Final Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 07/29/2026, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1 and 14 and the claims depending therefrom as obvious under 35 USC 103 in view of Kudo et al as part of US 8572870 B2, hereinafter referred to as Kudo, in view of Hall et al as part of US 20200123732 A1, hereinafter referred to as Hall, further in view of Briscoe as part of US 4791738 A, hereinafter referred to as Briscoe have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Stolz as part of US 20180305891 A1, hereinafter referred to as Stolz, in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/29/2026 with respect to the rejections of independent claim 7 and claims depending thereof have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In light of the amendments made, the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) have been withdrawn.
In the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner wishes to respond to specific arguments presented by Applicant.
Examiner thanks Mr. Patrick Miller for their time and courtesy for the interview conducted July 14, 2026.
Regarding Claims 1 and 14, Applicant posits that Kudo does not teach of a window section specifically having a length greater than a width, where the length extends in the length direction of the fabricated bucket. Applicant further states it would not be obvious to modify the window portions of portion 14 of Kudo’s tall/thick bucket without changing the principal operation of Kudo in the process.
While Examiner does concede that panel section 35 of Kudo does not satisfy the length/width requirement of the amended claim language, Applicant has not presented sufficient evidence that such an alteration would render the bucket taught by Kudo unfit for its primary purpose as a dragline digging apparatus, as the dimensions of the window sections do not otherwise deviate from known bucket configurations, as arguments presented by Applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 2145, Subsection I). Examiner does not agree that simply altering the shape of the panel sections 35 of side walls 14 of Kudo would render the bucket unfit for the original purpose of intaking material within a working volume, as the side walls 14 are explicitly shown to satisfy the length/width requirement of teaching a dragline bucket that is longer than it is tall, and adjusting the length and width of the panel sections 35 would not alter the shape or function of the bucket.
Applicant further posits that Kudo does not teach of the forward-facing drag lugs being a one piece construction as part of the first or second side wall, specifically noting that the disclosure of Kudo teaches of a two piece, movable joint, and as such, it would not be obvious to form Kudo’s components 28 and 29 into a single piece to arrive at the claimed invention without fundamental alteration of the principle operation of the disclosure of Kudo. Examiner agrees with this assessment, as Kudo’s disclosure would cease to function in its intended manner by removing the pivotable connection. In light of such amended language to claims 1 and 14, Examiner withdraws the rejections under Kudo in view of Hall. However, with respect to claim 7, no such language requiring integral or single piece construction was required; and as such, a modified grounds of rejection is being applied under Kudo.
Applicant further posits that the disclosure of Kudo fails to teach of a concave cutout portion as recited in combination with the specified dimension ratios of claim 7 and 14, stating that providing such a concave cutout portion in the disclosure of Kubo would require substantial reconstruction and redesign of Kudo’s components. Upon further consideration, in light of the specification defining the concave cutout portion as element 220, and the claim language requiring that the concave cutout portion must be included “between the arm and each of the first and second forward-facing projections in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket”, Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. The claimed language does not require the same level of detail as asserted by applicant, nor does the specification recite a correlation between the concave cutout portions and the dimensions required by arguments. Further, there is no present evidence that modifying Kudo to include such a concave cutout section would result in substantial reconstruction, as arguments presented by Applicant cannot take the place of evidence in the record (MPEP 2145, Subsection I). As can be seen in the annotated Fig. 2 of Kudo, there exists a concave cutout portion analogous to the instant application’s element 220 on the upper forward surface of cheek plate 28, between arch 30 and the integral hitch element 36, here labeled as element C, while maintaining the relevant ratios described.
Kudo, Annotated Fig. 2
In light of such determinations, new prior art rejections of record are being presented herein to better represent the subject matter of amended language of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall.
