Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the application filed on May 28, 2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d),which the certified copy has been has been placed in the record of the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/10/2025,02/03/2025 and 10/01/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. Drawings submitted on 05/06/2024 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-14 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “the at least one DC/AC conversion” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this claim limitation.
Claim 18 recites “the the highest temperature value”. The phrase “the” is redundant and should be removed.
Claim 11-14 dependent on claim 10, thus should be rejected because of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7,15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando “JP2018102080” in a view of Yu “20250183790”.
In re to claim 1, Ando discloses a power converter (Figs. 1-3 shows a power converter), comprising: a plurality of direct current terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 1 to 4 coupled DC terminal of the circle terminals ) comprising: first input ends configured to connect to a first direct current source (as shown in Fig. 1 the circle terminal connected to PV 1 to 4 is equivalent to first input ends); and first output ends (circle terminal connected to switch 8 to 11 is equivalent to first output ends) ; a printed circuit board (PCB) (it is understood the circuit is built on the printed circuit board) comprising a plurality of first connection points connected to the first output ends (see Fig. 1: plurality of connection points connected to the first output ends); a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits comprising (DC/DC converts 6-7 and DC-DC converter 27):second input ends connected to the plurality of first connection points (a DC / DC conversion circuit 27 comprised a DC-DC converter 27 which input terminal is coupled to DC lines 23a and 23b terminals ) ; and
second output ends (output end of DC-DC converter 27 is equivalent to second output ends) ; a direct current/alternating current (DC/AC) conversion circuit (DC / AC conversion circuit 28) comprising: a third input end connected to the second output ends (input terminal of DC / AC conversion circuit 28 is equivalent to third input end) ; and a third output end (output terminal of DC / AC conversion circuit 28 is equivalent to third output end) configured to connect to a load (system 29) ;a plurality of temperature detectors ( temperature sensor for detecting the temperature in the electrical device 5) (not shown) see page 7. Parag. 7 and page 8 parag. 3-5 and page 9, parg.1) and wherein each of the plurality of temperature detectors and one or two of the first connection points are disposed alternately on the PCB, and wherein the plurality of temperature detectors is configured to detect first temperatures of the plurality of direct current terminals; and a controller configured to control (controller 12), in response to a highest temperature value in the first temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold (see page 8, parg. 3-5), a first current value of a first input current of at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease.
Ando discloses temperature sensor for detecting the temperature in the electrical device 5 but fails to discloses a plurality of temperature detectors and wherein the plurality of temperature detectors is configured to detect first temperatures of the plurality of direct current terminals and in response to a highest temperature value in the first temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease.
Whereas Yu discloses power conversion device power converter (Figs. 1-9) having plurality of temperature detectors and wherein the plurality of temperature detectors is configured to detect first temperatures of the plurality of direct current terminals (As shown in FIGs. 3,5 and 8, the temperature sampling circuit 151 includes a first thermistor NTC1 and a second thermistor NTC2 and the first temperature sampling circuit (that is, a temperature sampling circuit 151) are disposed on the terminal board 11, and the temperature sampling circuit 151 is configured to collect a temperature parameter of the input terminal in.sub.1. to in.sub.n) and in response to a highest temperature value in the first temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease (the controller obtains the temperature parameter collected by the first temperature sampling circuit. When the temperature parameter of the first terminal is greater than a temperature parameter threshold, the controller controls the protection switch to turn the protection switch off, see abstract, parag.0021, 0059 . Examiner noted that the is understood that when protection circuit is shut off DC/DC or disconnect the power supply which causes the input to the DC/DC is decreasing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Ando to include plurality of temperature detectors is configured to detect first temperatures of the plurality of direct current terminals and in response to a highest temperature value in the first temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease as taught by Yu because a temperature of a terminal whose temperature is to be measured can be obtained in time, and overtemperature protection can be implemented on the terminal in time when the temperature of the terminal whose temperature is to be measured is excessively high, thereby ensuring reliable running of the terminal of the power conversion device, see prag. 0004.
