DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
This action is a Non-Final Action on the merits in response to the application filed on 05/07/2024.
Claims 1-15 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are directed towards an electronic monitoring platform and claims 15-17 are directed towards a system, both of which are among the statutory categories of invention.
Step 1: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2106.03. The claim recites at least one step or act, including applying an algorithm to a dataset. Thus, the claim is to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A, Prong One: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim recites a judicial exception. As explained in MPEP 2106.04, subsection II, a claim “recites” a judicial exception when the judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claim.
With respect to claims 1-20, the independent claims (claims 1, 10, and 16) are directed to managing of car wash data, In independent claim 1, the bolded limitations emphasized below correspond to the abstract ideas of the claimed invention:
Claim 1, an electronic monitoring system for a self-serve car wash, comprising at least one device having:
a housing;
a plurality of input connections on the housing exterior configured to connect to corresponding outputs of a rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash;
a first microcontroller within the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of input connections, configured to detect voltage changes indicating activation and deactivation of the wash functions, and to record timestamps corresponding to the start and stop times of each wash function usage;
a second microcontroller within the housing configured to establish and manage a mesh network with one or more other electronic monitoring devices;
a wireless transmitter within the housing and connected to the first microcontroller, configured to transmit the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data to a remote server;
a power supply connection configured to supply electrical power to the first microcontroller, the second microcontroller, and the wireless transmitter.
these steps fall within the concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), subsection I).
Regarding steps of:
an electronic monitoring system for a self-serve car wash, comprising at least one device having:
a housing;
a plurality of input connections on the housing exterior configured to connect to corresponding outputs of a rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash;
a first microcontroller within the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of input connections, configured to detect voltage changes indicating activation and deactivation of the wash functions, and to record timestamps corresponding to the start and stop times of each wash function usage;
a second microcontroller within the housing configured to establish and manage a mesh network with one or more other electronic monitoring devices;
a wireless transmitter within the housing and connected to the first microcontroller, configured to transmit the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data to a remote server;
a power supply connection configured to supply electrical power to the first microcontroller, the second microcontroller, and the wireless transmitter.
The claim does not impose any limits on how the data is output or require any particular components that are used to output the data. (Step 2A, Prong One: YES).
Step 2A, Prong Two: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception or whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception. This evaluation is performed by (1) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception, and (2) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.04(d). The claim recites the additional elements of housing, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter. The claims recite the steps are performed by the housing exterior, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter.
The limitations of
an electronic monitoring system for a self-serve car wash, comprising at least one device having:
a housing;
a plurality of input connections on the housing exterior configured to connect to corresponding outputs of a rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash;
a first microcontroller within the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of input connections, configured to detect voltage changes indicating activation and deactivation of the wash functions, and to record timestamps corresponding to the start and stop times of each wash function usage;
a second microcontroller within the housing configured to establish and manage a mesh network with one or more other electronic monitoring devices;
a wireless transmitter within the housing and connected to the first microcontroller, configured to transmit the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data to a remote server;
a power supply connection configured to supply electrical power to the first microcontroller, the second microcontroller, and the wireless transmitter.
are mere data gathering and output recited at a high level of generality, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (“whether the limitation is significant”). In addition, all uses of the recited judicial exceptions require such data gathering and output, and, as such, these limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on the claim. These limitations amount to necessary data gathering and outputting. See MPEP 2106.05.
Further, the limitations are recited as being performed by housing, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter. The housing exterior, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter are recited at a high level of generality.
Even when viewed in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application (Step 2A, Prong Two: NO), and the claim is directed to the judicial exception. (Step 2A: YES).
Step 2B: This part of the eligibility analysis evaluates whether the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the recited exception i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05. As explained with respect to Step 2A, Prong Two, the additional elements are the housing, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter. The additional elements were found to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two, because they were determined to be insignificant limitations as necessary data gathering and outputting.
However, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra solution activity in Step 2A, Prong Two should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. See MPEP 2106.05, subsection I.A. At Step 2B, the evaluation of the insignificant extra-solution activity consideration takes into account whether or not the extra-solution activity is well understood, routine, and conventional in the field. See MPEP 2106.05(g). As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of
an electronic monitoring system for a self-serve car wash, comprising at least one device having:
a housing;
a plurality of input connections on the housing exterior configured to connect to corresponding outputs of a rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash;
a first microcontroller within the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of input connections, configured to detect voltage changes indicating activation and deactivation of the wash functions, and to record timestamps corresponding to the start and stop times of each wash function usage;
a second microcontroller within the housing configured to establish and manage a mesh network with one or more other electronic monitoring devices;
a wireless transmitter within the housing and connected to the first microcontroller, configured to transmit the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data to a remote server;
a power supply connection configured to supply electrical power to the first microcontroller, the second microcontroller, and the wireless transmitter.
are recited at a high level of generality. These elements amount to transmitting data and are well understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. 10 As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitation of a processor to perform limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements represent mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer and insignificant extra-solution activity, which do not provide an inventive concept. (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claims 2-15 are not directed to any additional claim elements. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims. In this case, the claims are rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding the dependent claims, dependent claims 2 recite wireless transmitter connecting to microcontroller to transmit data,; claim 3 recite microcontroller relay to remote server; claim 5 recite data storage unit connected to microcontroller to temporarily store data; claim 6 recite data storage unit to aggregate data; claim 7 recite flash memory of the data storage unit to retain data; claim 8, 9 recite user interface for user’s to view and manage data; claim 10 recite power supply to receive power; claim 11 recite water-resistant housing enclosure; claim 12 recite microcontroller and analog-to-digital converter to determining the duration of a car wash; claim 13 recite surge protector to protect microcontroller; claim 14 recite RF module of the microcontroller to transmit data; claim 15 recite voltage regulator to adjust voltage. The dependent claims 2-15 recite limitations that are not technological in nature and merely limits the abstract idea to a particular environment. Claims 2-15 recites housing, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter, data storage unit, flash memory, user interface, power supply, analog-to-digital converter, surge protector, RF module, voltage regulator which are considered an insignificant extra-solution activities of collecting and analyzing data; see MPEP 2106.05(g). Claims 2-15 recites housing, microcontroller, mesh network, monitoring devices remote server, wireless transmitter, data storage unit, flash memory, user interface, power supply, analog-to-digital converter, surge protector, RF module, voltage regulator, which merely recites an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer component; MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, claims 2-15 recite steps that further narrow the abstract idea. No additional elements are disclosed in the dependent claims that were not considered in independent claim 1. Therefore claims 2-15 do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Publication US 20170230074, Rose, et al. to hereinafter Rose in view of United States Patent Number US 3089168, Blanford.
Referring to Claim 1, Rose teaches an electronic monitoring system for a self-serve car wash, comprising at least one device having:
a housing (
Rose: Sec. 0108, FIG. 4B illustrates a graphic representation of components of an example end device 410, such as end device(s) 104, 106, 204, and/or 304. In some examples, the components of the end device 410 may be placed on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs), disposed on an interior of a housing of the end device 410, or disposed exterior to the housing of the end device 410.);
a plurality of input connections on the housing exterior configured to connect to corresponding outputs of a rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash (See Blanford) (
Rose: Sec. 0033, In various examples, the end device may include a sensor interface configured to interface with multiple types of sensors. For example, the sensor interface may allow the end device to receive data from multiple types of sensors, including 3-wire Automatic Meter Reading (AMR) sensors, Hall effect sensors, reed switch sensors, Pulses sensors, and magneto-resistive sensors. In various examples, the sensor interface may include a single connection which is configured to accept inputs from all the above sensors (e.g., using multiple ports) and collect data from the sensors using the single connection. In this way, the end device may provide additional functionality, versatility, and complete interchangeability between a plurality of sensor types.
Rose: Sec. 0108, FIG. 4B illustrates a graphic representation of components of an example end device 410, such as end device(s) 104, 106, 204, and/or 304. In some examples, the components of the end device 410 may be placed on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs), disposed on an interior of a housing of the end device 410, or disposed exterior to the housing of the end device 410.
