DETAILED ACTION
Miscellaneous
Claims pending: 1-15
Claims amended: 5
Claims cancelled: n/a
New claims: n/a
Double Patenting
Applicant’s terminal disclaimer with regard to US PAT 11979643, overcomes the double patent issue raised; therefore, the issue is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s remarks dated 11/05/2025, regarding Gossweiler does not disclose anything about calculating a video similarity between each video and a target video, and recommending a video having a video similarity with the target video satisfying a predetermined condition.
Therefore, Gossweiler fails to disclose or suggest at least "the at least two second videos comprise a video of a same video type as the first target video and having a video similarity with the first target video satisfying a first predetermined condition," as now recited in claim 5.
Examiner disagree.
Gossweiler teach the second display interface is an internal stream display interface, and the first display interface is an external stream display interface, and wherein the at least two second videos comprise a video of a same video type as the first target video and having a video similarity with the first target video satisfying a first predetermined condition. (Gossweiler Fig. 1A-1D, P. 20, 46, 49, 55, 59-61, 66-69, 79-80, 83-86 searching using keywords for content results, such as series name (i.e. star trek series type), actor (i.e. Leonard Nimoy), (predetermined condition) displaying the video results with those similarities (Fig. 1C, 1D) in the form of image icon, clickable link(s) (Fig. 1C, 1D), (second display interface is an internal stream display interface, and first display interface is an external stream display interface) and having multiple result for a search displaying the preview information results on a separate portion of the screen, the act of searching for similar series or actor, or other type(s), and displaying the searched results within different portions of the scree, reasonably reads on claimed language(at least two second videos comprise a video of a same video type as the first target video and having a video similarity with the first target video satisfying a first predetermined condition)).
Thus, Gossweiler still further teach amended claim 5.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of dependent claim(s) 6-9, 11-15 have been fully considered and are rejected based on the same reason as claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 10-11, 14-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US PUB 20080270449) to (Gossweiler) in view of (US PUB 20140045484) to (Kim).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Gossweiler teach transmitting a received search
keyword to a server; receiving first video preview information, fed back by the server, of at least two first videos matching the search keyword, and displaying the first video preview information on a first display interface, the at least two first videos comprising at least two types of videos; and receiving at least two second videos and corresponding second video preview information that are fed back by the server based on the video-obtaining request, and displaying a first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information on a second display interface. (Gossweiler Fig. 1A-1D, P. 20, 49, 59-61, 66-67, 79, 83-86 searching using keywords for content results, displaying the video results (Fig. 1D) in the form of image icon (Fig. 1C, 1D), and having multiple result for a search displaying the preview information results on a separate portion of the screen)
Gossweiler further teach a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and
a processor configured to implement the method according to claim 1 when executing the computer program. A computer-readable medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method according to claim 1. (Gossweiler P. 134-137, 142-143, 148)
Gossweiler fails to specifically teach in response to receiving a play-triggering operation
on first target preview information in the first video preview information, transmitting, to the server, a video-obtaining request carrying identification information of a first target video corresponding to the first target preview information.
Kim specifically teach in response to receiving a play-triggering operation
on first target preview information in the first video preview information, transmitting, to the server, a video-obtaining request carrying identification information of a first target video corresponding to the first target preview information. (Kim Fig. 3A-3C, 9, P. 99-100, 112-115, 122, 130-131)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler by in response to receiving a play-triggering operation on first target preview information in the first video preview information, transmitting, to the server, a video-obtaining request carrying identification information of a first target video corresponding to the first target preview information as taught by Kim in order to provide a portable terminal device, which interlocks with an external device to facilitate the processing of a user's selection command.
Regarding claim(s) 10, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach the video recommendation method, the second display interface, subsequent to said displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information in the second region of the second display interface, determining a second predetermined number of pieces of preview information from the second video preview information, the first region and the second region of the second display interface.
Gossweiler teach the second display interface is an internal stream display interface, and the first display interface is an external stream display interface, and wherein the at least two second videos comprise a video of a same video type as the first target video and having a video similarity with the first target video satisfying a first predetermined condition. (Gossweiler Fig. 1A-1D, P. 20, 46, 49, 55, 59-61, 66-69, 79-80, 83-86 searching using keywords for content results, such as series name (i.e. star trek series type), actor (i.e. Leonard Nimoy), (predetermined condition) displaying the video results with those similarities (Fig. 1C, 1D) in the form of image icon, clickable link(s) (Fig. 1C, 1D), (second display interface is an internal stream display interface, and first display interface is an external stream display interface) and having multiple result for a search displaying the preview information results on a separate portion of the screen, the act of searching for similar series or actor, or other type(s), and displaying the searched results within different portions of the scree, reads on (at least two second videos comprise a video of a same video type as the first target video and having a video similarity with the first target video satisfying a first predetermined condition)).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach the video recommendation method, receiving the first video preview information of the at least two first videos matching the search keyword.
Gossweiler further teach receiving first video preview information of at least two first videos ranked based on video popularity and matching the search keyword. (Gossweiler Fig. 1A-1D, P. 20, 46, 49, 55, 59-61, 66-67, 79-80, 83-86 searching using keywords for content results, displaying the video results (Fig. 1D) in the form of image icon (Fig. 1C, 1D), and having multiple result for a search displaying the preview information results on a separate portion of the screen).
Regarding claim(s) 14-15, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach, An electronic device, the video recommendation method, receiving the first video preview information of the at least two first videos matching the search keyword.