Regarding Claim 1: Stolz teaches of a dragline machine, comprising:
a rigging assembly comprising a plurality of ropes (Stolz: Fig. 15, rigging assembly 300); and
a fabricated dragline bucket having an inner working volume (Stolz: Fig. 2, bucket 202 defines an inner volume for receiving material from mouth 214), the fabricated dragline bucket including:
a bottom wall (Stolz: Fig. 2, bucket 202 defines base member 204),
a first sidewall extending from the bottom wall and defining a first upper edge, the first sidewall having a first window portion having a single uniform plate thickness and a length extending in a length direction of the fabricated dragline bucket and a width extending in a height direction of the fabricated dragline bucket, the length of the first window portion being greater than the width thereof,
a second sidewall opposite the first sidewall, extending from the bottom wall, and defining a second upper edge, the second sidewall having a second window portion having the single uniform plate thickness and a length extending in the length direction of the fabricated dragline bucket and a width extending in the height direction of the fabricated dragline bucket, the length of the second window portion being greater than the width thereof (Stolz: Fig. 2, side members 206 and 206' extend between base member 204 and top edges 208 and 208' respectively, each shown to comprise a window section with a length extending in a length direction of the bucket 202 and a width extending in a height direction of the bucket 202, the length dimension being greater than the width dimension)
a first forward-facing drag lug on a first side of the fabricated dragline bucket, the first forward-facing drag lug extends, in a side elevational view of the fabricated dragline bucket, as one-piece as part of the first sidewall, forward and downward, away from the first upper edge,
a second forward-facing drag lung on a second side of the fabricated dragline bucket opposite the first side, the second forward-facing drag lug extending, in the side elevational view of the fabricated dragline bucket, as one-piece as part of the second sidewall, forward and downward, away from the second upper edge (Stolz: Fig. 2-4, drag lugs 216 are disposed on a first and second side of the bucket 202 and are shown to be integral to the bucket, extending forward and downward relative to top edges 208 and 208'),
a lip assembly at a front of the bottom wall, the lip assembly having a plurality of ground engaging tools extending downward and away from the bottom wall of the fabricated dragline bucket (Stolz: Fig. 2-4, the front edge of base member 204 comprise a plurality of shrouds 222 and ground engaging tools 225 extending downward and away from the base member 204),
an arm in the form of an arch extending from the first side of the fabricated dragline bucket to the second side of the fabricated dragline bucket, a distal end of the arm being at a height greater than a height of respective first and second upper edges of the first and second sidewalls (Stolz: Fig. 3-4, arch 220 extends between side members 206 and 206', the distal end being at a greater height than the height of top edges 208 and 208'), and
one or more dump anchors each having a connection interface, each of the one or more dump anchors being connected to an upper surface of the arm (Stolz: Fig. 3-4, arch attachment points 224 are provided at the top of arch 220),
and wherein each of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs has an attachment point (Stolz: Fig. 4, drag lugs 216 comprise attachment points 218).
While Stolz does not explicitly teach the specific range of angles relative to a vertical plane by which the arm is tilted away from the rear wall of the bucket, Figure 4 of Stolz demonstrates the connecting arch extending at a shallow angle relative to the vertical plane, away from the rear wall of the bucket, and that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Stolz (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible; Fig. 4, portions of rear member 210 are pointed at an angle away from arch 220), and as such, the specific angle relative to the vertical plane would be a results-effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal angle of the arm would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for loading and unloading the bucket would fall between 17.5 and 22.5 degrees, inclusive (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
While Stolz does teach that the dragline bucket is supported by rigging assembly 30, Stolz does not specifically teach of a boom or support arm by which the dragline bucket is supported.
Kudo teaches of a dragline machine comprising a boom and rigging assembly (Kudo: Col. 2, line 43-58, a boom is designed to accommodate the loads of a dragline bucket; rigging is used to accommodate and control dragline buckets).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified rigging support member of Stolz with the boom arm taught by Kudo, as such a solution is known in the art of dragline assemblies (Kudo: Col. 2, line 43-58, a boom is designed to accommodate the loads of a dragline bucket). Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of sufficiently supporting the dragline bucket in use (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Further, while Stolz teaches of the arch, lip assembly, and the forward facing drag lugs, Stolz does not teach the specific orientation wherein a portion of the arm overlaps a portion of the lip assembly in a vertical direction, and wherein the forward-most edge of the arm does not overlap the attachment points of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the vertical direction. Stolz does teach wherein the disclosed arrangement of the side walls and arch structures are not limiting to the invention, and that other configurations are possible (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible,).
