DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) and in view of Kim (KR 20210126361 A) herein after referred as Kim’361 and further in view of Kim (KR 20200130982 A) herein after referred to as Kim’982 and Kim (US 2018/0117985 A1) herein after referred to as Kim’985.
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses a heat pump system for a vehicle (see abstract and figs. 1-8), comprising: a compressor (19) configured to compress a refrigerant (see paragraph 77); a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning (HVAC) module (see fig. 6) including an internal condenser (condenser 12a) and an evaporator (evaporator 16); a heat-exchanger (heat exchangers 13, 14) connected to the compressor via a refrigerant line (via refrigerant line 11); a first expansion valve (expansion valve 15) provided on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger and the evaporator (valve 15 between HX 14 and evaporator 16, fig. 6); a gas injection device (gas injection device 30, fig. 6) connected to the internal condenser or the heat-exchanger (see fig. 6), and configured to selectively expand and flow the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser, or the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (see fig. 6 and paragraph 98), to selectively supply a partial refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor (supplying refrigerant to the compressor 19 via pipe 32, see fig. 6); and increase a flow amount of the refrigerant circulating the refrigerant line (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 16-17);
a first valve (valve 26) provided on the refrigerant line between the compressor (19) and the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14, see figs. 1-6);
a first connection line (line 11 after valve 26) having a first end connected to the first valve and a second end connected to the internal condenser (first connection line 11 between valve 26 and condenser 12a, see figs. 3-6); and
a second connection line (line 11 after condenser 12a) having a first end connected to the internal condenser (refrigerant line 11 connected to outlet of condenser 12a, see figs. 3-6) and a second end connected to the gas injection device (line 11 between condenser 12a and expansion valve 35 that connects with gas injection device 30, see figs. 3-6), wherein flow of the refrigerant is controlled depending on at least one mode for a temperature adjustment of a vehicle interior (maintaining internal temperature of the vehicle by the compressor controlling refrigerant flow, see paragraphs 4-5, 65 and 163); wherein, the gas injection device includes:
a gas-liquid separator (separator 31) configured to separate and selectively discharge a gaseous refrigerant (via gas supply line 32, see fig. 6 and paragraph 101) and a liquid refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant (see liquid refrigerant supplied via 51 and 11, figs. 3-6 and paragraph 100); a 3-way connection (see below annotated fig. 3) connected to the second end of the second connection line (see figs. 3-6);
a first line (refrigerant line connecting separator 31, see below annotated fig. 3) having a first end connected to the second connection line between the internal condenser and an additional separating line (line 29; see refrigerant line from 3-way connection to separator 31 via valve 34, figs. 3-6) and a second end connected to the gas-liquid separator (refrigerant line connected between valve 34 and separator 31, see figs. 3-6);
a third expansion valve (expansion valve 34) provided on the first line (see valve 34 between 3-way connection and separator 31, figs. 3-6);
a second line (refrigerant line between valve 35 and separator 31, figs. 3-6) having a first end connected to an additional expansion valve (refrigerant line connected to expansion valve 35, figs. 3-6) and a second end connected to the gas-liquid separator (end of second refrigerant line from valve 35, connected to separator 31, see figs. 3-6); and
a supply line (refrigerant line 32) having a first end connected to the gas-liquid separator (see line 32 connected to separator 31 via valve 33, figs. 3-6) and a second end connected to the compressor (see line 32 connected to compressor 19, figs. 3-6);
a second valve (valve 28, see figs. 3-8) provided on the refrigerant line between the heat-exchanger (14) and the first expansion valve (15);
a third connection line (line 29, see figs. 3-8) having a first end connected to the second valve (28) and a second end connected to the second connection line (see line 29 connecting valve 28 and second connection line 11, figs. 3-8); and
a fourth connection line (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15, see figs. 3-8) having a first end connected to the second valve (28) and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the compressor and the evaporator (line 11 between valve 28 and line 21, see figs. 3-8);
a fifth connection line (51) having a first end connected to the second line between the gas-liquid separator (31) and the expansion valve (35) and a second end connected to the refrigerant line before the first expansion valve and the evaporator (refrigerant line 51 connected to refrigerant line 11 between valve 28 and first expansion valve 15, see figs. 3-8); and a fourth valve (valve 53) provided on the fifth connection line (valve 53 on line 51, see figs. 3-8).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the gas injection device includes a second expansion valve connected to the second connection line; wherein the second expansion valve is placed in such a way with respect to the first ends of the first line and second line that the second expansion valve is a 3-way valve that bypasses the separator to supply refrigerant to the heat exchanger.
