DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
The present application, filed on 5/7/24, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-7 and 18-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 8-17 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention II, claims 8-17, in the reply filed on 10/06/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the first pumping opening”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the second pumping opening”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 9-17 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because any claim in dependent form is construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsiao (US20240036037, cited in the 9/21/26 IDS).
With respect to claim 8, Hsiao teaches a diagnostic cartridge (fluidic cartridge module 120 in [0041], illustrated in Fig. 4), comprising:
a case body (the lower casing 122 in [0042], illustrated as 124 in Fig. 4) having a recess (see Fig. 4);
a biosensor device (biosensor package 123 in [0042]) embedded in the recess of the case body (lower casing 122) (see Fig. 4, element 124) (see [0042], which recites “the biosensor package 123 disposed in the casing 121, 122”);
a fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 in [0054] and second channel frame 125 in [0054]) in the case body (see Fig. 4, element 124), the fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 and second channel frame 125) comprises:
a sample reservoir (discharged chamber 1253 in [0065]) and a buffer reservoir (discharged chamber 1254 in [0065]) laterally between the first pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the second pump 160” in [0062]) and the second pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the first pump 150” in [0062], which recites “the first pump 150 and the second pump 160 are in fluid communication with the discharged chambers 1253, 1254 respectively”) from a side view perspective (see Fig. 12); and
a plurality of channels (branches of “the fluidic channel 127” in [0054]), wherein one of the plurality of channels connects the sample reservoir (discharged chamber 1253) and the buffer reservoir (discharged chamber 1254) and crossing over the biosensor device (biosensor package 123), and the sample reservoir (discharged chamber 1253) and the buffer reservoir (discharged chamber 1254) further connecting with a pumping opening through the plurality of channels, respectively (see Fig. 12).
With respect to claim 14, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8, wherein the fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 and second channel frame 125) further comprises a first pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the second pump 160” in [0062]) in proximity to a side of the fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 and second channel frame 125) (see Fig. 12), and wherein the buffer reservoir (discharged chamber 1254) is located in a region between the first pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the second pump 160”) and the biosensor device (biosensor package 123) (see Fig. 12).
With respect to claim 15, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8, wherein the fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 and second channel frame 125) further comprises a second pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the first pump 150” in [0062]) in proximity to a side of the fluid-guide body (first channel frame 126 and second channel frame 125), and wherein the sample reservoir (discharged chamber 1253) is located in a region between the second pumping opening (cartridge side opening in communication with “the first pump 150”) and the biosensor device (biosensor package 123) (see Fig. 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Cook (US20150132860).
With respect to claim 9, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8.
Hsiao fails to teach a first opening with a first cover set over the sample reservoir.
In the analogous art of diagnostic cartridge, Cook teaches a first opening (upper opening of RSH reservoir 448 formed in body 422, see Fig. 18) with a first cover (top seal 340 in [0199]) set over a liquid reservoir (RSH reservoir 448 in [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by providing the covered opening of Cook over Hsiao’s reservoir such that the case body comprises a first opening with a first cover set over the sample reservoir with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of retaining and protecting the contents of the sample reservoir (see Fig. 18 of Cook).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Hofstadler (US20150098301).
With respect to claim 10, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8, Hsiao fails to teach a second opening with a second cover set over the buffer reservoir configured to inject a buffer liquid.
In the analogous art of fluidic cartridges, Hofstadler teaches an opening (see Fig. 2C) with a cover (septum 210 in [0100]) set over a buffer reservoir (cavity 208 in [0100]) configured to inject a buffer liquid (see [0021], which recites “lading the fluidic material and/or the particle into the cavity of the cartridge. …, the fluidic material generally includes water, a buffer”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by providing the covered opening of Hofstadler over Hsiao’s reservoir such that the case body comprises a second opening with a second cover set over the buffer reservoir configured to inject a buffer liquid with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of retaining and protecting the contents of the buffer reservoir (see Fig. 2C of Hofstadler) (see also [0098] of Hafstadler, which recites “a closure (e.g., a re-sealable label, a septum, or the like) is disposed in or over the aperture, e.g., to reduce the possibility of contaminating the contents of the cavity, to prevent spillage during transport, to minimize evaporation of fluidic materials in the cavity”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Ramsey (US20030150733).
With respect to claim 11, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8.
Hsiao fails to teach two waste reservoirs adjacent to a sample reservoir and a buffer reservoir, respectively.
In the analogous art of fluidic cartridges, Ramsey teaches two waste reservoirs (waste reservoirs 18F, 20F in [0172]) adjacent to the sample reservoir (first reservoirs 12F in [0172], which recites “the analyte from the first reservoir 12F’) and the buffer reservoir (buffer reservoir 16F in [0173]), respectively (see Fig. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by incorporating the two waste reservoirs disclosed by Ramsey such that the fluid-guide body comprises two reservoirs adjacent to the sample reservoirs and the buffer reservoirs respectively with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of providing additional capacity for collecting liquids.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Ramsey (US20030150733) in view of Jiang (WO2023173640).
