Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a distance in the second direction between an axis of the suction pad and the auxiliary portion is larger than a distance in the second direction from the axis of the suction pad to a surface of the first member on a side opposite to a surface of the first member brought into contact with the second member”. The target object comprising of the first and second members is external to the robot hand, and the relationship of the dimension can vary depending on the position and orientation of the target object and the robot hand. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the subject matter cannot be reasonably determined. Claim 1 is interpreted as requiring the robot hand to be configured for utility with the target object having the first and second intersecting members arranged in such a way that, when the suction pad grips the second member the distance from the suction pad axis to the auxiliary portion is greater than the recited distance from the suction pad axis to the specified surface of the first member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820).
Regarding Claim 1, Yoon discloses a robot hand(3), comprising a hand unit configured to grip target object(34, 35), with a control unit configured to control the hand unit, see paragraph 28-29. ,
Yoon further disclose a robot hand(3), configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, comprising of first and second members extending in intersecting directions, or either disclose the relationship of the dimensions between the auxiliary portion, surface of the first member and axis of the suction pad.
Shimodaira et al. discloses a target object comprising of first member first member extending in a first direction and a second member extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction, see Fig 45A, paragraph 249 “For example as illustrated in Fig. 30, a state in which a T-shaped workpiece model WMT is present”. The stem portion constitutes a second member extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction while the transverse portion is the first member extending in a first direction.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize that vacuum griping could be implemented to a T-Shaped workpiece by arranging a vacuum suction section(38) against a member of the target object, see MPEP 2143, Rationale C and D with the predictable result of allowing the T-shaped target object to be manipulated by the robot hand.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize the robot hand comprising of suction gripping arrangement including the auxiliary portion of Yoon (US20170326735) with the T-shaped workpiece as taught by Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)to provide a robot hand and the auxiliary portion in non-contact with the target object in the standing posture but is capable of being in contact with the target object in the lying posture, hence possessing versatility for manipulating different kinds and orientation of workpiece.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820).
As of Claim 2, Yoon in view of Shimodaira et al.. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further disclose a robot hand(3), configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the hand unit is provided to be capable of gripping the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, and the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object in the standing posture but is capable of being in contact with the target object in the lying posture.
Shimodaira et al. discloses wherein, the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, see Fig 45a-45b, Fig 46a-46b.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the robot hand of Yoon (US20170326735) with the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture as taught by Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) to enable change of posture from standing to lying , hence enhancing positioning of the target object(W) in the desired position during the handling process, see MPEP 2143, Rationale A. The predictable result can be a robot that have the ability to grip the target object and change the orientation from standing posture to lying posture.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 3, Yoon in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Shimodaira et al. discloses wherein, the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, see Fig 45a-45b, Fig 46a-46b.
Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object in the standing posture, the axis of the suction pad and a suction surface of the second member are substantially orthogonal to each other, wherein an angle formed by the axis of the suction pad and the first direction in which the first member extends is 10 degrees or less.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can select the second member to be substantially orthogonal to each other and recognize an angle formed by the axis of the suction pad and the first direction in which the first member extends to 10 degrees or less as a design parameter that can be optimized to vary the angle of the first member, see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). The predictable result can be a robot hand capable of positioning the second member to be substantially orthogonal to each other, manipulating and engagement with the first member controllably extending its angular orientation.
See Claim1 for Justification.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 4, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Shimodaira et al. discloses wherein, the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, see Fig 45a-45b, Fig 46a-46b.
Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object in the standing posture, the axis of the suction pad and a suction surface of the second member are substantially orthogonal to each other, wherein an angle formed by the axis of the suction pad and the first direction in which the first member extends is 10 degrees or less.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can select the second member to be substantially orthogonal to each other and recognize an angle formed by the axis of the suction pad and the first direction in which the first member extends to 10 degrees or less as a design parameter that can be optimized to vary the angle of the first member, see MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). The predictable result can be a robot hand capable of positioning the second member to be substantially orthogonal to each other, manipulating and engagement with the first member controllably extending its angular orientation.
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 5, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure, movement restriction portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure, movement restriction portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon in view of Shimodaira et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the auxiliary portion includes a base and a movement restriction portion, the movement restriction portion being formed of a material having a static friction coefficient larger than a static friction coefficient of a material forming the base, and the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object in the standing posture, and the movement restriction portion is capable of being in contact with the target object in the lying posture.