Kim’361 discloses a gas injection device (vapor injection module 130, see figs. 1-9), wherein, the gas injection device includes: a gas-liquid separator (separator 133) configured to separate and selectively discharge a gaseous refrigerant (via gas supply line 133a, see figs. 1-9) and a liquid refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant (via liquid refrigerant supply line 133d, figs. 1-9);
a second expansion valve (expansion valve 131) connected to the second end of a second connection line between the condenser and the separator (valve 131 connected to refrigerant line at the outlet of condenser 120 and line 131b, see figs. 1-9);
a first line (refrigerant line 131b, 171, 136a) having a first end connected to the second connection line (refrigerant line at the outlet of condenser 120) between the internal condenser (120) and the second expansion valve (expansion valve 131) and a second end connected to the gas-liquid separator (refrigerant line 131b connected separator 133 via 171, see figs. 1-9);
a third expansion valve (expansion valve 136) provided on the first line (see 136 on line 136a, figs. 1-9);
a second line (refrigerant line 131a, figs. 1-9) having a first end connected to the second expansion valve (refrigerant line 131a connected to second expansion valve 131, figs. 1-9) and a second end connected to the gas-liquid separator (via line 133c and 172, see figs. 1-9); and
a supply line (refrigerant line 133a) having a first end connected to the gas-liquid separator (see 133a connected to separator 133, figs. 1-9) and a second end connected to the compressor (see line 133a connected to compressor 110, figs. 1-9); wherein the second line (131a) originating from the second expansion valve (from expansion valve 131) bypasses the separator (133) and supplies refrigerant to the heat exchanger (140, see figs. 1-9). In addition, Kim’361 teaches fifth lines (133d, 136a) with respective fourth expansion valves (expansion valves 151, 161 and 136, see figs. 1-9), wherein the fifth line connects between the second expansion valve (131) and separator (133) at first end (at points 171 or 172, see figs. 1-9), and the fifth line bypass the heat exchanger (140) and supplies evaporators (150, 160, see figs. 1-9).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second connection line, gas injection device and the heat pump system of Kim by providing a second expansion valve connected to the second end of a second connection line between the condenser and the separator; first end connection of the first line at the second connection line between the condenser and the second expansion valve; a third expansion valve on the first line; a second line with first end connected to the second expansion valve and second end connected to the separator; wherein the second line originating from the second expansion valve bypasses the separator and supplies refrigerant to the heat exchanger as taught by Kim’361 to the second connection line of the heat pump to bypass the separator of Kim in order to transfer at least part of the liquid refrigerant, to be cooled, expanded, and heated further before reintroducing the liquid refrigerant into the compressor to protect the compressor from receiving liquid refrigerant, which would significantly lower the efficiency of the compressor and the heat pump.
Kim also does not explicitly teach that the fourth valve is an expansion valve and the fourth expansion valve is parallel to the second expansion valve.
