DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a CON of 16/415,893 filed 05/17/2019 now Patent 12030925. 16/415,893 has PRO 62/801,576 filed 02/05/2019. 16/415,893 has PRO 62/773,785 filed 11/30/2018, PRO 62/712,880 filed 07/31/2018, and PRO 62/673,670 filed 05/18/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 05/07/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 90-104 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 90-95, and 104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seth et al. (WO 2015/106052A1 - hereinafter “Seth”).
Regarding claim 90, Seth teaches a chimeric protein comprising: i) a FVIII protein and ii) a VWF protein (claim 1) and that the proteins are linked by a disulfide bond ([0221] and claim 29). Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein comprises a VWF polypeptide comprising amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No: 197 which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 202. Furthermore, Seth discloses on pages 173-174 the FVIIII comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 (page 173-174), which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 207.
Seth further teaches the composition for use in a subject suffering from Hemophilia A [0043, 0106] with a dose of 37.5 IU/kg, 75 IU/kg, [0051, 0349, 0363] which is comprised in the instantly claimed range and that several divided doses may be administered over time [0283]. Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein can be administered as a prophylactic or on-demand ([0041, 0043, 0108, 0292, 0313, 0315] and claim 130) and further teaches that the administration of the polypeptide is intravenous or subcutaneous administration ([0040] and claim 120). It is clear that the chimeric protein of FVIII and VWF comprising the instant SEQ ID NOS: 207 and 202 respectively, is known in the art and disclosed for use in the treatment of bleeding disorders such as Hemophilia.
Regarding claims 91-92, Seth teaches that the chimeric polypeptide can be administered as a single bolus or several divided doses [0283].
Regarding claim 93-94, Seth teaches that the chimeric polypeptide may be given prior to activities that increase the risk of bleeding, such as contact sports [0108].
Regarding claim 95, Seth teaches that the subject is a human [0043].
Regarding claim 104, Seth teaches a chimeric protein comprising: i) a FVIII protein and ii) a VWF protein (claim 1) and that the proteins are linked by a disulfide bond ([0221] and claim 29), and teaches a method for treating a bleeding disorder such as hemophilia A (claim 122, 126, 129; [0106, 0292-0293, 0306-0311, 0316, 0352]). Seth teaches that the subject is scheduled to undergo surgery or is undergoing surgery [0041, 0107, 0292, 0313]. Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein comprises a VWF polypeptide comprising amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No: 197 which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 202. Furthermore, Seth discloses on pages 173-174 the FVIIII comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 (page 173-174), which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 207. Seth further teaches the composition for use in a subject suffering from Hemophilia A [0043, 0106] with a dose of 37.5 IU/kg37.5 IU/kg, 75 IU/kg [0051, 0349, 0363] which is comprised in the instantly claimed range and that several divided doses may be administered over time [0283]. Seth teaches that the subjects are treated with a single intravenous administration [0347]. Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein can be administered as a prophylactic or on-demand ([0041, 0043, 0108, 0292, 0313, 0315] and claim 130) and further teaches that the administration of the polypeptide is intravenous or subcutaneous administration ([0040] and claim 120). It is clear that the chimeric protein of FVIII and VWF comprising the instant SEQ ID NOS: 207 and 202 respectively, is known in the art and disclosed for use in the treatment of bleeding disorders such as Hemophilia.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 96-103 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seth et al. (WO 2015/106052A1 - hereinafter “Seth”) as applied to claim 90 above, and further in view of Franchini et al. (Ann Hematol (2007) 86:699–704).
The teachings of Seth are disclosed above and incorporated herein by reference. Seth does not teach at least twelve bleeding episodes as recited in claim 97.
