Election/Restrictions
Election/Restrictions
2. Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/20/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species I in the reply filed on 2/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (2011/0299868) in view of Shioyasu et al. (US 2024/0103956)
Ito disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, an image forming apparatus (Abst., figs 1-18);
* a heater/fixing heater 111/ (paras 0039-0042, figs 3-11);
* a temperature sensor /temperature detection element 311/ configured to detect a temperature of the heater/111/ (paras 0042-0047, figs 3-11);
* a power supply circuit/heater drive circuit/ configured to perform power supply to the heater (paras 0042-0047, figs 3-18);
* a main processor/engine controller 202/ configured to supply a heater/fixing heater 111/ control signal to the power supply circuit/heater drive circuit/ based on the temperature detected by the temperature sensor/311/ to control the power supply circuit/heater drive circuit/ and adjust the temperature of the heater (0039-0047, figs 1-18);
* a sub-processor/cpu 202a/, (b) supplies, to the power supply circuit, the heater control signal for cutting off the power supply to the heater when determination is made that the output is not made (0039-0047, figs 1-18).
* Re clm 2, wherein the sub-processor/cpu 202a/ controls an internal device/fixing heater 111, transistor 426/ of the image forming apparatus/100/(paras 0036-0037, 0045-0050, figs 1-3).
* Re clm 3, a print engine/processor cartridge 101/ configured to form an image on a print sheet/P/ using a color material/toner/; and a transport device/ rollers, 113, 114,115, 116, 117/ configured to transport the print sheet/S/ to the print engine/101/, wherein the main processor/engine controller 202/ controls the print engine/101, toner cartridge, photosensitive drum 102/, and the sub-processor/paper or sheet transfer control unit 207/ controls the transport device/rollers, 113, 114,115, 116, 117/ as the internal device (paras 0037-0039, figs 1A-1B).
Ito does not disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, wherein the sub-processor (a) monitors whether or not an output from the main processor is made regularly
Shioyasu et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, wherein the sub-processor/cpu core 0-3) (a) monitors whether or not an output from the main processor/cpu 11, cpu core 0/ is made regularly (30-34, 38, 42-0055, 0080, 0092-0093, 0131, 0142, figs 1-10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize wherein the sub-processor (a) monitors whether or not an output from the main processor is made regularly, taught by Shioyasu et al. into Ito for the purpose of providing a connection to a monitor whether a first processor core is among a plurality of processor cores is operating normally.
6. Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (2011/0299868) as modified by Shioyasu et al. (US 20240103956) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tamagawa (US 2024/0020499).
Ito as modified by Shioyasu et al. discloses the following:
* Re clm 4, wherein the heater/fixing heater 111/ is provided in the drying device/fixing device 110/.
Tamagawa0293 disclose the following:
* Re clm 4, a drying device configured to dry the print sheet after printing in an ink jet system (paras 0074-0075, 0168-0170, 0196, 0293, figs 1, 2, 9).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize a drying device configured to dry the print sheet after printing in an ink jet system, taught by Tamagawa into Ito for the purpose of purpose of improving the quality of printed images onto the printed material.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853