DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on December 18, 2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “spring” of Claim 5, “slide system or ratchet system” of claim 7, and “notches and recesses” of Claim 8 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the word “is” in line 6 should be changed to “are”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially contracted state” in claims 1 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially contracted” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, the term “substantially contracted” will be regarded as any positioning less than fully expanded.
Regarding Claim 21, it is unclear what is meant by “omega-shaped” in reference to the biasing element. In the specification, the “omega-shaped” refers to a curved spring, however, a spring element is not shown in the drawings as described above and therefore this description does not lend clarity to the claim. For the purpose of examination, any open-curved element will be considered “omega-shaped.”
All Claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MAHABOB (US 2024/0390108 A1, hereinafter “Mahabob”).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15 -17, and 21, Mahabob discloses a retractor (abstract) comprising a controlling handle portion (Figure 1, portion below fastener 7) comprising an omega shaped biasing element (handles 9 and 10 in combination with spring 5), a first elongated gripping member (elongated member extending from element 9), and a second elongated gripping member (other elongated member extending from element 10), where each elongated gripping member extends monolithically from or is attached to the omega shaped biasing element (as seen in Figure 1). Mahabob further discloses a soft tissue retracting portion (Figure 1 above fastener 7) comprising a first arm (arm extending from member 9) and a second arm (arm extending from member 10), where each arm has a proximal section comprising elongated extension members that extend from or are attached to one of the elongated gripping members of the controlling handle portion (as seen in Figure 1, the arms extend from the elongated gripping members) and a distal section comprising a first soft tissue retracting member (2) and a second soft tissue retracting member (4) that is configured to contact and retract tissue (as seen in Figure 1), where the controlling handle portion and the soft tissue retracting portion are configured such that the soft tissue retracting members are positioned in a substantially contracted state in relation to each other by a biasing force of the biasing element when the retractor is not in use but expandable in angular relation to each other when the first and second elongated gripping members are pressed towards each other (as described in [0024]). Mahabob further discloses that the first soft tissue retracting member is longer than the second soft tissue retracting member (Figure 1 where 2 is longer than 4), that the first soft tissue retracting member includes a buccal shelf contour, a retromolar pad contour, and a labial vestibule extension (arm 2 is capable of retracting and contacting the buccal shelf, retromolar pad, and labial vestibule extension – please note: as no structure has been assigned to these elements, and portion of arm 2 can be assigned as the contours and extensions as claimed), and that the second soft tissue retracting member includes a glossal hood, a retromylohyoid fossas extension, and a lingual vestibule extension (arm 4 is capable of retracting and contacting the glossal hood, retromylohyoid fossa, and lingual vestibule - please note: as no structure has been assigned to these elements, and portion of arm 4 can be assigned as the contours and extensions as claimed).
Regarding Claim 3, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the biasing element has a curved shape (as seen in Figure 1, elements 9 and 10 are curved).
Regarding Claim 5, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the biasing element is in a form of a spring (5, where spring is considered part of the biasing elements).
Regarding Claim 6, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses finger pads or rests on both elongated gripping members (as the fingers are able to rest on the elongated gripping members, they can be considered finger rests).
Regarding Claim 7, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the elongated extension members are provided with a slide system or ratchet system for locking the elongated gripping members in place (serrated lock 6 provides elongated extension members with a system for locking by locking the elongated gripping members in place).
Regarding Claim 8, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the elongated extension members are provided with notches and recesses for locking the elongated gripping members at a selected angle (notches and recesses in 6 lock the elongated gripping members at a selected angle).
Regarding Claim 9, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the elongated extension members or the soft tissue retracting members are provided with protrusions or tabs to act as stops against the biasing force exerted by the biasing element (tabs from elongated extension members that unite at element 7 would act as a stop when fastener is tightened).
Regarding Claim 10, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the soft tissue retracting members has a range of expandable angular displacement of about 10 to about 110 degrees (as seen in Figure 1, when expanded, the retracting members would have an angular displacement within this range).
Regarding Claim 11, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the retractor is in a form of a unitary structure (as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the retractor is manufactured from metals or polymeric materials ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 13, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that the retractor is autoclavable ([0027]).
Regarding Claim 14, Mahabob discloses the retractor according to claim 1, and further discloses that at least the soft tissue retracting member is disposable (as any tool can be thrown away, it is disposable).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahabob in view of Smith et al. (US 2023/0157532 A1, hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding Claim 2, Mahabob discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose that the extension members intersect in an overlaid, scissor configuration. In the similar art of medical retractors, Smith discloses a biased retractor with an intersection of extension members (Figure 2, 18a and 18b) in an overlaid, scissor configuration (at 13a and 13b, extension members 18a and 18b are seen overlaid upon each other). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the intersection of the extension members of Smith with an overlaid structure as taught by Smith in order to provide a secure connection that would be stable to lateral forces.
Regarding Claim 4, Mahabob in view of Smith discloses the invention of Claim 2, and Mahabob further discloses that the biasing element has a generally arch-or C-shape (Figure 1).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772