Rose: Sec. 0112, the end device 410 may include an internal antenna 424 located inside of a housing of the end device 410 to transmit and receive signals for the RF transceiver 414 over networks 210. In some examples, the end device 410 may further include an external antenna 426 located exterior to the housing of the end device to transmit and receive signals for the RF transceiver over networks 210. In some examples, the end device 410 may include one or more ports adapted to couple the end device 410 with one or more external antennas. The microcontroller may control whether the RF transceiver 414 uses the internal antenna 424 or the external antenna 426 using a single-pole double-throw switch 428. For instance, if the end device 410 is in an environment where RF signals have trouble reaching (e.g., metal box, basement of a building, etc.), if a received signal strength is below a threshold, or if a transmission has not been received or acknowledged, the microcontroller 412 may be programmed to select the external antenna 426, which may be positioned outside of the environment.);
a first microcontroller within the housing and electrically coupled to the plurality of input connections, configured to detect voltage changes indicating activation and deactivation of the wash functions (See Blanford), and to record timestamps corresponding to the start and stop times of each wash function usage (See Blanford) (
Rose: Sec. 0074, the end device 304 performs the function of capturing data from its connected sensors, such as the sensor 302. For example, an end device 304 can be connected to a water flow meter and can capture and/or read water flow volume (e.g., total flow, instantaneous flow, flow over a period of time, etc.) passed through the water sensor. This data can be timestamped (e.g., at the end device 304) and can be transmitted (e.g., reported) to the gateway device 306. Exemplary sensor data in the context of water may include but is not limited to, temperature, humidity, pressure, flow rate, conductivity, pH, optical clarity, turbidity, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0139, the switching supplies 612 may receive power, either from the external power supply 604, or the internal power supply including the internal battery supply 606 and the supercapacitor 608. The switching supplies 612 may regulate the voltage received from the power sources (internal or external) and switch the voltage to appropriate voltages for various components of the end device 410. The switching supplies 612 may include a 2.048 volt ADC reference, a 3.3 volt LDO voltage regulator for a single pole double throw switch for transmission, such as single-pole double-throw switch 420, a 2.1 volt buck converter for various system components (e.g., microcontroller 412, RF transceiver 414, diodes, op-amps, etc.), and a 5 volt boost converter for a sensor interface (e.g., sensor interface 444));
Rose describes the noticing and managing of voltage, and the timestamps of all data transmitted.
a second microcontroller within the housing configured to establish and manage a mesh network with one or more other electronic monitoring devices (
Rose: Sec. 0040, In some embodiments, the end devices 104 and 106 can wirelessly communicate with the gateway device 102, which in turn can wirelessly communicate with network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 can communicate directly with the network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 and the end devices 104 and 106 can form a mesh network, with the gateway device 102 providing a communication interface with the network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 and the end devices 104 and 106 can communicate with the network(s) 118 via channels not provided on a network or communication means provided by the monitoring location 108.
Rose: Sec. 0108, FIG. 4B illustrates a graphic representation of components of an example end device 410, such as end device(s) 104, 106, 204, and/or 304. In some examples, the components of the end device 410 may be placed on one or more printed circuit boards (PCBs), disposed on an interior of a housing of the end device 410, or disposed exterior to the housing of the end device 410.
Rose: Sec. 0174, FIG. 11 depicts an example housing 1100 for an end device, such as end device 410. In some examples, the housing 1100 may generally be a clamshell shaped enclosure having a top cap 1102 and a bottom cap 1104. One or more fasteners 1106 may fasten the top cap 1102 and the bottom cap 1104 together. In some examples, a gasket 1108 may be inserted around a tongue-and-groove interior perimeter of the top cap 1102 and the bottom cap 1104, such that, when the top cap 1102 and bottom cap 1104 are fitted together in combination with gasket 1108, a water tight seal is created for the housing 1100 for the end device. In this way, gasket 1108 may minimize leak points inside of housing 1100. In some instances, a PCB 1110 on which the components of the end device 410 are placed may include openings 1112 through which the fasteners 1106 may pass through. As illustrated the housing 110 may include connections 1114 to provide an electrical connection for one or more sensors, as discussed herein.);
a wireless transmitter within the housing and connected to the first microcontroller, configured to transmit the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data to a remote server (
Rose: Sec. 0040, In some embodiments, the end devices 104 and 106 can wirelessly communicate with the gateway device 102, which in turn can wirelessly communicate with network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 can communicate directly with the network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 and the end devices 104 and 106 can form a mesh network, with the gateway device 102 providing a communication interface with the network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 and the end devices 104 and 106 can communicate with the network(s) 118 via channels not provided on a network or communication means provided by the monitoring location 108.
