CTNF 18/656,102 CTNF 88806 18656102DETAILED ACTION This Office action is a response to an Application No. 18/656,102 filed on 05/06/2024 in which claims 1-18 are pending for examination. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Drawings The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 05/06/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings. Information Disclosure Statement The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 09/30/2025. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BECKMAN et al. (US 2024/0381115 A1) hereinafter “Beckman” in view of Rudolf et al. (US 2025/0055660 A1, along with Provisional Application No. 63/532,261) hereinafter “Rudolf” . Regarding claims 1 and 10, Beckman discloses Claim 1 of a method for a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0053], a UE) , the method comprising: and Claim 10 of a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) comprising: a processor and a transceiver operatively coupled to the processor (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0055], a UE includes processor and a set of antennas) , receiving configuration information for subband full duplex (SBFD) communication and a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0102], the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling for a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots) ; receiving a TCI activation command indicating an activated set of TCI states of the configured plurality of TCI states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0104], MAC-CE signaling that activates a first TCI state for the SBFD slots and a second TCI state for the non-SBFD slots) ; Beckman does not explicitly disclose receiving downlink control information (DCI). However, Rudolf discloses receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates) ; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving downlink control information (DCI) as taught by Rudolf, in the system of Beckman, so that it would provide increased gNB scheduling flexibility for SBFD operation when higher-layer or DCI-based signaling to provide or indicate a SBFD configuration to a UE (Rudolf: see ¶ [0254]) . Beckman in combination with Rudolf discloses associating the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions with a network (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the second TCI state may be associated with the non-SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including non-SBFD symbols) ; and sending to, or receiving from, the network in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a first signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots) ; receiving a second DCI indicating a second TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates) ; associating the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the first TCI state may be associated with the SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including SBFD symbols) ; receiving, in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a second signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots) ; and receiving, in at least one SBFD symbol, a third signal using the second TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the first TCI configuration to communications on the SBFD slots and the first TRS resource set includes SBFD symbols) . Regarding claims 2 and 11, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the at least one SBFD symbol comprises a subband-non-overlapping SBFD symbol including one or more SBFD subbands (Rudolf: see ¶ [0118], SBFD operation based on non-overlapping subbands) . Regarding claim 3, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the at least one non-SBFD symbol comprises a time division duplex (TDD) symbol without SBFD subbands (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0122], a TDD serving cell supports a mix of full-duplex and half-duplex) . Regarding claims 4 and 15, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first, second or third signals comprises any one of a control channel (Beckman: see ¶ [0087], a set of activated TCI states for downlink control channel transmissions which may corresponds to beam that may use for downlink transmission on a physical downlink control channel; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0067] [0071]) . Regarding claims 5 and 16, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein associating with the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions is based on one or more of: the configuration information for SBFD communication (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots) . Regarding claims 6, 12, and 17, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein associating with the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions is based on one or more of: the configuration information for SBFD communication (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots) . Regarding claims 8, 13, and 18, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the configuration information includes a mapping between one or more codepoints of a DCI field and one or more TCI states of the plurality of TCI states (Beckman: see ¶ [0104], the first TCI state and the second TCI state, and possibly more TCI states, for one TCI codepoint; and Rudolf: see ¶ [0226], DCI used for indication of the TCI state wherein a codepoint can map to one or to two TCI states) . Regarding claim 14, Beckman discloses Claim 14 of a method for a wireless transmit unit (WTRU) (see FIG. 1 and 2; see ¶ [0053], a UE) , the method comprising: receiving configuration information for subband full duplex (SBFD) communication and a plurality of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0102], the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive, signaling for a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots and the second TCI configuration for the non-SBFD slots) ; receiving a TCI activation command indicating an activated set of TCI states of the configured plurality of TCI states (see FIG. 7; see ¶ [0104], MAC-CE signaling that activates a first TCI state for the SBFD slots and a second TCI state for the non-SBFD slots) ; Beckman does not explicitly disclose receiving downlink control information (DCI). However, Rudolf discloses receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) indicating a first TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates) ; Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide receiving downlink control information (DCI) as taught by Rudolf, in the system of Beckman, so that it would provide increased gNB scheduling flexibility for SBFD operation when higher-layer or DCI-based signaling to provide or indicate a SBFD configuration to a UE (Rudolf: see ¶ [0254]) . Beckman in combination with Rudolf discloses associating the first TCI state with non-SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions with a network (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the second TCI state may be associated with the non-SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including non-SBFD symbols) ; and sending to, or receiving from, the network in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a first signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots) ; receiving a second DCI indicating a second TCI state of the activated set of TCI states (Rudolf: see ¶ [0133-34], multi-DCI; see ¶ [0247-48], the UE can receive an activation command based on the MAC CE that maps a codepoint of a DCI field “transmission configuration indication” to one or to two TCI sates) ; associating the second TCI state with SBFD symbol transmissions or receptions (Beckman: see ¶ [0104] [0108-09], the first TCI state may be associated with the SBFD slots; the network node may transmit, and the UE may receive resource set indication including SBFD symbols) ; sending, in at least one non-SBFD symbol, a second signal using the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the second TCI configuration to communications on the non-SBFD slots and the SBFD TRS may be transmitted in non-SBFD slots) ; and sending, in at least one SBFD symbol, a third signal using the second TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0108-11], the first TCI configuration to communications on the SBFD slots and the first TRS resource set includes SBFD symbols) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of Rudolf further in view of ABDELGHAFFAR et al. (US 2025/0175313 A1) hereinafter “Abdelghaffar” . Regarding claim 7, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first TCI state (Beckman: see ¶ [0102], a TCI/BM framework may include the first TCI configuration for the SBFD slots) , but does not explicitly disclose a unified TCI state. However, Abdelghaffar discloses wherein the first TCI state comprises a unified TCI (UTCI) state for transmitting or receiving a signal on either or both of SBFD or non-SBFD symbols (see ¶ [0113-14] [0117], the information may be based on a configuration or indication of a number of TCI states (which may include unified TCI states) in a SBFD resources and in non-SBSD resources) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a unified TCI state as taught by Abdelghaffar, in the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf, so that it would provide the UE may increase diversity of communications across SBFD resources and non-SBFD resources by using different transmission parameters (Abdelghaffar: see ¶ [0035]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beckman in view of Rudolf further in view of BAI et al. (US 2024/0137780 A1) hereinafter “Bai” . Regarding claim 9, the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf discloses wherein the first DCI and the second DCI includes the DCI field, but does not explicitly disclose a beam application time (BAT) parameter. However, Bai discloses wherein each of the one or more TCI states is applicable after a time duration based on a beam application time (BAT) parameter (see ¶ [0105], DCI may indicate a TCI state and the indicated TCI state may applied starting from a first slot that is at least BeamAppTimer symbols after a last symbol of the PUCCH) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide a beam application time (BAT) parameter as taught by Bai, in the combined system of Beckman and Rudolf, so that it would provide a TCI switching time by a beam application time parameter (Bai: see ¶ [0105]) . Conclusion A shortened statutory period for reply to this action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of the action. An extension of time may be obtained under 37 CFR 1.136(a). However, in no event, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7241. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached at (571) 272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 2 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 3 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 4 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 5 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 6 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 7 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 8 Art Unit: 2462 Application/Control Number: 18/656,102 Page 9 Art Unit: 2462