Franchini teaches a method of treating bleeding episodes comprising administering VIII/VWF concentrate and that the concentrate is administered at 20–50 IU/kg of FVIII/VWF once daily and that it was effective in preventing bleeding in more than 90% of surgical or invasive procedures (Page 701, left col., 5th paragraph, line 1-6). Franchini further teaches the concentrate administered to subjects that had twelve bleeding episodes with 93% excellent or good efficacy and no adverse events (Page 701, left col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-7). Franchini further teaches prophylactic treatment with the concentrate at least once per week for 45 weeks (about 11 months) (Page 702, left col., line 1-4). Examiner notes that the teaching reads on at least three months.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seth and administer the chimeric protein to subjects that had twelve bleeding episodes since Franchini teaches that such a polypeptide has been administered to such subjects and had 93% excellent or good efficacy and no adverse events (Page 701, left col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-7). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering the chimeric protein to the patient population taught by Franchini since such concentrate has been administered to subjects with at least 12 bleeding episodes at a higher success rate.
Regarding claim 96, Seth teaches that the subject were treated with FVIII product which does not comprise VWF fragment [0053, 0054, 0354].
Regarding claim 97, Franchini teaches the concentrate administered to subjects that had twelve bleeding episodes with 93% excellent or good efficacy and no adverse events (Page 701, left col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seth and administer the chimeric protein to subjects that had twelve bleeding episodes since Franchini teaches that such a polypeptide has been administered to such subjects and had 93% excellent or good efficacy and no adverse events (Page 701, left col., 2nd paragraph, line 1-7).
Regarding claim 98, Franchini teaches a method of treating bleeding episodes comprising administering VIII/VWF concentrate and that the concentrate is administered at 20–50 IU/kg of FVIII/VWF once daily and that it was effective in preventing bleeding in more than 90% of surgical or invasive procedures (Page 701, left col., 5th paragraph, line 1-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seth and administer the chimeric protein at a dose 50 IU/kg since Franchini teaches that the administration of the polypeptide at the taught dose was effective in treating bleeding episodes.
Regarding claim 99, Seth teaches a chimeric protein comprising: i) a FVIII protein and ii) a VWF protein (claim 1) and that the proteins are linked by a disulfide bond ([0221] and claim 29). Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein comprises a VWF polypeptide comprising amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No: 197 which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 202. Furthermore, Seth discloses on pages 173-174 the FVIIII comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 (page 173-174), which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 207. Seth further teaches the composition for use in a subject suffering from Hemophilia A [0043, 0106] with a dose of 37.5 IU/kg [0051, 0349, 0363] which is comprised in the instantly claimed range and that several divided doses may be administered over time [0283]. Examiner notes that this teaching reads on at least 3 months. Seth teaches that the subjects are treated with a single intravenous administration [0347]. Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein can be administered as a prophylactic or on-demand ([0041, 0043, 0108, 0292, 0313, 0315] and claim 130) and further teaches that the administration of the polypeptide is intravenous or subcutaneous administration ([0040] and claim 120). It is clear that the chimeric protein of FVIII and VWF comprising the instant SEQ ID NOS: 207 and 202 respectively, is known in the art and disclosed for use in the treatment of bleeding disorders such as Hemophilia. Additionally, Franchini teaches prophylactic treatment with the concentrate at least once per week for 45 weeks (about 11 months) (Page 702, left col., line 1-4). Examiner notes that the teaching reads on at least three months. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seth and administer the chimeric protein to subjects at the duration taught by Franchini since the method successfully treated bleeding episodes.
Regarding claims 100-103, Franchini teaches prophylactic treatment with the concentrate at least once per week for 45 weeks (about 11 months) (Page 702, left col., line 1-4). Examiner notes that the teaching reads on at least three months. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Seth and administer the chimeric protein to subjects at the duration taught by Franchini since the method successfully treated bleeding episodes.
Double Patenting
Claims 90-104 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 11, 14-17 of U.S. Patent No. US12030925B2 in view of Seth et al. (WO 2015/106052A1 - hereinafter “Seth”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite a method of treating hemophilia A comprising administering multiple doses of a chimeric polypeptide at a dosing interval to a human subject in need thereof, wherein the chimeric polypeptide comprises:
(i) a FVIII protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 207; and
(ii) a VWF protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 202; wherein each of the multiple doses is from 45 IU/kg to 55 IU/kg and the dosing interval is at least 6 days to 8 days; and wherein the multiple doses are administered for at least about 6 months; wherein the chimeric polypeptide is administered for prophylactic treatment; wherein the chimeric polypeptide is administered intravenously.