Kudo teaches of a dragline assembly comprising an arm in the form of an arch (Kudo: Fig. 1, connecting arch 30 extends between side wall 14 with a height shown to be greater than the top rails 60), a lip assembly (Kudo: Fig. 1, lip 20 is positioned on the forward edge of the bottom wall 12, and comprises teeth 22 pointed down and away from the bottom wall 12), and of forward facing attachment members (Kudo: hitch elements 36), wherein a portion of the arm overlaps a portion of the lip assembly in a vertical direction, and wherein the forward-most edge of the arm does not overlap the attachment points of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the vertical direction (Kudo: Fig. 2, connection arch 30 vertically overlaps a portion of lip 20, and does not vertically overlap horizontal passages 42 operatively coupled to hitch elements 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the disclosed arrangement of the arch, drag lugs, and lip assembly of Stolz with the specific arrangement of the arch, drag lugs, and lip assembly taught by Kudo, as the simple rearrangement of parts in a known configuration would have no impact or bearing on the core functionality of the dragline bucket intaking material into the central volume of the bucket (MPEP 2411.04, Subsection VI, C). Such a substitution would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of arranging the arch, drag lugs, and lip assembly to comprise a portion of the arm overlaps a portion of the lip assembly in a vertical direction, and wherein the forward-most edge of the arm does not overlap the attachment points of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the vertical direction (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
While Stolz teaches of the attachment of dump anchors to the upper surface of the arm, as described above, Stolz does not teach of a specific methodology by which these dump anchors are attached.
Hall teaches of a dragline bucket assembly (Hall: Paragraph 18, the machine to which the bucket is mounted may be a dragline assembly or rope shovel dipper), wherein the anchors that attach the bucket to the excavating machine are welded to the bucket (Hall: Paragraphs 50-52, the bucket comprises a handling section and a load section mounted on the handling section by welding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified anchor connection of Stolz with the specific, known technique of welding as taught by Hall to secure the anchors to the arm of the dragline bucket. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of securing the connecting anchors to the bucket via a weld (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 2: Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
In light of the determination that the angle by which the arm is angled away from the rear wall of the bucket relative to a vertical plane is a results-effective variable, as described above in claim 1, Stolz further teaches wherein the angle is 20 degrees relative to the vertical plane extending through the forward-most edge of the arm for the same rationale stated above in claim 1 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding Claim 3: Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Stolz further teaches wherein in the side elevational view of the fabricated dragline bucket, the first forward-facing drag lug extends in a forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly, and
wherein in the side elevational view of the fabricated dragline bucket, the second forward-facing drag lug extends in the forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly (Stolz: Fig. 4, the furthest forward extension of drag lugs 216 are further forward than the arch 220 and ground engaging tools 225).
Regarding Claim 4: Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Stolz further teaches wherein the fabricated dragline bucket further includes a concave cutout portion between the arm and each of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the side elevational view of the fabricated dragline bucket (Stolz: Fig. 4, the space between drag lugs 216 and arch 220 forms a concave cutout shape).
Regarding Claim 6: Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
While Stolz does not teach of any specific ratios between a vertical distance from a first horizontal plane extending through the base to a second horizontal plane extending through a portion of the first and second upper edges, defined as FH, a vertical distance from the second horizontal plane extending through the first and second upper edges to a third horizontal plane above the second horizontal plane that passes through a base portion of the arm, defined as AH, and a horizontal distance from a sixth vertical plane extending through a portion of the arm to the second vertical plane extending through the upper capacity point, defined as AL, Figure 4 of Stolz demonstrates similar proportions to those detailed in Figure 3 of the instant application (See annotated Fig. 4 below). Given that, as stated above in claim 1, that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Stolz (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible), the specific ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be a results effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for efficiently loading and unloading the bucket would be FH/AH in the range of 0.39-0.49, and FH/AL in the
range of 0.27 to 0.37 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Stolz: Annotated Fig. 4
Instant Application, Fig. 3
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall, further in view of Briscoe.
Regarding Claim 5: Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 1.
Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall do not teach of any specific weight distribution of the bucket.
Briscoe teaches of a dragline bucket assembly, wherein the fabricated dragline bucket has a weight distribution from teeth to heel with a balance of 55% to 58% on the teeth and 42% to 45% on the heel (Briscoe: Col. 5, line 56-68, the weight distribution of dragline buckets is known to be bias the weight of the bucket in a range between 55%-60% towards the teeth, thus making the weight balanced towards the heel between 45%-40%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified weight distribution range of Stolz in view of Kudo, further in view of Hall with the known weight distribution of 55%-60% towards the teeth of the bucket taught by Briscoe. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of biasing the weight distribution between 55% and 58% towards the teeth and 42% and 45% of the weight towards the heel (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of Hall.