In re to claim 7, Ando as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3) wherein the controller is further configured to control the first current value to decrease by sequentially controlling the first current value to decrease (it is understood that current value of an input current is decrease sequentially to reach to the predetermined value not spontaneously )
In re to claim 15, Ando discloses (Figs. 1-9) comprising a plurality of direct current switches, wherein each direct current switch is connected between two or more of the plurality of direct current terminals and two of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits corresponding to the two or more of the plurality of direct current terminals (Fig. 1 shows plurality opening / closing switch 8 to an opening / closing switch 11 are connected between the terminal and DC-DC converter) , and wherein the controller is further configured to control, when one of the first temperatures of one of the plurality of direct current terminals is greater than the first alarm threshold, one of the plurality of direct current switches connected to the one of the plurality of direct current terminals to be turned off (see page 3 parag. parag.1-5).
Furthermore Yu discloses protection switches 141-14n configured between DC power supply and DC conversion unit and when the temperature parameter of the input terminal in.sub.1 is greater than a temperature parameter threshold, which indicates that a temperature of the input terminal in.sub.1 is excessively high, controls the protection switch 141 to be turned off, and disconnects in time a power supply loop in which the input terminal in.sub.1 is located. This protects the input terminal in.sub.1, and further protects the power conversion device 1, see parag.0055
In re to claim 16, Ando discloses (Figs. 1-9) wherein the controller is further configured to: control, when one of the first temperatures of one of the plurality of direct current terminals is greater than the first alarm threshold, the first input current of one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits connected to the one of the plurality of direct current terminals to decrease (see abstract, page 3 parag. parag.1-5).
Or control, when the one of the first temperatures is greater than the first alarm threshold, the first input current of one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits connected to the one of the plurality of direct current terminals to be 0 .
In re to claim 17, Ando discloses A method (Figs. 1-3 shows a method and a power converter), comprising: detecting temperatures ( temperature sensor for detecting the temperature in the electrical device 5) (not shown) see page 7. Parag. 7 and page 8 parag. 3-5 and page 9, parg.1) of a plurality of direct current terminals (plurality of solar cell strings 1 to 4 coupled DC terminal as shown as a circle); and controlling (controller 12) and plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits .
However, Ando fails to discloses in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease.
Whereas, Yu discloses temperature detecting (shown in FIGs. 3,5 and 8, the temperature sampling circuit 151 includes a first thermistor NTC1 and a second thermistor NTC2 and the first temperature sampling circuit (that is, a temperature sampling circuit 151) in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease (the controller obtains the temperature parameter collected by the first temperature sampling circuit. When the temperature parameter of the first terminal is greater than a temperature parameter threshold, the controller controls the protection switch to turn the protection switch off, see abstract, parag.0021, 0059 . It is understood that when protection circuit is shut off DC/DC or disconnect the power supply which causes the input to the DC/DC is decreasing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Ando in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease as taught by Yu because a temperature of a terminal whose temperature is to be measured can be obtained in time, and overtemperature protection can be implemented on the terminal in time when the temperature of the terminal whose temperature is to be measured is excessively high, thereby ensuring reliable running of the terminal of the power conversion device, see prag. 0004.
In re to claim 20, Ando as modified discloses (Figs.1-3) a computer program product comprising instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by a processor (Fig. 1 shows a control unit 12, a configuration using a single / plurality of microprocessors (general microcomputers) is configured to control the power converter, see page 6, lines 7-13), cause a power converter to:
detect temperatures ( temperature sensor for detecting the temperature in the electrical device 5) (not shown) see page 7. Parag. 7 and page 8 parag. 3-5 and page 9, parg.1) of a plurality of direct current terminals ((plurality of solar cell strings 1 to 4 coupled DC terminal as shown as a circle); and control (control 12) but fails to discloses in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease.