Rose: Sec. 0064, the high resolution reporting and analytics can automatically compare water use at different parts of the carwash train for a standard vehicle across many locations, the specific site's past tests, manufacturer claims, similar car wash units, industry standards, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0074, the end device 304 performs the function of capturing data from its connected sensors, such as the sensor 302. For example, an end device 304 can be connected to a water flow meter and can capture and/or read water flow volume (e.g., total flow, instantaneous flow, flow over a period of time, etc.) passed through the water sensor. This data can be timestamped (e.g., at the end device 304) and can be transmitted (e.g., reported) to the gateway device 306. Exemplary sensor data in the context of water may include but is not limited to, temperature, humidity, pressure, flow rate, conductivity, pH, optical clarity, turbidity, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0113, the end device 410 may be powered through an external power supply, such as USB (universal serial bus) power 429, which may provide power at various voltages, such as 5 volts. );
a power supply connection configured to supply electrical power to the first microcontroller, the second microcontroller, and the wireless transmitter (
Rose: Sec. 0102, additional modes can be provided utilizing various modulation techniques for optimized data transmission and/or power conservation. For example, the end device 400 and/or the gateway device 306 may select a communication protocol based on a number of devices, available wireless resources, signal strength, commonality of software and/or hardware, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0115, the switching supplies 436 may step up, or step down, the voltage of the power supplied the external power supply or the internal power supply based on the voltage ratings for powering
Rose: Sec. 0124, a first mode may be provided to conserve the batteries of the end device 410. For example, the LoRa (or any low power wireless area network protocol) PHY link RF transmit power, bandwidth (BW), and spreading factor (SF) can be dynamically controlled in software to minimize power consumption and maximize range capability without the need to change hardware configuration.
Rose: Sec. 0132, the power supply 602 may include an external power supply 604 and an internal power supply including internal battery supply 606 and supercapacitor 608. In various examples, the power supply 602 may include a power select 610 to select between the external power supply 604 and the internal power supply including the internal battery supply 606, with selected power output to supercapacitor 608.).
Rose does not explicitly teach rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash; activation and deactivation of the wash functions, start and stop times of each wash function usage
However, Blanford teaches these limitations
rotary switch, each output corresponding to a different wash function of the self-serve car wash (
Blanford: Col. 3 Ln. 1-35, The light together with a warning sign prevents the insertion of coins in the rejector while a washing cycle is in progress. Upon rotation of the rotary switch a circuit 44 will be energized and actuate a solenoid valve 45 that starts the water and detergent spraying over the vehicle to be washed. As the vehicle progresses through it will be completely sprayed with the detergent solution. After the lapse of a certain period of time another contact segment on the rotary switch energizes another circuit 46 and causes the motor 13 to drive the eccentric to jiggle and oscillate the giant wiper and brushes which are in contact with the vehicle body.)
activation and deactivation of the wash functions, start and stop times of each wash function usage (
Blanford: Col. 4 Ln. 40-75, given period and overlapping the starting time of the actuation of the eccentric, deactivating the detergent spray solenoid prior to the operating time lapse of the eccentric, and activating said solenoid valve to said other inverted U frame at the exit of said housing prior to the operating time lapse of said eccentric and finally deactivating the exit solenoid valve to complete the spraying and washing cycle, and a coin rejector adapted to energize a timed limit switch upon the insertion of two coins in sequence and energize the motor driven rotary timing switch at thestart of the vehicle washing.)
Rose and Blanford are both directed to the analysis of the car wash process (See Rose at 0060, 0066, 0192; Blanford: Col. 1 Ln. 1-30,). Rose discloses that additional elements, such as a controller can be considered (See Rose at 0041). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rose, which teaches detecting and repairing power information technology problems in view of Blanford, to efficiently apply analysis of the car wash process to include the use of enhancing the collection of data through the use of a self-service car wash. (See Blanford: Col. 3 Ln. 35-75,).
Referring to Claim 2, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the wireless transmitter includes Wi-Fi connectivity to directly connect the first microcontroller to the internet for transmitting data (
Rose: Sec. 0056, These and further aspects of the communication module 220 are described in connection with the various figures of this disclosure. In some examples, the gateway device(s) 202 may further include a concentrator 262 including two independent radio frequency paths, each with transmit and receive capability. In some examples, the concentrator 262 may comply with various standards, such as the XBee® interface standard and allows for cohabitation with other radios, including ISM, cellular, and Wi-Fi. Further discussion of details of the concentrator 262 can be found in the description of FIGS. 12-15.).
