DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Amendment filed on 1/14/2026.
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 1, 5, 9 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heredia et al. (US 20080120574 A1, hereinafter Heredia), in view of Hollander et al. (US 20200301939 A1, hereinafter Hollander).
Regarding Claim 5, Heredia teaches a system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the system to (Heredia, Paragraph [0002], “The invention relates generally to a business process management system and, more specifically, to visualizing characteristics of a business process represented by a process diagram”; [0035], “"computer system" can be broadly defined to encompass any device ( or combination of devices) having at least one processor that executes instructions from a memory medium”): read, by the processor, data from a worksheet [[ via a visualization software development kit ]] (Heredia, Paragraph [0006], “The method may comprise storing historical data regarding the business process. The historical data may be collected during prior executions of the diagram, i.e., during prior executions of the business process. Various methods may be utilized to collect appropriate data during these prior executions”; [0066], “he graphical indications may be displayed as a "heat map" on the diagram <read on worksheet>. A heat map may visually indicate which of the steps and/or paths in the process are most important (or least efficient)”); transform, by the processor, the data for consumption [[ by a timeline visualization library ]] (Heredia, Paragraph [0009], “The method may analyze the historical data to determine information (referred to as "first" information) regarding one or more steps and/or flow paths in the business process. The analysis may comprise averaging and/or totaling various values from the historical data. The analysis may also comprise comparing the characteristics of corresponding steps and/or flow paths in the business process with a threshold value”); render, by the processor, the data as points [[ in a timeline visualization chart that is displayed on a graphical user interface ]] (Heredia, Paragraph [0007], “A diagram of the business process may be displayed on a display. The diagram comprises a plurality of icons connected by lines, wherein each of the icons represents a respective step in the business process”, [0008], “the user may select various scenarios, such as time analysis, path analysis or count analysis”); represent, by the processor, a first subset of the data points by a first icon and a second subset of the data points by a second icon (Heredia, Paragraph [0036], “[0036] Subset-in a set having N elements, the term "subset" comprises any combination of one or more of the elements, up to and including the full set of N elements. For example, a subset of a plurality of icons may be any one icon of the plurality of the icons, any combination of one or more of the icons, or all of the icons in the plurality of icons”); and represent, by the processor, one or more transfers of [[ material goods ]] from one or more members of the first subset of the data points to a respective one or more members of the second subset of the data points via one or more classes [[ of a software language ]] (Heredia, Paragraph [0007], “The diagram comprises a plurality of icons connected by lines, wherein each of the icons represents a respective step in the business process, and wherein the lines indicate flow paths between the steps in the business process” [0052], “the diagram may describe or visually indicate a business process for processing purchase orders. One step in the process may include generation of a purchase order; thus once the diagram is executed, the diagram (or a program executed by the diagram) may generate the purchase order. Alternatively” [0053], “the diagram may include a first icon representing generation of the purchase order which may be connected by a line ( e.g., a flow path) to another icon which may represent a step for populating data in the purchase order”).
But, Heredia does not explicitly disclose read, by the processor, data from a worksheet via a visualization software development kit.[[ transform, by the processor, the data for consumption ]] by a timeline visualization library. [[ render, by the processor, the data as points ]] in a timeline visualization chart that is displayed on a graphical user interface. [[ and represent, by the processor, one or more transfers of ]] material goods [[ from one or more members of the first subset of the data points to a respective one or more members of the second subset of the data points via one or more classes ]] of a software language.
