DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
In the response filed 09/18/2025, claims 1, 12, 48 and 49 were amended. Claims 13-25, 27-33, 37-38, 40, and 43-47 were canceled. Therefore, claims 1-12, 26, 34-36, 39, 41-42, and 48-49 are current pending and subject to the non-final action below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 26, 34-36, 39, 41-42, and 48-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN (US 20160357354 A1, Pub Date: Dec. 8, 2016, hereinafter “Chen”) in view of KIM (US 20120157165 A1, Pub Date: Jun. 21, 2012).
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen teaches: A method, comprising: at a computer system in communication with a display generation component and one or more sensors: (Chen – Fig. 1A, 1B, 2, 4, 6A)
displaying with the display generation component a first customizable user interface while displaying the first customizable user interface, (Chen − Fig 1A 149-6 [0096] Widget creator module 150 for making user-created widgets 149-6; [0113-0114] r created by the user (e.g., user-created widget 149-6); the widget creator module 150 are, optionally, used by a user to create widgets (e.g., turning a user-specified portion of a web page into a widget).)
detecting a sequence of one or more inputs directed to the first customizable user interface (Chen − [0195] FIGS. 5E-5H illustrate detection of a gesture that includes a press input; [0195] The gesture performed with contact 562 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 560 while cursor 576 is displayed over application icon 572B corresponding to App 2, on a displayed user interface 570 that includes application icons 572A-572D displayed in predefined region 574.) in response to detecting the sequence of one or more inputs directed to the first customizable user interface, (Chen − Fig 1A 149-6 [0096] Widget creator module 150 for making user-created widgets 149-6; [0114] optionally, used by a user to create widgets) detecting a sequence of one or more inputs directed to first user customizable user interface used for creating and configuring user-created widgets
and while the first customizable user interface is not displayed, (Chen − [0268] At block 726, optionally, after a predefined period of time following the activation of the predefined mode of operation, the device ceases to display a user interface. [0238] device 600 is disconnected from charger 610 while interface 625 is being displayed, interface 625 can optionally be dismissed (e.g., cease to be displayed).)
detecting a first event; (Chen − [0228] FIG. 6H depicts user inputs 638a, 638b, and 638c, all of which represent user inputs detected by device 600. [0230] In some embodiments, input 638b represents an acceleration input applied to device 600, such that an accelerometer of device 600 detects that the device has been accelerated. In some embodiments, input 638b is a tapping input, such as a tap or a series of taps detected by an accelerometer of device 600.)
and in response to detecting the first event: in accordance with a determination that first criteria are met as a result of the first event, (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
wherein the first criteria require that an orientation of the display generation component is a first orientation, (Chen − [0208] Both FIGS. 6A and 6B depict device 600 in a resting position, laid on its side on a surface. [0211] In some embodiments, the user interface is intended for use when a device is resting on a nightstand, such as beside a user's bed. [0212] In some embodiments, nightstand mode and its associated user interfaces can optionally be activated in response to contextual factors detected by the device. For example, in some embodiments, nightstand mode can optionally be activated automatically when a device detects that it has been placed in a certain location or a certain orientation, and/or when the device detects that it is being charged, and/or when it is a predetermined time of day.)
and that the computer system is charging, (Chen − [0212] For example, in some embodiments, nightstand mode can optionally be activated automatically when a device detects that it has been placed in a certain location or a certain orientation, and/or when the device detects that it is being charged, and/or when it is a predetermined time of day.)
and in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are not met as a result of the first event, forgoing displaying the first customizable user interface. (Chen – [0008] [0211-0212] when the required contentions are not satisfied, the predefined mode is not activated and the associated user interface is not displayed;)
Chen does not explicitly teach: selecting a category of content from a plurality of categories of content including a first category of content
However, Kim teaches: selecting a category of content to include in the first customizable user interface from a plurality of categories of content including a first category of content (Kim − [0175-0179] FIGS. 5A to 10C are diagrams for discriminating a plurality of modes according to the present invention. [0176] Referring to FIG. 5A, if a personal mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an icon (P mode) 501 corresponding to the private mode on a prescribed region of a screen (FIG. 5A(a)) [0177] Referring to FIG. 5B, the mobile terminal 100 includes a mode switching key region 510 provided to a prescribed region of the screen [0179] Referring to FIG. 5D, if the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an announcement window 531 for announcing events (e.g., email, message, call, etc.) occurring in association with the business mode or the number of the events (or, occurrence time, counterpart information, etc.) on a prescribed region of the screen (FIG. 5D(a)).)
