Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 28-42, 55, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen (Pub. No.: 2020/0084738 A1) in view of Ogawa (Pub. No.: 2023/0115290 A1)
1) In regard to claim 28, Nguyen discloses the claimed vehicle-to-everything (V2X)-capable vehicle (fig. 2: 100), comprising:
one or more memories (fig. 2: 171);
one or more transceivers (fig. 2: 174-176); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination (fig. 2: 170), configured to:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, one or more messages indicating the association and a set of BEV features representing the BEV space other than the one or more features of the BEV space associated with the one or more V2X messages (¶0129).
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose the processor determines an association between one or more features of a bird’s eye view (BEV) space around the V2X-capable vehicle and one or more V2X messages, and the one or more features of the BEV space are associated with the one or more V2X messages based on one or more objects detected in the one or more features of the BEV space being reported in the one or more V2X messages; and
However, Ogawa discloses it is known for a V2X vehicle processor to determine an association between one or more features of a bird’s eye view (BEV) space around the V2X-capable vehicle and one or more V2X messages (¶0076 discloses an edge server transmits to a vehicle within a predetermined range with relevant information and ¶0082 discloses the vehicle sends a response message to the edge server with the most accurate data), and the one or more features of the BEV space are associated with the one or more V2X messages based on one or more objects detected in the one or more features of the BEV space being reported in the one or more V2X messages (¶0082 discloses the data is related to the edge server data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the processor of Nguyen to supply accurate information to other devices, as taught by Ogawa.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Nguyen as described above in order to allow the remote server to have the most updated information regarding the surroundings of the vehicle.
2) In regard to claim 29 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more messages indicate the association based on the one or more messages including: message identifiers of the one or more V2X messages, object identifiers of the one or more objects included in the one or more V2X messages, or any combination thereof (Ogawa ¶0075-¶0076).
3) In regard to claim 30 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more messages indicate the association based on the one or more messages indicating: a bounding box within the BEV space, a set of coordinates within the BEV space, or a set of matrix elements within the BEV space (Ogawa ¶0076 discloses a predetermined range).
4) In regard to claim 31 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein: the one or more V2X messages include a first V2X message transmitted by the V2X-capable vehicle, the one or more V2X messages include a second V2X message transmitted by a second V2X-capable vehicle, a transformation matrix is determined between a first bounding box around the one or more features of the BEV space in a coordinate space of the V2X-capable vehicle and a second bounding box around the one or more features of the BEV space in a coordinate space of the second V2X-capable vehicle, and the one or more messages indicate the association based on an alignment between the first bounding box and the second bounding box being greater than a threshold (Ogawa ¶0082 discloses providing most accurate information by dividing the map up into different areas and reflecting change in the important areas).
5) In regard to claim 32 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen ab nd Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, the one or more V2X messages from one or more other V2X-capable vehicles (Ogawa ¶0068).
6) In regard to claim 33 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, the one or more V2X messages (Ogawa ¶0070).
7) In regard to claim 34 (dependent on claim 33), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 33, wherein: the one or more V2X messages include a message identifier of a most recent V2X message that included velocity vectors for the one or more objects, the one or more V2X messages include current trajectories of the one or more objects based on the current trajectories differing from previously reported trajectories of the one or more objects, the one or more V2X messages include accelerations of the one or more objects detected since the most recent V2X message including the velocity vectors for the one or more objects, the one or more V2X messages do not include object classifications of the one or more objects based on the object classifications having been previously reported, the one or more V2X messages include behavior identifiers of the one or more objects indicating motion patterns of the one or more objects, or any combination thereof (Ogawa ¶0075 and ¶0160).
8) In regard to claim 35 (dependent on claim 34), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 34, wherein: the one or more V2X messages include the message identifier of the most recent V2X message including the velocity vectors for the one or more objects, and the one or more V2X messages further include: object identifiers of the one or more objects, current velocities of the one or more objects, and a timestamp (Ogawa ¶0160).
9) In regard to claim 36 (dependent on claim 33), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 33, wherein the one or more V2X messages are transmitted to: other V2X-capable vehicles, a network entity, or any combination thereof (Ogawa ¶0068).
10) In regard to claim 37 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration to report V2X messages for at least a first region of the BEV space and to report BEV features for at least a second region of the BEV space, wherein the one or more features of the BEV space are one or more BEV features of the second region of the BEV space (Ogawa ¶0052).
11) In regard to claim 38 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration to report a first type of V2X messages for at least a first region of the BEV space and to report a second type of V2X messages for at least a second region of the BEV space (Ogawa ¶0053).
12) In regard to claim 39 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration to report a first type of V2X messages for at least a first region of the BEV space for a first time period and to report a second type of V2X messages for at least a second region of the BEV space for a second time period (Ogawa ¶0077).
13) In regard to claim 40 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: receive, via the one or more transceivers, a configuration to report BEV features for at least a region of the BEV space based on at least the region of the BEV space not being reported by other V2X-capable vehicles (Ogawa ¶0082).
14) In regard to claim 41 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein: each feature of the set of BEV features is represented by a set of matrix elements of an image (¶0097 discloses pixels makes up an image).
15) In regard to claim 42 (dependent on claim 28), Nguyen and Ogawa further disclose the V2X-capable vehicle of claim 28, wherein the one or more messages are transmitted to: other V2X-capable vehicles, a network entity, or any combination thereof (Ogawa ¶0068).
16) In regard to claim 1, claim 1 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 28 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), claim 2 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 29 and the references applied.
18) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), claim 3 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 30 and the references applied.
19) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), claim 4 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 31 and the references applied.
20) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), claim 5 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 32 and the references applied.
21) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), claim 6 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 33 and the references applied.
22) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 6), claim 7 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 34 and the references applied.
23) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 7), claim 8 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 35 and the references applied.
24) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 6), claim 9 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 36 and the references applied.
25) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 1), claim 10 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 37 and the references applied.
26) In regard to claim 11 (dependent on claim 1), claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 38 and the references applied.
27) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 1), claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 39 and the references applied.
28) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 1), claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 40 and the references applied.
29) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 1), claim 14 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 41 and the references applied.
30) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 1), claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 42 and the references applied.
31) In regard to claim 55, claim 55 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 28 and the references applied.
32) In regard to claim 57, claim 57 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 28 and the references applied.
Claims 16-18, 20-21, 23-27, 43-45, 47-48, 50-54, 56 and 58 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa (Pub. No.: 2023/0115290 A1) in view of Kose Cihangir (Pub. No.: 2021/0383695 A1; hereinafter Kose)
1) In regard to claim 43, Ogawa discloses the claimed network entity (fig. 5: 128 discloses as an edge server), comprising:
one or more memories (fig. 5: 226);
one or more transceivers (fig. 5: 210 & 254); and
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers (fig. 5: 224), the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to:
receive, via the one or more transceivers, from a first V2X-capable vehicle, one or more first messages indicating an association between one or more first features of a first bird’s eye view (BEV) space around the first V2X-capable vehicle and one or more first V2X messages (¶0082 discloses the accurate data is transmitted to the edge server data).
Ogawa does not explicitly disclose the one or more first features of the first BEV space is associated with the one or more first V2X messages based on one or more first objects detected in the one or more first features of the first BEV space being reported in the one or more first V2X messages, and wherein the one or more first messages further indicate a first set of BEV features representing the BEV space other than the one or more first features of the first BEV space associated with the one or more first V2X messages, and determine an occupancy of a global BEV space based, at least in part, on properties of the one or more first objects reported in the one or more first V2X messages.
However, Kose discloses it is known for a network entity processor to receive data and determine from the data one or more first features of the first BEV space is associated with the one or more first V2X messages based on one or more first objects detected in the one or more first features of the first BEV space being reported in the one or more first V2X messages, and wherein the one or more first messages further indicate a first set of BEV features representing the BEV space other than the one or more first features of the first BEV space associated with the one or more first V2X messages, and determine an occupancy of a global BEV space based, at least in part, on properties of the one or more first objects reported in the one or more first V2X messages (¶0192).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the processor of Ogawa to determine occupancy of an area, as taught by Kose.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Ogawa as described above in order to provide an intelligent transportation system.
2) In regard to claim 44 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein: the one or more first V2X messages indicate the properties of the one or more first objects at a first time, and the occupancy of the global BEV space is determined for a second time after the first time based on the properties of the one or more first objects at a first time (Ogawa ¶0143).
3) In regard to claim 45 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the properties of the one or more first objects include: positions of the one or more first objects, velocities of the one or more first objects, accelerations of the one or more first objects, headings of the one or more first objects, object types of the one or more first objects, or any combination thereof (Kose ¶0060).
4) In regard to claim 47 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more first messages indicate the association based on the one or more first messages including: message identifiers of the one or more first V2X messages, object identifiers of the one or more first objects included in the one or more first V2X messages, or any combination thereof (Ogawa ¶0160).
5) In regard to claim 48 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more first messages indicate the association based on the one or more first messages indicating: a bounding box within the first BEV space, a set of coordinates within the first BEV space, or a set of matrix elements within the first BEV space (Ogawa ¶0076 discloses a predetermined range).
6) In regard to claim 50 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first V2X-capable vehicle, a configuration to report V2X messages for at least a first region of the first BEV space and to report BEV features for at least a second region of the first BEV space, wherein the one or more first features of the first BEV space are one or more BEV features of the second region of the first BEV space (Ogawa ¶0052).
7) In regard to claim 51 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first V2X-capable vehicle, a configuration to report a first type of V2X messages for at least a first region of the BEV space and to report a second type of V2X messages for at least a second region of the BEV space (Ogawa ¶0053).
8) In regard to claim 52 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first V2X-capable vehicle, a configuration to report a first type of V2X messages for at least a first region of the BEV space for a first time period and to report a second type of V2X messages for at least a second region of the BEV space for a second time period (Ogawa ¶0053).
9) In regard to claim 53 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the first V2X-capable vehicle, a configuration to report BEV features for at least a region of the BEV space based on at least the region of the BEV space not being reported by other V2X-capable vehicles (Ogawa ¶0082).
10) In regard to claim 54 (dependent on claim 43), Ogawa and Kose further disclose the network entity of claim 43, wherein: each feature of the first set of BEV features is represented by a set of matrix elements of an image (Ogawa ¶0097).
11) In regard to claim 16, claim 16 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 43 and the references applied.
12) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 16), claim 17 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 44 and the references applied.
13) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 16), claim 18 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 45 and the references applied.
14) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 16), claim 20 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 47 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 21 (dependent on claim 16), claim 21 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 48 and the references applied.
16) In regard to claim 23 (dependent on claim 16), claim 23 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 50 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 24 (dependent on claim 16), claim 24 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 51 and the references applied.
18) In regard to claim 25 (dependent on claim 16), claim 25 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 52 and the references applied.
19) In regard to claim 26 (dependent on claim 16), claim 26 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 53 and the references applied.
20) In regard to claim 27 (dependent on claim 16), claim 27 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 54 and the references applied.
21) In regard to claim 56, claim 56 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 43 and the references applied.
22) In regard to claim 58, claim 58 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 43 and the references applied.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 22, 46 and 49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685