With respect to claim 12, Hsiao in view of Ramsey teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 11.
Hsiao in view of Ramsey fails to teach a sealing membrane over the fluid-guide body, configured to seal the plurality of channels, the buffer reservoir, the sample reservoir, and the two waste reservoirs.
In the analogous art of analytical cartridges, Jiang teaches a sealing membrane (quantitative sealing film on page 4) over a body (quantitative liquid dispensing module on page 4), configured to seal a plurality of pipes, a buffer chamber, a sample chamber, and two waste chambers (see page 4, which recites “quantitative sealing film can be detachably covered on the quantitative liquid dispensing module and used to seal each chamber of the quantitative liquid dispensing module. The quantitative sealing film seals the sample chamber, buffer chamber, quantitative chamber, residual liquid collection chamber, waste liquid collection chamber and the connecting pipes of the above chambers to ensure that sample leakage or contamination is avoided during operation”) (see also page 6, which recites “the waste liquid collection chamber includes a first waste liquid chamber 117 and a second waste liquid chamber 118”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao in view of Ramsey by incorporating the sealing membrane disclosed by Jiang such that a sealing membrane is disposed over the fluid-guide body, and is configured to seal the plurality of channels, the buffer reservoir, the sample reservoir, and the two waste reservoirs, with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of effectively avoiding sample leakage or contamination during operation (see page 4 of Jiang, which recites “the quantitative sealing film seals the sample chamber, buffer chamber, quantitative chamber, residual liquid collection chamber, waste liquid collection chamber and the connecting pipes of the above chambers to ensure that sample leakage or contamination is avoided during operation”).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Huang (US20210263022).
With respect to claim 13, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8, further comprising a substrate (substrate 1232 in [0042]) electrically coupled with the biosensor device (biosensor package 123) (see [0042], which recites “the substrate 1232 includes an edge connector 1233 configured to be coupled to a circuit board, e.g., the circuit board 1010 shown in FIG. 2, such that the biosensor chip 1231 is electrically connected to the processor on the circuit board 1010 through the edge connector 1233”).
Hsiao fails to teach a substrate comprising a plurality of metal pads at a lower surface of the substrate.
In the analogous art of fluidic devices, Huang teaches a substrate (carrier layer 802 in [0087]) electrically coupled with a biosensor device (chip 702 in [0095]), wherein the substrate (carrier layer 802) comprises a plurality of metal pads (metal pads in [0091]) at a lower surface (bottom surface 805 in [0091]) of the substrate (carrier layer in [0091], which recites “metal pads on bottom surface 805 of carrier layer 802”) (see [0087]-[0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by incorporating a substrate (carrier layer 802) electrically coupled with a biosensor device (chip 702) wherein the substrate (carrier layer 802) comprises a plurality of metal pads (metal pads) at a lower surface (bottom surface 805) of the substrate (carrier layer) as disclosed by Huang such that a substrate electrically coupled with the biosensor device, wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of metal pads at a lower surface of the substrate with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of facilitating handling and electrical contact to a printed circuit board (see [0091] of Huang).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Elibol (US20120061239).
With respect to claim 16, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8.
Hsiao fails to teach that the biosensor device is packaged in an embedding module, and wherein the embedding module is detachable from the case body.
In the analogous art of analytical devices, Elibol teaches a biosensor device (sensing chip 210 in [0027]) is packaged in an embedding module (chip assembly 250 in [0027]) and wherein the embedding module (chip assembly 250) is detachable from a device (see [0029], which recites “the holder comprising the chip to be slid out of the device and a new or different chip to be placed in the device”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by incorporating the embedding module disclosed by Elibol such that the biosensor device is packaged in an embedding module, and wherein the embedding module is detachable from the case body with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of facilitating replacement of the biosensor device (see [0029] of Elibol).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US20240036037) in view of Priest (US20220362766).
With respect to claim 17, Hsiao teaches the diagnostic cartridge of claim 8.
Hsiao fails to teach that each of the plurality of channels in a path between the sample reservoir and the buffer reservoir comprises a plurality of U-turn structures.
In the analogous art of fluidic devices, Priest teaches a plurality of U-turn structures (see [0024], which recites “the sample microfluidic channel, the pH indicator microfluidic channel and the mixing microfluidic channel are serpentine in form”) (see also Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diagnostic cartridge disclosed by Hsiao by incorporating the plurality of U-tur n structures disclosed by Priest such that each of the plurality of channels in a path between the sample reservoir and the buffer reservoir comprises a plurality of U-turn structures, with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of thereby minimising backflow of the fluid sample (see [0024] of Priest, which recites “each serpentine channel provides some flow resistance at an upstream end of the device to thereby minimise backflow of the fluid sample”).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BORTOLI/Examiner, Art Unit 1797