and a second category of content after selecting the category of content to include in the first customizable user interface, (Kim − [0175-0179] [0176] If a business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an icon (B mode) 502 corresponding to the business mode on a prescribed region of a screen (FIG. 5A(b)). [0177] Referring to FIG. 5B, the mobile terminal 100 includes a mode switching key region 510 provided to a prescribed region of the screen [0178] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)). [0179] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an announcement window 532 for announcing events (e.g., email, message, call, etc.) occurring in association with the private mode or the number of the events (or, occurrence time, counterpart information, etc.) on a prescribed region of the screen (FIG. 5D(b)).) first category (private mode), second category (business mode)
in order for the first criteria to be met, and that the first category of content was selected for the first customizable user interface displaying the first customizable user interface with the first category of content; (Kim − [0175-0179] FIGS. 5A to 10C are diagrams for discriminating a plurality of modes according to the present invention. [0176] Referring to FIG. 5A, if a personal mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an icon (P mode) 501 corresponding to the private mode on a prescribed region of a screen (FIG. 5A(a)) [0177] Referring to FIG. 5B, the mobile terminal 100 includes a mode switching key region 510 provided to a prescribed region of the screen [0179] Referring to FIG. 5D, if the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an announcement window 531 for announcing events (e.g., email, message, call, etc.) occurring in association with the business mode or the number of the events (or, occurrence time, counterpart information, etc.) on a prescribed region of the screen (FIG. 5D(a)).) selection for the first category of content (private mode) and display content (email, message, call) associate with private mode
in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met as a result of the first event and that the second category of content was selected for the first customizable user interface, (Kim − [0175-0179] [0176] If a business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an icon (B mode) 502 corresponding to the business mode on a prescribed region of a screen (FIG. 5A(b)). [0177] Referring to FIG. 5B, the mobile terminal 100 includes a mode switching key region 510 provided to a prescribed region of the screen [0178] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)). [0179] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an announcement window 532 for announcing events (e.g., email, message, call, etc.) occurring in association with the private mode or the number of the events (or, occurrence time, counterpart information, etc.) on a prescribed region of the screen (FIG. 5D(b)).)
displaying the first customizable user interface with the second category of content that is different from the first category of content (Kim − [0178] If the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the private mode zone (P) 521 (FIG. 5C(a)). If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)).) displaying content associated with the selected mode; when private mode is active, private mode content displayed, and when business mode is active, business mode content displayed
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to incorporate Kim’s mode-based content selection technique with Chen’s customizable user interface since Kim’s teaches selecting different categories of content to be displayed with a user interface. Applying Kim’s known category-selection techniques to Chen’s customizable user interface would have predictably enable different user-selected categories to be displayed when Chen’s interface is activated based on charging and orientation conditions.
Regarding dependent claim 2, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein the first event includes an event that corresponds to at least one of a change in the orientation of the display generation component and/or a change in a charging state of the computer system, and wherein the determination that the first criteria are not met as a result of the first event includes one or more of a determination that the orientation of the display generation component is not the first orientation and that the computer system is charging; a determination that the orientation of the display generation component is the first orientation and that the computer system is not charging; and/or a determination that the orientation of the display generation component is not the first orientation and that the computer system is not charging. (Chen − [0008] [0178] If the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the private mode zone (P) 521 (FIG. 5C(a)). If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)). [0208] Both FIGS. 6A and 6B depict device 600 in a resting position, laid on its side on a surface. [0211] In some embodiments, the user interface is intended for use when a device is resting on a nightstand, such as beside a user's bed. [0212] In some embodiments, nightstand mode and its associated user interfaces can optionally be activated in response to contextual factors detected by the device. For example, in some embodiments, nightstand mode can optionally be activated automatically when a device detects that it has been placed in a certain location or a certain orientation, and/or when the device detects that it is being charged, and/or when it is a predetermined time of day.)
