If Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments: On page 7 of Remarks, Applicant argues Gan does not disclose processing circuitry configured to assign one or more spatial streams to one or more stations associated with a sharing AP, and assign the one or more further spatial streams to at least one shared AP for a coordinated beamforming transmission because determining and indicating parameters for NDP/ channel sounding is not the same as assigning spatial streams to stations and APs for coordinated beamforming transmission.
Also, Applicant argues that Jiang is directed to multi-AP channel sounding procedure for coordinated beamforming and joint transmission. However, Jiang’s disclosure of spatial streams pertains to channel sounding, CSI acquisition, and the disclosed number of spatial streams relates to sounding transmission and merely discloses the sounding procedure. Applicant further argues that Jiang’s common information fields does not identify “information about the number of the one or more further spatial streams assigned by the sharing AP to the at least one shared AP for the coordinated beamforming transmission.” Rather Jiang discloses sounding- related information such as participating APs/BBSs, indicates the number of associated STAs, sounding sequence type, and sounding related spatial stream information.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the broadest reasonable interpretation of the language of claim 1, Gan teaches processing circuitry configured to assign one or more spatial streams to one or more stations associated with a sharing AP because the request frame send by the sharing AP is to request from the shared AP to communicate with the STA by performing channel detection according to the information indicated in the requested frame such as spatial stream number field which indicates the number of spatial streams (See Gan [0084]). Similar to specification [0089] that states “For the "full nulling CoBF" embodiment, the shared APs 120, 130 according to an embodiment are configured to indicate the exact assignment of spatial streams to their STAs 125a, b (within the range suggested by the sharing AP 110),” in Gan, the shared AP 2 is configured by the request frame to indicate the assignment number of spatial streams (See Gan [0084])
Also, Gan teaches the sharing AP to instruct the shared AP to perform the channel detection through a probe request where the exact number of spatial streams is indicated. For example, if AP 1 has 16 antennas, and may measure channels of 16 spatial streams and AP 2 has 8 antennas, AP 1 May instruct AP 2 to measure channels of 8 spatial streams (See Gan [0084]). Therefore, AP1 assigns 8 (the exact number of spatial stream) spatial streams to AP 2. Therefore, the sharing AP assigns the number of spatial streams by instructing the shared AP with the indication of exact number of spatial. Thus, Gan discloses assigning one or more further spatial streams to at least one shared AP for a coordinated beamforming transmission (See Gan [0082, 0084, 0089]).
Additionally, Jiang alone does not disclose “information about the number of the one or more further spatial streams assigned by the sharing AP to the at least one shared AP for the coordinated beamforming transmission.” Gan in view of Jiang, in combination, discloses this limitation. Also, claims 4-7 define “common block of the frame comprises information about a number of the station information blocks contained within the frame.” Gan in view of Jiang teaches the limitations of claims 4-7 as claimed below (See Jiang [0023, 0025, 0032]). Also, as Applicant conceded Jiang is directed to multi-AP channel sounding procedure for coordinated beamforming and joint transmission (See Jiang [0008]). This is similar to the application that can be related to the sounding procedure (See Specification [0081]). The mere use of sounding related information does not disqualify the core teaching of reference. Thus, Gan in view of Jiang teaches the limitation of claims 4-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6,10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gan, WO 2021129401 A1.
Regarding claim 1, A sharing access point (API)
Gan [0167]; For the foregoing three implementations, after the AP 2 and the AP 3 receive the probe request frame, the AP 2 and the AP 3 May perform channel sounding by using a transmission opportunity shared by the AP 1 (Sharing AP). For a sequence in which the AP 2 and the AP 3 perform channel sounding, for example, the probe request frame may include an order or a specific time in which each second access point device, for example, the AP 2 (Shared AP) and the AP 3, performs channel sounding. For another example, after the AP 2 performs the channel sounding procedure, after obtaining the CSI between the AP 2 and the station device (for example, the STA 1 and the STA 2), the AP 2 May further notify the next AP that needs to perform the channel sounding procedure (for example, AP 3).
