DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schaefer et al. US3,437,804.
For claim 1, Schaefer discloses “An optical system, comprising:
a lens (left portion of 10; fig 1,2) having: an input surface configured to receive light from at least one light source (12);
an output surface (surface adjacent to the blocking layer 34; 3:51-55) configured such that the light exits the lens through the output surface of the lens; and
a peripheral surface (fig 2) extending between the input surface of the lens and the output surface of the lens, and configured to direct, via total internal reflection (fig 2; 2:59-66), at least a portion of light incident on the peripheral surface of the lens to:
exit the lens through the output surface of the lens;
converge to an output focal point; and
diverge from the output focal point (fig 2); and
a tapered light pipe (right portion of 10; fig 2, 3 shows the tapered end of the ellipsoid – the structure of Schaefer mimics that of the application, see image below: fig 3A is annotated with a circle and two red arrows to show the two halves of the ellipsoid. Fig 2 of Schaefer was flipped 180 degrees to provide the same orientation as applicant’s figure and has likewise been annotated with the circle and two arrows to show the same corresponding structures, including showing the corresponding output surface 104b/blocking layer 34. The ellipsoids are both abutting the optical fiber to the left and as such the structures are for all intents and purposes identical.)
having:
an input surface (surface adjacent to the blocking layer 34) that is optically coupled to the output surface of the lens and is configured to receive at least a portion of the light exiting the lens;
an output surface configured such that at least a portion of the received light exits the tapered light pipe through the output surface of the tapered light pipe (fig 1, 2); and
a peripheral surface extending between the input surface of the tapered light pipe and the output surface of the tapered light pipe (fig 1, 2),
wherein a location of the output focal point is closer to the output surface of the tapered light pipe than to the input surface of the tapered light pipe (fig 1, 2)”.
For claim 2, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the tapered light pipe is optically coupled to a light guide (fig 2)”.
For claim 3, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 2, wherein the output focal point is positioned at a location within the tapered light pipe such that light diverging from the output focal point exhibits a divergence angle commensurate with a numerical aperture of the light guide (fig 2, 4; 3:7-16)”.
For claim 4, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 2, wherein the tapered light pipe is configured to deliver more than 50% of the received light to the light guide (fig 2, 4; 3:56-57)”.
For claim 5, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, further comprising a light guide that is optically coupled to the tapered light pipe and is configured to receive at least a portion of the light exiting the output surface of the tapered light pipe (fig 2; 3:6-16)”.
For claim 6, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 5, wherein the tapered light pipe is configured to deliver more than 50% of the received light to the light guide (fig 2, 4; 3:56-57)”.
For claim 7, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 5, wherein the output focal point is positioned at a location within the tapered light pipe such that light diverging from the output focal point exhibits a divergence angle commensurate with a numerical aperture of the light guide (fig 2, 4; 3:7-16)”.
For claim 8, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the input surface of the tapered light pipe is flat (fig 2)”.
For claim 9, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the output focal point is positioned along an optical axis of the tapered light pipe (fig 2)”.
For claim 10, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 9, wherein a maximum distance xmax of the output focal point relative to the output surface of the tapered light pipe is given by: wherein: Rout denotes a radius of the output surface of the tapered light pipe, and a denotes half of a divergence angle of the light propagating beyond the output focal point (fig 2)”.
For claim 11, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the input surface of the lens comprises a cavity for receiving the light emitted by the at least one light source (fig 2)”.
For claim 12, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 11, wherein at least a portion of the peripheral surface of the lens has an elliptical shape having two focal points including an input focal point positioned in the cavity and the output focal point, such that the output focal point is positioned in the tapered light pipe (fig 2)”.
For claim 13, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 12, wherein at least a portion of a light-emitting surface of the at least one light source is positioned at the input focal point (fig 2)”.
For claim 14, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the tapered light pipe is tapered (fig 2)”.
For claim 15, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 14, wherein the tapered light pipe exhibits a decreasing cross sectional area from the input surface of the tapered light pipe to the output surface of the tapered light pipe (fig 2)”.
For claim 16, Schaefer discloses “The optical system of claim 1, wherein the output focal point is positioned within the tapered light pipe (fig 2)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaefer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. US6,124,883.
For claim 17, Schaefer does not disclose “An endoscope, comprising the optical system of claim 1”. Suzuki teaches in the same field of endeavor, providing an endoscope with a tapered light transmitting element (fig 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the modification of Suzuki into the invention of Schaefer in order to configure the system of claim 1, e.g. as claimed because it provides the functionality of an endoscope, i.e. imaging within a cavity.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Schaefer does not disclose a tapered light pipe, but the right portion of ellipsoid 10 (fig 2) is the same like structure in the applicant’s device (light pipe 108 in fig 3A). It is unclear how applicant is distinguishing between these two clearly analogous elements since the ellipsoid does in fact taper toward the fiber hose in fig 2. The claimed structure in question is the combination of the lens 104 and light pipe 108, each making up half of an ellipsoid. Schaefer in fig 2 shows the same ellipsoid structure composed of two elements, a lens (the left portion of 10) and a light pipe (the right portion of 10), as such they are both considered a prolate spheroid. For example, a prolate spheroid (a type of ellipsoid formed by rotating an ellipse about its major axis) has a shape similar to a football or a rugby ball. This shape can be considered as tapered at its ends compared to the wider middle section. An egg, for instance, is often described as an ellipsoid, and its shape is clearly tapered at one end. As such, applicant’s arguments are not found to be persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jae Woo/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795 08/27/2025