Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 20 is drawn to a “computer-readable medium storing computer executable code” (i.e. signal per se). Neither the spec nor the claim limits the interpretation of the computer-readable medium to only hardware.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, 11-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chai et al. (US 20260025825).
Regarding claim 1, Chai discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at an extended reality (XR) device (terminal device may be a virtual reality (VR) device, an augmented reality (AR) device; [0176]), comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor (FIG. 15; [0870]), individually or in any combination, is configured to:
predictively quantize a downlink (DL) reference signal based on a prior sample of the DL reference signal (Encoder processes the eigenvector matrix of the downlink channel to obtain the CSI feedback information z. In other words, (performing a compression operation and/or a quantization operation on an eigenvector matrix based on a codebook in a related solution is replaced with the operation of processing the eigenvector matrix by the encoder to obtain the CSI feedback information z. The terminal device reports the CSI feedback information z; [0237-0238].
AI model may be used for CSI prediction, for example, predicting channel information at one or more future moments based on channel information measured at one or more historical moments; [0243]);
provide, for a user equipment (UE), a quantized representation of the DL reference signal (Reporting channel information in the scalar quantization mode means performing scalar quantization on the channel information, and feeding back quantized channel information to the network device by using a CSI report; [0295].
the network device may be a chip system, a hardware circuit, a software module, or a combination of a hardware circuit and a software module. network device may be hardware devices; or may be software functions running on dedicated hardware, or software functions running on general-purpose hardware, or may be entities including a dedicated or general-purpose hardware device and a software function; [0187-0188]) and
a set of controlled parameters (The terminal device determines parameter values of the part or all of the configuration items in the first feedback configuration based on a threshold #1 (an example of a fourth threshold). Precision of the channel information #1 is greater than or equal to the threshold #1. The terminal device may notify the network device of a parameter value determined by the terminal device; [0488-0489]); and
receive, from the UE, pre-equalized data in accordance with a channel estimation associated with a reconstructed representation of the DL reference signal after quantization (The terminal device reports a CSI report, where the CSI report may include the CSI feedback information z. The network device may reconstruct CSI information by using the decoder to obtain CSI recovery information V′; [0237].
the CSI feedback is mainly used by the network device to perform precoding, beam management, scheduling, or other operations; [0250]).
Regarding claim 2, Chai discloses wherein the reconstructed representation of the DL reference signal after the quantization is based on the set of controlled parameters (The input of the first CSI reconfigurator may be used as a training sample, and the output of the first CSI reconfigurator may be used as a label corresponding to the training sample. The fourth device may train a second CSI reconfigurator based on the fourth training dataset, to enable the second CSI reconfigurator to output CSI reconstruction information that is the same as CSI reconstruction information output by the first CSI reconfigurator; [0818]).
Regarding claim 3, Chai discloses wherein to provide the set of controlled parameters, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: obtain the set of controlled parameters (the parameter values of the part or all of the configuration items may be determined by the terminal device, and the terminal device may notify the network device of the parameter values of the part or all of the configuration items; [0078]);
wherein the set of controlled parameters includes at least one of a prediction coefficient, a prediction error variance, an applied received signal strength indicator (RSSI) scaling coefficient associated with the prior sample of the DL reference signal, a direct current bias removed from the DL reference signal at the XR device, or an initial sample of the DL reference signal (a configuration item of the first feedback configuration includes a quantization precision configuration in a feedback mode based on scalar quantization, a basis configuration in a feedback mode based on codebook-based quantization, or a non-zero coefficient configuration in a feedback mode based on codebook-based quantization; [0115]).
Regarding claim 4, Chai discloses wherein to obtain the set of controlled parameters, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: obtain the prediction error variance at the XR device in accordance with the prediction coefficient (the precision of the channel information #1 may be represented by an error between the channel information #1 and the initial channel information. For example, the precision of the channel information #1 may be represented by a normalized mean square error (NMSE) between the channel information #1 and the initial channel information. The precision of the channel information #1 may alternatively be represented by an error between the channel information #1 and the initial channel information. The precision range of the channel information #1 may be as follows: The error between the channel information #1 and the initial channel information is less than or equal to a threshold #2. In this case, the indication information #5 may alternatively indicate the threshold #2; [0500-0502]).
