DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the amendment, filed 1/21/26, with respect to claims 8, 11, 16, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 rejections of 8, 11, 16, and 19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive regarding claims 1 and 3-7. The applicant submits the prior art does not disclose the following limitations of the claimed invention:
wherein the plurality of pixels are divided into a plurality of pixel groups, wherein each pixel group of the plurality of pixel groups is disposed under more than three color filters having different colors, and wherein the second pixel and the third pixel are respectively provided in different pixel groups adjacent to each other from among the plurality of pixel groups, as stated in claim 1. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Re claim 1) The Jeong reference discloses an image sensor wherein the plurality of pixels are divided into a plurality of pixel groups (see figure 3, elements PX1-PX4), wherein each pixel group of the plurality of pixel groups is disposed under more than three color filters having different colors (Red, Green, White and Blue filters), and wherein the second pixel and the third pixel are respectively provided in different pixel groups adjacent to each other from among the plurality of pixel groups (see figure 3) (see para 51-54). Therefore, the Jeong reference discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023.
In regard to claim 1, Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, discloses a pixel array comprising:
a plurality of pixels in a matrix (see figure 3, element 100), the plurality of pixels comprising a first pixel (see figure 3, element PX3), a second pixel (see figure 3, element PX1) and a third pixel (see figure 3, element PX2) adjacent the second pixel (see para 48);
a plurality of micro lenses (see figure 3), the plurality of micro lenses comprising a first micro lens (see figure 3, element ML1) and a second micro lens (see figure 3, element ML2) (see para 48),
wherein each of the plurality of pixels comprises a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements adjacent to each other in a first direction (see figure 3, element PD1 and PD2 and para 48-49),
wherein the first micro lens extends across the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the first pixel (see figure 1, element ML1 and para 48),
wherein the second micro lens extends in the first direction or a second direction across the second pixel and the third pixel (see figure 1, element ML2 and para 48-50)
wherein the plurality of pixels are divided into a plurality of pixel groups (see figure 3, elements PX1-PX4), wherein each pixel group of the plurality of pixel groups is disposed under more than three color filters having different colors (Red, Green, White and Blue filters), and wherein the second pixel and the third pixel are respectively provided in different pixel groups adjacent to each other from among the plurality of pixel groups (see figure 3) (see para 51-54).
In regard to claim 3, Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, discloses the pixel array of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of pixel groups comprises a plurality of sub-pixel groups (first group under R filters, second group under G filters, third pixel group under G filters), wherein each of the plurality of sub-pixel groups comprises pixels, from among the plurality of pixels, arranged in an m by n matrix (m and n being natural numbers of 2 or more), and wherein the pixel group comprising the second pixel and the pixel group comprising the third pixel comprise a different number of pixels corresponding to a same color filter among the three color filters (see figure 8 and para 76).
In regard to claim 4, Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, discloses the pixel array of claim 1, wherein each of the second pixel and the third pixel comprises a color filter configured to transmit light of a same wavelength band (see para 76).
In regard to claim 6, Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, discloses the pixel array of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a fourth pixel and a fifth pixel adjacent to the fourth pixel, wherein the plurality of micro lenses comprises a third micro lens that extends across the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel, wherein a direction in which the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel are arranged is identical to a direction in which the second pixel and the third pixel are arranged, and wherein the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel are respectively provided adjacent to the second pixel and the third pixel (see fig 32: the fourth and fifth pixels are under the second elongated microlens of the array, which is in the same direction of the first elongated microlens over the second and third pixels in PG2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. 2022/0190023, in view of Li et al, 2023/0090827.
In regard to claim 5, Jeong et al. 2022/0190023, discloses a pixel array of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixels comprises a fourth pixel and a fifth pixel adjacent to the fourth pixel, wherein the plurality of micro lenses comprises a third micro lens that extends across the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel, and wherein a direction in which the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel are arranged is same from a direction in which the second pixel and the third pixel are arranged (see fig 32: the fourth and fifth pixels are under the second elongated microlens of the array, which is in the same direction of the first elongated microlens over the second and third pixels in PG2).
The Jeong reference does not specifically disclose wherein a direction in which the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel are arranged is different from a direction in which the second pixel and the third pixel are arranged.
Li et al, 2023/0090827, discloses a pixel array with a plurality of elongated microlenses wherein one set of microlens and pixels under to microlens have a different orientation than the other set of microlenses (see figure 9C and para 98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, in view of Li et al, 2023/0090827, wherein a direction in which the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel are arranged is different from a direction in which the second pixel and the third pixel are arranged, in order to detect phase difference in two directions for accurate calculation resulting in a higher quality image.
In regard to claim 7, Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, discloses the pixel array of claim 6. The Jeong reference does not specifically disclose wherein the third micro lens extends across the second pixel, the third pixel, the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel.
Li et al, 2023/0090827, discloses a pixel array with a plurality of microlenses wherein the lenses span across four pixels (see figure 8B and para 91-92).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ) to have been motivated to modify Jeong et al., US 2022/0190023, in view of Li et al, 2023/0090827, wherein the third micro lens extends across the second pixel, the third pixel, the fourth pixel and the fifth pixel, in order to lower the signal noise and improve image quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claims 8-18, the prior art does not disclose a image sensor with the combination of limitations specified in the claimed invention, specifically the limitations of:
wherein the row decoder circuit is further configured to: output the transfer control signal to each of the plurality of pixels in a first mode to control pixel signals of the plurality of pixels to be sampled in different output time periods; and output the transfer control signal to each of the plurality of pixels in a second mode to control the pixel signals of the plurality of pixels to be simultaneously sampled in a common output time period, as stated in claim 8.
In regard to claims 19-20, the prior art does not disclose a image sensor with the combination of limitations specified in the claimed invention, specifically the limitations of:
wherein the pixel array is configured to output the phase data based on an output of the first pixel while operating in a first mode, and output the phase data based on outputs of the second pixel and the third pixel while operating in a second mode, wherein the first micro lens extends across the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements of the first pixel, and wherein the second micro lens extends in the first direction or a second direction across the second pixel and the third pixel, as stated in claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEVELL V SELBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638
gvs