Whereas, Yu discloses temperature detecting (shown in Figs. 3,5 and 8, the temperature sampling circuit 151 includes a first thermistor NTC1 and a second thermistor NTC2 and the first temperature sampling circuit (that is, a temperature sampling circuit 151) and in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease (the controller obtains the temperature parameter collected by the first temperature sampling circuit. When the temperature parameter of the first terminal is greater than a temperature parameter threshold, the controller controls the protection switch to turn the protection switch off, see abstract, parag.0021, 0059 . It is understood that when protection circuit is shut off DC/DC or disconnect the power supply which causes the input to the DC/DC is decreasing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power converter of Ando in response to a highest temperature value in response to a highest temperature value in the temperatures being greater than a first alarm threshold, a first current value of a first input current of at least one of a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) conversion circuits to decrease as taught by Yu because a temperature of a terminal whose temperature is to be measured can be obtained in time, and overtemperature protection can be implemented on the terminal in time when the temperature of the terminal whose temperature is to be measured is excessively high, thereby ensuring reliable running of the terminal of the power conversion device, see prag. 0004.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Clams 2-6,8-9 and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest the power converter including the limitation of “in response to the highest temperature value decreasing to be less than or equal to a first safety threshold after the first current value is decreased, a signal indicating that one of the direct current terminals corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits is abnormal, and wherein the first safety threshold is less than or equal to the first alarm threshold. ”
Claim 3 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest power converter including the limitation of “ control, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than a second alarm threshold, second current values of second input currents of all of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease; control, in response to the highest temperature value decreasing to be less than or equal to a second safety threshold, the first current value to increase; and output, in response to the highest temperature value increasing to be greater than the second alarm threshold after the first current value is increased, a signal indicating that one of the direct current terminals corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits is abnormal, wherein the second safety threshold is less than or equal to the second alarm threshold. ”
Claim 4 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest power converter including the limitation of “ further comprising a fan, wherein the power converter is further configured to: control, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than the first alarm threshold, a rotation speed of the fan to increase in order to decrease the highest temperature value to be less than the first alarm threshold; control the rotation speed to decrease; and control, in response to the highest temperature value returning to the first alarm threshold, the first current value to decrease. ”
Claim 5 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest power converter including the limitation of “further comprising a fan, wherein the power converter is further configured to: control, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than a second alarm threshold, second current values of second input currents of all of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits in the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease; and control a rotation speed of the fan to increase. ”
Claim 18 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest the method including the limitation of “outputting, in response to the highest temperature value decreasing to be less than or equal to a first safety threshold after the first current value is decreased, a first signal indicating that one of the plurality of direct current terminals corresponding to the at least one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits is abnormal, wherein the first safety threshold is less than or equal to the first alarm threshold; or controlling, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than a second alarm threshold, second current values of second input currents of all of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease; controlling, in response to the highest temperature value decreasing to be less than or equal to a second safety threshold, the first current value to increase; and outputting, in response to the highest temperature value increasing to be greater than the second alarm threshold after the first current value is increased, a second signal indicating that the one of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits is abnormal, wherein the second safety threshold is less than or equal to the second alarm threshold. ”
Claim 19 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest the method including the limitation of “controlling, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than the first alarm threshold, a rotation speed of a fan to increase in order to decrease the highest temperature value to be less than the first alarm threshold; controlling the rotation speed to decrease; and controlling, in response to the highest temperature value returning to the first alarm threshold, the first current value to decrease; or
controlling, in response to the highest temperature value being greater than a second alarm threshold, second current values of second input currents of all of the plurality of DC/DC conversion circuits to decrease; and controlling the rotation speed to increase. ”
8. Claims 10-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 10 is objected because the prior art in the record fails to discloses or suggest power converter including the limitation of “wherein the plurality of temperature detectors comprises a plurality of temperature detection branches and a plurality of operational amplifier circuits, wherein each of the plurality of temperature detection branches comprises a second direct current source and a temperature sensing element, wherein the second direct current source and the temperature sensing element of each temperature detection branch are connected to each other in a one-to-one correspondence, wherein the second direct current source is connected to a first end of the temperature sensing element, wherein a second end of the temperature sensing element is connected to a fourth input end of the operational amplifier circuit, and wherein a fourth output end of the operational amplifier circuit is connected to a signal input end of the controller. ”
Claim 9 dependent on claim 2, thus is objected because of its dependency.
Claims 6-8 dependent on claim 3, thus are objected because of their dependency.
Claims 11-14 dependent on claim 10, thus are rejected because of their dependency.
Claims 18-19 dependent on claim 17, thus are objected because of their dependency.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yao “20250023456” This application relates to the field of power device detection, and in particular, to a power converter and a detection method for a terminal status.
Kuroki “20240255356” the present invention relates to a temperature estimation device and a converter system.
Nakagawa “20230178976” the present invention relates to a failure detection device that detects a failure of parallel—driven switches and a motor drive device.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838