DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0008: The sentence including “some embodiments of the present disclosure has been made in view of the above problems” is grammatically incorrect.
Paragraphs 0088, 0101, and 0119: “Assemblability” is not a proper word.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomforde et al. (US 6000748 A).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazaki teaches “A body for a vehicle comprising:
a body module comprising a frame (body support structure, see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
an exterior material configured to have a shape covering an outside of the body module (fender part, see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
a mounting unit mounted to the body module, wherein the exterior material is assembled to the body module via the mounting unit (template, see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1); and
a door installed at a position adjacent to the exterior material to be pivotably connected to the mounting unit (centered on pins of vehicle door hinges, see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1).”
Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 2, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 1, wherein the mounting unit includes a first mounting bracket, and the first mounting bracket comprises:
a first mounting part mounted on a mounting seat surface of the frame (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 1);
a first hinge connection part formed to be bent in a direction perpendicular to the first mounting part such that the door is connected to the first hinge connection part through a first hinge structure (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 1); and
a flange part formed to extend from the first hinge connection part toward the exterior material such that an exterior bracket formed at the exterior material is assembled to the flange part.”
Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 1
Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 2
Regarding claim 3, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 2, wherein the mounting unit further includes a second mounting bracket, and the second mounting bracket comprises:
a second mounting part mounted on the mounting seat surface (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2), and
a second hinge connection part formed to be bent in a direction perpendicular to the second mounting part(see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2); and
a hinge bracket is axially coupled, at one end thereof, between the first hinge connection part of the first mounting bracket and the second hinge connection part of the second mounting bracket by a shaft, and is fixed to the door at another end thereof opposite to the one end, thereby enabling the door to pivot about the shaft at the one end of the hinge bracket (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2).”
Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2
Regarding claim 4, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 2, further comprising:
a guide hole formed at the frame (assembly points, see col. 6, ln 11); and
a guide pin protruding from an inner surface of the exterior material facing the frame (fixing elements such as pegs can be incorporated into the latching assembly, see col. 6, ln 34).”
Regarding claim 5, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 2, wherein the exterior bracket is assembled to the flange part while overlapping with the flange part in a state of surface-contacting the flange part (attachment bracket on the fender slides into flange parts formed on guide body, see col. 4, ln 57), and wherein
a guide protrudes from the flange part, the guide having a shape configured to support an edge of the exterior bracket (flange comprises slide rails that guide fender attachment, see col. 4, ln 57).”
Regarding claim 6, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 5, wherein the guide comprises:
first portions formed in parallel to each other at upper and lower ends of the flange part, configured to support upper and lower ends of the exterior bracket (see Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1 and Figure 4, Annotation Set 3); and
second portions formed at a portion of the flange part forming a boundary between the flange part and the second hinge connection part, configured to support an end of the exterior bracket (see Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1 and Figure 4, Annotation Set 3).”
Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1
Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 3
Regarding claim 8, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 6, wherein each of the second portions is perpendicularly connected to a corresponding one of the first portions (first and second portions are connected by a right angle, see Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1).”
Regarding claim 9, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 5, wherein the guide is formed to have a shape corresponding to an edge shape of the exterior bracket overlapping with the flange part (see col. 4, ln 64and Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1).”
Regarding claim 10, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 5, wherein the exterior bracket and the flange part are configured such that as the exterior bracket moves toward the flange part to overlap with the flange part during assembly, the guide guides and regulates a movement path of the exterior bracket moving toward the flange part (flange comprises slide rails that guide fender attachment, see col. 4, ln 57 and Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1).”
Regarding claim 12, Tomforde teaches “The body of claim 2, further comprising:
a position regulation hole at the flange part (latching slot comprises receptacles, see col 5, ln 55); and
a position regulation protrusion at the exterior bracket, wherein the position regulation protrusion is configured to be fitted in the position regulation hole for regulation of a position of the exterior bracket overlapping with the flange part (fender is provided with latching protrusions, see col 5, ln 58).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13-15, and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomforde et al. (US 6000748 A).
Regarding claim 13, Tomforde teaches “A vehicle comprising:
a frame (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
an exterior material configured to partially cover the frame (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
a door (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1); and
a bracket assembly including a first bracket portion, a second bracket portion, a third bracket portion (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Sets 1 and 2);
wherein the first bracket portion has a first bottom portion configured to seat on a surface of the frame and the first bottom portion being removably attached to the frame, the first bracket portion having a first upright portion at a first angle relative to the first bottom portion, wherein the first upright portion has a first hinge hole therein, the first bracket portion having a first side portion extending laterally from the first upright portion at a second angle (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 1),
wherein the second bracket portion extending from the exterior material, the second bracket portion and the first side portion of the first bracket portion being configured to mate, such that the exterior material is attached to the frame via the second bracket portion and the first side portion of the first bracket portion (see Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1 and Figure 4, Annotation Set 3),
wherein the third bracket portion has a third bottom portion configured to seat on the surface of the frame and the third bottom portion being removably attached to the frame, the third bracket portion having a third upright portion at a third angle relative to the third bottom portion, wherein the third upright portion has a second hinge hole therein (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2).”