Shimodaira et al. discloses wherein, the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, see Fig 45a-45b, Fig 46a-46b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize the movement restriction portion formed from a known material possessing a larger static friction coefficient than the base, materials with large static friction coefficient are known to resist sliding at a contact surface, hence restricting motion of the target object when in contact with the auxiliary portion, see MPEP 2144.07. The predictable result can be an auxiliary portion, providing increased friction of the target object when the movement restriction portion interacts with the target object when it is in the lying posture.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 6, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure, movement restriction portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon in view of Shimodaira et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the auxiliary portion includes a base and a movement restriction portion, the movement restriction portion being formed of a material having a static friction coefficient larger than a static friction coefficient of a material forming the base, and the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object in the standing posture, and the movement restriction portion is capable of being in contact with the target object in the lying posture.
Shimodaira et al. discloses wherein, the target object in a standing posture and changing a posture of the target object from the standing posture to a lying posture, see Fig 45a-45b, Fig 46a-46b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can recognize the movement restriction portion formed from a known material possessing a larger static friction coefficient than the base, materials with large static friction coefficient are known to resist sliding at a contact surface, hence restricting motion of the target object when in contact with the auxiliary portion, see MPEP 2144.07. The predictable result can be an auxiliary portion, providing increased friction of the target object when the movement restriction portion interacts with the target object when it is in the lying posture.
See Claim 1 for Justification
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 7, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion. see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object includes a third member arranged at a position different from the second member.
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object includes a third member arranged at a position different from the second member, see Fig 8a and 8b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to configure the auxiliary portion in such a way that a third member of the target object is received and contacts the inner surface of the recessed portion when the target object is in the lying posture, this provides restraint and stabilizes the target object, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be a target object restrained and stabilized by the engagement of the third member as it comes in contact with an inner surface of the recess auxiliary portion.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 8, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion. see Figs 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object includes a third member arranged at a position different from the second member.
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object includes a third member arranged at a position different from the second member, see Fig 8a and 8b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to configure the auxiliary portion in such a way that a third member of the target object is received and contacts the inner surface of the recessed portion when the target object is in the lying posture, this provides restraint and stabilizes the target object, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be a target object restrained and stabilized by the engagement of the third member as it comes in contact with an inner surface of the recess auxiliary portion.
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 9, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, slit being formed at the base, see Figs 6, 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure and slit being formed at the base.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object includes a fourth member arranged at a position different from the second member.
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object includes a fourth member arranged at a position different from the second member, see Fig 8a and 8b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to configure the auxiliary portion in such a way that a fourth member of the target object is inserted in the slit when the target object is in the lying posture, this provides restraint and stabilizes the target object, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be a target object restrained and stabilized by the engagement of the fourth member as it comes in contact with the slit of the auxiliary portion.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820)
As of Claim 10, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, slit being formed at the base, see Figs 6, 7a-7c, identifies auxiliary structure and slit being formed at the base.
Yoon does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object includes a fourth member arranged at a position different from the second member.
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object includes a fourth member arranged at a position different from the second member, see Fig 8a and 8b.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to configure the auxiliary portion in such a way that a fourth member of the target object is inserted in the slit when the target object is in the lying posture, this provides restraint and stabilizes the target object, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be a target object restrained and stabilized by the engagement of the fourth member as it comes in contact with the slit of the auxiliary portion.
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) in further view of
Azuma et al. (US20220193929).
As of Claim 11, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 1.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand(3), wherein the auxiliary portion is provided movably with respect to the body portion, paragraph 28-32 identifies a hand unit configured to grip target object with a control unit configured to control the hand unit and the auxiliary portion,
Azuma et al. discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising an auxiliary portion(62, 64) provided movably with respect to the body portion(21, 40), where the auxiliary portion(62, 64) are movable relative to the base part(21) by the operation servomotor(61), see Figs 3-4 and 9-13, paragraph 64 “The second holding mechanism 60 includes the first member 62 and the second member 64 which face each other across the first holding mechanism 40 in the width direction and which are movable relative to the base part 21 by being driven by the servomotor 61 (actuator or second servomotor)”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to provide the auxiliary portion of the robot hand movably with respect to the body portion, to allow adjustment of the auxiliary portion relative to the target object , thereby supporting and engagement of the target object in the process of handling, MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be an auxiliary portion positioned to be adjustable relative to the body portion to enhance engagement of the target object.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) in further view of
Azuma et al. (US20220193929).