[0089]; For example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 160 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 8; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 160 MHz, the quantity of spatial streams may also be 8, for example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 16; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams may be 8, so that the bandwidth of the AP 1 and the bandwidth of the AP 2 are the same, and the AP 1 and the AP 2 May perform coordinated transmission based on the same channel, so that joint transmission may be better implemented, and joint transmission efficiency is improved (coordinated beamforming transmission).
Gan [0024]; receiving, by the second access point device, a probe request frame sent by the first
access point device; and The probe request frame is used to request the second access point device to
perform channel sounding, the probe request frame includes a sounding bandwidth field and/or a
spatial stream digital segment, the sounding bandwidth field is used to indicate a bandwidth for
channel sounding, and the spatial stream digital segment is used to indicate a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding; and the second access point device performs channel sounding based on the sounding request frame to obtain channel state information between the second access point device and the station device.
Gan [0025]; In a possible implementation, the performing, by the second access point device, channel sounding based on the sounding request frame, to obtain channel state information with the station device (communicate with one or more stations associated with the shared AP includes: sending, by the second access point device, a null data packet NDP to the station device, where a bandwidth field of the NDP is determined based on a sounding bandwidth field in the sounding request frame, and a spatial stream digital segment of the NDP is determined based on a spatial stream digital segment in the sounding request frame;
processing circuitry (Gan, FIG. 15, Ref. 1520) configured to assign the one or more spatial streams to the one or more stations
Gan [0083]; In the embodiment of the present application, the probe request frame is used to request AP2 to perform channel detection. It can also be understood that the probe request frame is used to request AP2 to initiate channel detection, and to communicate with STAs (such as STA1, or STA1 and STA2). Therefore, AP1 instructs AP2 to perform channel detection through a probe request frame. That is, AP2 can perform channel detection according to the information indicated by the detection request frame.
Gan [0084]; The detection bandwidth when the AP2 performs channel detection can be indicated by the detection bandwidth field, and the number of spatial streams when the AP2 performs channel detection can be indicated by the spatial stream number field. In other words, AP2 can determine the detection bandwidth of AP2 during channel detection according to the detection bandwidth field in the detection request frame, and determine the number of spatial streams when AP2 performs detection according to the spatial stream number field.
a communication interface
a common bloc
Gan [0166]; As shown in Figure 8, the probe request trigger frame can include the common info field and the user info field. The public information field can include the probe bandwidth subfield and the spatial flow number subfield. For the probe bandwidth subfield and the spatial flow number subfield, please refer to Figure 4, which will not be described in detail here.[0102]; Understandably, the implementation of the detection bandwidth field, spatial flow number field, from AP ID (AP2~AP K) field, receive address field (one or more parameters), and send address field can be described above, and will not be described in detail here. For example, the receive address can be the receive address of AP2 (at least one shared AP).
one or more station information blocks, wherein each of the one or more station information blocks includes one or more parameters of the corresponding station
Gan [0103]; As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field (one or more station information blocks ) in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs, respectively. As shown in Figure 5a, the site information 1 field may include AID11 (that is, the AID of the STA corresponding to site information 1) subfield, partial bandwidth information (partial BW info) subfield, feedback type and grouping (feedback type and Ng) The subfield, the codebook size subfield, the number of columns (Nc) subfield, and the reserved subfield.
Gan [0083]; In the embodiment of the present application, the probe request frame is used to request AP2 to perform channel detection. It can also be understood that the probe request frame is used to request AP2 to initiate channel detection, and to communicate with STAs (such as STA1, or STA1 and STA2 = stationsuch as channel state information CSI. Specifically, as the scheduler of channel sounding, AP1 (Sharing AP) can uniformly schedule information, thereby realizing joint transmission. Therefore, AP1 instructs AP2 to perform channel detection through a probe request frame. That is, AP2 can perform channel detection according to the information indicated by the detection request frame.
and a shared AP information bloc
Gan [0084]; The sounding bandwidth when the AP 2 performs channel sounding may be indicated by the sounding bandwidth field, and the quantity of spatial streams when the AP 2 performs channel sounding may be indicated by the spatial stream digital segment (spatial stream digital segment =shared AP information bloc
404: AP 1 sends a sounding request frame to AP 2, where the sounding request frame is used to request the AP 2 to perform channel sounding, the sounding request frame includes a sounding bandwidth field and/or a spatial stream digital segment, the sounding bandwidth field is used to indicate a bandwidth for channel sounding, and the spatial stream digital segment is used to indicate a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding. Correspondingly, the AP 2 receives the probe request frame sent by the AP 1.