Referring to Claim 3, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 2, wherein the second microcontroller is further configured to relay data to the remote server through the mesh network when Wi-Fi connectivity is unavailable (
Rose: Sec. 0040, In some embodiments, each piece of equipment (also referred to as a node) may include a sensor to monitor the resources for each individual node. In some embodiments, one or more sensors can be coupled with an individual gateway device or an individual end device. In some embodiments, the end devices 104 and 106 can wirelessly communicate with the gateway device 102, which in turn can wirelessly communicate with network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 can communicate directly with the network(s) 118. In some embodiments, the gateway device 102 and the end devices 104 and 106 can form a mesh network, with the gateway.
Rose: Sec. 0081, the flowmeter interfaces may include any wired or wireless protocols. Further, in some instances, the end device 304 may communicate with other end devices, for example, to form a mesh network, a star network, and/or to extend range of communications when an end device 304 is out of range of the gateway device 306.).
Referring to Claim 4, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein each input connection is further configured to detect the specific type of voltage used by the corresponding wash function, whether alternating current (AC) or direct current (DC) (
Rose: Sec. 0064, the high resolution reporting and analytics can automatically compare water use at different parts of the carwash train for a standard vehicle across many locations, the specific site's past tests, manufacturer claims, similar car wash units, industry standards, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0087, as understood in the context of this disclosure, the gateway device 306 can receive power via any standard, non-standard, and/or proprietary connections using different voltages and/or power capabilities.
Rose: Sec. 0103, By monitoring specific parameters of the end device 400 (such as battery power, internal supply voltages, memory status, memory utilization, temperature, humidity, reporting frequency, data sampling rate, signal strength, location, etc.) the health of end device 400 can be monitored and reported back to the gateway device 306, and then on to the service provider 206, for example. In some embodiments, end device 400 health can be reported back to the gateway device 306 only when there is a change in one or more parameters (or a change is above or below a threshold) in order to minimize data transfer, which in turn can extend battery life.
Rose: Sec. 0135, In some instances, a number of capacitors may be selected based on an amount of energy to store, voltage requirements, transmission power, etc).
Referring to Claim 5, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising a data storage unit connected to the first microcontroller, configured to temporarily store the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data prior to transmission (
Rose: Sec. 0064, the high resolution reporting and analytics can automatically compare water use at different parts of the carwash train for a standard vehicle across many locations, the specific site's past tests, manufacturer claims, similar car wash units, industry standards, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0074, This data can be timestamped (e.g., at the end device 304) and can be transmitted (e.g., reported) to the gateway device 306.
Rose: Sec. 0086, this can allow for data packet timestamps accurate to less than 100 ns (nanoseconds), using the GPS PPS (pulse per second) signal, which can allow for system-wide coordination with reliable time precision.
Rose: Sec. 0104, the end device 400 can include a real-time clock (RTC) in order to time stamp sensor data and to initiate time-driven events such as sleep periods, transmit events, and to coordinate receive slots. In some embodiments, the real-time clock can be implemented in hardware, software, and/or firmware to keep track of time.).
Referring to Claim 6, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 5, wherein the data storage unit is configured to aggregate data based on predefined time periods before transmission to the remote server (
Rose: Sec. 0033, the sensor interface may include a single connection which is configured to accept inputs from all the above sensors (e.g., using multiple ports) and collect data from the sensors using the single connection. In this way, the end device may provide additional functionality, versatility, and complete interchangeability between a plurality of sensor types.
Rose: Sec. 0035, by dynamically changing the duty cycle, the power down time periods of the duty cycle may be extended, which thereby saves battery power, while ensuring that the data collection and storage components and circuits are powered on at the appropriate times to maintain efficient data collection and storage (e.g., to prevent “dropping” of measurements).
Rose: Sec. 0077, the gateway device 306 can include a data concentrator between one or many end devices 304. One of the functions of the gateway device 306 can be to collect data from each end device, format the data, and transmit the data to one or more service providers.).
