Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite the term NZP-CSI-RS-Resource set without providing the full meaning of “NZP”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the UE” in lines 7, 12, and 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
As for claims 18-20 which claim dependency from claim 17 these claims are rejected under the same rationale as claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al (US PGPUB US20220123891).
Claim 1 discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication with a base station in a wireless system (figure 24); and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to (figure 24): receive a channel status information (CSI) report configuration to configure a CSI report, wherein the CSI report configuration includes an indicator related to a number of tracking reference signal (TRS) resource sets for measuring time-domain channel properties (TDCP) of a channel between the UE and the base station, wherein a TRS resource set includes at least two symbols in a slot for CSI reference signals (CSI-RS), and wherein the slot is repeated to form multiple slots having a periodicity (Ji et al, shows the user equipment receives the configuration for CIS report, where the configuration contains an indicator in relation to a number of TRS resource sets for measuring the channel properties between the UE and the base station; where the TRS resource set includes at least two symbols in a slot for CSI-RS and slot is repeated to create multiple slots with a periodicity (paragraphs 212, tables 29 and 32, paragraph 15, figures 11 and 12, and paragraphs 234-237)); configure the number of TRS resource sets based on a CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration (Ji et al shows the disclosed CSI report configuration details include different parameters corresponding to TRS resource set configuration and the UE realizes the related configuration with respect to the parameters based on the CSI resource setting for CSI report configuration (tables 29 and 32).); monitor the configured number of TRS resource sets to perform CSI report measurements (Ji et al shows the termina monitors the TRS resource set configurations for performing CSI report measurements (figure 10, paragraphs 231).); generate the CSI report based on the CSI report measurements, wherein the CSI report includes an indication of the time-domain channel properties measured based on the number of TRS resource sets (Ji et al shows the terminal generates the CSI report in line with the report measurements and the report contains indication of channel properties based on the corresponding TRS resource sets (paragraph 401).); and transmit the CSI report to the base station (Ji et al shows the terminal performs transmission of the CSI report to the base station (paragraph 219)).
Independent claims 12 and 17 which recite similar limitations are rejected under the grounds of claim 1 as recited above.
(Claim 2 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the number of TRS resource sets includes only one TRS resource set (Ji et al paragraph 239)).
(Claim 5 discloses) The UE of claim 1, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is indicated by an other CSI report configuration associated with and different from the CSI report configuration (Ji et al paragraph 223 and table 35)).
Claims 15 and 20 which recite similar limitations are rejected under the grounds of claim 5 as recited above.
(Claim 6 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the number of TRS resource sets includes a first TRS resource set and a second TRS resource set, wherein the first TRS resource set and the second TRS resource set are configured for the CSI report to have a same time domain behavior including a periodic CSI report, a semi-persistent CSI report, or an aperiodic CSI report (Ji et al paragraph 221)).
(Claim 7 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the number of TRS resource sets includes a first TRS resource set having a first periodicity and a second TRS resource set having a second periodicity, wherein the second periodicity is equal to the first periodicity or a multiple of the first periodicity (Ji et al paragraph 221, and 241-242)).
(Claim 8 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the number of TRS resource sets includes a first TRS resource set and a second TRS resource set, wherein the first TRS resource set and the second TRS resource set are configured with one or more same quasi co-location (QCL) properties related to doppler shift, doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, receiving (Rx) spatial filter, or average gain (Ji et al paragraph 242)).
(Claim 9 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the number of TRS resource sets includes a first TRS resource set and a second TRS resource set, wherein the first TRS resource set and the second TRS resource set are configured with same frequency domain resources (Ji et al figure 11)).
(Claim 10 discloses) the UE of claim 9, wherein the frequency domain resources for the first TRS resource set and the frequency domain resources for the second TRS resource set include a same physical resource block (PRB) or a same resource element within a PRB (Ji et al figure 11)).
(Claim 11 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the CSI report and the CSI report measurements are generated by a number of CSI processing units (CPUs), and wherein the number of CPUs is equal to the number of TRS resource sets (Ji et al shows the ability to use multiple processors as needed (paragraph 51)).
(Claim 13 discloses) the method of claim 12, wherein each TRS resource set in the number of TRS resource sets is a NZP-CSI-RS-Resource set configured by a same configuration parameter (Ji et al paragraph 159 and table 29)).
Claim 16 which recites similar limitations to claim 6 is rejected under the grounds of claim 6 as recited above.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 12, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang et al (EPO APP EP 3462664A1).
Claim 1 discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver configured to enable wireless communication with a base station in a wireless system; and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver and configured to: receive a channel status information (CSI) report configuration to configure a CSI report, wherein the CSI report configuration includes an indicator related to a number of tracking reference signal (TRS) resource sets for measuring time-domain channel properties (TDCP) of a channel between the UE and the base station, wherein a TRS resource set includes at least two symbols in a slot for CSI reference signals (CSI-RS), and wherein the slot is repeated to form multiple slots having a periodicity (Kang et al, shows user equipment paragraphs 113-114, tables 4 and 5 and paragraphs 512-513, and paragraphs 555-568).); configure the number of TRS resource sets based on a CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296 and 311-314).); monitor the configured number of TRS resource sets to perform CSI report measurements (Kang et al paragraphs 536-540).); generate the CSI report based on the CSI report measurements, wherein the CSI report includes an indication of the time-domain channel properties measured based on the number of TRS resource sets (Kang et al paragraphs 311-320 and 375-376).); and transmit the CSI report to the base station (Kang et al paragraphs 140-143)).
Independent claims 12 and 17 which recite similar limitations are rejected under the grounds of claim 1 as recited above.
(Claim 3 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is included in a CSI resource configuration associated with the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296)).
(Claim 4 discloses) the UE of claim 1, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is indicated by a parameter included in the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296)).
(Claim 14 discloses) the method of claim 12, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is indicated by a parameter included in the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296)).
(Claim 18 discloses) the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is included in a CSI resource configuration associated with the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296)).
(Claim 19 discloses) the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the CSI resource setting associated with the CSI report configuration is indicated by a parameter included in the CSI report configuration (Kang et al paragraphs 294-296)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ryu et al (US PGPUB US2024/0113831) teaches of aperiodic zero power channel state information reference signal enhancement for multi-slot PSDCH rate matching.
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472