Gan [0084]; A quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 2 is the same as a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 1, which is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, AP 1 has 16 antennas, and may measure channels of 16 spatial streams; while AP 2 has 8 antennas, AP 1 May instruct AP 2 to measure channels of 8 spatial streams (assigned by the sharing AP to the at least one shared AP). Optionally, a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 2 is the same as a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 1.
Gan [0088] 403: The STA 1 sends a beamforming report frame to the AP 1, where the beamforming report frame is used to report a channel measurement result, for example, CSI, between the AP 1 and the STA 1. Correspondingly, the AP 1 receives the beamforming report frame sent by the STA 1, to obtain the CSI between the AP 1 and the STA 1.
[0089]; For example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 160 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 8; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 160 MHz, the quantity of spatial streams may also be 8, for example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 16; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams may be 8, so that the bandwidth of the AP 1 and the bandwidth of the AP 2 are the same, and the AP 1 and the AP 2 May perform coordinated transmission based on the same channel, so that joint transmission may be better implemented, and joint transmission efficiency is improved (coordinated beamforming transmission).
Regarding claim 5, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the common block
Gan [0166]; As shown in Figure 8, the probe request trigger frame can include the common info field and the user info field. The public information field can include the probe bandwidth subfield and the spatial flow number subfield. For the probe bandwidth subfield and the spatial flow number subfield, please refer to Figure 4, which will not be described in detail here.Gan [0102]; Understandably, the implementation of the detection bandwidth field, spatial flow number field, from AP ID (AP2~AP K) field, receive address field, and send address field can be described above, and will not be described in detail here. For example, the receive address can be the receive address of AP2. Alternatively, the receiving address can be a broadcast address, and so on.
[0092] In the embodiment of the present application, if there is a second access point device such as AP2, the AP2 can be identified by the receiving address (information about the number of at least one shared AP). If there are multiple secondary access point devices such as AP2 and AP3, the identification of the second access point device is as follows: Set the receive address to the broadcast address; Alternatively, the probe request frame does not include the receive address, but instead indicates the second access point device through the access point identification field. As an example, the AP ID field indicates the number of secondary AP devices and the identification information for each secondary AP device.
Regarding claim 6, The sharing AP
Gan [0166]; As shown in Figure 8, the probe request trigger frame can include the common info field and the user info field. The public information field can include the probe bandwidth subfield and the spatial flow number subfield.
Gan [0102]; Understandably, the implementation of the detection bandwidth field, spatial flow number field, from AP ID (AP2~AP K) field (a Multi-AP set identifier), receive address field, and send address field can be described above, and will not be described in detail here. For example, the receiving address may be the receiving address of AP2. Alternatively, the receiving address may be a broadcast address or the like. For example, the sending address can be AP1's MAC (set identifier) address, and so on. It is understandable that the spatial stream numbers shown in Figures 5a and 5b only show one. For example, when multiple second access point devices (for example, AP2 and AP3) are instructed to perform channel detection, Figures 5a and 5b The shown spatial stream digital field can be replaced with: AP2 spatial stream digital field and AP3 spatial stream digital field.
Regarding claim 10, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information bloc
Gan [0103]; As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs (stations associated with the sharing AP), respectively. As shown in Figure 5a, the site information 1 field may include AID11 (that is, the AID of the STA corresponding to site information 1) subfield.
Regarding claim 13, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the shared AP information block further comprises an identifier
Gan [0102]; Wherein, the receiving address in FIG. 5a may be a broadcast address, or the receiving address in FIG. 5a may be the MAC address of a second access point device such as AP2. In the case that there are multiple second access point devices, the multiple second access point devices can be identified through the secondary AP identifiers (AP2 to AP K) in FIG. 5b. It can be understood that the implementation of the detection bandwidth field, the spatial stream number field, the slave AP identifier (AP2-AP K) field, the receiving address field, and the sending address field can refer to the foregoing description, which will not be described in detail here. For example, the receiving address may be the receiving address of AP2. Alternatively, the receiving address may be a broadcast address or the like. For example, the sending address can be AP1's MAC address, and so on. It is understandable that the spatial stream numbers ( shared AP information block )shown in Figures 5a and 5b only show one (One MAC address= an identifier). For example, when multiple second access point devices (for example, AP2 and AP3) are instructed to perform channel detection, Figures 5a and 5b The shown spatial stream digital field can be replaced with: AP2 spatial stream digital field and AP3 spatial stream digital field.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Jiang, EP 3849099 B1.
