DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Cabrales (U.S. Publication 2010/0129506).
Regarding claim 1, Cabrales teaches an apparatus configured to process foodstuff materials (figure 1 item 10), the apparatus comprising: a material passage (volume inside item 10) having an inlet(opening in item 20 proximate hopper item 62), an outlet (opening in item 20 proximate item 124), and an axis (axes through which item 19 extends), wherein the material passage is configured to facilitate the conveyance of foodstuff materials from the inlet to the outlet (material flows from item 62 through item 20 to item 124); an inner shaft located within the material passage and extending along the axis (item 19), wherein the inner shaft is configured to be rotationally driven about the axis (item 19 is driven along its longitudinal axis by items 12 and 14); and multiple differently shaped protrusions coupled to and extending from the inner shaft and configured to process the foodstuff materials when the inner shaft is rotationally driven (paragraph 81 teaches mixing elements 18, and teaches different widths for items 18a, 18b, and 18c which are considered multiple differently shaped protrusions), wherein each of at least a portion of the multiple differently shaped protrusions extend from the inner shaft at a location of another differently shaped protrusion and in a direction that is opposite the direction of the other differently shaped protrusion (figure 2 shows multiple items 18 oriented in opposite directions from adjacent items 18).
Regarding claim 2, Cabrales teaches wherein the multiple differently shaped protrusions include one or more unfilled hoops, hooks, and paddles (paragraph 117 teaches items 18 as paddles).
Regarding claim 3, Cabrales teaches wherein the multiple differently shaped protrusions include agitation protrusions configured to agitate the foodstuff materials (the tips at the end of item 18 is considered a shape for mixing) and conveyance protrusions configured to convey the foodstuff materials (paragraph 87 teaches an outlet wall item 204 which is used to convey material).
Regarding claim 5, Cabrales teaches wherein at least a portion of the multiple differently shaped protrusions extend from the inner shaft in a helical and imbricated pattern (figure 6 item 30 is considered reading on a helical and imbricated pattern).
Regarding claim 6, Cabrales teaches wherein the foodstuff materials include one or more meat analogue materials (the material is considered intended use, item 10 is considered capable of agitating meant analogue products).
Regarding claim 7, Cabrales teaches a method of processing foodstuff materials (paragraph 1 teaches a method for processing meat), the method comprising: providing foodstuff materials into a material passage having an inlet (opening in item 20 where item 62 feeds), an outlet (opening in item 20 which feeds foodstuff to item 124 ), a central axis (axis through which item 19 extends), a single inner shaft extending along the central axis (item 19 comprises a single shaft, the claim uses comprising language and is not considered excluding multiple shafts), and multiple differently shaped protrusions coupled to and extending from the inner shaft (paragraph 81 teaches mixing elements 18, and teaches different widths for items 18a, 18b, and 18c which are considered multiple differently shaped protrusions); rotating the inner shaft in a first direction while the foodstuff materials are within the material passage (item 19 is rotated in a direction by items 12 and 14), wherein the rotating results in multiple different processing functions of the foodstuff materials by the multiple differently shaped protrusions (material is both conveyed and agitated in item 20 which are considered different processing functions); and collecting the foodstuff materials from the outlet of the foodstuff processing apparatus after the multiple different processing functions have been performed by the multiple differently shaped protrusions (material is connected in item 124 from item 20).
Regarding claim 8, Cabrales teaches wherein the multiple different processing functions include conveying the foodstuff materials through the material passage (material moves from item 62 towards item 124 and therefore considered conveyed through item 20) and agitating the foodstuff materials while the foodstuff materials are within the material passage (paragraph 18 teaches a mixer and mixing elements which are considered agitating the foodstuffs).
Regarding claim 9, Cabrales teaches wherein the multiple differently shaped protrusions include one or more unfilled hoops, hooks, and paddles (paragraph 117 teaches items 18 as paddles).
Regarding claim 10, Cabrales teaches providing water into the material passage while the foodstuff materials are within the material passage to produce a plurality of hydrated foodstuff material particles (paragraph 57 teaches pumping water via item 84 which would inherently hydrate the foodstuff material in item 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4,12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabrales (U.S. Publication 2010/0129506) in view of Kurina (US Publication 2019/0150476).