Regarding claim 5, Chai discloses wherein to predictively quantize the DL reference signal based on the prior sample of the DL reference signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive, from the UE, control signaling that includes at least one of a type of quantization, a number of bits for representation, a DL reference signal allocation period, an uplink resource allocation, or a sampling rate (the network device may directly indicate a range of a length of a segment transmitted on each of K uplink resources used to transmit the channel information #3. The K uplink resources are respectively used to transmit the K pieces of UCI. The K uplink resources may be understood as uplink resources scheduled by the network device at K times. Alternatively, the K uplink resources may be understood as K periodic uplink resources configured by the network device. Alternatively, an uplink resource scheduled by the network device at a time is distributed in K time resource units. The time resource unit may be one or a combination of a plurality of slots. The K uplink resources may be understood as the K time resource units; [0617-0618]);
wherein to predictively quantize the DL reference signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to predictively quantize the DL reference signal further based on the control signaling (the network device knows a total length of the channel information #3, and may configure a proper value of K based on the total length of the channel information #3. For example, a feedback configuration corresponding to the channel information #3 may be predefined or may be configured by the network device. In this case, the network device knows the total length of the channel information #3, and may configure a proper value of K based on the total length of the channel information #3; [0625]).
Regarding claim 7, Chai discloses wherein the set of controlled parameters further includes compandor outputs comprising coded unsigned bits (CSI actually fed back by the terminal device to the network device is usually compressed to a large degree, and has low precision. In a codebook-based CSI feedback mode, to improve CSI feedback precision, some codebooks with high feedback overheads may be used, for example, a codebook of a type in release (R) 16 of the 3GPP protocol and a codebook in a release later than R16. In this case, a CSI report is usually carried in a PUSCH. In an NR system, polar coding is used for channel coding of UCI. The protocol supports a maximum code length of 1706 bits for polar coding, and the protocol supports a maximum CSI feedback overhead of approximately 800 bits; [0250]).
Regarding claim 8, Chai discloses wherein to provide the set of controlled parameters, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: obtain the set of controlled parameters (the parameter values of the part or all of the configuration items may be determined by the terminal device, and the terminal device may notify the network device of the parameter values of the part or all of the configuration items; [0078]);
wherein the set of controlled parameters includes at least one of an applied received signal strength indicator (RSSI) scaling coefficient associated with the prior sample of the DL reference signal, a direct current bias removed from the DL reference signal at the XR device, or an initial sample of the DL reference signal (a configuration item of the first feedback configuration includes a quantization precision configuration in a feedback mode based on scalar quantization, a basis configuration in a feedback mode based on codebook-based quantization, or a non-zero coefficient configuration in a feedback mode based on codebook-based quantization; [0115]).
Regarding claim 11, Chai discloses wherein the set of controlled parameters further includes compandor outputs comprising coded unsigned bits (CSI actually fed back by the terminal device to the network device is usually compressed to a large degree, and has low precision. In a codebook-based CSI feedback mode, to improve CSI feedback precision, some codebooks with high feedback overheads may be used, for example, a codebook of a type in release (R) 16 of the 3GPP protocol and a codebook in a release later than R16. In this case, a CSI report is usually carried in a PUSCH. In an NR system, polar coding is used for channel coding of UCI. The protocol supports a maximum code length of 1706 bits for polar coding, and the protocol supports a maximum CSI feedback overhead of approximately 800 bits; [0250]).
Regarding claim 12, Chai discloses wherein to predictively quantize the DL reference signal based on the prior sample of the DL reference signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive, from the UE and via the at least one transceiver, the DL reference signal (CSI measurement means that a receive end obtains channel information based on a reference signal sent by a transmit end, that is, estimates the channel information by using a channel estimation method. For example, the reference signal may include one or more of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), a synchronization signal/broadcast channel block (SSB), a channel sounding reference signal (SRS), a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), or the like. The CSI-RS, the SSB, the DMRS, and the like may be used to measure downlink CSI. The SRS, the DMRS, and the like may be used to measure uplink CSI; [0231]).
Regarding claim 13, Chai discloses wherein the pre-equalized data is of an XR application with which the XR device is associated (terminal device may be a virtual reality (VR) device, an augmented reality (AR) device; [0176].
the CSI feedback is mainly used by the network device to perform precoding, beam management, scheduling, or other operations; [0250]).
