DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-5 have been examined and claim 2 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiley et al. (US 2018/0173237), in view of Sweeney et al. (US 10,493,622)
As per claim 1, Reiley shows an information notification device configured to notify visual information to a rear vehicle located behind a host vehicle that automatically starts and stops (Fig. 1,3-6; Para 6-18 and 37-39),
the host vehicle configured to determine when giving right of way to others other than the host vehicle is performed (Para 20,28-29,37-38,40-41: Reiley discloses a host vehicle control system that detects traffic participants and environmental conditions and determines a vehicle operational state, including yielding behavior, in order to generate appropriate external notifications. Further, Sweeney teaches that an autonomous vehicle determines future vehicle actions based on traffic context and right of way conditions before communicating those actions externally (col. 3, line 22-38; col. 6, line 10-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to configure the host vehicle of Reiley to explicitly determine when it is giving right of way, as such determination is a predictable prerequisite for selecting an appropriate external notification. It would be an implementation of use of know techniques to improve similar device in the same way.), wherein
the information notification device comprises a notification control unit configured to; notify the rear vehicle that the host vehicle is giving right of way to others via a first display provided in the host vehicle so as to be visually recognized from the rear vehicle (Reiley: Para 216-18,20,28-29; Fig. 1,3-6) in a stop state in which the host vehicle is automatically stopped in order to give the right of way to others (Reiley: Para 37-39,40-41: the host vehicle enters a stop state when yielding to others and activates the external display during that stop state. Additionally, Sweeney: col 5, ln 45-60; col. 7, ln 1-18: teaches that autonomous vehicle actions, including stopping and restarting, are automatically controlled based on determined traffic conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to implement Reiley’s yielding stop as an automatic stop performed in order to give right of way, as autonomous control of stop behavior is well known and yields predictable results. It would be an implementation of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.)
and
notify the rear vehicle of a time until the host vehicle starts, via the first display, in the stop state, via an image indicating the time until starting (Reiley: Para 20,28-29,37-39: external displays that communicate vehicle state information to rear vehicles during a stop state. Sweeney: Col 4, ln 30-47; col 6, ln 45-67; Fig 4-6; using an external vehicle display to visually communicate timing information regarding a future vehicle action, including an indication of the amount of time remaining until the vehicle performs the action. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to modify Reiley’s external display to additional present a visual image indicting a time until the host vehicle starts, as taught by Sweeney, because communicating temporal information regarding future vehicle actions improves predictability for surrounding drivers and represents a predictable use of known di8splay techniques. It would be an implementation of use of know techniques to improve similar device in the same way).
The combination of Reiley and Sweeney involves the user of known external vehicle displays to communicate additional well-understand timing information regarding future autonomous vehicle actions wherein both references are directed to external communication of vehicle intent.
As per claim 3, the combination meets limitation of claim and the invention of Reiley further shows wherein the notification control unit is configured to notify the others of a warning via a second display provided in the host vehicle so as to be visually recognized from the front of the host vehicle when the passing of the host vehicle by the rear vehicle is detected in the stop state (Fig. 1, 3-6; Para 21-23,25-28,43,48).
As per claim 4, the invention of Reiley meets the limitation of claim and further shows wherein the notification control unit is configured to notify the rear vehicle that the host vehicle is giving right of way to others by displaying an image generated by a front camera provided in the host vehicle on the first display in the stop state (Fig. 1, 3-6; Para 17).
As per claim 5, it corresponds to claim 1; it is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth.
Reiley discloses an information notification method executed by a computer (Para 68), wherein the information notification method includes
determining that a host vehicle should perform giving right of way to others other than the host vehicle (Para 20,28-29,37-38,40-41: Reiley discloses a host vehicle control system that detects traffic participants and environmental conditions and determines a vehicle operational states, including yielding behavior, in order to generate appropriate external notifications. Further, Sweeney teaches that an autonomous vehicle determines future vehicle actions based on traffic context and right of way conditions before communicating those actions externally (col. 3, line 22-38; col. 6, line 10-27). Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to configure the host vehicle of Reiley to explicitly determine when it is giving right of way, as such determination is a predictable prerequisite for selecting an appropriate external notification. It would be an implementation of use of know techniques to improve similar device in the same way.),
notifying a rear vehicle that the host vehicle is giving right of way to others via a first display provided in the host vehicle so as to be visually recognized from the rear vehicle in a stop state in which the host vehicle is automatically stopped in order to give right of way to the others vehicle (Reiley: Para 216-18,20,28-29; Fig. 1,3-6) in a stop state in which the host vehicle is automatically stopped in order to give the right of way to others (Reiley: Para 37-39,40-41: the host vehicle enters a stop state when yielding to others and activates the external display during that stop state. Additionally, Sweeney: col 5, ln 45-60; col. 7, ln 1-18: teaches that autonomous vehicle actions, including stopping and restarting, are automatically controlled based on determined traffic conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to implement Reiley’s yielding stop as an automatic stop performed in order to give right of way, as autonomous control of stop behavior is well known and yields predictable results. It would be an implementation of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.), and
notifying the rear vehicle of a time until the host vehicle starts via an image indicating the time until starting displayed by the first display (Reiley: Para 20,28-29,37-39: external displays that communicate vehicle state information to rear vehicles during a stop state. Sweeney: Col 4, ln 30-47; col 6, ln 45-67; Fig 4-6; using an external vehicle display to visually communicate timing information regarding a future vehicle action, including an indication of the amount of time remaining until the vehicle performs the action. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention before the effective filing date of the claim invention was made to modify Reiley’s external display to additional present a visual image indicting a time until the host vehicle starts, as taught by Sweeney, because communicating temporal information regarding future vehicle actions improves predictability for surrounding drivers and represents a predictable use of known di8splay techniques. It would be an implementation of use of know techniques to improve similar device in the same way).
The combination of Reiley and Sweeney involves the user of known external vehicle displays to communicate additional well-understand timing information regarding future autonomous vehicle actions wherein both references are directed to external communication of vehicle intent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOI C LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689