DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For Applicant’s Remarks directed to the Double Patenting Rejections, Applicant has stated that a Terminal Disclaimer was filed with the reply; however, none appears in the file wrapper. Therefore, the Double Patenting Rejections of the claims are maintained and updated.
For rejections under the prior art, Applicant states that the prior art does not disclose “sending a spatial related parameter to the terminal, wherein the spatial related parameter is used to indicate information for determining an uplink sending beam of the SRS, and the SRS is an SRS corresponding to SRS resources in the SRS resource sets; wherein one SRS resource corresponds to one spatial related parameter, or one SRS resource set corresponds to one spatial related parameter”; however, as previously cited for claims 1 and 3, R1 discloses the limitations in Sections 2 and 3,where the resources for configuring the transmission of the SRS are sent. Therefore, since the previous prior art of record which would appear to disclose the claimed limitations, the rejections under the prior art area maintained and updated where amended.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
For Example, On Page 13, Applicant states that the prior art does not teach limitations. Applicant then describes what a part of the cited prior art teaches. It then concludes that therefore, the prior art does not disclose the limitations.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12015505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
For claims 1, 2, 4, 5, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 3 and claims 1-5, respectively.
For claim 6, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 1.
For claim 7, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 6.
For claim 8, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 7.
For claims 9, 10, 12-15, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 11 and claims 9-15, respectively.
For claim 16, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 9.
For claim 17, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 16.
For claim 18, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 17.
For claim 19, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claims 8, 3, 11.
For claim 20, ‘505 discloses the limitations in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by R1-1800237 (cited on IDS)[R1] or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over R1 in view of R1-1801716 (cited on IDS)[R2].
For claim 1, R1 discloses sending a configuration message to a terminal, wherein the configuration message is for configuring at least two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets for the terminal (Sections 2 and 3 multiple SRS resource sets for UL transmission are configured), and the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Sections 2 and 3); receiving an SRS, based on the configuration message, transmitted by the terminal (Sections 2 and 3), and determining an uplink transmission parameter of a first uplink signal according to the received SRS (Sections 2 and 3); sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal and instructing the terminal to transmit the first uplink signal according to the uplink transmission parameter (Sections 2 and 3), sending a spatial related parameter to the terminal, wherein the spatial related parameter is used to indicate information for determining an uplink sending beam of the SRS, and the SRS is an SRS corresponding to SRS resources in the SRS resource sets; wherein one SRS resource corresponds to one spatial related parameter, or one SRS resource set corresponds to one spatial related parameter(Sections 2 and 3 parameters correspond to SRS set).
Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Section 2.4SRS resources sets are for ULCSIAquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to comply with commonly used standards increasing marketability.
For claim 2, R1 discloses when the at least two SRS resource sets comprise an aperiodic SRS resource set or a semi-persistent SRS resource set, the method further comprises: sending a trigger signaling to the terminal, wherein the trigger signaling is for triggering the terminal to send the SRS based on a configuration message of at least one SRS resource set in the aperiodic SRS resource set or semi-persistent SRS resource set (Examiner Note: Since this is a method claim, a contingent limitation is not required to be shown to disclose the claimed limitations. See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847. Therefore, the limitations of claim 2, which consist wholly of a contingent limitation would be disclosed under the rejection of claim 1. Also see, Sections 2 and 3 aperiodic or semi-persistent).