Regarding claim 14, Chai discloses wherein to provide the quantized representation of the DL reference signal and the set of controlled parameters or to receive the pre-equalized data, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide the quantized representation or to receive the pre-equalized data based on sidelink signaling between the XR device and the UE (The technical solutions provided in this application may be further applied to device-to-device (D2D) communication, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication, machine-to-machine (M2M) communication, machine type communication (MTC), an internet of things (IoT) communication system, or another communication system; [0173]
the CSI feedback is mainly used by the network device to perform precoding, beam management, scheduling, or other operations; [0250]).
Regarding claim 15, Chai discloses wherein to predictively quantize the DL reference signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to predictively quantize the DL reference signal further based on frequency domain sampling of the DL reference signal (A dimension of the spatial domain basis matrix is N.sub.tx×N.sub.tx, a dimension of the coefficient matrix is N.sub.tx×N.sub.sb, and a dimension of the frequency domain basis matrix is N.sub.sb×N.sub.sb. Because the coefficient matrix includes a large quantity of coefficients with small values, dimension reduction may be performed on the spatial domain basis matrix, the coefficient matrix, and the frequency basis domain matrix. For example, a spatial domain basis column vector corresponding to a coefficient with a large value in the coefficient matrix is retained in the spatial domain basis matrix, and a frequency domain basis column vector corresponding to a coefficient with a large value in the coefficient matrix is retained in the frequency domain basis matrix. For example, 2L spatial domain basis column vectors are selected from the spatial domain basis matrix, R frequency domain basis row vectors are selected from the frequency domain basis matrix, and 2L×R coefficients in the coefficient matrix that correspond to the 2L spatial domain basis column vectors and the R frequency domain basis row vectors are determined. P non-zero coefficients are selected from the 2L×R coefficients. P is a positive integer less than or equal to 2L×R. Scalar quantization is performed on each of the P non-zero coefficients. L is a positive integer, and R is a positive integer; [0304]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claims 2 and 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claims 4 and 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chai et al. (US 20260025825) in view of Hernando (US 20150189644).
Regarding claim 6, Chai discloses wherein to predictively quantize the DL reference signal based on the prior sample of the DL reference signal, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: generate the set of DL reference signal samples that are compressed by compressing the set of DL reference signal samples (Encoder processes the eigenvector matrix of the downlink channel to obtain the CSI feedback information z. In other words, (performing a compression operation and/or a quantization operation on an eigenvector matrix based on a codebook in a related solution is replaced with the operation of processing the eigenvector matrix by the encoder to obtain the CSI feedback information z. The terminal device reports the CSI feedback information z; [0237-0238].
AI model may be used for CSI prediction, for example, predicting channel information at one or more future moments based on channel information measured at one or more historical moments; [0243])
Chai does not expressly disclose compressing the set of DL reference signal samples in association with a differential pulse code modulation (DPCM) quantizer, wherein the quantized representation of the DL reference signal comprises the set of DL reference signal samples that are compressed.
In an analogous art, Hernando discloses compressing the set of DL reference signal samples in association with a differential pulse code modulation (DPCM) quantizer, wherein the quantized representation of the DL reference signal comprises the set of DL reference signal samples that are compressed (In relation to the lack of accurate CSI, it is proposed in US 2010/0008431 the compression of the channel impulse response by using a DCT, also performing a differential pulse code modulation (DPCM) over the quantized values of the coefficients, phases and time delays of the channel taps. This approach has the drawback of performing the described procedure regardless of the user's mobility, e.g. not taking advantage of low-mobility situations in which very similar channel state would sent over large periods of time. In GB 2475098 it is proposed a compression technique comprising singular value decomposition (SVD) of a subset of the channel matrix, selection of strongest right singular vectors and subsequent matrix reduction and quantization. This scheme is quite complex in practice to be done by a UE, and also has the drawback of not providing an adaptive way to encode more or less efficiently according to the user's mobility. In patent US 2008/0207135 several compression techniques of the subband CQI values are proposed, including among others differential CQI compression, difference based wavelet compression, and Hadamard matrices; [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Hernando into the system of Chai in order to provide a more accurate scheme for periodic CSI reports, by virtue of which the UEs may benefit from frequency selective scheduling gain (Hernando; [0023]).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9, if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, would comprise a combination of elements which is not taught by the prior art of record. The same reasoning applies to dependent claim 10 mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20250150138), “METHOD AND DEVICE FOR COMPRESSING CHANNEL STATE INFORMATION.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413