DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application of 5/6/2024.
Double Patenting
Claims 31 and 37-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,465 (herein referred to as ‘465). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Regarding claim 31, claim 1 of ‘465 discloses the recited method as recited including modifying a structure of the pre-modification immersive cooling system and using a high boiling point operating fluid as the operating fluid. Regarding claims 37 and 38, claims 1 and 2 of ‘465 discloses a method as recited, the method comprising removing one or more bellows from the immersive cooling system; and using an alternative operating fluid in which the operating fluid is a high boiling point operating fluid (since instant claim 37 only recites one operating fluid, this operating fluid is an alternative operating fluid). Regarding claim 39, ‘465 discloses a method as recited, the method comprising: modifying a structure of the pre-modification immersive cooling system; removing one or more bellows from the immersive cooling system (claim 2 of ‘465); and using an alternative operating fluid (since instant claim 39 only recites one operating fluid, this operating fluid is an alternative operating fluid). Regarding claim 40, the alternative operating fluid of ‘465 is a high boiling point operating fluid (claim 1 of ‘465).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hulse et al. (US 2020/0205318).
Regarding claim 31, Hulse et al. discloses an immersive cooling system (Figure 2A) which uses a high-boiling operating fluid [0061]. Hulse et al. does not disclose modifying the structure of the system, however, since Hulse et al. discloses the immersive cooling system, modifying the structure of the system would have involved a mere in the size or shape of a device, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Regarding claims 37-40. Hulse et al. discloses an immersive cooling system that uses a high-boiling point operating fluid and that does not comprise bellows. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have used the device of Hulse et al. as the immersive cooling system, since the system does not comprise bellows, which eliminates the need to modify an existing system by removing the bellows. The end product is still an immersive cooling system without bellows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "the substitute operating fluid " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of Hulse et al. is pertinent to the Applicant’s invention.
/DAVIS D HWU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763