Regarding claim 4, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the common block
Jiang [0023]; The common info field also indicates the number of STA info field associated with each AP.
Jiang [0010]; In these embodiments, the data trigger frame may trigger the AP2 to transmit a concurrent data frame to the OBSS STAs (STA21...2N) (i.e., the STAs associated with the AP2) an SIFS after the data trigger frame.
In view of Jiang, Gan is modified such that the information about a number of the station information
blocks contained within the frame.
Gan and Jiang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission of NDP frame.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe the common block field with the associated information of STAs to determine the number of STA in the frame to indicate the purpose of channel sounding sequence (Jiang [0009]).
Regarding claim 7, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the common block
Jiang [0022]; The common info field can indicate the sounding sequence type, JT or CBF.
Jiang [0032]; For CBF: When some AP has downlink data for transmission and the AP wants to utilize CBF, the AP can initiate the sequential channel sounding: 1. Before initiating channel sounding, the AP may exchange STA info or other info related with CBF with other APs that are expected to join CBF.
Jiang [0025]; For the BFRP trigger frame, the following frame format can be used shown in FIG. 5B. In the trigger type subfield of common info field, a new type of trigger frame can be defined for the multi-AP channel sounding sequence CSI feedback and in the trigger dependent common info field, a sub trigger type can be defined (identifier) to further differentiate the channel sounding sequence, for example, JT or CBF, or in the common info field the master AP can indicates the type of the following sounding sequence, JT or CBF.
wherein the coordination agreement identifier
Jiang [0009]; In these embodiments, for multi-AP coordinated beamforming (CBF) and/or multi-AP joint transmission (JT), the AP may be configured to operate as a master AP (AP1) and implement a multi-AP channel sounding protocol, such as the multi-AP channel sounding protocol illustrated in FIG. 5. In these embodiments, the AP1 may be configured to encode a NDPA frame for transmission to poll one or more intra-BSS stations (STA11... 1N) associated with the AP1 and one or more OBSS STAs (inter-BSS STAs) (STA21...2N) associated with a slave (i.e., second) AP (AP2). In these embodiments, the AP1 may also be configured to encode a first NDP (NDP1) frame for transmission an SIFS after the NDPA frame. The NDP1 may be transmitted concurrently with a second NDP (NDP2) transmitted by the AP2 ( sharing AP In these embodiments, the AP1 may also be configured to encode a beam-forming refinement phase (BFRP) trigger frame for transmission an SIFS after the NDP1 frame. The BFRP trigger frame may identify both the one or more BSS stations and the one or more OBSS STAs. In these embodiments, the AP1 may also be configured to decode CSI report frames in TB PPDUs received from the BSS stations in the BFRP trigger frame and CSI report frames received from the OBSS STAs identified in the BFRP trigger frame.
Jiang [0025]; For the BFRP trigger frame, the following frame format can be used shown in FIG. 5B. In the trigger type subfield of common info field, a new type of trigger frame can be defined for the multi-AP channel sounding sequence CSI feedback and in the trigger dependent common info field, a sub trigger type can be defined (identifier) to further differentiate the channel sounding sequence, for example, JT or CBF, or in the common info field the master AP can indicates the type of the following sounding sequence, JT or CBF.
In view of Jiang, Gan is modified such that the common block
coordination agreement identifier
Gan and Jiang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission of NDP frame.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe the common block field with the coordinator identifier to organize the communication between the APs and to indicate the purpose of channel sounding sequence (Jiang [0009]).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of
Chitrakar et al. (US 2020/0322105 A1)(“Chitrakar”).