However, Kim’982 discloses a fifth connection line (refrigerant line containing fourth expansion valve 430 with 3-way connection 510, see fig. 1) having a first end connected to the second line between the gas-liquid separator (500) and the second expansion valve (second expansion valve 420) and a second end connected to the refrigerant line at the inlet of the evaporator (refrigerant line connecting 3-way connection 510 to evaporator 600, see figs. 1, 2, 4 and 6); and a fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 430) provided on the fifth connection line (see figs. 1, 2, 4 and 6); wherein the fourth expansion valve (fourth expansion valve 430) is coupled in series or parallel with the second expansion valve of the gas injection device (valve 430 in parallel with valve 420 on path L2, see figs. 1-5 and 6), and configured to selectively perform divided expansion of the refrigerant (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 76, 22-28, 45-48 and 57-58, where refrigerant is passed through second expansion valve 420 and fourth expansion valve 430 for expansion) during at least one mode for a temperature adjustment of a vehicle interior (supplying dehumidified and heated air to the interior of the vehicle, see paragraphs 78 and 74-76).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fifth connection line of the heat pump system of Kim by providing a fourth expansion valve on the fifth connection line, wherein the first end of the fifth connection line connects the second line between the gas-liquid separator and the second expansion valve and a second end connected to the refrigerant line at the inlet of the evaporator and wherein the fourth expansion valve is coupled in parallel with the second expansion valve of the gas injection device, and configured to selectively perform divided expansion of the refrigerant during at least one mode for a temperature adjustment of a vehicle interior based on the teachings of Kim’982 in order to reintroduce part of the remaining liquid refrigerant from the separator to the evaporator directly via the fourth expansion valve to supply sufficient quantity of gaseous refrigerant to the compressor.
Kim also does not explicitly teach refrigerant line connecting between the first expansion valve and the evaporator.
However, Kim’985 discloses a fifth connection line (refrigerant line 41) with a valve (valve V3) on the fifth connection line (see fig. 6), wherein at least part of the liquid refrigerant from the condenser (23) is introduced to the refrigerant line between the first expansion valve (expansion valve 37) and the evaporator (evaporator 27, see fig. 6) by connecting second end of the fifth connection line to the refrigerant line (see fig. 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fifth connection line of the heat pump system of Kim as modified by providing a fifth connection line that connects the second end of the fifth connection line to the refrigerant line between the first expansion valve and the evaporator based on the teachings of Kim’985 in order to reintroduce part of the remaining liquid refrigerant from the separator to the evaporator directly via the fourth expansion valve to initiate/assist vehicle heating and dehumidifying mode (see paragraphs 118-119, Kim’985).
In regards to claim 4, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the gas-liquid separator (31) is operated when the third expansion valve expands and supplies the refrigerant (by opening third expansion valve 34 at the inlet of the separator 31, see figs. 3-8), in a state of cooling or heating the vehicle interior (see at least heating of interior, fig. 4 and paragraph 185-187), and supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor via the supply line (via line 32 to compressor 19), to increase the flow amount of the refrigerant circulating the refrigerant line (see fig. 6 and paragraphs 16-17).
In regards to claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the gas injection device further comprises a third line (refrigerant line between valve 35 and line 27, see figs. 3-8) having a first end connected to the expansion valve (expansion valve 35) and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the first valve and the heat-exchanger (refrigerant line from expansion valve 35 connected to refrigerant line 27 at 3-way junction between heat exchanger 14 and first valve 26, see figs. 3-8).
However, Kim does not explicitly teach that the third line connects refrigerant supply from second expansion valve to the refrigerant line between the first valve and the heat exchanger.
Kim’982 discloses a heat pump (see figs. 1-6) with a third line (refrigerant line L2 with valve 420, see figs. 1-2) having a first end connected to the expansion valve (expansion valve 420) and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the first valve (first valve 210) and the heat-exchanger (refrigerant line from expansion valve 420 to 3-way connector 220 between the first valve 210 and heat exchanger 300, see figs. 1, 2, 4 and 6).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gas injection device and the heat pump system of Kim by providing a third line having a first end connected to the expansion valve and a second end connected to the refrigerant line between the first valve and the heat-exchanger based on the teachings of Kim’982 in order to reintroduce the remaining liquid refrigerant into the refrigerant circuit for further processing after partial separation of gaseous refrigerant.
