DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07 May 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ohshita al. (US 11,063,503).
Ohshita teaches a circuit-integrated motor, comprising:
a motor 10;
a control board 42 for controlling the motor;
a casing (metal center piece) 18 including a partition wall portion (plate) 38 made of metal (abstract; c.4:12-14) and dividing a board housing chamber for housing the control board 42 from a placement space for the motor (c.4:35-37);
a terminal 62 for connecting the control board 42 to an external device (c.5:19-26); and
a terminal holder (connector) 44 formed of resin and holding the terminal 62 (abstract; c.5:19-26; Figs.2-3).
Regarding the feature of the terminal holder 44 “being molded integrally with the partition wall portion [38] by insert molding with the partition wall portion and the terminal [62] being insert parts”, this product-by-process feature does not distinguish from the product of Ohshita since the terminal holder 44 is fixed to and therefore integral with partition wall portion 38 (abstract; c.2:14-15; Figs.2-3). Per MPEP 2113 (I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the claimed process of insert-molding the terminal holder 44 integrally with the partition wall portion 38 does not distinguish from the product.
Regarding claim 2, the partition wall portion 38 includes: a board facing surface (not numbered) facing the control board 42; and an outer peripheral edge (not numbered) protuberantly disposed on a side of the board housing chamber so as to surround the board facing surface, and the terminal holder 44 includes: a base portion (not numbered) joined to the board facing surface of the partition wall portion 38; an intermediate portion joined to the outer peripheral edge of the partition wall portion; and an extension portion extending outward of the board housing chamber so as to be located on an opposite side of the intermediate portion from the base portion.
Regarding claim 8, the center piece 18, including partition wall portion 38, is made of metal such as aluminum (c.4:12-13).
Regarding claim 9, the motor includes: a stator 12 attached to the partition wall portion 38 so as to be located on an opposite side of the partition wall portion from the board housing chamber, and including a stator core 28; a stator coil 32 wound around the stator core; and a rotor 14 including a magnet 22 disposed on an outer peripheral side of the stator core so as to face the stator core in a radial direction, and a vent (not numbered) is formed between the rotor 14 and the partition wall portion 38 (Figs.2-3).
Claims 1-3 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tominaga et al. (US 9.674,408).
Tominaga teaches a circuit-integrated motor, comprising:
a motor 1;
a control board 20 for controlling the motor;
a casing including a partition wall portion (heat sink) 28 made of metal (e.g., aluminum; c.3:48) and dividing a board housing chamber (not numbered) for housing the control board 20 from a placement space for the motor (i.e., inside motor casing 12);
a terminal 25a for connecting the control board 20 to an external device (i.e., battery and torque sensor; c.5:37-44); and
a terminal holder (power connector) 33 formed of resin and holding the terminal 25a (c.5:44-52).
Regarding the feature of the terminal holder 33 “being molded integrally with the partition wall portion [28] by insert molding with the partition wall portion and the terminal being insert parts”, this product-by-process feature does not distinguish from the product of Tominaga. Per MPEP 2113 (I), product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, Tominaga’s terminal holder 33 is integral with partition wall portion 28 (Figs.1-2). Embodiment 3, Fig.6, shows a similar arrangement.
Regarding claim 2, the partition wall portion 28 includes: a board facing surface facing the control board 20; and an outer peripheral edge (denoted by 11; Fig.1) protuberantly disposed on a side of the board housing chamber so as to surround the board facing surface, and the terminal holder 33 includes: a base portion (not numbered) joined to the board facing surface of the partition wall portionv28; an intermediate portion joined to the outer peripheral edge of the partition wall portion; and an extension portion extending outward of the board housing chamber so as to be located on an opposite side of the intermediate portion from the base portion.
Regarding claim 3, the terminal 25a includes: a first end portion protruding from the base portion and connected to the control board 20; and a second end portion 25a extending radially outward along the extension portion so as to protrude from the terminal holder 33, and a tip of the first end portion of the terminal bends in a direction from the board facing surface toward the control board 20 and is inserted into a through hole disposed in the control board (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 5, a portion of the terminal 25a embedded in the terminal holder 33 is disposed inside the intermediate portion of the terminal holder so as to “ride over” [sic] the outer peripheral edge of the partition wall portion s8 (Fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohshita as applied to claim 1, further in view of Kano (US 7,554,235).
Ohshita’s electronic device of the control board 42 is thermally connected…to the partition wall portion 18/38 serving as a heat sink (i.e., center piece 18 is made of metal to improve heat dissipation property of the control board 42; c.16:57-61) but is not connected “via a heat-dissipating member”.
But, Kano teaches a motor cover including a control board 51 with electronic parts 51b that is connected to a heat sink 35 via a heat-dissipating member (connecting portion) 35b that protrudes towards the control board 51 to fix the control board and emit heat from the parts to the outside via the heat sink (c.8:23-28; Fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to connect Ohshita’s electronic parts via a heat-dissipating member to the partition wall portion/heat sink since Kano teaches this would have fixed the control board and emitted heat.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohshita as applied to claim 1, further in view of Ozaki (US 10,008,909).
Ohshita does not further teach “a ground terminal of the control board [42] is electrically connected to the partition wall portion [38].”
But, Osaki teaches a motor 12 including a partition wall portion (heat sink/end portion) 20/20A dividing a board housing chamber for housing a control board 18 from a placement space for the motor, and a ground terminal 54A of the control board is electrically connected to the partition wall portion via connection terminal connection portion 54N to provide a ground region for the circuit board, the rotating body and shaft (abstract; c.7:29-60; Figs.4-5).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Ohshita with a ground terminal of the control board electrically connected to the partition wall portion since Ozaki teaches this would have provided a ground region for the circuit board, the rotating body and shaft.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not further teach “the outer peripheral edge of the partition wall portion [60] includes a notch [68] through which a portion of the terminal [70] embedded in the terminal holder [80] passes, and the intermediate portion [84] of the terminal holder is disposed integrally with the outer peripheral edge [64] of the partition wall portion so as to fill the notch of the partition wall portion” (Fig.5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834