35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grunwald 8932089.
Regarding claim 18, Grunwald (front page) discloses a screw for a mechanical lug, the screw comprising: a wire binding screw (WBS) body 4 extending along a screw axis with male threads winding helically around the screw axis configured to be engaged to female threads of a WBS bore in the mechanical lug, wherein the WBS body includes an axial end face; and wherein: the screw is configured to clamp a wire between the axial end face and clamping surfaces of the mechanical lug, wherein the axial end face includes a circumferential rim (unnumbered, lower face of 4) extending around the screw axis surrounding an end pocket 6 defined in the axial end face, wherein the circumferential rim and the end pocket are configured to deform a section of the wire in the mechanical lug so that the circumferential rim presses into the wire and a portion of the wire presses into the end pocket to secure the wire in the mechanical lug against loosening of preloading on the wire. Note that only the screw per se, not any portion of the lug, is being positively recited, and thus Grunwald is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Regarding claim 19, Grunwald discloses the end pocket 6 defines a conical surface extending inward into the WBS body 4 from the axial end face along the screw axis.
Regarding claim 20, Grunwald discloses a driving end 16 of the WBS body opposite the axial end face defines a driver receptacle 12 configured to receive a driver tool for turning the WBS body about the screw axis.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-17, 21 and 22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches the clamping surfaces converging in a direction away from the WBS bore and the pair of surfaces converging in a direction toward the WBS bore; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
Response To Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Grunwald, as noted above, discloses the claimed structure of the screw per se in claims 18-20.
Finality
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834