Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 42 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 42, the recited limitation “a hot fluid holding tank at least partially positioned within a region previously configured to hold at least a portion of [[the]] a tube condenser; wherein the immersive cooling system does not comprise the tube condenser.” is indefinite. It is unclear whether or not a tube condenser is required to anticipate the claim as a portion of a tube condenser is included under components that the immersive cooling system comprises. Also, the region previously configured to hold a tube condenser is indefinite if the immersive cooling system does not comprise the tube condenser.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Campbell (US2013/0105122).
Regarding claim 42, in light of the 112b rejection above, the examiner is taking the broadest reasonable interpretation that Campbell teaches an immersive cooling system (700, Fig. 7A, [0055], [0056]) comprising:
a reservoir (701, Fig. 7A, [0056]);
a hot fluid holding tank at least partially positioned within a region previously configured to hold at least a portion of the tube condenser (reservoir 701 of another immersive cooling system 700; the region described is the shared area containing reservoir 701 of one immersive cooling system and reservoir 701 of another immersive cooling system when there are multiple immersive cooling systems, [0055]).
Regarding claim 43, Campbell teaches a wall of the hot fluid holding tank at least partially separates the reservoir from a lumen of the hot fluid holding tank (each immersive cooling system 700 has a separate reservoir 701, [0055]).
Regarding claim 44, Campbell teaches a heat exchanger (the other immersive cooling system 700 has another tube condenser 720, which is a heat exchanger, [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 2013/0105122), in view of Kılıç (Plate Heat Exchangers: Artificial Neural Networks for Their Design, 2021) and Sung (KR 100739483).
Regarding claim 45, Campbell does not teach the heat exchanger comprises a brazed plate heat exchanger.
However, Kılıç teaches plate heat exchangers with the benefits of increasing the amount of heat transfer, preventing formation of residue that accumulate over time, and protecting the system against excessive pressure during installation (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the condenser (Campbell, 720, Fig. 7A, [0056]) to use a plate heat exchanger structure for the benefits of increasing the amount of heat transfer, preventing formation of residue that accumulate over time, and protecting the system against excessive pressure during installation (Kılıç, Abstract). This aligns with Campbell’s objective of enhancing heat transfer ([0004]).
Modified Campbell does not teach the plate heat exchanger is brazed.
However, Sung teaches a plate-type heat exchanger with the multiple heat exchange plates (10, paragraph 65, “heat exchange plates”) brazed to each other to increase bond strength (paragraph 65, “to further increase the bond strength, so that even if there is any impact load, breakage and deformation of the heat exchange plate 10 may be prevented”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plate type heat exchanger of modified Campbell to braze the heat exchange plates to each other to increase bond strength to prevent breakage and deformation of the heat exchange plate in cases of impact load (Sung: paragraph 65, “to further increase the bond strength, so that even if there is any impact load, breakage and deformation of the heat exchange plate 10 may be prevented”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 42 and 45 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763