Regarding claim 8, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the common block
Chitrakar [0105] FIG. 11B illustrates the structure of the two-octet long Preferred Response Type subfield 1100 proposed to be included in the Type-Dependent Common Info field 950 and it is used to further narrow down the specific Management frame preferred by the AP and contains a four-bit long Frame Subtype subfield 1112 and an eight-bit long Subtype Specific subfield 1114 while the remaining 4 bits are reserved.
In view of Chitrakar, Gan is modified such that the common blockcomprises a response
type indicator.
Gan and Chitrakar are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission of blocks of frame between APs and STAs.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe the common block field with the response type indicator to exchange data efficiently between the devices (Chitrakar [0123]).
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Lim et al. (US 2020/0059808 A1)(“Lim”).
Regarding claim 9, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information bloc
Lim [0170]; Fig. 18, The NDP-A frame may include at least one of an STA information field including an identifier of the STA, a joint transmission indicator including information on whether the NDP-A frame is for the joint transmission (JT) of the plurality of APs, an antenna configuration field, and a number of spatial streams.
Lim [0176]; The number of spatial streams of the NDP-A frame may indicate/include the number of spatial streams for all of the plurality of Aps (associated with the sharing AP).
In view of Lim, Gan is modified such that the station information block comprise
Information about a number of the spatial streams.
Gan and Lim are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe the STA information field with the information about the spatial streams to determine the numbers of STAs.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Lim in further view of CN 110890907 A (“Sethi”).
Regarding claim 11, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information bloc
Lim [0170]; Fig. 18, The NDP-A frame may include at least one of an STA information field including an identifier of the STA, a joint transmission indicator including information on whether the NDP-A frame is for the joint transmission (JT) of the plurality of APs, an antenna configuration field, and a number of spatial streams.
Lim does not teach a first spatial stream index of the spatial streams.
Sethi teaches a first spatial stream index of the spatial streams.
Sethi, Page 7 [0014]; FORMULA SS sub field: set one or a plurality of spatial stream (SS) needs to use when generating HE-LTF uplink NDP is a STA. the whole space pool represented by the index sequence, and SS sub field specifying (i) a start index (index of the first spatial stream) to be used and (ii) a number of spatial streams to be used, starting from the starting index. In one example embodiment, for full-dimensional detection, the number of spatial streams is set to number of STA antennas.
In view of Sethi, Lim is modified such that the station information block comprise a first spatial stream
index of the spatial streams.
Lim and Sethi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe the STA information field with the index information about the spatial streams to determine the numbers of STAs.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Moon et al. (US 20160295513 A1) (“Moon”) in further view of EP 3679678 B1 (“Vermani”).
Regarding claim 12, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information bloc
Moon claim 10: The station of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause generating the beamforming report based on a station information field of the null data packet announcement frame.
Moon does not teach nulling information for enabling the shared AP
Vermani teaches nulling information or enabling the at least one shared AP
Vermani [0070]; Accordingly, each AP 104a-b may use coordinated beamforming to simultaneously communicate with corresponding BSS (or associated) STAs 106a-d while nulling OBSS (or non-associated) STAs 106a-d. The coordinated beamforming may allow the APs 104a-b to simultaneously transmit data to respective BSS STAs 106 without causing interfering with the OBSS STAs 106. Therefore, in the system 700, transmissions for a particular STA 106 are only transmitted from a single AP 104 while the STA 106 only receives nulls from OBSS APs 104.
In view of Vermani, Moon is modified such that the station information block comprise a nulling
information with the sharing AP.
Moon and Vermani are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Moon in the manner described above to describe the STA information field with the nulling information field to determine the nulling information corresponding to the respective station for the purpose of coordination.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Sethi.
Regarding claim 14, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein the shared AP information block further comprises information about one or more further spatial stream assigned to the at least one shared AP.
Gan [0012]; In this embodiment of this application, the second access point device determines, by using the probe request frame, a sounding bandwidth and a spatial stream quantity for channel sounding, so that the first access point device and the second access point device perform coordinated transmission under a same bandwidth and a unified scheduling (for example, allocation of a spatial stream) of the first access point device, thereby improving the coordinated transmission efficiency of the first access point device and the second access point device.
Gan [0010]; and the spatial stream digital segment (Shared AP information) is used to indicate a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding.