Gossweiler further teach a memory having a computer program stored thereon; and
a processor configured to implement the method according to claim 5 when executing the computer program. A non-transitory computer-readable medium, having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the method according to claim 5. (Gossweiler P. 134-137, 142-143, 148)
Claim(s) 6-9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US PUB 20080270449) to (Gossweiler) in view of (US PUB 20140045484) to (Kim) in view of (US PUB 20200084515) to (Chai).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach the video recommendation method, the second display interface, subsequent to said displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information in the second region of the second display interface, determining a second predetermined number of pieces of preview information from the second video preview information, the first region and the second region of the second display interface.
Gossweiler in view of Kim fail to specifically teach in response to receiving an operation of a user on second display interface, playing the second target video in first region of the second display interface, and displaying second predetermined number of pieces of preview information in second region of second display interface.
Chai teach in response to receiving an operation of a user on second display interface, playing the second target video in first region of the second display interface, and displaying second predetermined number of pieces of preview information in second region of second display interface. (Fig. 6-9, 12-13, P. 32-42, 53-56, 61-67)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler in view of Kim by in response to receiving an operation of a user on second display interface, playing the second target video in first region of the second display interface, and displaying second predetermined number of pieces of preview information in second region of second display interface as taught by Chai in order to provide the user with a satisfactory amount of information per cell, and easy for the user to view.
Regarding claim(s) 7, Gossweiler in view of Kim in view of Chai teach the video recommendation method, the second display interface, subsequent to said displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information in the second region of the second display interface, determining a second predetermined number of pieces of preview information from the second video preview information, the first region and the second region of the second display interface.
Chai further teach operation of user on the second display interface is a sliding operation of the user on second display interface. (Fig. 6-9, 12-13, P. 32-42, 53-56, 61-67)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler in view of Kim in view of Chai by operation of user on the second display interface is a sliding operation of the user on second display interface as taught by Chai in order to provide the user with a satisfactory amount of information per cell, and easy for the user to view.
Regarding claim(s) 8, Gossweiler in view of Kim in view of Chai teach the video recommendation method, the second display interface, subsequent to said displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information in the second region of the second display interface, determining a second predetermined number of pieces of preview information from the second video preview information, the first region and the second region of the second display interface.
Gossweiler further teach receiving at least two second videos and corresponding second video preview information that are ranked based on user preference. (Fig. 1A-1D, P. 46, 55, 80, 85, 20, 49, 59-61, 66-67, 79, 83-86)
Regarding claim(s) 9, Gossweiler in view of Kim in view of Chai teach the video recommendation method, the second display interface, subsequent to said displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information in the second region of the second display interface, determining a second predetermined number of pieces of preview information from the second video preview information, the first region and the second region of the second display interface.
Gossweiler further teach re receiving and displaying video preview information of second target video that has not yet been displayed to the user based on ranking result. (Fig. 1A-1D, P. 46, 55, 80, 85, 20, 49, 59-61, 66-67, 79, 83-86)
Gossweiler in view of Kim fail to specifically teach in response to receiving the sliding operation of the user in a length direction of the second display interface, gradually displaying the video preview information of the second target video that has not yet been displayed to the user.
Chai teach in response to receiving the sliding operation of the user in a length direction of the second display interface, gradually displaying the video preview information of the second target video that has not yet been displayed to the user. (Fig. 6-9, 12-13, P. 32-42, 53-56, 61-67)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler in view of Kim in view of Chai by in response to receiving the sliding operation of the user in a length direction of the second display interface, gradually displaying the video preview information of the second target video that has not yet been displayed to the user as taught by Chai in order to provide the user with a satisfactory amount of information per cell, and easy for the user to view.
Claim(s) 12-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US PUB 20080270449) to (Gossweiler) in view of (US PUB 20140045484) to (Kim) in view of (US PUB 20160125079) to (Wiegering)
Regarding claim(s) 12, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach video recommendation method, the at least two second videos.
Gossweiler in view of Kim fail to specifically teach at least one of: top N-ranked first videos based on the video popularity in the at least two first videos; and a video screened from a video database and having a video similarity with the top N- ranked first videos satisfying a second predetermined condition, where N is a positive integer.
Wiegering teach at least one of: top N-ranked first videos based on the video popularity in the at least two first videos; and a video screened from a video database and having a video similarity with the top N- ranked first videos satisfying a second predetermined condition, where N is a positive integer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler in view of Kim by at least one of: top N-ranked first videos based on the video popularity in the at least two first videos; and a video screened from a video database and having a video similarity with the top N- ranked first videos satisfying a second predetermined condition, where N is a positive integer as taught by Wiegering in order to provide a more effective and targeted result list from user search queries.
Regarding claim(s) 13, Gossweiler in view of Kim teach video recommendation method, the at least two second videos, receiving the at least two second videos and the corresponding second video preview information, displaying the first predetermined number of pieces of preview information in the second video preview information on the second display interface.
Gossweiler further teach receiving at least two second videos and corresponding second video preview information that are ranked based on user preference. (Fig. 1A-1D, P. 46, 55, 80, 85, 20, 49, 59-61, 66-67, 79, 83-86)
Gossweiler in view of Kim fail to specifically teach displaying first predetermined number of pieces of preview information, corresponding to first predetermined number of top-ranked videos in at least two second videos.
Wiegering teach displaying first predetermined number of pieces of preview information, corresponding to first predetermined number of top-ranked videos in at least two second videos. (Fig. 8, P. 100-102)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gossweiler in view of Kim by displaying first predetermined number of pieces of preview information, corresponding to first predetermined number of top-ranked videos in at least two second videos as taught by Wiegering in order to provide a more effective and targeted result list from user search queries.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RONG LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421