DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 7/7/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the photosensitizer is at least one of … or their derivatives” and the scope of what is included as the photosensitizer cannot be determined. The claim recites a plurality of alternative which are included in combination and not in combination and the full scope of every combination and derivatives thereof that are included by the claim cannot be determined. The specification provides no further limitation or definition for what this limitation “or their derivatives” can and cannot include. Therefore, the scope of the claim cannot be determined and the claim is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted the photosensitizer is at least one of the claimed substances.
The remaining claims are rejected for depending from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sehgal (US 2012/0125847).
Regarding claim 1, Sehgal (US 2012/0125847) teaches –
A light activated cleaning composition (par. 60 discloses a photosensitizer composition for activation under light to inactivate pathogens) comprising:
a photosensitizer (par. 61 discloses riboflavin, which is a preferred photosensitizer of the claimed invention according to claim 2 and fig. 5 in the instant disclosure); and
a singlet oxygen quenching molecule (par. 61 discloses pyrrole which is a singlet quenching molecule according to instant claim 4, par. 60 of Sehgal teaches that “one or more” of the listed photosensitizers are added and therefore the reference teaches both riboflavin and pyrrole in combination; par. 68, 113 also teaches sodium ascorbate).
Regarding claim 2, Sehgal teaches the photosensitizer is riboflavin (par. 61).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Sehgal teaches the singlet oxygen quenching molecule comprises molecules having conjugated dienes wherein the molecules including conjugated dienes are a pyrrole (par. 61).
Regarding claim 5, Sehgal teaches the singlet oxygen quenching molecule is sodium ascorbate (par. 68, 113).
Regarding claim 6, Sehgal teaches the singlet oxygen quenching molecule comprises molecules having an allylic hydrogen (par. 61 teaches pyrrole which according to p. 6 line 30 - p. 7 line 4 of the instant specification as filed reads on this limitation, par. 68 also discloses tryptophan and ascorbate which include a allylic carbon and allylic hydrogen).
Regarding claim 18, Sehgal teaches –
A light activated cleaning composition comprising:
a photosensitizer (par. 60-61); and
sodium ascorbate (par. 113).
Claims 1-6, 11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 2023/0174889).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura (US 2023/0174889) teaches –
A light activated cleaning composition (par. 23 describes the use of a photosensitizer composition in a sterilizing method) comprising:
a photosensitizer (par. 23, 41, 59, and 64 disclose a photosensitizer composition including specifically riboflavin-5-phosphate sodium); and
a singlet oxygen quenching molecule (pars. 68-70 disclose the inclusion of sodium ascorbate in the composition).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-6, Nakamura further teaches
(claim 2) riboflavin (par. 64)
(claims 3 and 4) a singlet oxygen quenching molecule including conjugated dienes that includes benzimidazole (table 3 discloses a benzimidazole compound being used in the composition).
(claim 5) the singlet oxygen quenching molecule is sodium ascorbate (par. 70).
(claim 6) the singlet oxygen quenching molecule comprises molecules having an allylic hydrogen (par. 70 teaches sodium ascorbate).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura teaches a surfactant that is an anionic or nonionic surfactant (par. 84).
Regarding claim 18, Nakamura teaches –
A light activated cleaning composition (par. 23 describes the use of a photosensitizer composition in a sterilizing method) comprising:
a photosensitizer (par. 23, 41, 59, and 64 disclose a photosensitizer composition including specifically riboflavin-5-phosphate sodium); and
sodium ascorbate (pars. 68-70 disclose the inclusion of sodium ascorbate in the composition).
Regarding claim 19, Nakamura further teaches the photosensitizer is riboflavin 5-phosphate sodium salt (par. 64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2023/0174889).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura is set forth with regards to claim 2 above. Nakamura further teaches the riboflavin-5-phosphate sodium salt in an amount of 20-1000 ppm, which overlaps with the claimed amount of 100-1000 ppm, rendering the claimed range obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, the modification of the prior art to arrive at the claimed range would be nothing more than the result of routine optimization, MPEP 2144.05(II). One would be motivated to optimize the amount of photosensitizer in a photosensitizing composition to improve photoactivity and sterilizing or cleaning performance.
Regarding claim 20, Nakamura is set forth above with regards to claim 19 but appears to be silent with regards to the specific claimed ratio of riboflavin to ascorbate, however the modification of the prior art to arrive at the claimed range would be nothing more than the result of routine optimization, MPEP 2144.05(II). One would be motivated to optimize the composition of photosensitizer and oxygen quencher in a photosensitizing composition to improve photoactivity and sterilizing or cleaning performance.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 2023/0174889) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above and further in view of Willey (WO 2006/002363).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura is set forth above with regards to claim 7 but appears to be silent with regards to imidazole.
Willey (WO 2006/002363) (cited on IDS, present in file wrapper) teaches a photosensitizer composition (abstract) including riboflavin and an imidazole (p. 5 last par. teaches imidazole, the par. before teaching riboflavin) in the amount of 100 to 1000 ppm (claim 3 teaches 500 -2000 ppm, overlapping with and rendering the claimed range obvious). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Nakamura such that the composition includes an imidazole in the claimed amount as taught by Willey to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to use a known oxygen reactive substance to arrive at an improved photosensitive composition. The combination of familiar prior art elements, including photosensitizers and oxygen quenchers, according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 9, Willey further teaches (p. 3 “Photobleaching compositions”) 10-50% imidazole and .1-50% photosensitizer, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1:1 to about 1:1000, rendering the claimed range obvious. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 10, Willey further teaches a polymer, wherein the polymer is at least one of polyamines or polyethyleneimine (p. 7 “builders” teaches polyacetic acids including a poly ethylenediamine tetraacetic acid). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition taught by Nakamura such that it includes a polymer of polyethyleneimine as taught by Willey to arrive at the claimed invention. One would have been motivated to do so to more effectively clean the workpiece to arrive at an improved cleaning composition. The combination of familiar prior art elements according to known means to arrive at results that are nothing more than predictable is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/BRENDAN A HENSEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1758