DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 11,632,230 B2), in view of Zhao (US 8,970,270 B2).
Regarding Claim 1 and equivalent method Claim 13, Li et al. discloses in Figure 3A a clock signal duty ratio correction circuit comprising:
a period indication signal generation circuit configured to generate a period indication signal according to a clock signal, wherein a period indication level of the period indication signal is correlated with a period time of the clock signal (using 310);
a first ramp signal generation circuit configured to generate a first ramp signal according to the clock signal (using 320, which outputs signal Vramp); and
a clock signal regeneration circuit configured to generate a clock regeneration signal according to a triggering of the clock signal, such that the clock regeneration signal has a target duty ratio (circuitry which generates DTC_Code; wherein Figure 6 further illustrates DTC_Code, as outputted from 650, is based in part on Vout);
wherein a slope of the first ramp signal is correlated with the target duty ratio (wherein signal Vramp slope is based in part on the adjustment across capacitor C4);
but does not explicitly teach the clock regeneration signal is according to a comparison of the first ramp signal with the period indication level.
Zhao teaches in Figure 1 and 2 the clock regeneration signal is according to a comparison of the first ramp signal with the period indication level (Figure 1: 104; Figure 2: 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the comparison teachings of Zhao within the feedback control loop of Li et al. for the purpose of generating a “square wave signal with the high-precision duty cycle” for better signal control. Zhao, Col. 2, lines 38-39.
Regarding Claims 2 and 14, Li et al. and Zhao, as a whole, teach all the limitations of the present invention, wherein Li et al. further teaches the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit,
wherein the first ramp signal generation circuit charges a first capacitor with a first current to generate the first ramp signal (Figures 3A: controlled adjustment of capacitor C4),
wherein the first current is inversely correlated with the target duty ratio, or a first capacitance of the first capacitor is positively correlated with the target duty ratio (where the current across capacitor C4 is correlated with the controlled adjustment using DTC_Code).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-12 and 15-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit, further comprising a frequency divider circuit coupled with the period indication signal generation circuit, configured to divide a frequency of the clock signal and generate a frequency divided clock signal;
in combination with all the other claimed limitations.
Claims 4-10 are objected to for depending from Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit, wherein the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit is applied to plural operation circuits coupled to one another in a daisy chain topology, wherein each of the plural operation circuits generates a corresponding output clock signal according to a corresponding input clock signal, wherein the corresponding output clock signal serves as the corresponding input clock signal for an adjacent next operation circuit of the plural operation circuits; wherein each of the plural operation circuits includes the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit, wherein the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit is configured to generate the clock regeneration signal according to the input clock signal, and to generate the output clock signal according to the clock regeneration signal;
in combination with all the other claimed limitations.
Claim 12 is objected to for depending from Claim 11.
Regarding Claim 15, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the duty ratio correction method 14, further comprising: dividing the clock signal to generate a frequency divided clock signal;
in combination with all the other claimed limitations.
Claims 16-22 are objected to for depending from Claim 15.
Regarding Claim 23, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the duty ratio correction method, wherein the duty ratio correction method is utilized for a clock signal duty ratio correction circuit which is applied to plural operation circuits coupled to one another in a daisy chain topology, wherein each of the plural operation circuits generates a corresponding output clock signal according to a corresponding input clock signal, wherein the corresponding output clock signal serves as the corresponding input clock signal for an adjacent next operation circuit of the plural operation circuits; wherein each of the plural operation circuits includes the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit, wherein the clock signal duty ratio correction circuit is configured to generate the clock regeneration signal according to the input clock signal, and to generate the output clock signal according to the clock regeneration signal;
in combination with all the other claimed limitations.
Claim 24 is objected to for depending from Claim 23.
Contact
/DIANA J. CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849