Gan [0084]; A quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 2 is the same as a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 1, which is not limited in this embodiment of this application. For example, AP 1 has 16 antennas, and may measure channels of 16 spatial streams; while AP 2 has 8 antennas, AP 1 May instruct AP 2 to measure channels of 8 spatial streams (assigned by the sharing AP to the at least one shared AP). Optionally, a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 2 is the same as a quantity of spatial streams for channel sounding performed by the AP 1.
Gan [0088] 403: The STA 1 sends a beamforming report frame to the AP 1, where the beamforming report frame is used to report a channel measurement result, for example, CSI, between the AP 1 and the STA 1. Correspondingly, the AP 1 receives the beamforming report frame sent by the STA 1, to obtain the CSI between the AP 1 and the STA 1.
[0089]; For example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 160 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 8; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 160 MHz, the quantity of spatial streams may also be 8, for example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 16; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams may be 8, so that the bandwidth of the AP 1 and the bandwidth of the AP 2 are the same, and the AP 1 and the AP 2 May perform coordinated transmission based on the same channel, so that joint transmission may be better implemented, and joint transmission efficiency is improved (coordinated beamforming transmission).
Gan does not teach a first spatial stream index of the further set of spatial streams.
Sethi teaches a first spatial stream index of the further set of spatial streams.
Sethi, Page 7 [0014]; FORMULA SS sub field: set one or a plurality of spatial stream (SS) needs to use when generating HE-LTF uplink NDP is a STA. the whole space pool represented by the index sequence, and SS sub field specifying (i) a start index (index of the first spatial stream) to be used and (ii) a number of spatial streams to be used, starting from the starting index. In one example embodiment, for full-dimensional detection, the number of spatial streams is set to number of STA antennas.
In view of Sethi, Gan is modified such that the AP information block comprise a first spatial stream
index of the spatial streams.
Lim and Sethi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above to describe above to include the spatial stream information field with the index information to determine the number of spatial streams (Sethi, page 7 [0014]).
Claims 15, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Guo (CN 112118034 A).
Regarding claim 15, The sharing AP of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more further station information blocks includes one or more parameters of the corresponding station associated with the at least shared AP, and included in the coordinated beamforming transmission.
Gan [0103]; As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs, respectively. As shown in Figure 5a, the site information 1 field may include AID11 (that is, the AID of the STA ( station associated with the shared AP )corresponding to site information 1) subfield, partial bandwidth information (partial BW info) subfield, feedback type and grouping (feedback type and Ng) The subfield, the codebook size subfield, the number of columns (Nc) subfield, and the reserved subfield.
[0089]; For example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 160 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 8; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 160 MHz, the quantity of spatial streams may also be 8, for example, the bandwidth of the AP 1 for channel sounding is 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams is 16; In this case, the bandwidth of the AP 2 for channel sounding may also be 320 MHz, and the quantity of spatial streams may be 8, so that the bandwidth of the AP 1 and the bandwidth of the AP 2 are the same, and the AP 1 and the AP 2 May perform coordinated transmission based on the same channel, so that joint transmission may be better implemented, and joint transmission efficiency is improved (coordinated beamforming transmission).
Gan does not teach wherein the shared AP information block further comprises one or more further station information blocks.
Guo teaches wherein the shared AP information block further comprises one or more further station information blocks.
Guo, page 13, [0005], Referring to FIG. 11, which is shown as an EHT NDPA frame comprising at least one AP information field, the front 11bits of the AP information field bearing the AID of the STA in the second AP belongs to the device, and the AP information field further comprises co-location AP information.
In view of Guo, Gan is modified such that the AP information block further comprises one or more further station information blocks.
Gan and Guo are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above for the AP information block further comprises one or more further station information blocks to show the information of STA.
Regarding claim 17, The sharing AP of claim 15, wherein the one or more further station information blocks
Gan [0103]; As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs, respectively (same format).As shown in Figure 5a, the site information 1 field may include AID11 (that is, the AID of the STA corresponding to site information 1) subfield, partial bandwidth information (partial BW info) subfield, feedback type and grouping (feedback type and Ng) The subfield, the codebook size subfield, the number of columns (Nc) subfield, and the reserved subfield.