Regarding Claim 7: Kudo teaches of a dragline bucket comprising:
A dragline bucket comprising:
a bottom wall (Kudo: Fig. 1, bucket 10 comprises a bottom wall 12);
a first sidewall extending from the bottom wall and defining a first upper edge;
a second sidewall opposite the first sidewall, extending from the bottom wall, and defining a second upper edge (Kudo: Fig. 1, side walls 14 extending from bottom wall 12 to the top rails 60);
a first forward-facing projection on a first side of the dragline bucket, the first forward-facing projection extends, in a side elevational view of the dragline bucket forward and downward, away from the first upper edge;
a second forward-facing projection on a second side of the dragline bucket opposite the first side, the second forward-facing projection extends, in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket forward and downward, away from the second upper edge (Kudo: Fig. 2, hitch extensions 39 are positioned at the forward edge of side walls 14 which project forward and downward away from top rails 60);
a lip assembly at a front of the bottom wall, the lip assembly having a plurality of ground engaging teeth (Kudo: Fig. 1, lip 20 is positioned on the forward edge of the bottom wall 12, and comprises teeth 22 pointed down and away from the bottom wall 12);
an arm in the form of an arch extending from the first side of the dragline bucket to the second side of the dragline bucket, a distal end of the arm being at a height greater than a height of respective first and second upper edges of the first and second sidewalls (Kudo: Fig. 1, connecting arch 30 extends between side wall 14 with a height shown to be greater than the top rails 60); and
one or more dump anchors each having a connection interface, each of the one or more dump anchors being attached to an upper surface of the arm (Kudo: Fig. 1, anchor brackets 12 are supported on the connecting arch 30),
and wherein the dragline bucket further includes a concave cutout portion between the arm and each of the first and second forward-facing projections in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket (Kudo: Fig. 2, the top edge of cheek plates 28, between arch 30 and hitch elements 36, form a concave structure).
While Kudo does not explicitly state the specific range of angles relative to a vertical plane by which the arm is tilted away from the rear wall of the bucket, Figure 2 of Kudo demonstrates the connecting arch extending at a shallow angle relative to the vertical plane, away from the rear wall of the bucket, and that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Kudo (Kudo: Col. 5, line 25-30, the arch 30 may be omitted or formed in a different way), and as such, the specific angle relative to the vertical plane would be a results-effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal angle of the arm would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for loading and unloading the bucket would fall between 17.5 and 22.5 degrees, inclusive (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Further, while Kudo does not teach of any specific ratios between a vertical distance from a first horizontal plane extending through the base to a second horizontal plane extending through a portion of the first and second upper edges, defined as FH, a vertical distance from the second horizontal plane extending through the first and second upper edges to a third horizontal plane above the second horizontal plane that passes through a base portion of the arm, defined as AH, and a horizontal distance from a sixth vertical plane extending through a portion of the arm to the second vertical plane extending through the upper capacity point, defined as AL, Figure 2 of Kudo demonstrates similar proportions to those detailed in Figure 3 of the instant application (See annotated Fig. 2 below). Given that, as stated above, that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Kudo (Kudo: Col. 5, line 25-30, the arch 30 may be omitted or formed in a different way), the specific ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be a results effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for efficiently loading and unloading the bucket would be FH/AH in the range of 0.39-0.49, and FH/AL in the range of 0.27 to 0.37 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Further, Kudo does not specify any methodology of the attachment of the anchors to the arm.
Hall teaches of a dragline bucket assembly (Hall: Paragraph 18, the machine to which the bucket is mounted may be a dragline assembly or rope shovel dipper), wherein the anchors that attach the bucket to the excavating machine are welded to the bucket (Hall: Paragraphs 50-52, the bucket comprises a handling section and a load section mounted on the handling section by welding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified anchor connection of Kudo with the specific, known technique of welding as taught by Hall to secure the anchors to the arm of the dragline bucket. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of securing the connecting anchors to the bucket via a weld (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 8: Kudo in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
Kudo further teaches wherein a portion of the arm overlaps a portion of the lip assembly in a vertical direction, and
wherein the forward-most edge of the arm does not overlap the attachment points of the first and second forward-facing projections in the vertical direction (Kudo: Fig. 2, connection arch 30 vertically overlaps a portion of lip 20 and does not vertically overlap horizontal passages 42).
Regarding Claim 9: Kudo in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
Kudo further teaches wherein the first sidewall has a window portion having a single uniform plate thickness, and
wherein the second sidewall has a window portion having the single uniform plate thickness (Kudo: Fig. 1, side walls 14 are formed of panel sections 35).