In regards to claim 7, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the at least one mode comprises:
a first mode for cooling the vehicle interior, in which the gas-liquid separator is operated (see cooling mode, fig. 4 and paragraph 49, where the operating gas injection device includes operating gas separator 31);
a second mode for heating the vehicle interior, in which the gas-liquid separator is operated (see heating mode, fig. 6 and paragraph 51, where the operating gas injection device includes operating gas separator 31);
a third mode for heating and dehumidifying the vehicle interior, in which the gas-liquid separator is operated (see heating and dehumidifying modes, figs. 6 and 8, and paragraphs 51, 58, where the operating gas injection device includes operating gas separator 31);
a fourth mode for cooling the vehicle interior, in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated (see cooling mode, fig. 3 and paragraph 48, where the non-operating gas injection device includes non-operating gas separator 31); and
a fifth mode for heating the vehicle interior, in which the gas-liquid separator is not operated (see heating mode, fig. 5 and paragraph 50, where the non-operating gas injection device includes non-operating gas separator 31).
In regards to claim 8, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in the first mode:
an operation of the first expansion valve (15) is stopped (first expansion valve 15 is capable of being closed in the first mode, see fig. 5);
the first connection line is closed by an operation of the first valve (first connection line 11 is capable of being closed by first valve 26, see fig. 4);
a partial second connection line connected to the internal condenser is closed (see a partial second connection line 11 is capable of being closed by first valve 26, fig. 4);
a partial second connection line (refrigerant line 11 at the outlet of the condenser, see fig. 4) connected to the second end of the third connection line (29) and connected to the first line is opened (see a partial second connection line 11 at the outlet of the condenser open into 3-way connection before valve 34, fig. 4; Also see line 11 before 3-way connection before valve 34, fig. 3);
the third connection line (29) is opened by an operation of the second valve (third connection line 29 opened by valve 28, see fig. 4);
the fourth connection line is closed by the operation of the second valve (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is closed by operation of valve 28, see fig. 4);
the fifth connection line is opened by an operation of the fourth valve (line 51 opened by operation of valve 53, see fig. 4); the refrigerant line connecting the second valve and the first expansion valve is closed (line 11 between valve 28 and line 21 and valve 15 is closed, see fig. 4);
an operation of the expansion valve is stopped (valve 35 closed, see fig. 4);
the first line is opened by an operation of the third expansion valve (operating third expansion valve 34 to open the refrigerant line supplying refrigerant to the separator 31 via 3-way connection before valve 34, see figs. 4, 3);
a partial second line (line connecting separator 31 to line 51) connecting the gas-liquid separator (31) and a first end of the fifth connection line (51) is opened (see line 51 from separator opened, fig. 4);
a third line (line carrying valve 35) is closed by the operation of the expansion valve (line carrying valve 35 closed, see fig. 4); the supply line is opened (32 open, see fig. 4); and
the gas-liquid separator supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor via the opened the supply line (32 open, see fig. 4), and discharges the liquid refrigerant to the fifth connection line connected to the second line (opened fifth connection line 51 from separator 31 carrying liquid refrigerant, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’361 discloses closing of second expansion valve (see closed valve 131, figs. 6-7), wherein the third line providing refrigerant to the heat exchanger (140) is closed by operation of the second expansion valve (by closing of second expansion valve 131, see figs. 6-7) in first mode (see figs. 6-7).
In regards to claim 9, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 8 and further discloses that the third expansion valve (34) is configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (heat exchangers 13, 14) via the third connection line (refrigerant line 51), the partial second connection line (refrigerant line after condenser), and the first line (refrigerant line with valve 34, see figs. 2-8), and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (supplying refrigerant through lines 11 to separator 31, see figs. 3-8). In addition, Kim’361 teaches fourth expansion valves (expansion valves 151, 161 and 136, see figs. 1-9) configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator (133) via the partial second line and the fifth connection line (133d, 136a) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (evaporators 150, 160). Also, Kim’982 discloses fourth expansion valve (fourth expansion valve 430, see fig. 1) configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator (500) via the partial second line and the fifth connection line (refrigerant at 510) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (evaporator 600, fig. 1).
