DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's response filed on 07/29/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 6, 10, 12, 14, and 17 are amended.
No claims are canceled nor added.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant has argued that, “Beckman and Rudolf both fail to disclose or suggest this recitation “associating the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions based on at least what symbol type in which the second DCI is received.”” (See Remarks on page 4).
In response to the Applicant's arguments, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Rudolf teaches multi-DCI operation mode (see ¶ [0133]) and an SBFD configuration and/or parameters associated with SBFD configuration based on sbfd-config may be provided by higher layer, e.g., RRC, or may be indicated based on DCI and the UE may determine an SBFD configuration for a symbol or a slot or a set of symbols or a set of slots using higher layer parameters provided for an SBFD configuration and based on reception or transmission conditions such as for a slot or symbol type “D,” “U,” or “F” or a slot or a symbol type “SBFD” or “non-SBFD” (see ¶ [0186]). If the prior art, Rudolf, is capable of performing the same functionalities, then it meets the claim. Thus, the argument(s) is/are not persuasive.
This Office action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKMAN et al. (US 2024/0381115 A1) hereinafter “Beckman” in view of Rudolf et al. (US 2025/0055660 A1, along with Provisional Application No. 63/532,261) hereinafter “Rudolf”.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Beckman discloses Claim 1 of a method for a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0053], a UE), the method comprising: and Claim 10 of a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor and a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0055], a UE includes processor and a set of antennas),
receiving configuration information for subband full duplex (SBFD) communication and a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0102], the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling for a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots);
receiving a TCI activation command indicating an activated set of TCI states of the configured plurality of TCI states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0104], MAC-CE signaling that activates a first TCI state for the SBFD slots and a second TCI state for the non-SBFD slots);
Beckman does not explicitly disclose receiving downlink control information (DCI).
However, Rudolf discloses receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving downlink control information (DCI) as taught by Rudolf, in the system of Beckman, so that it would provide increased gNB scheduling flexibility for SBFD operation when higher-layer or DCI-based signaling to provide or indicate a SBFD configuration to a UE (Rudolf: see ¶ [0254]).
Beckman in combination with Rudolf discloses associating the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions with a network (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the second TCI state may be associated with the non-SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including non-SBFD symbols); and
sending to, or receiving from, the network in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a first signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots);
receiving a second DCI indicating a second TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates);
associating the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the first TCI state may be associated with the SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including SBFD symbols) based on at least what symbol type in which the second DCI is received (Rudolf: see ¶ [0067] [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0171] DL control channels or signals, e.g., PDCCH/DCI for symbol types; see ¶ [0186], an SBFD configuration and/or parameters associated with SBFD configuration based on sbfd-config may be provided by higher layer, e.g., RRC, or may be indicated based on DCI and the UE may determine an SBFD configuration for a symbol or a slot or a set of symbols or a set of slots using higher layer parameters provided for an SBFD configuration and based on reception or transmission conditions such as for a symbol type “SBFD” or “non-SBFD”);
receiving, in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a second signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots); and
receiving, in at least one SBFD symbol, a third signal using the second TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the first TCI configuration to communications on the SBFD slots and the first TRS resource set includes SBFD symbols).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the at least one SBFD symbol comprises a subband-non-overlapping SBFD symbol including one or more SBFD subbands (Rudolf: see ¶ [0118], SBFD operation based on non-overlapping subbands).
Regarding claim 3, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the at least one non-SBFD symbol comprises a time division duplex (TDD) symbol without SBFD subbands (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0122], a TDD serving cell supports a mix of full-duplex and half-duplex).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first, second or third signals comprises any one of a control channel (Beckman: see ¶ [0087], a set of activated TCI states for downlink control channel transmissions which may corresponds to beam that may use for downlink transmission on a physical downlink control channel; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0067] [0071]).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein associating with the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions is based on one or more of: the configuration information for SBFD communication (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein associating with the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions is further based on one or more of: the configuration information for SBFD communication (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots).
Regarding claims 8, 13, and 18, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the configuration information includes a mapping between one or more codepoints of a DCI field and one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (Beckman: see ¶ [0104], the first TCI state and the second TCI state, and possibly more TCI states, for one TCI codepoint; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0226], DCI used for indication of the TCI state wherein a codepoint can map to one or to two TCI states).
Regarding claim 14, Beckman discloses Claim 14 of a method for a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0053], a UE), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information for subband full duplex (SBFD) communication and a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0102], the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling for a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots);
receiving a TCI activation command indicating an activated set of TCI states of the configured plurality of TCI states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0104], MAC-CE signaling that activates a first TCI state for the SBFD slots and a second TCI state for the non-SBFD slots);
Beckman does not explicitly disclose receiving downlink control information (DCI).
However, Rudolf discloses receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving downlink control information (DCI) as taught by Rudolf, in the system of Beckman, so that it would provide increased gNB scheduling flexibility for SBFD operation when higher-layer or DCI-based signaling to provide or indicate a SBFD configuration to a UE (Rudolf: see ¶ [0254]).
Beckman in combination with Rudolf discloses associating the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions with a network (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the second TCI state may be associated with the non-SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including non-SBFD symbols); and
sending to, or receiving from, the network in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a first signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots);
receiving a second DCI indicating a second TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates);
associating the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the first TCI state may be associated with the SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including SBFD symbols) based on at least what symbol type in which the second DCI is received (Rudolf: see ¶ [0067] [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0171] DL control channels or signals, e.g., PDCCH/DCI for symbol types; see ¶ [0186], an SBFD configuration and/or parameters associated with SBFD configuration based on sbfd-config may be provided by higher layer, e.g., RRC, or may be indicated based on DCI and the UE may determine an SBFD configuration for a symbol or a slot or a set of symbols or a set of slots using higher layer parameters provided for an SBFD configuration and based on reception or transmission conditions such as for a symbol type “SBFD” or “non-SBFD”);
sending, in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a second signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots); and
sending, in at least one SBFD symbol, a third signal using the second TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the first TCI configuration to communications on the SBFD slots and the first TRS resource set includes SBFD symbols).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of Rudolf further in view of ABDELGHAFFAR et al. (US 2025/0175313 A1) hereinafter “Abdelghaffar”.
Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots), but does not explicitly disclose a unified TCI state.
However, Abdelghaffar discloses wherein the first TCI state comprises a unified TCI (UTCI) state for transmitting or receiving a signal on either or both of SBFD or non-SBFD symbols (see ¶ [0113-14] [0117], the information may be based on a configuration or indication of a number of TCI states (which may include unified TCI states) in a SBFD resources and in non-SBSD resources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a unified TCI state as taught by Abdelghaffar, in the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf, so that it would provide the UE may increase diversity of communications across SBFD resources and non-SBFD resources by using different transmission parameters (Abdelghaffar: see ¶ [0035]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of Rudolf further in view of BAI et al. (US 2024/0137780 A1) hereinafter “Bai”.
Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first DCI and the second DCI includes the DCI field, but does not explicitly disclose a beam application time (BAT) parameter.
However, Bai discloses wherein each of the one or more TCI states is applicable after a time duration based on a beam application time (BAT) parameter (see ¶ [0105], DCI may indicate a TCI state and the indicated TCI state may applied starting from a first slot that is at least BeamAppTimer symbols after a last symbol of the PUCCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a beam application time (BAT) parameter as taught by Bai, in the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf, so that it would provide a TCI switching time by a beam application time parameter (Bai: see ¶ [0105]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462