DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed May 6, 2024, fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. No English translation of the Written Opinion NPL has been provided. The JP language document has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on May 7, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20200381336 to Otsubo et al. (hereinafter Otsubo).
Claim 1
Otsubo (FIG. 1-3) discloses a high frequency module comprising:
a mounting board (2, paragraph 57) that has a first main surface (20a) opposite to a second main surface (20b);
a power amplifier (3b, paragraph 59) that is disposed on a main surface of either the first main surface (20a) or the second main surface (20b) of the mounting board (2);
an electronic component (3a, paragraph 59) that is disposed on the main surface of the mounting board (2) on which the power amplifier (3b) is disposed; and
a resin layer (4, paragraph 57) that is disposed at least between the power amplifier (3b) and the electronic component (3a) in a plan view from a thickness direction of the mounting board (2), wherein
the power amplifier (3b) has a third main surface opposite to a fourth main surface in the thickness direction of the mounting board (2),
the fourth main surface of the power amplifier (3b) is provided between the third main surface of the power amplifier (3b) and the main surface of the mounting board (2) on which the power amplifier (3b) is disposed,
a groove portion (13) is formed at least between the power amplifier (3b) and the electronic component (3a), in the resin layer (4), and
the groove portion (13) includes a bottom portion positioned between the third main surface of the power amplifier (3b) and the main surface of the mounting board (2) when the mounting board (2) is viewed from a direction orthogonal to the thickness direction of the mounting board (2)(FIG. 3).
Claim 2
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
a length of the groove portion (13) is longer than a length of the power amplifier (3b) along a direction in which the groove portion (13) extends, in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2)(FIG. 2, paragraph 66: groove along edge of recess 11).
Claim 7
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
a diameter of the bottom portion of the groove portion (13) is smaller than a diameter of an opening surface of the groove portion (13)(FIG. 3).
Claim 12
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
the resin layer (4) is provided to cover the electronic component (3a),
the high frequency module further comprises an electronic component side shield portion (5, paragraph 61) that covers at least a part of the resin layer (4),
the electronic component side shield portion (5) has at least an electronic component side first shield surface (above 3a) and an electronic component side second shield surface (in 13),
the electronic component side first shield surface (above 3a) overlaps the electronic component (3a) in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2), and
the electronic component side second shield surface covers (in 13), among a first side wall and a second side wall of the resin layer (4) that faces the first side wall in a direction in which the power amplifier (3b) and the electronic component (3a) are arranged and that form the groove portion (13), the second side wall that is closer to the electronic component (3a) than the first side wall (as shown in FIG. 3).
Claim 15
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
the mounting board (2) includes a first ground terminal and a second ground terminal that are connected to a ground (paragraph 58, 61),
the first ground terminal (connections 9 at bottom of 3b) is connected to the power amplifier (3b), and
a path, which connects the first ground terminal and the power amplifier (3b), does not overlap the groove portion (13) in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2)(FIG. 3).
Claim 16
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 15, wherein
the second ground terminal (connections 9 at bottom of 3a) is connected to the electronic component (3a), and
a path, which connects the second ground terminal and the electronic component (3a), does not overlap the groove portion (13) in the plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2)(FIG. 3).
Claim 17
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
the electronic component (3a) is a transmission electronic component (3a) related to transmission of a transmission signal (paragraph 57).
Claim 18
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
the electronic component (3a) is a reception electronic component (3a) related to reception of a reception signal (paragraph 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo.
Claim 3
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, wherein
the high frequency module further comprises a power amplifier side shield portion (5, paragraph 61) that covers at least a part of the resin layer (4),
the power amplifier side shield portion (5) has at least a power amplifier side first shield surface (upper) and a power amplifier side second shield surface (in 13),
the power amplifier side first shield surface (upper) overlaps the power amplifier (3b) in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (2), and
the power amplifier side second shield (in 13) surface covers, among a first side wall and a second side wall of the resin layer (4) that faces the first side wall in a direction in which the power amplifier (3b) and the electronic component (3a) are arranged and that form the groove portion (13), the first side wall that is closer to the power amplifier (3b) than the second wall (as shown in FIG. 3).
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 the resin layer is provided to cover the power amplifier.
Otsubo does, however, teach that the resin may cover the power amplifier (paragraph 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cover the power amplifier with the resin layer as taught by Otsubo in the arrangement disclosed in FIG. 3, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification allows for less precision required in forming the resin layer to ensure the top portion of the power amplifier is evenly exposed. Additionally, additional resin provides a greater thermal mass and allows for additional protection and shielding of the power amplifier while avoiding thermal mismatch around the power amplifier to avoid crack formation.