In regards to claim 10, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in the second mode:
an operation of the first expansion valve (15) is stopped (see closed expansion valve 15, fig. 6);
the refrigerant line connecting the first valve (26) and a second end of a third line is closed by an operation of the first valve (line 27 closed by closing valve 26, see fig. 6);
the first connection line is opened by the operation of the first valve (first connection line 11 is opened by first valve 26, see fig. 6);
the second connection line (line 11 after condenser 12a) is opened (see fig. 6);
the third connection line (29) is closed by an operation of the second valve (third connection line 29 closed by valve 28, see fig. 6);
the fourth connection line is opened by the operation of the second valve (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is opened by operation of valve 28, see figs. 3 and 7);
the fifth connection line is closed by an operation of the fourth valve (line 51 is closed by operation of valve 53, see fig. 6 and paragraph 253);
the refrigerant line connecting the second valve and the second end of the fourth connection line is closed (line 11 between valve 28 and line 21 is closed, see fig. 6);
the first line is opened by an operation of the third expansion valve (operating third expansion valve 34 to open the refrigerant line supplying refrigerant to the separator 31 via 3-way connection before valve 34, see figs. 4, 3);
the second line (line connecting separator 31 to line 51) is opened (see line 51 from separator opened, fig. 6) by an operation of the expansion valve (expansion valve 35, see fig. 6);
the second connection line (line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a, fig. 6) is not connected to the second line by the operation of the expansion valve (see line 51 not connected to second connection line 11 by operation of the expansion valve 35, fig. 6);
the supply line is opened (32 open, see fig. 6);
the third line (line carrying valve 35) is opened by the operation of the expansion valve (line carrying valve 35 is open, see fig. 6); and
the gas-liquid separator supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor via the opened the supply line (32 open, see fig. 4), and discharges the liquid refrigerant to the expansion valve (35) via the second line (opened refrigerant line towards HX 13 by operation of valve 35, see fig. 6). In addition, Kim’361 discloses opening of second expansion valve (see opened second expansion valve 131, figs. 2-5, 7-9), wherein the third line providing refrigerant to the heat exchanger (140) is opened by operation of second expansion valve in the second mode (by opening of second expansion valve 131, see figs. 2-5 and 7-9).
In regards to claim 11, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 10 and further discloses that the expansion valve (35) is configured to expand the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator (31) via the second line (line 11 containing valve 35, see fig. 6) and discharge the expanded refrigerant to the third line (line beyond valve 35 and at 3-way connection of line 27, see figs. 3, 6 and 7);
third expansion valve (34) is configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser (12a) via the second connection line (line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a, fig. 6) and the first line (refrigerant line with valve 34, see figs. 2-8) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (supplying refrigerant through lines 11 to separator 31, see figs. 3-8) and the operation of the fourth valve is stopped (line 51 is closed by operation of valve 53, see fig. 6 and paragraph 253). In addition, Kim’361 teaches the second expansion valve (135, 131) is configured to expand the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator (133) via the second line (via 172, see fig. 7). Also Kim’982 discloses third expansion valve (third expansion valve 410, see fig. 1) configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the condenser (200) via the second connection line (see fig. 1) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (to separator 500, fig. 1), the second expansion valve (420) configured to expand the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator (500) via the second line (line L2, see fig. 2) and discharge the expanded refrigerant to a third line (line with 3-way connection 220, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 12, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in the third mode:
an operation of the first expansion valve (15) is stopped (first expansion valve 15 is capable of being closed in the first mode, see fig. 5);
the refrigerant line connecting the first valve (26) and a second end of a third line (27) is closed by an operation of the first valve (first valve 26 closes third line 27, see figs. 6 and 8);
the first connection line (11) is opened by the operation of the first valve (first connection line 11 is opened by operation of first valve 26, see figs. 6 and 8);
the second connection line is opened (see line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a as opened, figs. 6 and 8);
the third connection line (29) is closed by an operation of the second valve (third connection line 29 is closed by valve 28, see figs. 8 and 6);
the fourth connection line is opened by the operation of the second valve (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is opened by closing operation of valve 28 to supply refrigerant to the evaporator, see figs. 3 and 8);