However, Hollander teaches read, by the processor, data from a worksheet via a visualization software development kit (Hollander, Paragraph [0017], “According to one aspect, a visualization system configured to create interactive visualization of database data including dynamic schema databases is provided” [0011], “The system additionally comprises a first display configured to accept specification of a database and/or database collection to access (e.g., add a new data source), manage user access roles for visualization of the data within the database and/or collection based on defined public and private access functions” [0057], “The control server 206 can include an API 208 ( e.g., client representational state transfer ("REST") API) configured to manage calls to visualization services … visualization software development kit (SDK)); transform, by the processor, the data for consumption by a timeline visualization library (Hollander, Paragraph [0008], “the system handles the complex logic, data interactions, dynamic data transformation, etc., needed to manage data rules ( e.g., access rules layered over database permission based control, ummarization/aggregation requirements, etc.) for any data being visualization in individual visualization and/or the dashboard of multiple visualizations” <read on timeline visualization>”; [0307], “filters applied to embedded charts via the SDK or URI parameter, the system may implement a shorter expiry time it is noted that via date-based aggregation and time series data handling in summarization requirements it is timeline aspect visualization); render, by the processor, the data as points in a timeline visualization chart that is displayed on a graphical user interface (Hollander, Paragraph [0017], “render the visualization to users having an authorized user role; and dynamically define access rights to the visualization” [0069], “Multiple charts can be arranged on dashboards, and subsequently shared with other users through a built-in sharing dialog in the user interface); represent, by the processor, a first subset of the data points by a first icon and a second subset of the data points by a second icon (Hollander, Paragraph [0012], “the at least one processor is configured to display a set of missed fields, wherein the missed fields are in the database collection and not within the sample of the database collection” [0319], “missed and calculated fields are grouped together under the tag "Virtual Fields". For example, a new virtual field can be added in a field panel display, which is configured to open a dialog where the user can choose between a missed or a calculated”); and represent, by the processor, one or more transfers of material goods from one or more members of the first subset of the data points to a respective one or more members of the second subset of the data points via one or more classes of a software language (Heredia, Paragraph [0046], “data visualizations can be constructed from data sources-reference to a database collection which contains the data to visualize ( e.g., MongoDB database collection), to yield a chart, which is a visualization mapped to a single data source”; [0250], “According to some embodiments, the system implements a javascript SDK ("JS SDK")”).
Heredia and Hollander are analogous since both of them are visualizing data flows and processes in graphical user interfaces. Heredia provided a way of analyzing historical data from business process to render diagrams with icons including time analysis scenarios for timeline-like visualization. Hollander provided a way of reading data via a visualization software kit and transforming the data through dynamic aggregation and rules for consumption by visualization engines and rendering charts on dashboards using classes defined in JavaScript SDK. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the visualization software development kit, dynamic data transformation and JavaScript taught by Hollander into modified invention of Heredia such that the historical business process data could be read and transformed via a SDK for precise rendering of timeline charts in order to handle complex data interaction and enable flexible embedding of visualizations in user interfaces.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Heredia and Hollander teaches the invention in Claim 5.
The combination further teaches wherein the instructions further configure the system to: override, by a user, one or more of the one or more transfers of material goods (Heredia, Paragraph [0010], “The method may then display graphical indications ( also referred to as "heat maps") associated with a first subset of icons and/or a first subset of lines in the diagram in response to the analysis” [0013], “the user may modify the diagram to modify the business process, and operation of the modified business process may be simulated to generate second information”; [0012], The graphical indications visually indicate the differences in characteristics of the steps and/or flow paths in the business process between the two sets of data, and are useable to analyze the business process. [0013], “the user may modify the diagram to modify the business process, and operation of the modified business process may be simulated to generate second information. The first and second information may then be compared to determine differences in characteristics of steps and/or flow paths in the first business process and the modified business process. Graphical indications may then be displayed on the display indicating these differences.” ; it is noted when user modify the diagram to modify the business process, it is overriding the process elements (steps/icons and flow path/lines).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Heredia and Hollander teaches the invention in Claim 6.
The combination further teaches wherein the user overrides at least one of a destination and a date (Heredia, Paragraph [0010], “The method may then display graphical indications ( also referred to as "heat maps") associated with a first subset of icons and/or a first subset of lines in the diagram in response to the analysis” [0008], [0009], “The analysis may also comprise comparing the characteristics of corresponding steps and/or flow paths in the business process with a threshold value…the user may select various scenarios, such as time analysis, path analysis or count analysis”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Heredia and Hollander teaches the invention in Claim 5.
The combination further teaches wherein the software language is JavaScript (Hollander, Paragraph [0014], “According to one aspect, a computer implemented method for generating visualizations is provided” [0009], “an Embedding SDK and integration with existing authentication sessions” [0250], “the system implements a JavaScript SDK ("JS SDK") with iFrame support”).
