DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a continuation of US Application no. 17/689,528, now US Patent no. 12,005,252, filed 8 March 2022, which is a continuation of US Application no. 17/393,762, now US Patent no. 11,285,317, filed 4 August 2021, which is a continuation of US Application no. 16/695,936, now US Patent no. 11,129,981, filed 26 November 2019, which is a continuation of US Application no. 16/064,604, now US Patent no. 10,518,058, filed 21 June 2018, which is a national stage entry under 35 USC 371 of PCT/IL2016/051363 filed 21 December 2016 which is a continuation of US Application no. 14/982,187, now US Patent no. 9,770,591 filed 29 December 2015.
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 19 November 2024 has been acknowledged. Claims 25-44 are pending, wherein claims 25-44 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, and species 1b, 2a, and 3a pertaining to claims 25, 27-31, 36, and 37 in the reply filed on 24 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 26, 32-35, and 38-44 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and Invention II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed.
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 5 recites “…including at at least one…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25, 27, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilman et al. (US Patent no. 7,427,265) in view of Ferek-Petric (US Patent no. 8,500,713).
In regard to claim 25, Keilman et al. disclose a method comprising:
systemically administering a drug to a blood circulation of a subject (col 39 lines 51-54); and activating control circuitry 324 to apply, using one or more implanted electrodes 328 and 330 (col 39 lines 29-35), a current that drives the administered drug from the blood circulation into tissue of the subject (col 39 lines 41-54; the potential difference creates the driving force to permit current flow).
Keilman et al. teaches electrically transporting a systemically administered drug from the blood into target tissue, but does not teach determining at least one point in time at which the drug has a concentration in the blood circulation equal to at least 75% of a maximum concentration of the drug in the blood circulation. Ferek-Petric is directed to a technique using electroporation to drive a therapeutic agent, such as chemotherapy, across cell membranes. Ferek-Petric teaches that in electrically assisted treatment involving a systemically administered drug, the timing of electrical treatment may be controlled according to the concentration of the administered drug, including when the drug concentration reaches a predetermined level (col 13 lines 64-66 and col 14 lines 10-14). The concentration is monitored by a concentration sensor 608.
It would have been obvious to modify Keilman et al. to initiate or perform its iontophoretic drug transport when the systemically administered drug has reached a predetermined concentration, as taught by Ferek-Petric, in order to perform the electrically assisted transport when a sufficient quantity of drug was available for transport to the targeted tissue.
Additionally, it is noted that Ferek-Petric as relied on to teach measurement of concentration, does not teach applying electrically assisted treatment when the concentration is at least equal to 75% of maximum concentration of the drug present. Ferek-Petric teaches monitoring the concentration of systemically administered drug and initiating electrical therapy when the drug concentration reaches a predetermined level. Thus, the concentration of the drug at the time electrical therapy is applied was recognized by the prior art as a result effective variable affecting therapy. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine optimization, to select the predetermined concentration at which electrical therapy is performed, including a concentration of at least 75% of the maximum concentration, in order to perform the therapy when a sufficient amount of drug is present to thereby enhance and optimize therapeutic transport and effectiveness.
In regard to claim 27, Keilman et al. in view of Ferek-Petric is considered to substantially suggest the invention as claimed, however neither expressly teach driving the administered drug comprises ceasing to drive the administered drug only after the concentration drops below 40% of the maximum concentration. Ferek-Petric may cease the electrically assisted treatment based on a monitored treatment parameter such a temperature (col 14 lines 25-28). Thus, Ferek-Petric recognizes the desirability of controlling both initiation and termination of electrical assistance based on monitored parameters. Ferek-Petric teach that when the measured concentration of the drug level is too low, electrically assisted treatment is withheld, and the measurement loop continues until the measured concentration meets or exceeds a predetermined level. This is considered to suggest that concentration is a result effective variable governing when electrical assistance should occur, particularly that electrical assistance for driving the drug should cease or be withheld at low levels of concentration. In view of this, and in view that Ferek-Petric includes a sensor for monitoring concentration of an administered drug in order to being electrically assisted therapy, it is considered that to have been obvious to modify the monitored parameter for termination to include a parameter monitored by the concentration sensor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the monitored drug concentration as an additional parameter for determining when to terminate the electrically assisted drug treatment to allow for continuing treatment while sufficient drug remains in the blood circulation and avoiding unnecessary stimulation as the drug continues to decline in concentration effectiveness. The particular selection of a concentration below 40% of the maximum concentration is considered to constitute routine optimization of a known result-effective variable to balance therapeutic effectiveness with treatment duration.