For claim 4, R1 discloses wherein, the spatial related parameter comprises a sending beam index; or, the spatial related parameter comprises a spatial reference signal identifier used to indicate a reference signal for determining the uplink sending beam of the SRS; or, the spatial related parameter comprises a spatial reference signal index used to indicate a reference signal for determining the uplink sending beam of the SRS. (Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 5, R1 discloses wherein the determining an uplink transmission parameter of a first uplink signal according to the received SRS, comprises: when the most recently-triggered SRS resource is an aperiodic SRS resource, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS corresponding to the most recently-triggered SRS resource; or, when the most recently-triggered SRS resource set is an aperiodic SRS resource set, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS corresponding to the most recently-triggered SRS resource set; or, when the most recently-triggered SRS resource is a semi-persistent SRS resource, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS, corresponding to the most recently-triggered SRS resource and transmitted by the terminal most recently; or, when the most recently-triggered SRS resource set is a semi-persistent SRS resource set, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS, corresponding to the most recently-triggered SRS resource set and transmitted by the terminal most recently; or, when the trigger signaling comprises trigger information for triggering aperiodic SRS resources, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS corresponding to the most recently-triggered aperiodic SRS resource; or, when the trigger signaling comprises trigger information for triggering aperiodic SRS resource sets, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS corresponding to the most recently-triggered aperiodic SRS resource set; or, when the trigger signaling comprises trigger information for triggering semi-persistent SRS resources, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS, corresponding to the most recently-triggered semi-persistent SRS resource and transmitted by the terminal most recently; or, when the trigger signaling comprises trigger information for triggering semi-persistent SRS resource sets, determining the uplink transmission parameter according to an SRS, corresponding to the most recently-triggered semi-persistent SRS resource set and transmitted by the terminal most recently. (Examiner Note: Since this is a method claim, a contingent limitation is not required to be shown to disclose the claimed limitations. See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847. Therefore, the limitations of claim 9, which consist wholly of a contingent limitation would be disclosed under the rejection of claim 1. Also see, Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 6, R1 discloses wherein one or a combination of following schemes is performed: scheme I: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to the number of antenna ports of a SRS resource for determining the uplink transmission parameter; scheme II: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: when all SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets comprise the same number of antenna ports, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to the number of antenna ports; scheme III: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: when there are SRS resources comprising different numbers of antenna ports in the at least two SRS resource sets, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of antenna ports comprised in all SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets; or when there are SRS resources comprising different numbers of antenna ports in an SRS resource set corresponding to the received SRS transmitted by the terminal, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of antenna ports comprised in all SRS resources in the SRS resource set corresponding to the received SRS transmitted by the terminal; scheme IV: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: determining the SRI according to the number of SRS resources comprised in a SRS resource set for determining the uplink transmission parameter; scheme V: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: when all SRS resource sets in the at least two SRS resource sets comprise the same number of SRS resources, determining the number of coded bits of the SRI according to the number of SRS resources; scheme VI: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and before sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, the method further comprises: when there are SRS resource sets comprising different numbers of SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets, determining the number of coded bits of the SRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of SRS resources comprised in all SRS resource sets among the at least two SRS resource sets. (Examiner Note: Since this is a method claim, a contingent limitation is not required to be shown to disclose the claimed limitations. See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847. Therefore, the limitations of claim 11, which consist wholly of a contingent limitation would be disclosed under the rejection of claim 1. Also see, Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 7, R1 discloses wherein the sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal, comprises: sending first DCI carrying the uplink transmission parameter to the terminal; or, sending first RRC signaling carrying the uplink transmission parameter to the terminal; and wherein the method further comprises: sending SRS resource set indicator to the terminal through second DCI or second RRC signaling, wherein the SRS resource set indicator indicates an SRS resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission parameter, the second DCI is the same as or different from the first DCI, and the second RRC signaling is the same as or different from the first RRC signaling (Sections 2 and 3 sending the first DCI).
