DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/09/2026 with respect to the amendments of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Johansson et al (USPN 2017/0025841).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Johansson et al (USPN 2017/0025841).
Regarding claim 1, Johansson discloses an electrical switching device (an electronic fuse system 100, see figure 1) comprising:
a plurality of electrical loads (such as a plurality of outputs 110, see figure 1);
an electrical energy source (a power source PS 103) for supplying electrical energy to said plurality of electrical loads;
a bus line (a bus line 101, 104, see par. 0018) for conducting said electrical energy from said electrical energy source (103) to said plurality of electrical loads (110);
said plurality of electrical loads (110) being connected to said bus line (110);
a group of a plurality of electronic fuses (108) electrically arranged between said electrical energy source (103) and said plurality of electrical loads (110);
said plurality of electronic fuses (108) being separate from each other and being distributed in said electrical switching device (100); and
a control unit (a power distribution controller 105) being arranged in said bus line (101, 104) and being configured to address said plurality of electronic fuses (108) in said group via said bus line (101, 104) (see par. 0023, 0032); and
wherein said bus line for conducting the electrical energy is also used as a communication line for addressing the plurality of electronic fuses (the bus line 101, 104 provide both power and communication capabilities through the bus 101 via the bus connection means 104, see par. 0019).
Regarding claim 17, Johansson discloses wherein said plurality of electrical loads (110) are each connected to said bus line (101) via stub lines (104), and the electronic fuses (108) in said group of a plurality of electronic fuses are arranged in said stub lines (see figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Johansson et al (USPN 2017/0025841) in view of Morrison et al (USPN 2024/0092289).
Regarding claims 2-3, Johansson discloses addressing the group of the plurality of the electronic fuses (108) (see figure 1), but does not explicitly disclose a position of the electronic fuse as claimed.
Morrison discloses an electrical switching device (200, see figure 2) comprises a group of a plurality of electronic fuses (such as group C1-C3), wherein, when addressing said group of said plurality of electronic fuses (the group of e-Fuses C1-C3 assigned shown in table 1, see figure 2, and par. 0022), a position of the electronic fuse (such as a position of the e-fuse 214a assigned in a cluster C1) to be addressed from the group (214) relative to the other electronic fuses (214b-214f) from said group in said electrical switching device is determined and then an address is assigned to said electronic fuse to be addressed (see par. 0022, 0023), and wherein said address is assigned by said control unit (the controller 216).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the plurality of the electronic fuses, wherein a position of the electronic fuse is addressed and determined as disclosed by Morrison in order to synchronize operation of electronic fuses so that preventing an excess power across the loads in the switching device.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 4-16, 18, 21 are allowed over prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach:
An electrical switching device comprising: a plurality of current measuring apparatuses, each of said plurality of electronic fuses being assigned a corresponding one of said current measuring apparatuses with a load resistor, at least part of the group of the plurality of electronic fuses belongs to an initial load group; said initial load group includes including: that electronic fuse in said group of said plurality of electronic fuses which is arranged furthest away from said electrical energy source along said bus line and at least one further electronic fuse in said group of said plurality of electronic fuses; and said control unit being configured such that, when addressing the plurality of electronic fuses in said group, all load resistors in said initial load group are first connected to said bus line and load said electrical energy source, said current measuring apparatuses assigned to said electronic fuses in said initial load group measure the current in said bus line downstream of the respectively associated electronic fuse, and said control unit assigns an address, via said bus line, to that electronic fuse in the initial load group which is associated with a current measured value below an open-circuit current value of said electrical switching device, said address being linked to the position furthest away from said electrical energy source along said bus line as recited in claim 4.
An electrical switching device comprising: each of the plurality of electronic fuses is assigned an addressing apparatus, when addressing said plurality of electronic fuses in the group, one addressing signal each runs through at least one part of said bus line for addressing each electronic fuse, each addressing apparatus can prevent the addressing signal from being conducted to the directly adjacent electronic fuse in the group along said bus line, and said electrical switching device is configured in such a way that the addressing apparatus of an electronic fuse in the group which has received an address then causes the directly adjacent electronic fuse in the group along said bus line to be addressed as recited in claim 13.
5. Claims 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838