Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 5/6/2024 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Ionescu et al (US 2022/0007515).
Regarding claims 1, 9, 10, 14 and 15, Ionescu discloses a conductive ink for printing conductive lines on a substrate (abstract). The ink comprises a binder (para 0065), potassium hydroxide (KOH) and/or sodium hydroxide (NaOH) (para 0053) and conductive material (para 27-31). Potassium hydroxide (KOH) and/or sodium hydroxide (NaOH) (para 0053) is the claimed charge transfer element.
The limitations in claims 1, 10, 14 and 15 regarding spraying the ink onto a substrate by an electrohydrodynamic method to form a conductive pattern, and the conductive pattern having specific characteristics, these limitations are statements of the intended use of the claimed composition. The conductive ink of Ionescu is capable of the claimed use because it is a conductive printing ink and it comprises all the required components of the claimed ink. A person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the conductive pattern to have the properties (linear resistance) because it has been held that "products of identical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established."
Regarding claims 2-4, Ionescu discloses the ink further comprises an acrylic acid polymer having a molecular weight of less than 5,000 (para 43). Acrylic acid polymer is known to be water soluble. The acrylic acid polymer is the claimed reaction element. The amount of the acrylic acid polymer is 0.1-5 % of the ink (para 44).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Ionescu discloses the conductive material comprises metallic conductive nanoparticles and comprises at least two types of materials or at least two shapes (para 0029-31).
Regarding claim 13, Ionescu discloses the ink further comprises a solvent (para 0067) and a thixotropic agent (viscosity modifier, para 0035, 50)
Regarding claim 16, Ionescu discloses electric device comprising a substrate having a three-dimensional surface shape and a conformal conductive line provided on the substrate, wherein the conformal conductive line comprises the conductive printing ink composition as recited in claim 1 (para 0137, 139).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Ionescu et al (US 2022/0007515).
Ionescu et al teaches a conductive ink for printing as described above. Ionescu discloses the conductive material may be present in the conductive ink in an amount ranging from about 0.1 wt % to about 65 wt % (para 0032), the potassium hydroxide (KOH) and/or sodium hydroxide (NaOH) in the ink ranges from greater than 0 wt % active to about 2 wt % active based on the total weight of the conductive ink (para 0054), and the amount of the acrylic acid polymer is 0.1-5 % of the ink (para 44).
It is well settled that where prior art describes the components of a claimed compound or compositions in concentrations within or overlapping the claimed concentrations a prima facie case of obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05; In re Harris, 409, F3.d 1339, 1343, 74 USPQ2d 1951, 1953 (Fed. Cir 2005); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329, 65 USPQ 3d 1379, 1382 (Fed. Cir 1997); In re Woodruff, 919 P.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (CCPA 1990); In re Malagari, 499 F.2d 1297, 1303, 182 USPQ 549, 553 (CCPA 1974). In light of the cited patent case law, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the ranges within the claimed ranges of the conductive material, potassium hydroxide (KOH) and/or sodium hydroxide and the acrylic acid polymer because a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art and Ionescu suggests the amount of these components. A person of ordinary skill would be motivated to use the claimed amounts/ratio, based on the teachings of Ionescu. See MPEP 2123.
Regarding claim 6, Ionescu discloses the binder comprises an acrylic binder (para 0065).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14, and 16 of copending Application No. 18,656,267 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Application No. 18,656,267 contains substantially similar subject matter and anticipatory or overlapping ranges. Specifically, Application No. 18,656,267 claims a conductive printing ink composition for being sprayed onto a substrate by an electrohydrodynamic method to form a conductive pattern, the conductive printing ink composition comprising a binder applying adhesion to the substrate; a charge transfer element providing an electric charge transferred by an electric field; and a conductive element providing conductivity to the conductive pattern. The conductive printing ink composition further comprising an electric field reaction element assisting in the transfer of the electric charge in the electric field, wherein the electric field reaction element is a polymer soluble to a polar solvent and has a three-dimensional surface with a molecular weight of 500 to 1,000,000.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
7/24/2026