For claim 8, R1 discloses wherein the uplink transmission parameter comprises at least one of: Transmitted Precoding Matrix Indicator, TPMI; Transmitted Rank Indicator, TRI; SRS Resource Indicator, SRI; SRS resource set indicator; and wherein the method further comprises: determining the number of coded bits of the SRS resource set indicator according to the number of SRS resource sets, wherein the number of SRS resource sets is at least one of: the number of the at least two SRS resource sets; the number of SRS resource sets with a specific time-domain behavior type in the at least two SRS resource sets, wherein the specific time-domain behavior type is at least one of periodic, aperiodic and semi-persistent; the number of SRS resource sets corresponding to all SRSs of the configuration message; the number of SRS resource sets with a specific time-domain behavior type in SRS resource sets corresponding to all SRSs of the configuration message, wherein the specific time-domain behavior type is at least one of periodic, aperiodic and semi-persistent; the number of SRS resource sets corresponding to SRS resources with a specific time-domain behavior type among all SRS resources corresponding to all SRSs of the configuration message, wherein the specific time-domain behavior type is at least one of periodic, aperiodic and semi-persistent. (Section 2 and 3 periodic, aperiodic).
For claim 9, R1 discloses receiving a configuration message from a base station, wherein the configuration message is for configuring at least two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets for a terminal, (Sections 2 and 3 multiple SRS resource sets for UL transmission are configured), and the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Sections 2 and 3); receiving an SRS, based on the configuration message, transmitted by the terminal (Sections 2 and 3), and determining an uplink transmission parameter of a first uplink signal according to the received SRS (Sections 2 and 3); sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal and instructing the terminal to transmit the first uplink signal according to the uplink transmission parameter (Sections 2 and 3), the method further comprising: receiving a spatial related parameter from the base station, wherein the spatial related parameter indicates information for determining an uplink sending beam of the SRS, and the SRS is an SRS corresponding to SRS resources in the SRS resource sets (Sections 2 and 3); wherein one SRS resource corresponds to one spatial related parameter, or one SRS resource set corresponds to one spatial related parameter (Sections 2 and 3). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Section 2.4SRS resources sets are for ULCSIAquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to known technique in a similar device, to comply with commonly used standards increasing marketability, and design choice.
For claim 10, R1 discloses the sending an SRS based on the configuration message to the base station comprises: receiving trigger signaling from the base station (Sections 2 and 3), and sending the SRS to the base station according to the configuration message and the trigger signaling (Sections 2 and 3), wherein the trigger signaling is for triggering the terminal to send the SRS based on a configuration message of at least one SRS resource set in an aperiodic SRS resource set and/or a semi-persistent SRS resource set (Sections 2 and 3 aperiodic SRS).
For claim 12, R1 discloses the spatial related parameter comprises a sending beam index; or, the spatial related parameter comprises a spatial reference signal identifier used to indicate a reference signal for determining the uplink sending beam of the SRS; or, the spatial related parameter comprises a spatial reference signal index used to indicate a reference signal for determining the uplink sending beam of the SRS (Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 13, R1 discloses the receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, comprises: receiving first DCI carrying the uplink transmission parameter from the base station; or, receiving first RRC signaling carrying the uplink transmission parameter from the base station (Sections 2 and 3 DCI, RRC).