Regarding dependent claim 3, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein detecting the first event includes detecting that a respective set of conditions for the computer system to transition into a restricted mode has been met while the orientation of the display generation component is in the first orientation and the computer system is charging, and wherein the first criteria are met as a result of the first event. (Chen − [0008] [0065] Device 100 also includes power system 162 for powering the various components. Power system 162 optionally includes a power management system, [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
Regarding dependent claim 4, depends on claim 3, Chen teaches: wherein the restricted mode includes a low-power mode. (Chen − [0259] just some examples of modes of operation can optionally include low-power or battery-saving mode,)
Regarding dependent claim 5, depends on claim 3, Chen teaches: wherein the restricted mode includes a locked mode. (Chen − [0057] A quick press of the push button optionally disengages a lock of touch screen 112; [0150] Push button 206 is, optionally, used to turn the power on/off on the device by depressing the button and holding the button in the depressed state for a predefined time interval; to lock the device by depressing the button and releasing the button before the predefined time interval has elapsed;)
Regarding dependent claim 6, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein detecting the first event includes detecting that the orientation of the display generation component is in the first orientation and the computer system is charging as a result of the first event, while the computer system is operating in a restricted mode. (Chen − [0008] [0065] Device 100 also includes power system 162 for powering the various components. Power system 162 optionally includes a power management system, [0211-0212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation. [0213] FIG. 6C depicts exemplary user interface 613 of device 600 (strap 608 is not pictured), displayed on display 602. User interface 613, in some embodiments, is a user interface of a nightstand mode of device 600. In some embodiments, user interface 613 can optionally be automatically displayed when device 600 detects that it is oriented in a predefined orientation and that its battery is being charged. For example, device 600 can optionally detect that it is oriented in the manner depicted in FIGS. 6A and 6B, laid on its side in a substantially horizontal position with charger 610 attached to the back face of the device, and device 600 can optionally responsively display interface 613.)
Regarding dependent claim 7, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein the determination that the first criteria are not met as a result of the first event includes (Chen – [0008] [0211-0212] when the required contentions are not satisfied, the predefined mode is not activated and the associated user interface is not displayed;)
Chen does not explicitly teach computer system was in a vehicle
However, Kim teaches: a determination that the computer system was in a vehicle at a time that the first event occurred. (Kim – [0005] The mobile terminals can be classified into handheld terminals and vehicle mount terminals again according to possibility of user's direct portability.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to incorporate Kim’s mode-based content selection technique with Chen’s customizable user interface since Kim’s teaches selecting different categories of content to be displayed with a user interface. Applying Kim’s known category-selection techniques to Chen’s customizable user interface would have predictably enable different user-selected categories to be displayed when Chen’s interface is activated based on charging and orientation conditions.
Regarding dependent claim 8, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein the determination that the first criteria are not met as a result of the first event includes a determination that the computer system was moved by more than a threshold amount of movement within a unit of time at a time that the first event occurred. (Chen − [0178] If the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the private mode zone (P) 521 (FIG. 5C(a)). If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)). [0228] FIG. 6H depicts user inputs 638a, 638b, and 638c, all of which represent user inputs detected by device 600. [0230] In some embodiments, input 638b represents an acceleration input applied to device 600, such that an accelerometer of device 600 detects that the device has been accelerated. In some embodiments, input 638b is a tapping input, such as a tap or a series of taps detected by an accelerometer of device 600.)
Regarding dependent claim 9, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein the determination that the first criteria are not met as a result of the first event includes a determination that the computer system is in communication with a vehicle (Chen − [0178] If the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the private mode zone (P) 521 (FIG. 5C(a)). If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)).)
Chen does not explicitly teach computer system was in a vehicle
However, Kim teaches: a determination that the computer system is in communication with a vehicle(Kim – [0005] The mobile terminals can be classified into handheld terminals and vehicle mount terminals again according to possibility of user's direct portability.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to incorporate Kim’s mode-based content selection technique with Chen’s customizable user interface since Kim’s teaches selecting different categories of content to be displayed with a user interface. Applying Kim’s known category-selection techniques to Chen’s customizable user interface would have predictably enable different user-selected categories to be displayed when Chen’s interface is activated based on charging and orientation conditions.
Regarding dependent claim 10, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: wherein displaying the first customizable user interface includes: in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met as a result of the first event and that a first set of contextual conditions are met, displaying the first customizable user interface including first content; (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
and in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met as a result of the first event and that a second set of contextual conditions, (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
Chen does not explicitly teach different from the first set of contextual conditions are
However, Kim teaches: different from the first set of contextual conditions are met, displaying the first customizable user interface including second content, different from the first content. (Kim − [0178] If the private mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the private mode zone (P) 521 (FIG. 5C(a)). If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to incorporate Kim’s mode-based content selection technique with Chen’s customizable user interface since Kim’s teaches selecting different categories of content to be displayed with a user interface. Applying Kim’s known category-selection techniques to Chen’s customizable user interface would have predictably enable different user-selected categories to be displayed when Chen’s interface is activated based on charging and orientation conditions.
Regarding dependent claim 11, depends on claim 10, Chen teaches: wherein the first set of contextual conditions includes a first condition that the computer system is charging via a first charging source, and the second set of contextual conditions include a second condition that the computer system is charging via a second charging source, different from the first charging source. (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] teaches charging-based activation conditions; it would be obvious to distinguish among different charging sources and provide different content depending upon the charging sources because charging source identification was known to provide context-sensitive functionality.)