Referring to Claim 7, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 5, wherein the data storage unit includes flash memory capable of retaining data in the event of a power loss to the system (
Rose: Sec. 0090, internal flash used for non-volatile memory; extended scan IF (ESIF) allowing for ultralow power magnetic sensor interface; port interrupts (PxIV) used for edge-triggering of external sensors on port 3 (P3IV), edge-triggering of power supplies on Port 1 (P1IV), external power detect on Port 3 (P3IV), and for interrupt request (IRQ) signals from transceiver on port 4 (P4IV); and/or a humidity and temperature sensor.
Rose: Sec. 0180, The 32-bit RISC processor 1208 may receive user input to control four (or any number of) user-configurable LEDs 1210, and store data via SPI bus in 16 Mbit of flash memory 1212 external to the processor chip 1208, such as user data.).
Referring to Claim 8, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface accessible via a web platform, configured to allow a user to view and manage the recorded timestamps and corresponding wash function data (
Rose: Sec. 0064, the high resolution reporting and analytics can automatically compare water use at different parts of the carwash train for a standard vehicle across many locations, the specific site's past tests, manufacturer claims, similar car wash units, industry standards, etc.
Rose: Sec. 0132, FIG. 17 shows a graphical user interfaces (GUI) 1700, illustrating water usage for a monitoring location. In some embodiments, the GUI 1700 illustrates a comparison of resource usage between two or more days. In some embodiments, the GUI 1700 can be annotated to indicate suspected mechanical or operational waste. In some embodiments, the GUI 1700 illustrates instantaneous water usage as a number of gallons consumed every minute. In some embodiments, the GUI 900 illustrates an hourly weather and temperature, as well as a cumulative total of water usage throughout the day. In some embodiments, a user may toggle through various days to compare a current water usage with any historical data at a same and/or different location.).
Rose Fig. 17-20 describes a tool that allow the management and viewing of records in web style format, in which the data includes timestamps.
Referring to Claim 9, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 8, wherein the user interface is further configured to allow the user to customize settings for data reporting and alerts based on the data received from the electronic monitoring system (
Rose: Sec. 0027, FIG. 22 is a GUI illustrating an interface for a service provider to generate and manage alerts for a monitored location.
Rose: Sec. 0061, the analytics module 238 can generate one or more reports, alerts, recommendations, and/or graphical user interfaces.
Rose: Sec. 0065, anomalies in the carwash resource usage information trigger event specific responses that are formed by mapping specific subparts of the alert to text, graphics, manuals, customer specific or node specific best management practices and or standard operating procedures. Exemplary alerts, text, graphic, and reports that can be adapted for detailing usage information and specific events are described in connection with FIGS. 16-23B of this disclosure
Rose: Sec. 0070, event the devices 202 and/or 204 are indicating a problem (or in response to other feedback from the devices 202 and/or 204), the device management module 250 can generate an alert to investigate the devices.
Rose: Sec. 0199, FIG. 22 shows a GUI 2200 for generating and managing alerts. For example, the GUI 2300 can generate text automatically for alerting suspected waste events and for providing recommendations to remedy the suspected waste.).
Referring to Claim 10, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the power supply connection is configured to receive power from a standard 24V AC or DC source used in self-serve car wash facilities (
Rose: Sec. 0087, the gateway device 306 can receive power and/or communications via PoE (Power over Ethernet) and/or PoE+. In some embodiments, the PoE/PoE+power injector can be internal or external to the gateway device 306. In some embodiments, the gateway device 306 can receive power via an external AD-DC converter (a “wall wort”), using a DC barrel power jack connector. Further, as understood in the context of this disclosure, the gateway device 306 can receive power via any standard, non-standard, and/or proprietary connections using different voltages and/or power capabilities.).
Referring to Claim 11, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the housing is a water-resistant enclosure suitable for use in wet environments of self-serve car wash facilities (
Rose: Sec. 0174, One or more fasteners 1106 may fasten the top cap 1102 and the bottom cap 1104 together. In some examples, a gasket 1108 may be inserted around a tongue-and-groove interior perimeter of the top cap 1102 and the bottom cap 1104, such that, when the top cap 1102 and bottom cap 1104 are fitted together in combination with gasket 1108, a water tight seal is created for the housing 1100 for the end device.).