Regarding Claim 10: Kudo in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
In light of the determination that the angle by which the arm is angled away from the rear wall of the bucket relative to a vertical plane is a results-effective variable, as described above in claim 7, Kudo further teaches wherein the angle is 20 degrees relative to the vertical plane extending through the forward-most edge of the arm for the same rationale stated above in claim 7 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding Claim 11: Kudo in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
Kudo further teaches wherein in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket, the first forward-facing projection extends in a forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly, and
wherein in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket, the second forward-facing projection extends in the forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly (Kudo: Fig. 2, hitch extensions extend further than the connecting arch 30 and the lip 20).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kudo in view of Hall, further in view of Briscoe.
Regarding Claim 13: Kudo in view of Hall teaches of the apparatus described in claim 7.
Kudo in view of Hall does not teach of any specific weight distribution of the fabricated dragline bucket.
Briscoe teaches of a dragline bucket assembly, wherein the fabricated dragline bucket has a weight distribution from teeth to heel with a balance of 55% to 58% on the teeth and 42% to 45% on the heel (Briscoe: Col. 5, line 56-68, the weight distribution of dragline buckets is known to be bias the weight of the bucket in a range between 55%-60% towards the teeth, thus making the weight balanced towards the heel between 45%-40%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified weight distribution range of Kudo in view of Hall with the known weight distribution of 55%-60% towards the teeth of the bucket taught by Briscoe. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of biasing the weight distribution between 55% and 58% towards the teeth and 42% and 45% of the weight towards the heel (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolz in view of Hall.
Regarding Claim 14: Stolz teaches of a method comprising:
providing a dragline bucket, the dragline bucket including:
a bottom wall (Stolz: Fig. 2, bucket 202 defines base member 204);
a first sidewall extending from the bottom wall and defining a first upper edge;
a second sidewall opposite the first sidewall, extending from the bottom wall, and defining a second upper edge (Stolz: Fig. 2, side members 206 and 206' extend between base member 204 and top edges 208 and 208' respectively);
a first forward-facing drag lug on a first side of the dragline bucket, the first forward-facing drag lug extends, in a side elevational view of the dragline bucket, as one- piece as part of the first sidewall, forward and downward, away from the first upper edge;
a second forward-facing drag lug on a second side of the dragline bucket opposite the first side, the second forward-facing drag lug extends, in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket, as one-piece as part of the second sidewall, forward and downward, away from the second upper edge (Stolz: Fig. 2-4, drag lugs 216 are disposed on a first and second side of the bucket 202 and are shown to be integral to the bucket, extending forward and downward relative to top edges 208 and 208');
a lip assembly at a front of the bottom wall, the lip assembly having a plurality of ground engaging teeth (Stolz: Fig. 2-4, the front edge of base member 204 comprises a plurality of shrouds 222 and ground engaging tools 225 extending downward and away from the base member 204);
an arm extending from the first side of the dragline bucket to the second side of the dragline bucket, a distal end of the arm being at a height greater than a height of respective first and second upper edges of the first and second sidewalls (Stolz: Fig. 3-4, arch 220 extends between side members 206 and 206', the distal end being at a greater height than the height of top edges 208 and 208'); and
one or more dump anchors each having a connection interface, each of the one or more dump anchors being attached to an upper surface of the arm (Stolz: Fig. 3-4, arch attachment points 224 are provided at the top of arch 220),
wherein each of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs has an attachment point (Stolz: Fig. 4, drag lugs 216 comprise attachment points 218),
wherein a portion of the arm overlaps a portion of the lip assembly in a vertical direction, wherein the forward-most edge of the arm does not overlap the attachment points of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the vertical direction (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible, such as that taught by Kudo; Kudo: Fig. 2, connection arch 30 vertically overlaps a portion of lip 20, and does not vertically overlap horizontal passages 42),
and wherein the dragline bucket further includes a concave cutout portion between the arm and each of the first and second forward-facing drag lugs in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket (Stolz: Fig. 4, the space between drag lugs 216 and arch 220 forms a concave cutout shape).