Regarding dependent claim 26, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: while displaying the first customizable user interface, (Chen − Fig 1A 149-6 [0096] Widget creator module 150 for making user-created widgets 149-6; [0113-0114] r created by the user (e.g., user-created widget 149-6); the widget creator module 150 are, optionally, used by a user to create widgets (e.g., turning a user-specified portion of a web page into a widget).)detecting a first user input; (Chen − [0228] FIG. 6H depicts user inputs 638a, 638b, and 638c, all of which represent user inputs detected by device 600. [0230] In some embodiments, input 638b represents an acceleration input applied to device 600, such that an accelerometer of device 600 detects that the device has been accelerated. In some embodiments, input 638b is a tapping input, such as a tap or a series of taps detected by an accelerometer of device 600.) and in response to detecting the first user input, in accordance with a determination that the first user input meets dismissal criteria, ceasing to display the first customizable user interface. (Chen − [0268] At block 726, optionally, after a predefined period of time following the activation of the predefined mode of operation, the device ceases to display a user interface. [0238] device 600 is disconnected from charger 610 while interface 625 is being displayed, interface 625 can optionally be dismissed (e.g., cease to be displayed).)
Regarding dependent claim 34, depends on claim 1, Chen does not explicitly teach: user input meets content switching criteria
Kim teaches: while displaying the first customizable user interface, detecting, via one or more sensors of the computer system, a second user input; and in response to detecting the second user input, in accordance with a determination that the second user input meets content switching criteria, switching content displayed in the first customizable user interface from a first type of content to a second type of content, different from the first type of content. (Kim − [0175-0179] [0176] If a business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an icon (B mode) 502 corresponding to the business mode on a prescribed region of a screen (FIG. 5A(b)). [0177] Referring to FIG. 5B, the mobile terminal 100 includes a mode switching key region 510 provided to a prescribed region of the screen [0178] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can discriminatively display the business mode zone (B) 522 (FIG. 5C(b)). [0179] If the business mode is currently activated, the mobile terminal 100 can display an announcement window 532 for announcing events (e.g., email, message, call, etc.) occurring in association with the private mode or the number of the events (or, occurrence time, counterpart information, etc.) on a prescribed region of the screen (FIG. 5D(b)).)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to incorporate Kim’s mode-based content selection technique with Chen’s customizable user interface since Kim’s teaches selecting different categories of content to be displayed with a user interface. Applying Kim’s known category-selection techniques to Chen’s customizable user interface would have predictably enable different user-selected categories to be displayed when Chen’s interface is activated based on charging and orientation conditions.
Regarding dependent claim 35, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: while displaying the first customizable user interface, detecting occurrence of a second event; in response to detecting the second event: in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are no longer met, ceasing to display the first customizable user interface and redisplaying a previous user interface that was displayed when the first event was detected, irrespective of which content of multiple different contents of the first customizable user interface was displayed when the second event was detected. (Chen − [0268] At block 726, optionally, after a predefined period of time following the activation of the predefined mode of operation, the device ceases to display a user interface. [0238] device 600 is disconnected from charger 610 while interface 625 is being displayed, interface 625 can optionally be dismissed (e.g., cease to be displayed).)
Regarding dependent claim 36, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: including: in accordance with a determination that the computer system is charging, displaying a battery indicator to indicate that the computer system is charging. (Chen − [0214] User interface 613 includes charging indicator 616, which is an icon in the shape of a lightning bolt accompanied by a numeric indication of the percentage change of the battery (in the displayed example, 83%).)
Regarding dependent claim 39, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: in response to detecting the first event: in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met as a result of the first event and that the computer system was displaying a respective user interface object of a first type at a time of detecting the first event, wherein the respective user interface object of the first type corresponds to a respective application and displays status information that is updated over time without requiring display of the respective application, displaying the respective user interface object of the first type with an updated appearance. (Chen − [0210-0212] [0189] As used in the specification and claims, the term “characteristic intensity” of a contact refers to a characteristic of the contact based on one or more intensities of the contact. In some embodiments, the characteristic intensity is based on multiple intensity samples. The characteristic intensity is, optionally, based on a predefined number of intensity samples, or a set of intensity samples collected during a predetermined time period (e.g., 0.05, 0.1, 0.2, 0.5, 1, 2, 5, 10 seconds) relative to a predefined event (e.g., after detecting the contact, prior to detecting liftoff of the contact, before or after detecting a start of movement of the contact, prior to detecting an end of the contact, before or after detecting an increase in intensity of the contact, and/or before or after detecting a decrease in intensity of the contact).)