Tomforde does not teach “wherein the fourth bracket portion has a third hinge hole therein, the door being attached to the frame via the fourth bracket portion, wherein a hinge shaft extends through the first hinge hole, the second hinge hole, and the third hinge hole, such that the door is pivotably coupled to the frame, and such that the door is adjacent the exterior material in a closed position.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the door hinge having an integral shaft taught by Tomforde for a hinge having separate shaft and hinge hole as shown in Reference Figure 1 in order to facilitate more efficient replacement and repair of hinge components, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin V. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Reference Figure 1
Regarding claim 14, Tomforde teaches “The vehicle of claim 13, wherein the first side portion of the first bracket portion has guides protruding perpendicular to a mating surface, wherein the guides have a shape matching at least part of an exterior shape of the second bracket portion (Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the door hinge having an integral shaft taught by Tomforde for a hinge having separate shaft and hinge hole as shown in Reference Figure 1 in order to facilitate more efficient replacement and repair of hinge components, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin V. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 15, Tomforde teaches “The vehicle of claim 13, wherein the first side portion of the first bracket portion has a position regulation hole, wherein the second bracket portion has a position regulation protrusion, and wherein the position regulation protrusion fits into the position regulation hole (latching slot comprises receptacles which protrusions on exterior bracket fit into, see col 5, ln 55).”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the door hinge having an integral shaft taught by Tomforde for a hinge having separate shaft and hinge hole as shown in Reference Figure 1 in order to facilitate more efficient replacement and repair of hinge components, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin V. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 17, Tomforde teaches “A vehicle comprising:
a frame (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
an exterior material configured to partially cover the frame (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1);
a door (see abstract and Tomforde, Figure 4, Annotation Set 1); and
a bracket assembly including a first bracket portion, a second bracket portion, a third bracket portion (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Sets 1 and 2),
wherein the first bracket portion has a first bottom portion configured to seat on a surface of the frame and the first bottom portion being removably attached to the frame, the first bracket portion having a first upright portion at a first angle relative to the first bottom portion, wherein the first upright portion has a first hinge hole therein, the first bracket portion having a first side portion extending laterally from the first upright portion at a second angle (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 1),
wherein the second bracket portion extending from the exterior material, the second bracket portion and the first side portion of the first bracket portion being configured to mate, such that the exterior material is attached to the frame via the second bracket portion and the first side portion of the first bracket portion (see Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1 and Figure 4, Annotation Set 3),
wherein the third bracket portion has a third bottom portion configured to seat on the surface of the frame and the third bottom portion being removably attached to the frame, the third bracket portion having a third upright portion at a third angle relative to the third bottom portion, wherein the third upright portion has a second hinge hole therein (see Tomforde, Figure 5, Annotation Set 2), and
wherein the first side portion of the first bracket portion has guides protruding perpendicular to a mating surface, wherein the guides have a shape matching at least part of an exterior shape of the second bracket portion (Tomforde, Figure 3, Annotation Set 1), and
wherein the first side portion of the first bracket portion has a position regulation hole, wherein the second bracket portion has a position regulation protrusion, and wherein the position regulation protrusion fits into the position regulation hole (latching slot comprises receptacles which protrusions on exterior bracket fit into, see col 5, ln 58).”
Tomforde does not teach “wherein the fourth bracket portion has a third hinge hole therein, the door being attached to the frame via the fourth bracket portion, wherein a hinge shaft extends through the first hinge hole, the second hinge hole, and the third hinge hole, such that the door is pivotably coupled to the frame, and such that the door is adjacent the exterior material in a closed position.”
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to substitute the door hinge having an integral shaft taught by Tomforde for a hinge having separate shaft and hinge hole as shown in Reference Figure 1 in order to facilitate more efficient replacement and repair of hinge components, with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin V. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomforde et al. (US 6000748 A), in view of Delavalle et al. (US 6769727 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Tomforde teaches all the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 6 above, except for “wherein each of the second portions is connected to a corresponding one of the first portions while forming a curved shape.”
However, Delavalle teaches “wherein each of the second portions is connected to a corresponding one of the first portions while forming a curved shape (see Delavalle, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, substitute interface between the exterior panel bracket and the guide assembly as taught by Tomforde with the curved interface between the panels as taught by Delavalle, to better conform to the shape of the automobile, contributing to decreased aerodynamic drag and improved fuel efficiency, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Delavalle, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 11 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to “the flange part extends at an inclined angle relative to the first hinge connection part, and wherein the exterior bracket is formed at the exterior material extending at the inclined angle such that the exterior bracket overlaps with the flange part.” Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by prior art of record, rendering claim 11 allowable if rewritten to be independent.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 16 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitations directed to “the second angle is inclined.” Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by prior art of record, rendering claim 16 allowable if rewritten to be independent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited references all disclose vehicle bodies including door hinges that have attachment points:
Bennet (US 20220041113 A1) discloses a vehicle door hinge that comprises additional mounting points for vehicle peripherals such as ladders.
Kallio (US 6695395 B2) discloses a vehicle having a bracket that both mounts an external grill panel and supports a side door hinge.
/JRC/
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612