined value, and
in response to the motor torque being equal to or higher than the predetermined value, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0033, discloses the switching of operation modes depending on torque characteristics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have a vehicle driving system comprising a control circuit with the motor of Jones to select between synchronous and asynchronous mode determined by torque, as taught by Gieras, to control current flow to the control winding [Gieras: Para. 0010].
Claims 4, 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones (US 4,506,181), in view of Sakai (US 2010/0327689) and Gieras (US 2018/0115204) as applied to claims 3, 6, 10, and 13 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US 2022/0115974).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 11, 14, Jones discloses all of the elements of the current invention as mentioned above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to select the asynchronous operation mode when a temperature of the permanent magnet is lower than a predetermined temperature (claims 4, 7);
further comprising:
detecting a temperature of the permanent magnet, and
in response to the temperature being lower than a predetermined temperature, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (claim 11);
further causing the circuitry to perform:
comparing a temperature of the permanent magnet to a predetermined temperature, and
in response to the temperature being lower than the predetermined temperature, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (claim 14).
Kobayashi discloses wherein the control circuit (4 of Figure 1) is configured to select the asynchronous operation mode when a temperature of the permanent magnet is lower than a predetermined temperature (Para. 0088) (claims 4, 7);
further comprising:
detecting a temperature of the permanent magnet (via 42 of Figure 1), and
in response to the temperature being lower than a predetermined temperature, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0088) (claim 11);
further causing the circuitry to perform:
comparing a temperature of the permanent magnet to a predetermined temperature (via 4, 42 of Figure 1), and
in response to the temperature being lower than the predetermined temperature, switching to the asynchronous operation mode (Para. 0088) (claim 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing of the claimed invention to have the motor of Jones include a control circuit to select operating modes based on magnet temperature, as taught by Kobayashi, to provide a driving apparatus capable of reducing a decrease in output performance and preventing the demagnetization of the permanent magnet due to the overcurrent [Kobayashi: Para. 0009].
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fujiwara (US 5,920,139), Seguchi (US 5,917,248), Kajiura (US 2003/0090167) disclose a motor comprising a cylindrical stator and rotor and a plurality of permanent magnets and driving the wheels of a vehicle.
Steen (US 4,139,790) disclose a motor comprising a cylindrical stator and rotor and a plurality of permanent magnets.
Hyde (US 2009/0091138) discloses a motor and driving system configured to select asynchronous operation mode based on the magnet temperature.
Conclusion
/Charles Reid Jr./ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834