the fifth connection line is opened by an operation of the fourth valve (line 51 opened by operation of valve 53, see fig. 4);
the refrigerant line connecting the second valve and the first expansion valve is closed (line 11 between valve 28 and line 21 and valve 15 is closed, see fig. 4);
the first line is opened by an operation of the third expansion valve (operating third expansion valve 34 to open the refrigerant line supplying refrigerant to the separator 31 via 3-way connection before valve 34, see figs. 4, 3);
the second line (line connecting separator 31 to line 51) is opened by operation of the expansion valve (see line from separator opened by operation of expansion valve 35, fig. 4);
the second connection line is not connected to the second line by operation of the expansion valve (line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a is not connected to second line by expansion valve 35, see figs. 6-8);
the supply line is opened (line 32 is opened, see figs. 6 and 8);
the third line (line carrying valve 35) is opened by the operation of the expansion valve (line carrying valve 35 is opened, see figs. 6 and 8);
a partial refrigerant among the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator via the second line flows via the fifth connection line (refrigerant leaving separator 31 passes through fifth connection line 51, see fig. 8); and
the gas-liquid separator supplies the gaseous refrigerant among the supplied refrigerant to the compressor via the opened the supply line (32 open, see fig. 8), and discharges the liquid refrigerant to the second line (discharged refrigerant passes through second line, see figs. 6 and 8). In addition, Kim’361 discloses opening of second expansion valve (see opened valve 131, figs. 2-5 and 9), wherein the third line providing refrigerant to the heat exchanger (140) is opened by operation of the second expansion valve (by opening of second expansion valve 131, see figs. 2-5 and 9) in third mode (see figs. 2-5 and 9).
In regards to claim 13, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 12 and further discloses that the expansion valve (35) is configured to expand a remaining refrigerant among the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator (31) via the second line (line 11 containing valve 35, see figs. 6 and 8) and discharge the expanded refrigerant to the third line (line 27, see figs. 3 and 6-8); and the fourth valve is opened (line 51 is opened by operation of valve 53, see figs. 8 and 4). In addition, Kim’361 teaches fourth expansion valves (expansion valves 151, 161 and 136, see figs. 1-9) is configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the gas-liquid separator (133) via the partial second line and the fifth connection line (133d, 136a) and supplies the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (evaporators 150, 160). Also Kim’982 discloses fourth expansion valve (third expansion valve 410, see fig. 1) configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the condenser (200) via the second connection line (see fig. 1) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the gas-liquid separator (to separator 500, fig. 1), the second expansion valve (420) configured to expand the refrigerant discharged from the gas-liquid separator (500) via the second line (line L2, see fig. 2) and discharge the expanded refrigerant to a third line (line with 3-way connection 220, see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 14, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in the fourth mode:
the refrigerant line is opened by an operation of the first expansion valve (line 11 supplying refrigerant through open first expansion valve 15, figs. 3-4) such that the compressor (19), the heat-exchanger (HX 13, 14), and the evaporator (evaporator 16) may be interconnected via the refrigerant line (see figs. 3-4);
the first connection line (11) is closed by an operation of the first valve (first connection line 11 is closed by operation of first valve 26, see fig. 4);
the second connection line is closed (see line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a as closed, fig. 4);
the third connection line (29) and the fourth connection line (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15) are closed by an operation of the second valve (line 29 closed by operation of valve 28, see fig. 3; and line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is closed by operation of valve 28, see fig. 4);
the fifth connection line is closed by an operation of the fourth valve (line 51 closed by operation of valve 53, see fig. 3);
the first line is closed by an operation of the third expansion valve (first line to separator 31 is capable of being closed by operation of the third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-4, where the heat pump is configured for and capable of circulating refrigerant through valves 26 and 28 while bypassing the separator 31);
the second line (line connecting separator 31 to line 51) is closed by operation of the expansion valve (see line from separator closed by operation of expansion valve 35 to supply refrigerant to the fifth connection line, fig. 4);
the supply line is closed (line 32 is closed, see fig. 3); and
a third line (line carrying valve 35) is closed by the operation of the expansion valve (line carrying valve 35 is closed, see fig. 4). In addition, Kim’982 discloses that the first line (L1 supplying refrigerant through valve 210, see figs. 1-2) is closed (see figs. 1-2) by an operation of the third expansion valve (closed valves 210 and 410 prevent refrigerant from being supplied to the separator 500, see figs. 1-2).