In regard to claim 29, Keilman et al. in view of Ferek-Petric is considered to substantially suggest the invention as claimed. Ferek-Petric further teaches that driving the drug comprises providing a user-activation input to the control circuitry, and wherein the control circuitry is configured to begin driving the drug after a delay from receiving the user-activation input (col 15 lines 4-8, activation at 902 may be initiated by an external device similar to programmer 254 which may be held proximate IMD 600. Alternatively, therapy may be self-initiated by IMD 600, e.g., therapy may begin once a threshold drug concentration level is detected). It would have been obvious to provide the delay following a user activation in order to ensure that concentration of the drug reaches a predetermined level for therapeutic effectiveness.
In regard to claim 30, Keilman et al. teach that the one or more electrodes are implanted in the subject within 2 cm of the tissue (electrodes 328 and 330 are disposed on the exterior surface of a stent 322 positioned within a blood vessel immediately adjacent the surrounding vessel tissue into which the systemically administer drug is to be electrically transported, and is therefore considered to constitute the within 2 cm position). Additionally, as the present specification lacks criticality to the 2 cm distance, the electrode placement is considered a design consideration, and therefore the distance selected is considered as routine optimization of electrode placement to optimize the location of the potential difference to effectively transport the drug to the target tissue.
In regard to claim 36, both Keilman et al. and Ferek-Petric teach systemically administer the drug, wherein Ferek-Petric teaches that the systemically administered drug comprises parenterally administering the drug (Ferek-Petric, col 14 lines 6-9, chemotherapy drugs may be delivered intravenously (either locally or systemically) via a syringe).
Claim(s) 28 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilman et al. (US Patent no. 7,427,265) in view of Ferek-Petric (US Patent no. 8,500,713), further in view of Bernard et al. (US Patent no. 6,319,901).
In regard to claim 28, neither Keilman et al. nor Ferek-Petric teach that driving comprises beginning driving the administered drug within 5 minutes before or after beginning systemically administering the drug. Bernard et al. is directed to a technique for improving the efficiency of electroporation protocols as well as methods to enhance the permeabilized state of cell membranes, in order to improve the intracellular delivery of therapeutic substances. Bernard et al. teach that if the application of the electrical pulses is delayed too long, the levels of therapeutic substance in the target tissue may decrease below the levels sufficient to achieve the desired effect. In the event that the target tissue is a tumor, Bernard et al. teach that a 5 to 15 minute interval between injection and the application of electrical pulses is sufficient to achieve adequate levels of drug in the tissue (col 5 lines 5-47). Ultimately, the dosage and timing of the intravascular administrations will depend on the specific therapeutic substance and the characteristics of the targeted tissue. These administration parameters will be optimized to provide adequate levels of therapeutic substance throughout the target region at the time of pulsing (col 5 lines 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to similarly delay initiation of electrically assisted drug treatment of Keilman et al. within 5 minutes in order to permit distribution of the administered drug to provide sufficient concentration at the treatment site to achieve adequate levels of drug and achieve the desired result.
In regard to claim 37, Keilman et al. in view of Ferek-Petric suggest the invention as claimed, however do not teach systemically administering the drug comprises injecting the drug to an intracorporeal site of the subject within 10 cm of the tissue. Bernard teaches injecting a therapeutic agent directly into a target tissue such as a tumor in conjunction with application of electrical treatment to facilitate drug delivery (col 4 lines 44-48, col 5 lines 10-20). Thus Bernard teaches positioning the drug injection site within 10 cm of the tissue intended for treatment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Keilman et al. to administer the drug within 10 cm of the target tissue as suggested by Bernard et al. in order to provide high levels of therapeutic substance to the target site.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keilman et al. (US Patent no. 7,427,265) in view of Ferek-Petric (US Patent no. 8,500,713), further in view of Gross (US Publication no. 2013/0102952 – disclosed by Applicant).
In regard to claim 31, Keilman et al. in view of Ferek-Petric suggest the invention as claimed, however do not teach driving the drug comprises driving the drug from the blood circulation into an intervertebral disc of the subject. Gross teaches an implanted electrical treatment system comprising electrodes and control circuitry configured to apply a voltage to electro osmotically drive therapeutic substance into an intervertebral disc, including the nucleus pulposus and annulus fibrosis (para 26, 47, and 49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the electrically assisted drug delivery system of Keilman et al. to deliver a systemically administered drug into an intervertebral disc to increase localized availability of the drug within the disc for treatment of disc related disorders, including pain, as recognized by Gross. Such modification would comprise the application of a known electrical assisted drug transport technique to a known therapeutic target to achieve predictable result of localized drug delivery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Desimone et al. (US Publication no. 2016/0184612) teaches a technique for localized drug delivery to a target tissue when driven by an applied electric field. Desimone et al. does not discuss transport of the drug from the blood circulation to the tissue.
Gross et al. (US Patent no. 9,950,156) is directed to a technique for electro osmotically driving a fluid into intervertebral discs. However, does not teach driving a drug or therapeutic agent into the disc. Additionally, the reference is disqualified as prior art due to a defective filing date.
/BRIAN T GEDEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796 22 October 2026