As of Claim 12, Yoon, in view of Shimodaira et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 2.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand(3), wherein the auxiliary portion is provided movably with respect to the body portion, paragraph 28-32 identifies a hand unit configured to grip target object with a control unit configured to control the hand unit and the auxiliary portion,
Azuma et al discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising an auxiliary portion(62, 64) provided movably with respect to the body portion(21, 40), where the auxiliary portion(62, 64) are movable relative to the base part(21) by the operation servomotor(61), see Figs 3-4 and 9-13, paragraph 64 “The second holding mechanism 60 includes the first member 62 and the second member 64 which face each other across the first holding mechanism 40 in the width direction and which are movable relative to the base part 21 by being driven by the servomotor 61 (actuator or second servomotor)”.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to provide the auxiliary portion of the robot hand movably with respect to the body portion, to allow adjustment of the auxiliary portion relative to the target object during orientation between the lying and standing postures, hence enhancing engagement of the target object in their different postures, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be an auxiliary portion positioned to be adjustable relative to the body portion to enhance engagement of the target object in their respective postures.
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) in further view of Azuma et al. (US20220193929).
As of Claim 13, Yoon, in view of Azuma et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 11.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion. see Figs 7a-7c, paragraph 28-32, identifies auxiliary structure that is capable of retreating to a non-contact position where the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Azuma et al. further discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising an auxiliary portion(62, 64) provided movably with respect to the body portion(21, 40), where the auxiliary portion(62, 64) are movable relative to the base part(21) by the operation servomotor(61), see Figs 3-4 and 9-13, paragraph 64 “The second holding mechanism 60 includes the first member 62 and the second member 64 which face each other across the first holding mechanism 40 in the width direction and which are movable relative to the base part 21 by being driven by the servomotor 61 (actuator or second servomotor)”, including motion away and towards the target object(W), hence allowing the auxiliary portion(62, 64) to be moved from supporting to a position of separation from the target object. Azuma et al. also discloses robot control device(16) that controls operation of the servomotor(61) and holding device(20A), see paragraphs 42-43.
Yoon in view of Azuma et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object is in the standing posture, when the target object reaches a predetermined position where the target object is temporarily stored (palletized) and is stored at the predetermined position,
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object arranged in the standing position, see Fig 8a, 8b, 45-49.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to control the auxiliary portion(62, 64) to retract to its non-contact position when such contact is not required, including when the target object has been stored(palletized) at its predetermined position, to provide adequate clearance between the target object and the auxiliary portion , hence preventing the engagement of the target object with the auxiliary portion, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be removing the auxiliary portion after it is no longer needed, thereby providing clearance between the target object and the auxiliary portion, hence releasing the target object for temporary storage at its predetermined position.
See Claim 1 for Justification.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) in further view of Azuma et al. (US20220193929).
As of Claim 14, Yoon, in view of Azuma et al. discloses a robot hand with all the limitations of Claim 12.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion, see Figs 7a-7c, paragraph 28-32, identifies auxiliary structure that is capable of retreating to a non-contact position where the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Azuma et al. further discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising an auxiliary portion(62, 64) provided movably with respect to the body portion(21, 40), where the auxiliary portion(62, 64) are movable relative to the base part(21) by the operation servomotor(61), see Figs 3-4 and 9-13, paragraph 64 “The second holding mechanism 60 includes the first member 62 and the second member 64 which face each other across the first holding mechanism 40 in the width direction and which are movable relative to the base part 21 by being driven by the servomotor 61 (actuator or second servomotor)”, including motion away and towards the target object(W), hence allowing the auxiliary portion(62, 64) to be moved from supporting to a position of separation from the target object. Azuma et al. also discloses robot control device(16) that controls operation of the servomotor(61) and holding device(20A), see paragraphs 42-43.