In regards to claim 15, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 14 and further discloses that the first expansion valve (15) is configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the heat-exchanger (heat exchangers 13, 14) and supply the expanded refrigerant to the evaporator (supplying refrigerant to through expansion valve 15 to the evaporator 16, see fig. 3); and the operation of the expansion valve (35) is stopped (valve 35 closed, see fig. 4), the third expansion valve (34) is capable of being stopped (valve 34 is capable of being closed; line to separator 31 is capable of being closed by operation of the third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-4, where the heat pump is configured for and capable of circulating refrigerant through valves 26 and 28 while bypassing the separator 31), and the fourth valve (53) is stopped (valve 53 closed, see fig. 3). In addition, Kim’361 discloses that second expansion valve (valve 131) is closed (see figs. 1-5), the fourth expansion valves are closed (valves 151, 161 closed, see fig. 5). Also, Kim’982 discloses that second expansion valve and the third expansion valve are closed (valves 420 and 410 are closed due to closed valve 210, see figs. 1-2).
In regards to claim 16, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that in the fifth mode:
an operation of the first expansion valve (15) is stopped (first expansion valve 15 is capable of being closed in the first mode, see fig. 5);
the refrigerant line connecting the first valve (26) and a second end of a third line (27) is closed by an operation of the first valve (first valve 26 closes third line 27, see figs. 6 and 8);
the first connection line (11) is opened by the operation of the first valve (first connection line 11 is opened by operation of first valve 26, see figs. 6 and 8);
the second connection line is opened (see line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a as opened, figs. 6 and 8);
the third connection line (29) is closed by an operation of the second valve (third connection line 29 is closed by valve 28, see figs. 8 and 6);
the fourth connection line is opened by the operation of the second valve (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is opened by closing operation of valve 28 to supply refrigerant to the evaporator, see figs. 3 and 8);
the fifth connection line is closed by an operation of the fourth valve (line 51 is closed by operation of valve 53, see figs. 5-6);
the refrigerant line connecting the second valve (valve 28) to the second end of the fourth connection line is closed (line 11 between valve 28 and valve 15 is closed, see fig. 5);
the first line is closed by an operation of the third expansion valve (first line to separator 31 is capable of being closed by operation of the third expansion valve 34, see figs. 3-4, where the heat pump is configured for and capable of circulating refrigerant through valves 26 and 28 while bypassing the separator 31);
the second line (line connecting separator 31 to line 51) is closed by an operation of the expansion valve (see line from separator closed by operation of expansion valve 35, fig. 6);
the supply line is closed (line 32 is closed, see fig. 5);
the third line (line carrying valve 35) is opened by the operation of the expansion valve (line carrying valve 35 is opened, see figs. 6 and 8); and
the second connection line is connected to the third line by operation of the expansion valve (line 11 at the outlet of condenser 12a is connected to second line by expansion valve 35, see figs. 5-6). In addition, Kim’361 discloses closing/opening operations of the second expansion valve (see closed valve 131, figs. 1-3 and 9), wherein the third line providing refrigerant to the heat exchanger (140) is opened and the second line is closed by operation of the second expansion valve (by closing line 131b and opening line 131a by operation of second expansion valve 131, see figs. 1-3 and 9) in fifth mode (see figs. 1-3 and 9). Also, Kim’982 discloses that the first line (L1 supplying refrigerant through valve 210, see figs. 1-2) is closed (see figs. 1-2) by an operation of the third expansion valve (closed valves 210 and 410 prevent refrigerant from being supplied to the separator 500, see figs. 1-2).