Referring to Claim 12, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the first microcontroller is further configured to process input signals through an analog-to-digital converter to determine the duration of each wash function's activation (See Blanford) based on the recorded timestamps (
Rose: Sec. 0179, timers including twelve 16-bit and two 32-bit; three independent 12-bit analog-to-digital (ADC) converters with a sampling rate of 2.4 MSPS and 5 externally available channels; one externally-available 12-bit digital-to-analog converter (DAC) with an update rate of 1MSPS and one externally available channel; a real-time clock (RTC) with an RTC reference of 32.768 kHz; one USB 2.0 port; two UART ports; one serial peripheral interface bus (SPI); one inter-integrated circuit (I2C); and/or an integrated temperature sensor.).
Rose does not explicitly teach wash function's activation.
However, Blanford teaches wash function's activation (
Blanford: Col. 4 Ln. 40-75, given period and overlapping the starting time of the actuation of the eccentric, deactivating the detergent spray solenoid prior to the operating time lapse of the eccentric, and activating said solenoid valve to said other inverted U frame at the exit of said housing prior to the operating time lapse of said eccentric and finally deactivating the exit solenoid valve to complete the spraying and washing cycle, and a coin rejector adapted to energize a timed limit switch upon the insertion of two coins in sequence and energize the motor driven rotary timing switch at thestart of the vehicle washing.)
Rose and Blanford are both directed to the analysis of the car wash process (See Rose at 0060, 0066, 0192; Blanford: Col. 1 Ln. 1-30,). Rose discloses that additional elements, such as a controller can be considered (See Rose at 0041). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rose, which teaches detecting and repairing power information technology problems in view of Blanford, to efficiently apply analysis of the car wash process to include the use of enhancing the collection of data through the use of a self-service car wash. (See Blanford: Col. 3 Ln. 35-75,).
Referring to Claim 14, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, wherein the second microcontroller includes an RF (radio frequency) module configured to facilitate data transmission between devices in the mesh network using radio signals (
Rose: Sec. 0091, communication between the gateway device (e.g., gateway device 306) and end devices (e.g., end device 304, 400) can be facilitated over a network such as a radio mesh network in compliance with LoRa modulation techniques, or other modulation techniques. In some embodiments, the end device 400 can include a transceiver 404, such as a SEMTECH transceiver. In some embodiments, the transceiver 404 can have the following capabilities: up to −136 dBm sensitivity; 70 dB CW interferer rejection at 1 MHz offset; able to operate with negative SNR (signal-to-noise ratio), CCR (co-channel rejection) up to 19.5 dB; emulate 49×LoRa demodulators and 1× (G)FSK demodulator; dual digital TX (transmit) and RX (receive) radio front-end interfaces; programmable demodulation paths; dynamic data-rate (DDR) adaptation; and antenna diversity or simultaneous dual-band operation.
Rose: Claim 2, causing the power supply to provide power at a first voltage of approximately 5 volts to the first power amplifier, wherein the first voltage causes the first amplifier to saturate at a saturation voltage associated with the first power amplifier, to output a first output radio frequency (RF) signal at a first signal power of approximately 1-watt; and).
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Publication US 20170230074, Rose, et al. to hereinafter Rose in view of United States Patent Number US 3089168, Blanford, to hereinafter Blanford in view of United States Patent Publication US 20200235607, Kanarellis, et al
Referring to Claim 13, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, Rose does not explicitly teach with the activation and deactivation of the wash functions (
However, Blanford teaches activation and deactivation of the wash functions (
Blanford: Col. 4 Ln. 40-75, given period and overlapping the starting time of the actuation of the eccentric, deactivating the detergent spray solenoid prior to the operating time lapse of the eccentric, and activating said solenoid valve to said other inverted U frame at the exit of said housing prior to the operating time lapse of said eccentric and finally deactivating the exit solenoid valve to complete the spraying and washing cycle, and a coin rejector adapted to energize a timed limit switch upon the insertion of two coins in sequence and energize the motor driven rotary timing switch at thestart of the vehicle washing.).
Rose and Blanford are both directed to the analysis of the car wash process (See Rose at 0060, 0066, 0192; Blanford: Col. 1 Ln. 1-30,). Rose discloses that additional elements, such as a controller can be considered (See Rose at 0041). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rose, which teaches detecting and repairing power information technology problems in view of Blanford, to efficiently apply analysis of the car wash process to include the use of enhancing the collection of data through the use of a self-service car wash. (See Blanford: Col. 3 Ln. 35-75,).