While Stolz does not explicitly teach the specific range of angles relative to a vertical plane by which the arm is tilted away from the rear wall of the bucket, Figure 4 of Stolz demonstrates the connecting arch extending at a shallow angle relative to the vertical plane, away from the rear wall of the bucket, and that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Stolz (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible; Fig. 4, portions of rear member 210 are pointed at an angle away from arch 220), and as such, the specific angle relative to the vertical plane would be a results-effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal angle of the arm would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for loading and unloading the bucket would fall between 17.5 and 22.5 degrees, inclusive (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Further, while Stolz does not teach of any specific ratios between a vertical distance from a first horizontal plane extending through the base to a second horizontal plane extending through a portion of the first and second upper edges, defined as FH, a vertical distance from the second horizontal plane extending through the first and second upper edges to a third horizontal plane above the second horizontal plane that passes through a base portion of the arm, defined as AH, and a horizontal distance from a sixth vertical plane extending through a portion of the arm to the second vertical plane extending through the upper capacity point, defined as AL, Figure 4 of Stolz demonstrates similar proportions to those detailed in Figure 3 of the instant application (See annotated Fig. 4 above). Given that the shape and orientation of the connecting arch may be changed without deviating from the disclosure of Stolz (Stolz: Paragraph 25, other configurations of the side walls and arch are possible), the specific ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be a results effective variable. In light of such a determination, the ideal ratios of the dimensions FH, AH, and AL would be characterized through routine experimentation and obvious to try, such that the ideal angle for efficiently loading and unloading the bucket would be FH/AH in the range of 0.39-0.49, and FH/AL in the range of 0.27 to 0.37 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Further, while Stolz teaches of the attachment of dump anchors to the upper surface of the arm, as described above, Stolz does not teach of a specific methodology by which these dump anchors are attached.
Hall teaches of a dragline bucket assembly (Hall: Paragraph 18, the machine to which the bucket is mounted may be a dragline assembly or rope shovel dipper), wherein the anchors that attach the bucket to the excavating machine are welded to the bucket (Hall: Paragraphs 50-52, the bucket comprises a handling section and a load section mounted on the handling section by welding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified anchor connection of Stolz with the specific, known technique of welding as taught by Hall to secure the anchors to the arm of the dragline bucket. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of securing the connecting anchors to the bucket via a weld (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Regarding Claim 15: Stolz in view of Hall teach of the method described in claim 14.
Stolz further teaches of the method further comprising:
operating the dragline bucket to fill material in an interior volume thereof, said operating the dragline bucket including controlling the dragline bucket such that the ground engaging teeth contact the material before the arm contacts the material (Stolz: Fig. 2; Paragraph 25-26, bucket 202 defines an inner volume for receiving material from mouth 214, which is defined partially by ground engaging teeth 225 which primarily engage the ground, and no mention of the arch 220 contacting material is made).
Regarding Claim 16: Stolz in view of Hall teach of the method of described in claim 14.
In light of the determination that the angle by which the arm is angled away from the rear wall of the bucket relative to a vertical plane is a results-effective variable, as described above in claim 1, Stolz further teaches wherein the angle is 20 degrees relative to the vertical plane extending through the forward-most edge of the arm for the same rationale stated above in claim 1 (MPEP 2144.05, Subsection II, B).
Regarding Claim 17: Stolz in view of Hall teach of the method of described in claim 14.
Stolz further teaches wherein in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket, the first forward-facing drag lug extends in a forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly, and
wherein in the side elevational view of the dragline bucket, the second forward-facing drag lug extends in the forward direction more than each of the arm and the lip assembly (Stolz: Fig. 4, the furthest forward extension of drag lugs 216 are further forward than the arch 220 and ground engaging tools 225).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stolz in view of Hall, further in view of Briscoe.
Regarding Claim 19: Stolz in view of Hall teach of the method of described in claim 14.
Stolz in view of Hall do not teach of any specific weight distribution of the bucket.
Briscoe teaches of a dragline bucket assembly, wherein the fabricated dragline bucket has a weight distribution from teeth to heel with a balance of 55% to 58% on the teeth and 42% to 45% on the heel (Briscoe: Col. 5, line 56-68, the weight distribution of dragline buckets is known to be bias the weight of the bucket in a range between 55%-60% towards the teeth, thus making the weight balanced towards the heel between 45%-40%).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was properly filed to substitute the unspecified weight distribution range of Stolz in view of Hall with the known weight distribution of 55%-60% towards the teeth of the bucket taught by Briscoe. Such a modification would not fundamentally alter the individual elements of the inventions, to the predictable result of biasing the weight distribution between 55% and 58% towards the teeth and 42% and 45% of the weight towards the heel (MPEP 2143, Subsection I, B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EVAN A BREGEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671