Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dubelier (US 3,099,271).
Regarding claim 1, Dubelier discloses an apparatus comprising:
a securing member (350); and
an elastic string (322; Column 2, lines 5-17 describe the elasticity of the bands used in the invention) coupled to the securing member such that at least two loops are formed, a first loop being smaller than a second loop of the at least two loops (the securing member forms two loops on opposed ends of the securing member as shown in Fig. 10), the elastic string comprising a single string forming a large loop that is coupled to the securing member at two points along the string to form the at least two loops (Fig. 8 as shown); and
a tab member (324) for securing and removing the second loop to and from the securing member, the tab member comprising a flexible material that is formed into the second loop (Column 2, lines 21-24 describe wherein the material is bendable),
wherein the securing member comprises a geometry that retains the elastic string when the first or second loops are looped around the securing member while permitting securing and removal of the first or second loops (Fig. 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 2, Dubelier further discloses an anchor (351) that is used to couple the elastic string to an interior of the securing member.
Regarding claim 3, Dubelier further discloses wherein the anchor comprises a base member that is coupled to the interior of the securing member (351 is shown attached to a bottom of 350) and a securing arm that is bent onto the string to secure the string to the anchor (351 circumscribes the string).
Regarding claim 14, Dubelier further wherein the securing member comprises a spherical shape (Fig. 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 16, Dubelier further discloses wherein the securing member comprises a half-spherical shape (Fig. 8 shows a spherical shape that includes a half-spherical shape).
Regarding claim 20, Dubelier discloses a method comprising:
providing a securing member (350);
providing an elastic string (322; Column 2, lines 5-17 describe the elasticity of the bands used in the invention);
coupling the elastic string to the securing member such that at least two loops are formed, a first loop being smaller than a second loop of the at least two loops (the securing member forms two loops on opposed ends of the securing member as shown in Fig. 10), the elastic string comprising a single string forming a large loop that is coupled to the securing member at two points along the string to form the at least two loops (Figs. 8 as shown); and
securing the second loop to the securing member using a tab member (324), the tab member comprising a flexible material that is formed into the second loop (Column 2, lines 21-24 describe wherein the material is bendable),
wherein the securing member comprises a geometry that retains the elastic string when the first or second loops are looped around the securing member while permitting securing and removal of the first or second loops (Fig. 8 as shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brinson as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, Dubelier discloses the invention except for wherein the anchor is coupled to an interior of the securing member using an adhesive. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to secure the anchor with adhesive because Applicant has not disclosed that the specific manner of securing the string within the securing member provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the adjustable securing member because it would also securely define the size of each first and second loop. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Brinson to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubelier as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Dubelier discloses the invention except for wherein the securing member comprises a cubical shape. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Dubelier with a cubical shape because Applicant has not disclosed that the particular shape provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the securing member of Dubelier because it would also be easily secured to a loop. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Brinson to obtain the invention as specified in the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677