DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the RCE filed on January 16th 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5-7, filed 1/16/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rochon et al. US 2010/0188974 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canpolat et al. US 2021/0219186 A1 in view of Francini et al. US 11,336,582 B1 and Rochon et al. US 2010/0188974 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Canpolat discloses a device comprising a processor; at least one network interface controller; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (AP – Figs. 1-9, paragraphs 20, 170); the memory comprises:
flow management logic (AP is capable of initiating QoS flow – paragraph 44, Figs. 1-4) that is configured to: receive a stream classification service (SCS) request (Stream classification service request – paragraphs 20-22);
select a flow based on the SCS request; identify a flow policy (select a flow and policy based on SRQ/QoS parameters transmitted or negotiated – see Figs. 1-4, paragraphs 35-45 and 70);
determine a scheduling behavior related to the flow policy (determine scheduling – paragraphs 160-169); and
transmit the scheduling behavior to one or more … nodes (STA and AP exchange the profile containing scheduling information – paragraphs 163-169).
Canpolat does not explicitly disclose wherein the scheduling behavior comprises one or more queueing algorithms. But this is taught by Francini as a packet scheduler that services queues based on scheduling algorithms (col. 14 ln. 54-67), and scheduling policy such as WFQ (see col. 15 ln. 45 – col. 16 ln. 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canpolat with the queuing algorithm taught by Francini for the purpose of improving network traffic. Francini teaches this provides enforcement of QoS guarantees (col. 15 ln. 40-45).
The combination of Canpolat and Francini does not explicitly disclose transmit the scheduling behavior to one or more routing nodes by modifying a marking in an internet protocol header but this is taught by Rochon as transmitting packet markings via DSCP values in IP header (e.g. ToS field) which are used for traffic scheduling (abstract, paragraphs 40-41). The IP packets with marking in header are transmitted to a routing node (Figs. 1-2, paragraph 18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Canpolat and Francini with the header markings taught by Rochon for the purpose of packet scheduling. The ToS field/DSCP of IP an header is well-known in the art. Thus, this is simply the combination of a conventional and routine well-known technique according to its established function in order to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Canpolat discloses the SCS request is received from a client device (Figs. 1-4, paragraphs 20-22, 42).
Regarding claim 3, Canpolat discloses wherein determining a scheduling behavior is based on quality of service characteristics of the flow (schedule based on QoS – paragraphs 42-44 and 160-169).
Regarding claim 4, Canpolat discloses wherein the quality of service is associated with at least one application (QoS flows are for applications – see paragraphs 15, 56, 61).
Regarding claim 5, Canpolat discloses wherein the flow management logic is further configured to generate a classification based on at least the flow policy (traffic/stream classification – paragraphs 21-22; classification is specified based on the traffic – paragraphs 160-161).
Regarding claim 6, Canpolat discloses the classification is associated with an internet protocol header (frames in IP data – paragraphs 45-46, thus they are “associated”; also see Table after paragraph 163).
Regarding claim 7, Canpolat discloses the classification is a differentiated services code point marking (DSCP - paragraph 27).
Regarding claim 8, Canpolat discloses the marking is applied to an upstream flow (data flowing from STA to AP is considered “upstream” – see Figs. 1-8; also see paragraph 169 which teaches “uplink” direction).
Regrading claim 9, Canpolat discloses the flow management logic is further configured to generate one or more queues in response to the scheduling behavior (allocates resources – paragraph 100; also see paragraph 115 which teaches releasing the resources allocated upon termination).
Regarding claim 10, Canpolat discloses the one or more queues are generated in response to one or more quality of service characteristics of the flow (the entire purpose of Canpolat is QoS management – see abstract, paragraph 20; the flow has QoS – paragraphs 44-46, and the required resources are allocated – paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 11, it is a device that corresponds to the device of claim 1; the corresponding limitations are rejected for the same reasons. Canpolat also discloses determine a flow for classification (see rejection of claim 5, wherein a classification is generated based on a flow); classify the flow (classify traffic – paragraph 157); receive a scheduling behavior for the flow (see rejection of claim 1, wherein the scheduling behavior is transmitted between STA and AP); and schedule the flow based on the scheduling behavior (provide scheduling – see paragraphs 160-169).
Regarding claim 12, Canpolat discloses the flow management logic is further configured to analyze the scheduling behavior (update profile based on conditions – Fig. 7, paragraphs 88; this is equivalent to “analyze”, and the network load/operating conditions are a result of the scheduling behavior).
Regarding claim 13, Canpolat discloses the flow management logic is further configured to prioritize the scheduling of the flow based on the analysis of the analysis of the scheduling behavior (priority mark flow/traffic – paragraphs 21, 41; results in flow being prioritized – paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 14, it is a method claim that corresponds to the device of claim 1; thus it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, Canpolat discloses generating one or more classifications based on the scheduling behavior (traffic/stream classification – paragraphs 21-22; classification is specified based on the traffic/schedule – paragraphs 160-169).
Regarding claim 19, generating one or more queues in response to the scheduling behavior (allocates resources – paragraph 100; also see paragraph 115 which teaches releasing the resources allocated upon termination).
Regarding claim 20, Canpolat discloses the one or more queues are generated based on at least a quality of service characteristic associated with the SCS request (the entire purpose of Canpolat is QoS management – see abstract, paragraph 20; the flow has QoS – paragraphs 44-46, use SCS – paragraph 22; and the required resources are allocated – paragraph 100).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canpolat, Francini and Rochon in view of Cavalcanti et al. US 2018/0184450 A1.
Regarding claim 15, Canpolat discloses forwarding [data] to additional network devices on the network (the STA communicates with other stations – paragraph 171). Canpolat does not explicitly disclose forwarding the scheduling behavior but this is taught by Cavalcanti as transmitting scheduling data to a plurality of network devices (abstract, Figs. 1, 6, paragraphs 29, 110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canpolat to transmit scheduling behavior as taught by Cavalcanti. Cavalcanti suggests this allows devices access to the wireless medium during the scheduled periods (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 16, Canpolat does not explicitly disclose the additional network devices are not connected via a wireless connection but this is taught by Cavalcanti as using Ethernet (paragraph 2) or other wired communication links (paragraph 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canpolat with the wired connection taught by Cavalcanti. This is merely the combination of a well-known technique according to its established function in order to yield a predictable result.
Regarding claim 17, Canpolat does not explicitly disclose the additional network devices are routing nodes but this is taught by Cavalcanti (wired router – paragraph 79). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Canpolat with the routers taught by Cavalcanti. This is merely the combination of a well-known element according to its established function in order to yield a predictable result.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jorgensen US 2003/0067903 A1 discloses that it is well-known in the art to use header information to schedule IP packet flows (paragraph 340).
Zhu et al. US 2021/0409335 A1 discloses queuing algorithms to schedule network packets (paragraph 188).
Contavalli et al. US 2018/0212886 A1 discloses a scheduled implementing a weighted fair queuing algorithm to ensure multiple packet flows share bandwidth (paragraph 30).
/JASON D RECEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458