In regards to claim 17, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the expansion valve (35) is configured to expand the refrigerant supplied from the internal condenser (12a) via the second connection line (line 11) and discharge the expanded refrigerant to the third line (supplying refrigerant to through expansion valve 35 and to third line at the outlet of valve 35, see fig. 5); and the operation of the third expansion valve is closed (valve 34 is capable of being closed, see fig. 4), and the fourth valve (53) is stopped (valve 53 closed, see fig. 5). In addition, Kim’361 discloses that second expansion valve (valve 131) is closed (see figs. 1-5), wherein the refrigerant supplied from condenser (120) is expanded and transferred through the third line (131a, see figs. 1-3 and 9) and the fourth expansion valves (valves 151, 161 are closed, see figs. 4-5). Also, Kim’982 discloses that the third expansion valve is closed (valve 410 is closed due to closed valve 210, see figs. 1-2).
In regards to claim 18, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the heat-exchanger (13, 14) is configured to condense the refrigerant supplied in the first mode and the fourth mode (see figs. 3-4 and paragraph 164, where HX 13, 14 are configured to condense supplied refrigerant).
In regards to claim 19, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 7 and further discloses that the heat-exchanger (13, 14) is configured to evaporate the refrigerant supplied in the second mode, the third mode, and the fifth mode (see figs. 5-8 and paragraph 79, where HX 13 are configured to evaporate supplied refrigerant).
In regards to claim 20, Kim as modified teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the first expansion valve (15), the third expansion valve (34), and the fourth valve (53) are 2-way expansion valves selectively operated in the at least one mode (see figs. 3-8), and configured to selectively expand the supplied refrigerant while controlling the flow of the refrigerant (see figs. 3-8 and paragraphs 81, 111). In addition, Kim’982 discloses a fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 430) configured to expand refrigerant at the outlet of the separator (see fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Kim'982 does not teach fourth expansion valve and the second end of the fifth connection line because Kim'982 discloses a refrigerant circuit with three expansion valves," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that primary reference Kim’067 teaches the fifth connection line with a fourth valve on the fifth connection line (valve 53 on line 51), where the second end of the fifth connection line connects the refrigerant circuit prior to the evaporator (see fig. 7) and Kim’982 discloses a fifth connection line with a fourth expansion valve (expansion valve 430 on line from junction 510 towards evaporator 600, see fig. 6) and the second and fourth expansion valves (valves 420 and 430) operating simultaneously to expand at least part of the refrigerant from the compressor (see fig. 6 and paragraph 78, Kim’982). In addition, examiner points out that “the fourth expansion valve” is a label for the expansion valve on the fifth connection line and both Kim’067 and Kim’982 teach fifth connection lines with valves and particularly Kim’982 discloses that the valve on the fifth connection line is an expansion valve. Hence, one of skill in the art would be motivated to provide the fourth expansion valve on the fifth connection line to allow at least some of the refrigerant from the separator to pass to the compressor to increase the amount of refrigerant at the compressor. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 1-5 of Remarks, filed 05/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 over Kim in view of Kim'361 have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the new amendment. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim (US 2022/0185067 A1) in view of Kim'361, Kim'982 and Kim-985.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763