Yoon in view of Azuma et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, wherein the target object is in the standing posture, when the target object reaches a predetermined position where the target object is temporarily stored (palletized) and is stored at the predetermined position,
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object arranged in the standing position, see Fig 8a, 8b, 45-49.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to control the auxiliary portion(62, 64) to retract to its non-contact position when such contact is not required, including when the target object has been stored(palletized) at its predetermined position, to provide adequate clearance between the target object and the auxiliary portion , hence preventing the engagement of the target object with the auxiliary portion, see MPEP 2143 Rationale A. The predictable result can be removing the auxiliary portion after it is no longer needed, thereby providing clearance between the target object and the auxiliary portion, hence releasing the target object for temporary storage at its predetermined position.
See Claim 2 for Justification.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (US20170326735) in view of Shimodaira et al.(US20180250820) in further view of Azuma et al. (US20220193929).
Regarding Claim 15, Yoon discloses a robot hand(3), comprising a hand unit configured to grip target object with a control unit configured to control the hand unit, see paragraph 28-29.
Yoon further discloses a robot hand, configured to grip a target object, comprising of vacuum suction section(38) with suction frames(39), enabled to suck the target object and auxiliary portion, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion, see Figs 7a-7c, paragraph 28-32, identifies auxiliary structure that is capable of retreating to a non-contact position where the auxiliary portion is in non-contact with the target object, movement restriction portion, recess portion and a base, positioned oppositely relative to the body portion.
Azuma et al. further discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising an auxiliary portion(62, 64) provided movably with respect to the body portion(21, 40), where the auxiliary portion(62, 64) are movable relative to the base part(21) by the operation servomotor(61), see Figs 3-4 and 9-13, paragraph 64 “The second holding mechanism 60 includes the first member 62 and the second member 64 which face each other across the first holding mechanism 40 in the width direction and which are movable relative to the base part 21 by being driven by the servomotor 61 (actuator or second servomotor)”, including motion away and towards the target object(W), hence allowing the auxiliary portion(62, 64) to be moved from supporting to a position of separation from the target object. Azuma et al. also discloses robot control device(16) that controls operation of the servomotor(61) and holding device(20A), see paragraphs 42-43.
Azuma et al. discloses a robot and holding device(20A) comprising of the first holding mechanism(40) including suction pads(48a to 48h) for holding the target object(W) and a second holding mechanism(60) comprising of the first(62) and second members(64) for holding the target object, see Figs 10, 11a, 11b, 12a and 12b, show the auxiliary holding member(62, 64) is arranged outwardly beyond a surface of the target object(W) relative to the holding mechanism(40), in a way that a distance in the second direction between an axis of the suction pad and the auxiliary portion is larger than a distance in the second direction from the axis of the suction pad(48a to 48h) to a surface of the first member(62) on a side opposite to a surface of the first member(62) brought into contact with the second member(64), see paragraph 45, 54, 56, 92-92.
Yoon in view of Azuma et al. does not explicitly disclose a robot hand, comprising of target object.
Shimodaira et al. discloses, wherein the target object arranged in the standing position, see Fig 8a, 8b, 45-49.
However, Yoon in view of Shimodaira et al. in further view of Azuma et al does not explicitly disclose, a distance in a second direction between an axis of the suction pad and the auxiliary portion is larger than a distance, in a direction in which the body portion and the auxiliary portion are opposed to each other, from the axis of the suction pad to an end of the surface in the surface of the target object.
A person of ordinary skill in the art can be motivated to select the spacing between the auxiliary portion and the suction griping pad from the dimensions of the target object in a way that the auxiliary portion is arranged beyond the end of the suction pad, obtaining the dimensions and spacing of the suction griping pad to allow for the size of the target object, is an obvious design choice and optimization, see MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). The predictable result provides clearance for the target object and allows the auxiliary portion to interact with the target object.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention will be motivated to utilize the robot hand comprising of suction gripping arrangement and auxiliary portion of Yoon (US20170326735) and Azuma et al. (US20220193929) with the dimensions and spacing of the suction griping pad to allow for the size of the target object as taught by Azuma et al. (US20220193929)
to permit effective suction gripping and release of the target object, hence enhancing the gripping function and efficiency of the robot hand when in contact and not in contact with the target object.
Conclusion
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654