DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 06, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Black (US 2015/0373450 A1).
As to claim 1, Black discloses a broadcast system [FIG. 1]], comprising:
a first communication unit [Device 12 on FIG. 1] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1];
a second communication unit [Device 16a on FIG. 1] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1];
a third communication unit [Device 16b on FIG. 1] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1];
a plurality of receiver units [FIG. 1], each receiver unit including a speaker [34 on FIG 1];
a central transceiver unit [Communication device 12 on FIG. 1] including at least one transceiver [20 on FIG. 1], the central transceiver unit configured to receive communications from the first communication unit, the second communication unit, and the third communication unit [“The main transceiver receives incoming communication from, the wireless communication devices.” Paragraph 0104]; and
a central transmitter unit [36 on FIG. 1], separate from the central transceiver unit, the central transmitter unit operatively coupled to the central transceiver unit, the central transmitter unit configured to receive communications from the central transceiver unit and to transmit communications to the plurality of receiver units [“The transmitter enables the team member to send outgoing communication to the main transceiver.” Paragraph 0109].
As to claim 2, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the first communication unit microphone is in an always-on configuration [“The microphone is always-on when the headset is in use.” Paragraph 0169].
As to claim 3, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of receiver units are disposed within helmets [“The headgear worn by the team member is an helmet.” Paragraph 0101].
As to claim 4, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of receiver units comprise a first subset of receiver units and a second subset of receiver units, the first subset of receiver units keyed to receive communications from the first communication unit and the second communication unit, and the second subset of receiver units keyed to receive communications from the first communication unit and the third communication unit [“The group routing controller include one or more selection actuators (key) for selectively transmitting to a particular wireless communication device.” Paragraph 0124].
As to claim 5, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, further comprising: a fourth communication unit [FIG. 4C] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1]
a fifth communication unit including [FIG. 4C] a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1], wherein the second communication unit and the fourth communication unit communicate on a first channel, and wherein the third communication unit and the fifth communication unit communicate on a second channel [“The group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub groups.” Paragraph 0201].
As to claim 6, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 5, wherein the second communication unit and the third communication unit each include a selector to activate the second communication unit microphone and the third communication unit microphone, respectively, in order to communicate with the fourth communication unit and the fifth communication unit, respectively [“The group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub groups.” Paragraph 201].
As to claim 7, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 6, wherein the plurality of receiver units comprise a first subset of receiver units and a second subset of receiver units, wherein the second communication includes a second selector to concurrently communicate with the fourth communication unit and the first subset of receiver units, and wherein the third communication unit includes a third selector to concurrently communicate with the fifth communication unit and the second subset of receiver units [“The sub-group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub receiver.” Paragraph 0201].
As to claim 8, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 5, wherein the first communication unit includes a switch [Selection actuator] to selectively communicate on either the first channel or the second channel [“The group controller includes a selection actuator.” Paragraph 0124].
As to claim 9, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the central transceiver unit is disposed in a portable housing [“The group routing controller is worn on a team leader’s arm.” Paragraph 0131].
As to claim 10, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein communications from the first communication unit pass through the central transceiver before being communicated to any of the second communication unit, the third communication unit, or the plurality of receiver units [“The communication devices are capable of transmitting oral messages to other wireless communication devices.” Paragraphs 0123-0124].
As to claim 11, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 10, wherein the first communication system communicates wirelessly with the central transceiver [“The communication devices are capable of transmitting oral messages to other wireless communication devices.” Paragraph 0131].
As to claim 12, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 10, wherein communications to and from the central transceiver are encrypted [“The group routing controller instructs the main transceiver to encrypt the outgoing oral messages.” Paragraphs 0108 and 0125].
As to claim 13, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the central transmitter unit is a portable housing that includes at least one monitor loopback module, at least one interface module, at least one transmitter, and a power supply [“The group routing controller is worn on a team leader’s arm.” Paragraphs 0112, 0124-0125 and 0131].
As to claim 14, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 13, wherein the plurality of receiver units comprises a first subset of receiver units and a second subset of receiver units, wherein the at least one transmitter comprises a first transmitter and a second transmitter, wherein the first transmitter is configured to communicate with the first subset of receiver units, and wherein the second transmitter is configured to communicate with the second subset of receiver units [“The communication devices are capable of transmitting oral messages to other wireless communication devices.” Paragraphs 0123-0126].