The claims of the patent do not recite the method for on-demand treatment.
Seth teaches a chimeric protein comprising: i) a FVIII protein and ii) a VWF protein (claim 1) and that the proteins are linked by a disulfide bond ([0221] and claim 29). Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein comprises a VWF polypeptide comprising amino acid sequence of SEQ ID No: 197 which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 202. Furthermore, Seth discloses on pages 173-174 the FVIIII comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 173 (page 173-174), which comprises the instant SEQ ID NO: 207. Seth further teaches the composition for use in a subject suffering from Hemophilia A [0043, 0106] with a dose of 37.5 IU/kg [0051, 0349, 0363] which is comprised in the instantly claimed range and that several divided doses may be administered over time [0283]. Examiner notes that this teaching reads on at least 3 months. Seth teaches that the subjects are treated with a single intravenous administration [0347]. Seth further teaches that the chimeric protein can be administered as a prophylactic or on-demand ([0041, 0043, 0108, 0292, 0313, 0315] and claim 130) and further teaches that the administration of the polypeptide is intravenous or subcutaneous administration ([0040] and claim 120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method recited by the claims of the patent and use the method for on-demand therapy as taught by Seth so as to administer chimeric molecule in response to symptoms of a bleeding episode or before an activity that may cause bleeding. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in administering the chimeric protein on-demand such as when bleeding starts so as to reduce the risk of bleeding. The disclosures render obvious claims 90, and 99.
Regarding claim 91, Seth teaches that the chimeric polypeptide can be administered as a single bolus or several divided doses [0283]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of patent and also administer the chimeric protein as a single dose.
Regarding claim 92, the claims of the patent recite wherein the multiple doses are administered for at least about 6 months (claim 1).
Regarding claim 93, Seth teaches that the chimeric polypeptide may be given prior to activities that increase the risk of bleeding, such as contact sports [0108]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of patent and also administer the chimeric protein before an activity that increases risk of bleeding such as physical trauma.
Regarding claim 95, the claims of the patent recite administering the chimeric polypeptide wherein the subject is a human (claim 1-2, 11).
Regarding claim 96, Seth teaches that the subject were treated with FVIII product which does not comprise VWF fragment [0053, 0054, 0354]. It would have been obvious to modify the method of patent and also administer the subject with FVIII product which does not comprise VWF fragment.
Regarding claim 97, the claims of the patent recite wherein the subject was previously on an on-demand treatment regimen with a marketed FVIII product and has had at least twelve bleeding episodes (claim 5).
Regarding claim 98, the claims of the patent recite wherein each of the multiple doses is 50 IU/kg (claim 3).
Regarding claims 100-103, the claims of the patent recite wherein the multiple doses are administered for at least about 6 months (claims 1-2, 11, 14-17).
Regarding claim 104, the claims of the patent recite a method of treating hemophilia A comprising administering multiple doses of a chimeric polypeptide at a dosing interval to a human subject in need thereof, wherein the chimeric polypeptide comprises:
(i) a FVIII protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 207; and
(ii) a VWF protein comprising the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 202; wherein each of the multiple doses is from 45 IU/kg to 55 IU/kg and the dosing interval is at least 6 days to 8 days; and wherein the multiple doses are administered for at least about 6 months; wherein the chimeric polypeptide is administered for prophylactic treatment; wherein the chimeric polypeptide is administered intravenously.
The claims of the patent do not recite wherein the human subject is undergoing or will undergo surgery. However, Seth teaches that the subject is scheduled to undergo surgery or is undergoing surgery [0041, 0107, 0292, 0313]. It would have been obvious to modify the claims of the patent and administer the chimeric protein to a human subject who is undergoing or will undergo surgery as taught by Seth.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654