DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Strayer (US 2017/0057635).
Strayer clearly discloses a battery-powered unmanned VTOL vehicle having deployable rotors and a rocket propulsion engine in separable modules, each controlled independently and either remotely or autonomously (e.g. Figs 2 and 4-7; [0035]; [0042]-[0044]; [0047]; [0055]; [0057]; [0064]), with the rotors slotted between two layers of a tail fin (172) when stowed, the rotors shrouded from direct airflow during a launch stage (while in the canister).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strayer (‘635) in view of Zheng et al. (US 2019/0193844).
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Strayer discloses deployable rotors with electric motors, but does not disclose the motors being tucked into the fuselage while stowed.
Zheng teaches deployable rotors with motors which are tucked into the fuselage when stowed (as seen in e.g. Figs 1 and 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strayer to use tucked motors as taught by Zheng for the predictable advantage of reducing the projection of components during storage and transport, to reduce damage to the components during such times.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strayer (‘635) in view of Jin (CN 106864744).
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Strayer discloses top rotors, but does not disclose bottom rotors.
Jin teaches top and bottom rotors (Fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strayer to use top and bottom rotors as taught by Jin for the predictable advantage of increasing the amount of thrust produced, permitting greater speed, farther flight, and/or larger payload capacity.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strayer (‘635) in view of Strauss et al. (US 2020/0031458).
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Strayer discloses rotors on struts, but does not disclose wings.
Strauss teaches an aircraft having rotors on wings (50) to provide lift in horizontal forward flight ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strayer to use wings as taught by Strauss to produce lift in horizontal forward flight, enabling greater flight speeds.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strayer (‘635).
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Strayer disclose an engine, but does not disclose multiple engines.
The examiner takes Official Notice that multiple engine use is well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Strayer to use multiple engines as the examiner takes Official Notice that multiple engine use is well-known in the art, to increase the thrust, permitting greater speed, farther flight, and/or larger payload capacity, and/or as a redundant flight engine in the event of the failure of one.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that Strayer does not disclose shrouding protection during a launch stage, Strayer discloses the UAV in a canister (102) during the launch stage from the mother ship (250). This canister would shroud the propellers from the airflow. Further, the claim does not require shrouding during the entire launch stage, only “during a launch stage.” Further, claim 2 only requires the wings, fins and fuselage configured to conceal “elements” of the rotor assemblies. As seen in Figs 2-4, “elements” of the rotor assemblies are shrouded from the direct airflow through the holding mechanisms (170) of the fuselage and from crossflow by the fins (126). Accordingly, Strayer provides for “shrouding” of the rotor assemblies.
In response to applicant's argument that Strayer does not reduce drag or instability, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, drag and stability are reduced by the folded rotor assemblies, as compared to deployed assemblies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619