DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 14, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11/976,822 in view of Terrell (US 20180296031 A1).
Regarding claim 12, patented claim 1 discloses
a firepot (combustion chamber);
an air plenum providing pressurized combustion air to the firepot;
wherein the firepot further comprises:
an inner wall defining an inner chamber where fuel is combusted; and
an outer chamber wall defining an outer chamber containing the inner chamber;
wherein the outer chamber wall is affixed within the plenum and receives
pressurized air from the plenum;
wherein the inner and outer walls are spaced apart such that air may flow freely around the inner chamber within the outer chamber; and
wherein the inner chamber is perforated to receive the combustion air from the outer chamber.
Patented claim 1 does not disclose:
a cooking grill comprising: a cooking chamber having a cooking grate supported therein that is accessible by an openable lid,
wherein the firepit is below the cooking grate, and
a fan that pressurizes the air in the plenum.
Terrell teaches a cooking grill comprising: a cooking chamber having a cooking grate (Fig. 2, 30) supported therein that is accessible by an openable lid (Fig. 2, 22),
a firepot (Fig. 7, 58) below the cooking grate, and
a fan (Fig. 5, 72) that pressurizes the air in a plenum (Fig. 9, 48).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify patented claim 1 to include a cooking grill comprising: a cooking chamber having a cooking grate supported therein that is accessible by an openable lid,
wherein the firepit is below the cooking grate, and a fan that pressurizes the air in the plenum. The motivation to combine is so that the combustion chamber of patented claim 1 can be integrated into a grill to perform the useful function of providing heat to cook/smoke food.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is obvious over patented claim 6 since they are substantially the same.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is obvious over patented claim 8 since they are substantially the same.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a fuel feed mechanism for delivering fuel into a top of the inner chamber, in claim 15.
The specification shows the fuel feed mechanism to be an auger, belt conveyor, stick/slip conveyor, or push feeder (para. 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terrell (US 20180296031 A1) in view of Kim (US 20180146824 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Terrell discloses a cooking grill comprising:
a cooking chamber having a cooking grate (Fig. 7, 30) supported therein that is accessible by an openable lid (Fig. 6, 22);
a firepot (Fig. 6, 58) within the cooking chamber below the cooking grate;
an air plenum (Fig. 9, 48) providing pressurized combustion air to the firepot; and
a fan (72) that pressurizes the air in the plenum (para. 28);
wherein the firepot further comprises:
an inner wall (Fig. 7: wall with openings 59) defining an inner chamber where fuel is combusted; and
wherein the inner chamber is perforated (Fig. 7, 59) to receive combustion air.
Terrell fails to disclose:
an outer chamber wall defining an outer chamber containing the inner chamber;
wherein the outer chamber wall is affixed within the plenum and receives pressurized air from the plenum; and
wherein the inner and outer walls are spaced apart such that air may flow freely around the inner chamber within the outer chamber.
Kim teaches a pellet fuel heater, comprising:
an outer chamber wall (Fig. 1, 52) defining an outer chamber containing the inner chamber (Fig. 1: chamber containing the fuel and receiving combustion air through the openings);
wherein the outer chamber wall is affixed within the plenum (Fig. 1: space 34 containing the outer and inner chamber walls) and receives pressurized air from the plenum; and
wherein the inner and outer walls are spaced apart such that air may flow freely around the inner chamber within the outer chamber (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Terrell to include an outer chamber wall defining an outer chamber containing the inner chamber; wherein the outer chamber wall is affixed within the plenum and receives pressurized air from the plenum; and wherein the inner and outer walls are spaced apart such that air may flow freely around the inner chamber within the outer chamber. The motivation to combine is so that there is a protective shell surrounding the firepot 58 of Terrell. Terrell discloses a firepot with sharp edges along the top and sharp edges surrounding the air openings 59. The protective shell would permit safe handling of the firepot without fear of injury. A further motivation is that having an outer chamber would help equalize the pressure surrounding the inner chamber, thereby resulting in uniform air distribution in the inner chamber.
Regarding claim 13, Terrell discloses the cooking grill of claim 12, further comprising a perforated floor (Fig. 14A, 62) below the inner chamber.
Regarding claim 14, Terrell discloses the cooking grill of claim 13, further comprising an ash compartment (Fig. 14A, 66) below the perforated floor.
Claim(s) 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terrell (US 20180296031 A1) in view of Kim (US 20180146824 A1), as applied to claim 12, and further in view of Johnson (US 20160341423 A1).
Regarding claims 15, 16, Terrell discloses the cooking grill of claim 14, further comprising a fuel feeding mechanism (Fig. 14A, 50) traversing through the plenum and passing through the outer chamber wall (Terrell in view of Kim discloses an outer chamber wall surrounding the inner chamber wall) EXCEPT where the fuel is delivered into a top of the inner chamber (as recited in claim 15), and a funnel on the inner chamber wall directing solid fuel into the inner chamber from the fuel feeding mechanism (as recited in claim 16).
However, Johnson teaches a pellet stove, comprising a fuel feed mechanism (Fig. 1, 14) where fuel is delivered into a top of the inner chamber (Fig. 1, 22), and a funnel (Fig. 1, 20) on the inner chamber wall directing solid fuel into the inner chamber from the fuel feeding mechanism.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Terrell where the fuel is delivered into a top of the inner chamber, and to include a funnel on the inner chamber wall directing solid fuel into the inner chamber from the fuel feeding mechanism. The motivation to feed fuel into the top of the inner chamber is so that more fuel can fill the inner chamber, and to prevent backup of the fuel exiting the auger. Furthermore, having a funnel would assist in the uniform distribution of the fuel in the inner chamber, resulting in uniform combustion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762