As explained in rejection of claim 5, the obviousness for combining of SDK and JavaScript of Hollander into Heredia is provided above.
Regarding Claim 1, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 5 but as a method and the combination of Heredia and Hollander teaches all the limitations as of Claim 5. Therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 2, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 6 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 3, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 4, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 8 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 9, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of claim 5 and the combination of Heredia and Hollander teaches all the limitations as of Claim 5. And Heredia discloses these features can be implemented on a computer readable storage medium (Heredia, Paragraph [0032], [0035], “the term "computer system" can be broadly defined to encompass any device (or combination of devices) having at least one processor that executes instructions from a memory medium” “r "software program" are intended to have the full breadth of its ordinary meaning, and include any type of program instructions, code, script and/or data, or combinations thereof, that may be stored in a memory medium and executed by a processor”).
Regarding Claim 10, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 6 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 11, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 7 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding Claim 12, it recites limitations similar in scope to the limitations of Claim 8 and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 5, 9 filed on 1/14/2026, with respect to rejection under 35 USC § 103 in regard to prior art does not teaches the limitation(s) “data from a worksheet" have been considered but is not persuasive..
In response to the argument, Claims 1, 5, 9 only mentioned the term “worksheet: but does not require that the "worksheet" be a particular file format ( e.g., an Excel like workbook) or require a specific "spreadsheet program." Rather, even under Applicant's own discussion of the term, a "worksheet" is a structured set of data elements ( e.g., "a worksheet that contains all data elements ... for example, a list of supplies with their respective quantity and date attributes ... "). Prior art Hollander expressly discloses in Paragraph [0177] that system is used to selecting/defining a "data source" as an "original source (e.g., a database collection) to define a source data that can then be accessed by a layer that enables sophisticated visualizations (e.g., charts).". Prior art Hollander further discloses in Paragraph [0057] that the control server includes a "visualization software development kit (SDK)" and an API configured to manage calls to visualization services, including modifying data sources, etc. Prior art Hollander also explains that in Paragraph [0269] that ("When the Frame requests chart data ... returning the chart data" which means when chart data is requested, the system fetches/returns chart data under the SDK/iFrame architecture. Thus Prior art Hollander teaches reading data from the defined data source dataset (worksheet readon) via the visualization SDK, as claimed. Applicant's position that Prior art Hollander cannot meet "worksheet" merely because Prior art Hollander uses a database collection/datasource is not persuasive, since the claim does not exclude such an implementation and Prior art Hollander's datasource (database collection defining "source data") is a worksheet-equivalent structured dataset of data elements that is read and visualized. Although applicant further argued that “"worksheet" includes "a sheet that is used in making preliminary plans, auxiliary computations, notes, or comments as a guide in doing some piece of work," "a specially prepared sheet, pamphlet, or booklet containing data of assistance in planning and accomplishing some piece of work," or "leaf or page in a workbook" or a spreadsheet. "Worksheet." which were directly quoted from Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary (not from applicant field specification). However, those wordings are not mentioned in any of the limitation currently filed. Furthermore, prior art Heredia teaches using heat map on the diagram which definitely can be treated and functionalized as worksheet. Hence based on the current claimed language, the combination of prior arts fully anticipate all the limitations currently claimed. Therefore, applicant remark cannot be considered persuasive.
In regard to Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12, they directly/indirectly depends on independent Claim 1, 5, 9 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than the independent claim 1, 5, 9. The limitations in those claims in conjunction with combination previously established as explained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210399911 A1 SYSTEMS, METHODS, AND APPARATUS FOR MEETING MANAGEMENT
US 20160253308 A1 ANALYSIS VIEW FOR PIVOT TABLE INTERFACING
US 20150186605 A1 RESEARCH AND DISCOVERY UNIT
US 20110191343 A1 Computer Research Tool For The Organization, Visualization And Analysis Of Metabolic-Related Clinical Data And Method Thereof
US 20110134204 A1 SYSTEM AND METHODS FOR FACILITATING COLLABORATION OF A GROUP
US 20090037241 A1 Automated strategic planning system and method
US 6904449 B1 System and method for an application provider framework
US 8520000 B2 Creation, sharing and embedding of interactive charts
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YuJang Tswei/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614