Regarding claims 4, Cabrales teaches a water inlet located at the foodstuff inlet (paragraph 57 teaches pumping water via item 84). Regarding claims 4, Cabrales is silent to multiple water inlets located along the exterior of the tube. Regarding claim 4, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream the inlet of the hopper (Figure 2 inlet 5, the water is considered intended use). Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the extruder mixer of Cabrales with the fluid inlet configuration of Kurina in order to achieve the desired texture of food product. Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 12, Cabrales teaches an apparatus configured to hydrate foodstuff materials (Fig. 1 item 10, paragraph 57 teaches pumping water and chunks of meat which is considered hydrating foodstuffs) the apparatus comprising: a material passage (volume inside item 10) having an inlet(opening in item 20 proximate hopper item 62), an outlet (opening in item 20 proximate item 124), and an axis (axes through which item 19 extends), wherein the material passage is configured to facilitate the conveyance of foodstuff materials from the inlet to the outlet (material flows from item 62 through item 20 to item 124); an inner shaft located within the material passage and extending along the axis (item 19), wherein the inner shaft is configured to be rotationally driven about the axis (item 19 is driven along its longitudinal axis by items 12 and 14); and multiple protrusions extending therefrom that are configured to interact with foodstuff materials when the inner shaft is rotationally driven (paragraph 81 teaches mixing elements 18, which are used to interact with foodstuffs in item 20). Regarding claims 12, Cabrales is silent to multiple water inlets spaced apart between the inlet and outlet. Regarding claim 12, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream the inlet of the hopper (Figure 2 inlet 5, the water is considered intended use). Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the extruder mixer of Cabrales with the fluid inlet configuration of Kurina in order to achieve the desired texture of food product. Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 13, Cabrales teaches wherein the multiple protrusions include multiple differently shaped protrusions (paragraph 81 teaches mixing elements 18, and teaches different widths for items 18a, 18b, and 18c which are considered multiple differently shaped protrusions) that include one or more unfilled hoops, unfilled hooks, unfilled paddles, or any combination thereof (paragraph 117 teaches items 18 as paddles).
Regarding claim 14, Cabrales teaches wherein at least a portion of the multiple protrusions are configured to process the foodstuff materials into smaller foodstuff particles (items 18 are considered capable of breaking up foodstuffs into smaller particles, paragraph 60 teaches breaking the protein and unraveling the protein).
Regarding claims 15, Cabrales is silent to the water inlet configuration. Regarding claim 15, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream the inlet of the hopper (Figure 2 inlet 5, the water is considered intended use) which would inherently hydrate material as its being broken up, the material is considered intended use. Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the extruder mixer of Cabrales with the fluid inlet configuration of Kurina in order to achieve the desired texture of food product. Regarding claim 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 16, Cabrales teaches wherein the flow of water is metered based at least in part on the rotation of the inner shaft (paragraph 87 teaches a control system which regulates the metering pumps which is considered capable of metering the water based on the speed of the rotational shaft). Regarding claims 16, Cabrales is silent to multiple water inlets spaced apart between the inlet and outlet. Regarding claim 16, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream the inlet of the hopper (Figure 2 inlet 5, the water is considered intended use). Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the extruder mixer of Cabrales with the fluid inlet configuration of Kurina in order to achieve the desired texture of food product. Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 17, Cabrales teaches multiple processing regions (processing regions are considered proximate items 18). Regarding claim 17, Cabrales is silent to the water inlet and hydrating region configuration. Regarding claim 17, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream of the inlet hopper (figure 2 inlet 5, water is considered intended use), the fluid inlet considered a hydrating region, and areas where there is no inlet considered processing regions. Regarding claim 17, Regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 18, Cabrales teaches regions where foodstuff is agitated (proximate items 18). Regarding claim 18, Cabrales is silent to the water inlet and hydrating region configuration. Regarding claim 17, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream of the inlet hopper (figure 2 inlet 5, water is considered intended use), the fluid inlet considered a hydrating region and is capable of hydrating material proximate the inlet, and areas where there is no inlet considered processing regions. Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 19, Cabrales teaches while the material being worked upon is considered intended use, Cabrales teaches creating new surface areas as the material is processed (paragraph 60 teaches breaking protein strands and unraveling protein which would inherently create new surface areas). Regarding claim 19, Cabrales is silent to the water inlet and hydrating region configuration. Regarding claim 19, Kurina teaches a fluid inlet downstream of the inlet hopper (figure 2 inlet 5, water is considered intended use), the fluid inlet considered a hydrating region and is capable of hydrating material proximate the inlet, and areas where there is no inlet considered processing regions. Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of water lines feeding into the mixer in order to achieve the desired moisture content of the foodstuff since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 20, Cabrales teaches wherein the material passage includes one fluid passage along surfaces thereof to facilitate the direction of water through the material passage to facilitate hydration of the food material (paragraph 57 teaches pumping water which flows through item 20 and considered hydrating foodstuffs throughout the inner surfaces of item 20).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cabrales (U.S. Publication 2010/0129506) in view of Yusa (U.S. Publication 2013/0285273).
Regarding claim 11, Cabrales is silent to the shaft being rotatably in a clockwise and counterclockwise direction. Regarding claim 11, Yusa teaches wherein the inner shaft is configured to be rotationally driven in both clockwise and counterclockwise directions (paragraph 38, screw 20). Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mixer of Cabrales with the rotational configuration of Yusa in order to produce the desired degree of agitation. Both references are concerned with conveying material via screws and are considered in the same field of endeavor.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 2 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 2 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 3 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 3 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 4 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 5 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 10 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 6 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 12 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and opposite protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 7 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 13 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the exterior tube and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 8 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 14 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the exterior tube and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 9 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 15 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the exterior tube and would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 10 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 16 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the exterior tube and the multiple water inlets would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 11 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 18 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the exterior tube and the multiple water inlets would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 12 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 13 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube and protrusion configuration would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 13 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 14 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 15 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 16 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 17 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 18 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 19 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Claim 20 of the instant application is rejected for being obvious type double patenting since the claim is not considered patentably distinct of claim 7 of U.S. Patent 12,004,536 since the naming of the passage vs exterior tube, protrusion configuration, and the effect of the agitation would not have been restricted if presented in the same application.
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774