Claim 4
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 3, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 a connection part between the power amplifier side first shield surface and the power amplifier side second shield surface is formed in an R shape (a radius), as recited in claim 4.
Such a claimed arrangement, however, is a mere design choice, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as such a rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144 VI.C. citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally, rounding corners of elements is a routine design expedient to avoid stress concentration.
Claim 5
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 3, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 a thickness of the power amplifier side second shield surface is smaller than a thickness of the power amplifier side first shield surface, as recited in claim 5.
Such a claimed arrangement, however, is a mere design choice, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as such a rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144 VI.C. citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 6
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 the bottom portion of the groove portion is positioned between the fourth main surface of the power amplifier and the main surface of the mounting board when the mounting board is viewed from the direction orthogonal to the thickness direction of the mounting board (see FIG. 3 in at least the groove appears to be at the same level of the bottom surface of the power amplifier).
Such a claimed arrangement, however, is a mere design choice, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as such a rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144 VI.C. citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claim 13
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 12, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 a connection part between the electronic component side first shield surface and the electronic component side second shield surface is formed in an R shape (a radius), as recited in claim 13.
Such a claimed arrangement, however, is a mere design choice, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as such a rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144 VI.C. citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Additionally, rounding corners of elements is a routine design expedient to avoid stress concentration.
Claim 19
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose in FIG. 3 among a first side wall and a second side wall of the resin layer that faces the first side wall in a direction in which the power amplifier and the electronic component are arranged and that form the groove portion, a thickness of the first side wall that is closer to the power amplifier is smaller than a thickness of the second side wall that is closer to the electronic component among the first side wall and the second side wall, as recited in claim 19.
Such a claimed arrangement, however, is a mere design choice, obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, as such a rearrangement would not have modified the operation of the device. See MPEP 2144 VI.C. citing In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of US 2020/0020645 to Nakajima.
Claim 9
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose a second power amplifier, which is different from a first power amplifier, as the power amplifier, wherein the second power amplifier is disposed on the main surface of the mounting board on which the first power amplifier is disposed and is disposed on a side of the first power amplifier with respect to the groove portion, as recited in claim 9.
Nakajima (FIG. 2a) teaches a second power amplifier (32, paragraph 37), which is different from a first power amplifier (31), as the power amplifier, wherein the second power amplifier (32) is disposed on a main surface of a mounting board (20) on which the first power amplifier (31) is disposed and is disposed on a side of the first power amplifier with respect to the groove portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Nakajima with Otsubo to incorporate an additional power amplifier separated from a first power amplifier as taught by Nakajima in the module of Otsubo, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification allows for separating high power amplified signals from low noise amplified signals while shielding sensitive components from the heat generated by both.
Claim 10
Otsubo with Nakajima teaches the high frequency module according to claim 9, wherein
the resin layer (Otsubo 4, Nakajima 50) is provided to cover the first power amplifier (Nakajima 31) and the second power amplifier (32; see FIG. 2B), and a second groove portion (as above regarding claim 1), which is different from a first groove portion, is provided between the first power amplifier and the second power amplifier in the resin layer as the groove portion (as taught by Otsubo in view of Nakajima), in a plan view from the thickness direction of the mounting board (see Nakajima FIG. 2A: separate shielding slits 600 between regions of module).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otsubo in view of US 20220053631 to Kang et al. (hereinafter Kang).
Otsubo discloses the high frequency module according to claim 1, as shown above.
Otsubo does not expressly disclose a communication device comprising:
a signal processing circuit that processes a high frequency signal passing through the high frequency module, as recited in claim 20.
Kang (FIG. 1) teaches a signal processing circuit that processes a high frequency signal (paragraph 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Otsubo with Kang to incorporate the high frequency module of Otsubo in the structure taught by Kang, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification allows for improved electromagnetic shielding as taught by Kang (paragraph 76) while avoiding the effects of heat generation by an amplifier on sensitive components as taught by Otsubo (paragraph 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 11, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 8 and 11 each include allowable subject matter, in at least Otsubo discloses surrounding the sensitive component with a groove (see, e.g., FIG. 2) rather than surrounding a power amplifier with a groove. Claim 14 includes allowable subject matter, in at least Otsubo discloses connecting the power amplifier to the shielding layer (see FIG. 3) for improved heat dissipation and noise grounding rather than connecting the electronic component to the shielding layer.
Conclusion
/NATHAN MILAKOVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848