As to claim 15, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 13, where the at least one transmitter includes a battery, and wherein the battery is electrically coupled to the power supply [“The helmet includes a recharge port for providing power to the headset battery.” Paragraph 0175].
As to claim 16, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the central transceiver unit is configured to communicate with a television broadcast system [“The controller communicates with an external broadcasting system such as a television broadcasting system.” Paragraph 0205].
As to claim 17, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 16, wherein communications from at least one of the first communication unit, the second communication unit, or the third communication unit are communicated to the television broadcast system to be included as part of a television broadcast [“The wireless communication system includes one or more scanner to detect nearby team member to communicate with them thru the television broadcastings.” Paragraphs 0150 and 0205].
As to claim 18, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of receiver units includes a first subset of receiver units and a second subset of receiver units, and wherein the second communication unit includes a selector to selectively communicate with either the first subset or the second subset of receiver units [“The sub-group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub receiver.” Paragraph 0201].
As to claim 19, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 1, wherein communications into the transceiver unit and communications out of the transmitter unit are encrypted [“The transmitter enables the team member to send outgoing communication to the main transceiver. The communication messages are encrypted.” Paragraph 0109].
As to claim 21, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 16, further comprising an additional transceiver unit communicatively disposed between the central transceiver unit and the television broadcast system [“The wireless communication system includes one or more scanner to detect nearby team member to communicate with them thru the television broadcastings.” Paragraphs 0150 and 0205].
As to claim 22, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 21, further comprising a second central transceiver unit, wherein the central transceiver unit is associated with a first team, wherein the second central transceiver is associated with a second, separate team, and wherein the additional transceiver unit is configured to receive communications from both the central transceiver unit and the second central transceiver unit [“The transmitter enables the team member to send outgoing communication to the main transceiver. The communication messages are encrypted.” Paragraph 0109].
As to claim 23, Black discloses a broadcast system [FIG. 1], comprising:
a first communication unit [Device 12 on FIG. 1] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1];
a second communication unit [Device 16a on FIG. 1] including a microphone [38 on FIG. 1], a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], and a radio transceiver [20 on FIG.1];
a plurality of receiver units [FIG. 4A], each receiver unit including a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], wherein the plurality of receiver units includes at least a first receiving unit [Coach on FIG. 4A] including a receiver [20 on FIG. 1] configured to receive communications from at least one of the first communication unit or the second communication unit on a first channel and a second channel, and wherein the plurality of receiver units includes at least a second receiving unit including a second receiver configured to receive communications from at least one of the first communication unit [“The main transceiver receives incoming communication from the wireless communication devices. The examiner chooses the first limitation since it is a simple or.” Paragraph 0104];
a central transceiver unit [Communication device 12 on FIG. 1] including at least one transceiver [20 on FIG. 1], the central transceiver unit configured to receive communications from at least one of the first communication unit and the second communication unit [“The main transceiver receives incoming communication from the wireless communication devices.” Paragraph 0104]; and
a central transmitter unit [36 on FIG. 1], separate from the central transceiver unit, the central transmitter unit operatively coupled to the central transceiver unit, the central transmitter unit configured to receive communications from the central transceiver unit and to transmit communications to the plurality of receiver units [“The transmitter enables the team member to send outgoing communication to the main transceiver.” Paragraph 0109].
As to claim 24, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 23, further comprising a second plurality of receiver units, each receiver unit including a speaker [34 on FIG. 1], wherein the second plurality of receiver units includes at least a third receiving unit including a receiver [20 on FIG. 1] configured to receive communications from at least one of the first communication unit [“The group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub groups. The examiner chooses the first limitation since it is a simple or.” Paragraph 0201].
As to claim 25, Black discloses the broadcast system of claim 24, wherein the second plurality of receiver units includes at least a fourth receiving unit including a receiver [20 on FIG. 1] configured to receive communications from at least one of the first communication unit [“The group channel includes the first and the second channel for communication via the routing from four to six sub groups. The examiner chooses the first limitation since it is a simple or.” Paragraph 0201].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
For example: Petno (US 2012/0166555 A1) discloses a method of communicating information related to sporting event information can include the steps of accessing a website, entering sporting event information into the website, and broadcasting the first sporting event information via a plurality of emails.
/GERALD GAUTHIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692 January 7, 2026
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692