Regarding claim 19, The sharing AP of claim 15, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information block
Gan [0103] As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs, respectively. As shown in Figure 5a, the site information 1 field may include AID11 (that is, the AID (identifier of the respective station) of the STA corresponding to site information 1) subfield, partial bandwidth information (partial BW info) subfield, feedback type and grouping (feedback type and Ng) The subfield, the codebook size subfield, the number of columns (Nc) subfield, and the reserved subfield. The number of bits occupied by each subfield can be shown in Figure 5a. For example, AID11 occupies 11 bits, and part of the bandwidth information subfield occupies 14 bits. It is understandable that the following will take the STA corresponding to the site information 1 subfield as an example to illustrate the role of each subfield.
11. Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Guo in further view of You et al. (US 20160143018 A1) (“You”).
Regarding claim 16, The sharing AP of claim 15, station information blocks.
Gan [0103]; As an example, the site information 1 field to the site information N field in FIG. 5a and FIG. 5b may be used to identify different STAs, respectively.
Gan does not teach wherein the shared AP information block further comprises information
You teaches wherein the shared AP information block further comprises information
You [0025]; a spatial stream field (shared AP information block) indicating a number of spatial streams allocated to each of member STAs included in the MIMO transmission STA group;
In view of You, Gan is modified such that the shared AP information block comprises information
Gan and You are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, the spatial streams.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Gan in the manner described above for the shared AP information block to comprises information.
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Guo in further view of Jian in further view of Lim.
Regarding claim 18, The sharing AP of claim 15, respective station associated with the at least one shared AP and included in the beamforming coordinated transmission.
Jiang [0009]; In these embodiments, for multi-AP coordinated beamforming (CBF) and/or multi-AP joint transmission (JT), the AP may be configured to operate as a master AP (AP1) and implement a multi-AP channel sounding protocol, such as the multi-AP channel sounding protocol illustrated in FIG. 5. In these embodiments, the AP1 may be configured to encode a NDPA frame for transmission to poll one or more intra-BSS stations (STA11... 1N) associated with the AP1 and one or more OBSS STAs (inter-BSS STAs) (STA21...2N) associated with a slave (i.e., second) AP (AP2).
Jiang does not teach wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding
Lim teaches wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding further station information block comprise information
Lim [0170]; Fig. 18, The NDP-A frame may include at least one of an STA information field including an identifier of the STA, a joint transmission indicator including information on whether the NDP-A frame is for the joint transmission (JT) of the plurality of APs, an antenna configuration field, and a number of spatial streams.
In view of Lim, Jiang is modified such that one or more parameters included in the corresponding
station information block comprise information
spatial streams of the one or more further spatial streams assigned to the respective station associated.
Lim and Jiang are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Jiang in the manner described above to describe above to include the spatial stream information field assigned with the respected STA to determine number of respected STA.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Guo in further view of Lim in further view of Sethi.
Regarding claim 20, The sharing AP of claim 15, wherein the one or more parameters included in the corresponding station information block comprise information
Lim [0170]; Fig. 18, The NDP-A frame may include at least one of an STA information field including an identifier of the STA, a joint transmission indicator including information on whether the NDP-A frame is for the joint transmission (JT) of the plurality of APs, an antenna configuration field, and a number of spatial streams.
Lim does not teach a first spatial stream index of the spatial streams of the one or more further spatial streams assigned to the respective station
Sethi teaches a first spatial stream index of the spatial streams of the one or more further spatial streams assigned to the respective station
Sethi, Page 7 [0014]; FORMULA SS sub field: set one or a plurality of spatial stream (SS) needs to use when generating HE-LTF uplink NDP is a STA. the whole space pool represented by the index sequence, and SS sub field specifying (i) a start index (index of the first spatial stream) to be used and (ii) a number of spatial streams to be used, starting from the starting index. In one example embodiment, for full-dimensional detection, the number of spatial streams is set to number of STA antennas.
In view of Sethi, Lim is modified such that the STA information block comprise a first spatial stream
index of the spatial streams.
Lim and Sethi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmission NDP frames.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Lim in the manner described above to describe above to include the spatial stream information field with the index information to determine the number of spatial streams (Sethi, page 7 [0014]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with telephone
number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478