Regarding dependent claim 41, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: prior to detecting the first event, detecting a third event; and in response to detecting the third event: in accordance with a determination that the first criteria are met as a result of the third event (Chen − [0228] FIG. 6H depicts user inputs 638a, 638b, and 638c, all of which represent user inputs detected by device 600. [0230] In some embodiments, input 638b represents an acceleration input applied to device 600, such that an accelerometer of device 600 detects that the device has been accelerated. In some embodiments, input 638b is a tapping input, such as a tap or a series of taps detected by an accelerometer of device 600.) and that the first customizable user interface was not previously displayed at the computer system, displaying a description of the first customizable user interface. (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
Regarding dependent claim 42, depends on claim 1, Chen teaches: prior displaying a first settings user interface for configuring the first customizable user interface; while displaying the first settings user interface for configurating the first customizable user interface, detecting one or more user inputs that correspond to requests to change one or more configurable aspects of the first customizable user interface; (Chen − [0195] FIGS. 5E-5H illustrate detection of a gesture that includes a press input; [0195] The gesture performed with contact 562 is detected on touch-sensitive surface 560 while cursor 576 is displayed over application icon 572B corresponding to App 2, on a displayed user interface 570 that includes application icons 572A-572D displayed in predefined region 574.) in response to detecting the sequence of one or more inputs directed to the first customizable user interface, (Chen − Fig 1A 149-6 [0096] Widget creator module 150 for making user-created widgets 149-6; [0114] optionally, used by a user to create widgets) and in response to detecting the one or more user inputs that correspond to requests to change one or more configurable aspects of the first customizable user interface, updating the one or more configurable aspects of the first customizable user interface in accordance with the one or more user inputs. (Chen − [0008] [0211-212] In accordance with some embodiments, a method is performed at an electronic device with a display, a battery, and one or more processors, the method comprising: detecting that the battery is being charged; detecting that the device is oriented in a predefined orientation; and in accordance with the detection that the battery is being charged and the detection that the device is oriented in the predefined orientation, activating a predefined mode of operation.)
Regarding independent claim 48, is directed to a system. Claim 48 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1 and claim 48 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding independent claim 49, is directed to a computer readable storage medium. Claim 49 have similar/same technical features/limitations as claim 1 and claim 48 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Kim as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frossen (US 20110234152 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 12, depends on claim 10, Chen teaches: receiving one or more power transfer signals from a charging source; (Chen − [0207] In some embodiments, device 600 includes charger 610 (as shown in FIG. 6B). In some embodiments, charger 610 can optionally be considered part of device 600, while in some embodiments charger 610 can optionally be considered to be an external element to which device 600 attaches or is otherwise in electrical communication or electromagnetic communication with. Charger 610 can optionally be any element capable of transmitting electricity (e.g., direct current or alternating current) from source of electricity to a charging interface of device 600 or to a battery of device 600, or can optionally be any element capable of creating an electromagnetic field configured to transfer energy (e.g., by inductive charging) to device 600 or to a battery of device 600)
before displaying the first customizable user interface. (Chen − [0268] At block 726, optionally, after a predefined period of time following the activation of the predefined mode of operation, the device ceases to display a user interface. [0238] device 600 is disconnected from charger 610 while interface 625 is being displayed, interface 625 can optionally be dismissed (e.g., cease to be displayed).)
Chen does not explicitly teach: obtaining a respective identifier of the charging source
However, Frossen teaches: obtaining a respective identifier of the charging source from at least one of the one or more power transfer signals that were received from the charging source; and determining whether the respective identifier of the charging source that is obtained from the one or more power transfer signals corresponds to a first identifier of the first charging source or a second identifier of the second charging source, (Frossen − [0041-0043] In an example embodiment, an apparatus receives charger attribute information 303 from a charger. Charger attribute information 303 may relate to charger type information, identification information, interaction mode information associated with the charger, location information, at least one environmental information, and/or the like. Identification information may relate to charger identification, charger type information, and/or the like. Charger identification information may relate to a unique identifier that the apparatus may associate with the charger. Charger type information may relate to media playing capability, video capability, a desktop charger type, a car charger type, and/or the like)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to modify the charging source of Chen and Kim to utilized Frossen’s charger identification technique so that first charger or second charger displaying the appropriate customizable user interface content. Such modification would have predictably improved the accuracy and reliability of charging source specific content selection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Os US 10521107 B2, different modes of operations.
/CARL E BARNES JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178