Rose does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of input connections includes at least one surge protector configured to protect the first microcontroller from voltage spikes associated
However, Kanarellis teaches wherein the plurality of input connections includes at least one surge protector configured to protect the first microcontroller from voltage spikes associated (
Kanarellis: Sec. 0221, a primary power monitoring circuit that detects variation in primary power voltage provided to the system and generates a primary power fault signal when the variation exceeds a primary power validity voltage range; a power source control circuit that redirects power provided to the
Kanarellis: Sec. 0221, a system for supplying uninterruptible Power over Ethernet (PoE) via, for example, an injection device may comprise a rechargeable power supply that automatically provides power to connected devices, such as on the DC side, in the event of a loss of primary power to the system may be integrated into or with products from Trip Lite including, without limitation products that provide uninterruptible power (e.g., Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) systems and the like), power distribution systems, surge protectors, KVM branded switches for remote access, console servers, network switches and the like.
Kanarellis: Sec. 0230, Power over Ethernet (PoE) via, for example, an injection device may comprise a rechargeable power supply that automatically provides power to connected devices, such as on the DC side, in the event of a loss of primary power to the system may be integrated into or with switch products and may provide features including copper ports, ports for Gigabit Interface Converter (CBIC) for use with fiber optics with fully manageable layer 3 and higher capabilities, lithium ion battery power, auto negotiating connections, auto sensing connections to devices, surge protection and regulation and the like. In embodiments, the uninterruptible PoE system may provide injector functions, switch functions or a combination thereof.
Kanarellis: Sec. 0260, The processes may be realized in one or more microprocessors, microcontrollers, embedded microcontrollers, programmable digital signal processors or other programmable device, along with internal and/or external memory. )
Rose, Blanford, and Kanarellis are all directed to the analysis of the use of controllers (See Rose at 0060, 0066, 0192; Blanford: Col. 1 Ln. 1-30; Kanarellis at 0015, 0133, 0182). Rose discloses that additional elements, such as a controller can be considered (See Rose at 0041). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rose view of Blanford, which teaches detecting and repairing power information technology problems in view of Kanarellis, to efficiently apply analysis of controllers to improve the self-controlled power management system. (See Kanarellis: Sec. 0012, 0161, 0177, 0203).
Referring to Claim 15, Rose teaches the electronic monitoring system of claim 1, further comprising a voltage regulator configured to manage the power supply connection by adjusting the input voltage to a safe operating level (See Kanarellis) for the microcontrollers and the wireless transmitter (
Rose: Sec. 0159, FIG. 9 illustrates an example process 900 for determining a sensor type of a sensor associated with an input cable coupled to a first input port, and applying a voltage to an input port to receive data from the sensor based on the type of sensor. In some examples, the microcontroller 412 of end device 410 may perform the techniques of process 900.).
Rose in view of Blanford does not explicitly teach safe operating level.
However, Kanarellis teaches safe operating level (
Kanarellis: Sec. 0105, electronic premises security systems, such as life safety system and the like may be configured with a power delivery system that automatically and instantly switches power sources from a main source of power to an available source of backup power based on a detection of insufficient main power source signal (e.g., a voltage drop and the like).
Kanarellis: Sec. 0110, a power supply system for use with a premises security system, such as a life safety system and the like, may be integrated with or have integrated there into a secondary power supply sub-system that automatically provides energy to the security system in the event of primary power total loss or when primary power voltage level is insufficient for proper functionality of the security system components. In embodiments, such a power supply system may provide PoE to the premises security system components, such as when there is a mains loss or fault.
Kanarellis: Sec. 0236, supplying uninterruptible Power over Ethernet (PoE) via, for example, an injection device may comprise a rechargeable power supply that automatically provides power to connected devices, such as on the DC side, in the event of a loss of primary power to the system may be applied to life safety applications including ensuring that life safety-related systems that generate signals are prioritized to continue to be powered to provide life safety signals. In embodiments, life safety signals may be replicated by an uninterruptible PoE configured to do so, such as by replicating a signal that alerts a third party that primary power to one or more devices has been lost. In embodiments, an uninterruptible PoE system in a life safety application may be configured to provide power to building systems (e.g., elevators, a/c, an