This action is in response to the amendments filed on 02/17/2026, in which claims 1, 10-11, 13 and 19 have been amended, claims 1-20 are presented for the examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le Goff et al. (US 2020/0379529, referred herein after Le Goff) in view of Venkatraman et al. (US 2021/0034495, referred herein after Venkatraman).
As per claim 1, 13, 19, Le Goff discloses a system for monitoring, detecting and generating a corrective action in response to receiving real time information from a monitored data center device, the system comprising:
a computer, a memory operably associated with the computer (Fig. 5, [0037], [0038]);
a principal control software PCS subsystem configured to be stored in the memory of the computer and to be accessed by the computer, wherein the computer is used to monitor operation of a data center device ([0060], [0093], [0105], Each server (ie computer) comprises at least one sensor (shown on FIG. 5) that provides measurements related to a parameter of the server 400, [0098]);
the PCS subsystem including pre-defined information for analyzing operating information pertaining to operation of the data center device (Figure 1, reference 130, metric platform, [0093], [0095], Measurements (ie stored operating values) provided by the servers 230 are stored in the metrics cache 130 introduced in the description of FIG. 1.);
the PCS subsystem further being configured to: analyze the operating information received from the agent subsystem using the pre-defined information to determine when a situation exists requiring an action to be taken to modify operation of the data center device; and (Fig. 5, action controller (535) configured to perform analysis of the operating information and transmit the corrective action back to those nodes (servers 400) to manage operation (Fig. 5, [0037], [0038], [0047]);
to use the pre-defined information to determine and transmit a predetermined action to the agent subsystem, to be received and used by the agent subsystem, which are used by processor of the data center device to modify operation of the data center device in accordance with the predetermined action (Fig. 5, [0098]-[0100], [0037], [0038], action controller (535) configured to perform analysis of the operating information and transmit the corrective action back to those nodes (servers 400) to manage operation, Agents (servers) are capable to receiving operating measurements from the various sensors).
Le Goff does not disclose an agent subsystem configured to be stored in the memory of the data center device and to communicate with a processor of the data center device, the agent subsystem further being configured to communicate the operating information generated by the data center device, including at least one of the events or alarms associated with the data center device, to the PCS subsystem;
However, Venkatraman discloses an agent subsystem (Fig. 1, agent 140, [0032], [0033]) configured to be stored in the memory of the data center device ([0038], a management server (i e data center device) and to communicate with a processor of the data center device, the agent subsystem further being configured to communicate the operating information generated by the data center device, including at least one of the events or alarms associated with the data center device, to the PCS subsystem (Fig. 1, [0045]-[0047], wherein the data (i e the operating information) from monitored device (i e data center device) is transferred to host device via network 130);
Therefore it would have been obvious to the one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Venkatraman’s method for dynamically updating device health scores and weighting factors into Le Goff’s method for supervising server health because one of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to continuously monitor key performance indicators (KPIs) and health metrics, which identify issues, predict potential failures, and take proactive measures to mitigate risks before they impact critical business operations.
As per claim 2, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the PCS subsystem is configured to be stored in a non-volatile memory of the computer ([0061], [0087]).
As per claim 3, 14, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computer comprises at least one of: a server; a personal computer; a laptop computer; a computing tablet; a smartphone; or a personal digital assistant ([0087]).
As per claim 4, Venkartraman discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the agent subsystem comprises a software module configured to be stored in a non-volatile memory of the data center device (Fig. 1, agent 140, [0032], [0033], [0038]).
As per claim 5, 15, 20, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pre-defined information comprises at least one of: a stored set point; a stored operating value; a stored rule; or a stored algorithm; a stored table; a stored chart; or a stored look-up table, for determining when the situation arises for taking the action, and determining the predetermined action to be taken (Fig. 6, step 620, stored measurements, [0012], [0093]).
As per claim 6, 16, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the predetermined action transmitted by the PCS subsystem includes a command to modify operation of a cooling unit ([0021]).
As per claim 7, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 6, wherein the command to modify operation of a cooling unit comprises: a command to increase a cooling output of the cooling unit; or a command to decrease a cooling output of the cooling unit ([0021]).
As per claim 8, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the data center device comprises a server, and the PCS subsystem is configured to communicate bi-directionally via a network with a CPU of the server (Fig. 4, 440, [0103], [0104]).
As per claim 9, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a cooling unit, and wherein the PCS subsystem is configured to communicate bi-directionally via a network with the cooling unit (Fig. 4, 440, [0103], [0104]).
As per claim 10, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising a database contained in the memory of the computer and accessible by the PCS subsystem for collecting historical operating information received from the at least one data center device over a period of time (Fig. 5, 520, [0038]).
As per claim 11, 17, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the PCS subsystem is further configured to use the historical operating information stored in the database to further control operation of the at least one data center device ([0012], [0018]).
As per claim 12, 18, Le Goff discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the PCS subsystem further includes an auto discovery software subsystem for discovering data center devices ([0105], [0106]).
Conclusion
/KAMINI B PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2114