For claim 14, R1 discloses the receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, comprises: receiving second DCI carrying SRS resource set indicator from the base station, or receiving second RRC signaling carrying SRS resource set indicator from the base station (Sections 2 and 3); determining an SRS resource set, corresponding to the first uplink signal or the uplink transmission parameter, according to the SRS resource set indicator (Sections 2 and 3); wherein the SRS resource set indicator indicates an SRS resource set corresponding to the uplink transmission parameter (Sections 2 and 3), and the second DCI is the same as or different from the first DCI, and the second RRC signaling is the same as or different from the first RRC signaling (Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 15, R1 discloses after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: determining an SRS corresponding to the uplink transmission parameter (Sections 2 and 3); or determining the number of coded bits of the uplink transmission parameter; and decoding the uplink transmission parameter according to the number of coded bits to obtain TPMI and TRI or obtain TPMI, TRI and SRI (Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 16, R1 discloses wherein one or a combination of following schemes is performed: scheme I: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to the number of antenna ports of a SRS resource for determining the uplink transmission parameter; scheme II: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: when all SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets comprise the same number of antenna ports, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to the number of antenna ports; scheme III: the uplink transmission parameter comprises TPMI and TRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: when there are SRS resources comprising different numbers of antenna ports in the at least two SRS resource sets, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of antenna ports comprised in all SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets; or when there are SRS resources comprising different numbers of antenna ports in an SRS resource set corresponding to the SRS transmitted by the terminal, determining the number of coded bits of the TPMI and TRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of antenna ports comprised in all SRS resources in the SRS resource set corresponding to the received SRS transmitted by the terminal; scheme IV: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: determining the SRI according to the number of SRS resources comprised in a SRS resource set for determining the uplink transmission parameter; scheme V: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: when all SRS resource sets in the at least two SRS resource sets comprise the same number of SRS resources, determining the number of coded bits of the SRI according to the number of SRS resources; scheme VI: the uplink transmission parameter comprises SRI, and after receiving the uplink transmission parameter determined by the base station according to the SRS, the method further comprises: when there are SRS resource sets comprising different numbers of SRS resources in the at least two SRS resource sets, determining the number of coded bits of the SRI according to a maximum value of the numbers of SRS resources comprised in all SRS resource sets among the at least two SRS resource sets. (Examiner Note: Since this is a method claim, a contingent limitation is not required to be shown to disclose the claimed limitations. See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847. Therefore, the limitations of claim 2, which consist wholly of a contingent limitation would be disclosed under the rejection of claim 1. Also see, Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 17, R1 discloses determining precoding of the first uplink signal according to the SRS (Sections 2 and 3); sending the first uplink signal to the base station according to the determined precoding (Sections 2 and 3).
For claim 18, R1 discloses determining a transmitting antenna of the first uplink signal according to the SRS (Sections 2 and 3); sending the first uplink signal to the base station by using the determined transmitting antenna (Sections 2 and 3 antenna panel).
For claim 19, R1 does not explicitly state a memory configured to store instructions; a processor configured to read the instructions in the memory to perform the method of claim 1. However, Examiner takes Official Notice that a memory configured to store instructions; a processor configured to read the instructions in the memory to perform the method was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to a memory configured to store instructions; a processor configured to read the instructions in the memory to perform the method. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase possible implementations increasing marketability.
For claim 20, R1 discloses receive a configuration message from a base station, wherein the configuration message is for configuring at least two Sounding Reference Signal, SRS, resource sets for a terminal, (Sections 2 and 3 multiple SRS resource sets for UL transmission are configured), and the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Sections 2 and 3); receiving an SRS, based on the configuration message, transmitted by the terminal (Sections 2 and 3), and determining an uplink transmission parameter of a first uplink signal according to the received SRS (Sections 2 and 3); sending the determined uplink transmission parameter to the terminal and instructing the terminal to transmit the first uplink signal according to the uplink transmission parameter (Sections 2 and 3) wherein the processor is further configured to read the instructions in the memory to: receive a spatial related parameter from the base station, wherein the spatial related parameter indicates information for determining an uplink sending beam of the SRS, and the SRS is an SRS corresponding to SRS resources in the SRS resource sets (Sections 2 and 3); wherein one SRS resource corresponds to one spatial related parameter, or one SRS resource set corresponds to one spatial related parameter (Sections 2 and 3). Or, in the alternative, R2 discloses the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode (Section 2.4SRS resources sets are for ULCSIAquisition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the SRS resource sets are for acquiring Channel State Information, CSI, of an uplink signal in a first uplink transmission mode taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to comply with commonly used standards increasing marketability and design choice. Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of a memory configured to store instructions; a processor configured to read the instructions in the memory to perform the steps and a transceiver configured to receive and send data under control of the processor was common and well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the previous combination to use a memory configured to store instructions; a processor configured to read the instructions in the memory to perform the steps and a transceiver configured to receive and send data under control of the processor to perform the steps. The technical reasoning to combine would be to increase possible implementations increasing marketability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463